25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography lessons and tips site, Share with all, inputs most welcome!!

bauer
post May 20 2007, 01:43 AM

134 posts

A good book for beginner would be Scott Kelby's Digital Photography Book. It does what it says on the tin. Cuts out all the crap and tells you how to take the pictures that u want. rclxms.gif

mystvearn
post Jun 24 2007, 08:38 PM

6,511 posts

The Ten most common mistakes in photography
wlcling
post Jul 7 2007, 12:30 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

This site has links to alot of articles/comparison/guides for Nikon related

http://www.nikonlinks.com/equipment_digital.htm

This post has been edited by wlcling: Jul 7 2007, 12:30 PM
beehawk
post Jul 12 2007, 11:19 AM

Miutiful
1,281 posts

here's the link i want to share...
din realise there are topic for links here...
hehe

http://www.geocities.com/evandro/available.html
http://photonotes.org/articles/beginner-faq/lenses.html
s33k3r
post Jul 14 2007, 01:22 AM

97 posts

A great masking plugin for Photoshop, Fluid Mask (highly recomended for those who use alot of cut outs n masking.)

http://www.vertustech.com/fm_tutorials.htm
aaltong
post Jul 24 2007, 04:14 PM

239 posts

OK found this and very useful for those that want to learn skin smoothening technique and also how to change eyes color.

Mizuno's Super Airbrush PP Tutorial

ps: maybe mod can pin this thread and if anyone have similar PS totorial site can paste the link in here too.

This post has been edited by aaltong: Jul 24 2007, 04:17 PM
IceFire
post Aug 5 2007, 12:00 PM

77 posts

cool forum site... i am going to try out with my Sony camera... hopefully forumers can share some pictures taken to rclxms.gif
xiong91
post Aug 22 2007, 05:16 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

can anyone explain wad means of ISO? gt forumer explained to me but i still not veri clear about it...
Wokuman
post Aug 26 2007, 04:57 PM

203 posts

http://photo.net/
isaac_lin
post Aug 29 2007, 10:29 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ Apr 25 2007, 06:12 PM)
Looking for lighting tutorials, best if got picture sample, if anyone can find for me i will be eternally greatful, thanks
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html

All u need to know about lightning and using flashes..
goldfries
post Sep 4 2007, 04:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(isaac_lin @ Aug 29 2007, 10:29 AM)
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html

All u need to know about lightning and using flashes..
yup. even my pro photog fren in SG also told me about this site.

philipcs
post Sep 6 2007, 09:24 PM

2,581 posts

I have wrote a tutorial on how to use Picasa to enhance photo and dedicated to photography newbie smile.gif

http://www.pixelraves.com/

Hope you find it useful
ozak
post Oct 5 2007, 11:12 PM

16,546 posts

I ve shoot some place using black and white mode. But it look too clean. I want to apply some filter or what ever to make it look old. For example, dust mark and scratch mark. Is there any filter or tehnique to do it?
keira
post Oct 17 2007, 01:11 AM

42 posts

y dun u experiment a lil wit photoshop?
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 1 2007, 02:29 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 5 2007, 11:12 PM)
I ve shoot some place using black and white mode. But it look too clean. I want to apply some filter or what ever to make it look old. For example, dust mark and scratch mark. Is there any filter or tehnique to do it?
my suggestion... shoot in color, then use the channel mixer in photoshop to make it black and white.

for dust and scratch mark, so far i've didnt see any filters that does the job. unless you put some texturized, transparent object infront of your subject. Or you can do it in photoshop again. Ill write down the technique in time. Or you can go google it out yourself biggrin.gif
ozak
post Nov 1 2007, 02:10 PM

16,546 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Nov 1 2007, 02:29 AM)
my suggestion... shoot in color, then use the channel mixer in photoshop to make it black and white.

for dust and scratch mark, so far i've didnt see any filters that does the job. unless you put some texturized, transparent object infront of your subject. Or you can do it in photoshop again. Ill write down the technique in time. Or you can go google it out yourself biggrin.gif
I ve found the filter. We have the discussion here ---> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/531908

Maniac
post Nov 1 2007, 02:14 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Oct 20 2006, 10:13 AM)
2 Digital Imaging Turorials published by Leschang at FotoKrazy.com, enjoy
Before

After

Updated and ported to FotoKrazy.com Forums.
Only readable by active members

http://fotokrazy.com/cms/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,26/

14 Quick Photoshops tricks and tips now

This post has been edited by Maniac: Nov 1 2007, 02:14 PM
goldfries
post Dec 31 2007, 05:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 13 2008, 05:05 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

This was previously posted on the sigma thread, but i guess its a good to share it with you guys too. smile.gif So here's the read.

This is what most ppl will do. Not much editing but with good results. I used an image of a forumer here for an example.

1st, To give it a little kick, boost the contrast. Go to photoshop > Layers > new adjustment layer > curves. Apply an "S" curves to the image. Like the picture below(pay attention to the points that i placed, You can increase the effects by applying a deeper S curve):

Then use Levels. Go to photoshop > Layers > new adjustment layer > levels. See the picture for example:
Here I pulled the highlights slider, which is on the right, just about near the inner end of the slope of the histogram "mountain". This will increase the highlights of the whole image. Then i go to the left side of the slider, which is the slider to tweak the shadows, i pulled it in a little, like what i did for the highlights, but different direction. Lastly I go to the middle slider, which is for the midtones, to darken the image by a little bit. The default value for this is 1.0, but I set it to 0.9, based on my liking.

You can use the preview button to see the before and after effects of the whole image. once you're done on every step, press ok.

That should add a little extra kick to the whole image. Make sure that you dont blow the highlights when you tweak the slider for the highlights. Here's my results:

Before:
After:

Hope this helps. smile.gif

p.s: this is also what some of the photographers call the "velvia look". Colors which are almost as the same from Fujifilm's Velvia series film. Which produce saturated colors with a whole lot of kick. biggrin.gif
nairud
post Jan 13 2008, 07:39 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Another way to do a "velvia" look with Photoshop is by tweaking with the Channel Mixer

Layer -> New Adjustment Layer -> Channel Mixer and set

Red:
Red = 150%
Green = -25%
Blue = -25%

Green
Red = -25%
Green = 150%
Blue = -25%

Blue
Red = -25%
Green = -25%