post Feb 6 2014, 08:03 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

From Android Police apk check on new Google Search

Google says:
-Bug fixes and performance improvements

We say:
-New Google Now Launcher name with splash screen on start up
-6 columns on tablet home screens (up from 5)
-AirBNB reservations in Google Now
-Fixes disappearing icon in the hotseat bug
-Hotword detection now works in British and Canadian English
-Icon imports from old home screen
-App drawer no longer resets to first page when you close it (unclear if this is intended behavior)
-New animations for expandable card bundles (seen here)
-Voice volume is now dependent on media volume (instead of system volume)
-Customize TV provider and on-demand options
-When setting alarms, Google Now says "setting alarm for [time]" aloud, with a new blue box appearing along with the regular card, though this part seems to be a server-side change that also affected the previous versions of Search when it was flipped on. If you hit Accept, the alarm card will stick around briefly, allowing you to view other alarms - this part is new to Search 3.2 (via Luigi Aversano)
-UI enhancements for getting to appointments early or on time (via Rob Aymett - 1, 2)
-Or if you're late (via Midas Gordon-Farleigh)
-Action overflow button has moved from left side of cards to right
-Fixes icon alignment in app drawer on some devices
-A Winter Olympics 2014 Google Now card with medals and the upcoming events (via Adam Stephenson)
(we're still checking it out, might be more to come)

Some of changes I like, when can we set out own hotword, would like to set as 'OK macha', 'OK dear' etc tongue.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 7 2014, 12:15 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(stevensteady @ Feb 7 2014, 12:04 AM)
Official nexus 5 owner here! Finally got the phone! Thanks to seven mobile fast service! Btw guys, dalvik or art? Not much difference in term of speed..
ART is fast ! However if you running custom ROM, flash the custom Bionic + Dalvik optimization, it will be as fast as ART, for now.
Someonesim
post Feb 7 2014, 12:23 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

As previously someone posted, finally . . . .

Google adds support for app listings in local currencies for 25 new countries
Someonesim
post Feb 7 2014, 10:26 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 7 2014, 09:11 PM)
Switched to ART to test if my YouTube jitter is still there or not, if I switch back to Dalvik, any side effects like wasted storage space or app problem?
Should not be problem, I've switch from/to ART and Dalvik on both Nexus 4 and 5, no issue. ART mode does consume slightly more storage.
Someonesim
post Feb 8 2014, 02:06 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(yeop @ Feb 8 2014, 10:45 AM)
Thanks now i understand , i just feel uneasy because other people can get 3-4 hours SOT  cry.gif
im not really understand about aperture but does this help? expensive lens  blush.gif
Moment Kickstarter

Those add on camera accessories cant change much, the camera sensor and original lens is still there. If you need large depth of field, close up the object.

Someonesim
post Feb 9 2014, 12:57 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Feb 9 2014, 02:50 AM)
Yes I did. Tried all the 4 steps for driver installation. Failed. Anyone who can help me via TeamViewer will be much appreciated.  sad.gif
I once had headache when I use Wugfresh Toolkit to clean and reinstall driver. Until the point that I realize I must follow exactly whatever instruction from it, one by one, step by step, reboot PC whatever, and it works. Not sure if it can be the same from your case, coz I'm running Windows 7 on my main PC. Let me know if still failed, and I will open my laptop with Windows 8.1 to test.

This post has been edited by Someonesim: Feb 9 2014, 12:58 PM
Someonesim
post Feb 9 2014, 11:05 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

Saw this mod, really interested into it, too bad I'm on PA ROM which seems not compatible. Anyone on stock deodexed and Cataclysm ROM could try and feedback.

Complete your KK look
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 12:54 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Feb 10 2014, 12:46 AM)
one question.. whats the reason stock android dun come with its own file manager?... curious.. haha
Google Music for your song,
Youtube for your video,
Google Drive for your documents and files.
Google want you to use their services. tongue.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 03:08 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Feb 10 2014, 02:39 PM)
so now, which browser is "safer"  ? chrome ?
Instead of every company had your data, guess I'll had to stick to Google. At least we know who leak/expose it when it happen. blink.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 03:25 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Feb 10 2014, 03:16 PM)
baidu ? china software i feel more worry... tongue.gif

well, been using dolphin since my 1st android, i think they already "fully" collected all my data... even my ip5s i also use dolphin. i think i got nothing more to steal anymore.
Not that we are discriminate China software, they tend to had less confidence from users. Keep popping out ads, disable mini windows but still appear next time you launch, auto kidnap default application etc. If it wasnt the functionality you needed, it would be frustrating.
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 03:55 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Feb 10 2014, 03:51 PM)
sorry for noob ques..flashing from stock rom to another rom must wipe data? what's the proper procedure? thanks
Advisable to wipe data. You should check on the custom ROM you wish to flash, there should be recommend steps from OP.
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 03:58 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Feb 10 2014, 03:43 PM)
I love to use this as prior to 4.4 (its the stock browser on GNex and Nexus S)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...d.browser&hl=en

But now since 4.4 changed a lot, that browser hardly supports anything (No UI for history, incognito broken) but I still use it. It still kinda works good enough for me.

Another good browser is this https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...owser.barebones

Well, idk if these apps have any security concern, but Firefox is also a good choice if you care for security as its open source (its now finally smooth too).
I really missed the good old stock browser, it has offline reading function which is extremely useful when I had long reviews or page to read.
Someonesim
post Feb 10 2014, 07:37 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(yeop @ Feb 10 2014, 06:33 PM)
i would love to flash this but mine is stock rom odex  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
very very lazy to backup whatsapp/line and other...especially line where i need to manually backup each chat which is troublesome  cry.gif
Check the thread again, it seems to support stock odexed ROM. tongue.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 12 2014, 01:08 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Feb 12 2014, 11:10 AM)
That's good for stock. Root-ed?

Faux
Mostly I listen music + V4A w/ data on + screen off; roughly maybe 2-3hrs music per day. SOT (not counting music) 3-4 hour. By the time I'm at home at 6pm, left with +-~30% battery

ElementalX 0.26
music + v4a w/ data on + screen off: 2-3hours per day
SOT 3-4 hour. by 6pm left +-~20% battery

both:
UV:
300 : -150
rest: -75
Google location: device only; google now: off
sync: all accounts on

Can't use office wifi so data on whole day  cry.gif
Good to know, coz my daily usage are quite similar to yours. Goes to work in LRT with music on headset, mostly music still on during breakfast, main usage was web browsing. Will consider testing on Faux also. biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 12 2014, 01:17 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 12 2014, 01:10 PM)
Is so cheap anyway. Life time license up to 5 devices(iinm) nod.gif
Yeah, I who normally bought apps when it's on sales, bought it after free trial expired. Use browser on PC to play with it and you'll convinced it on the spot.
Someonesim
post Feb 12 2014, 02:02 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Feb 12 2014, 01:43 PM)
If can report back too rclxms.gif
Usually listen to music when work; either morning before lunch or evening until off work.
I referenced Uber's faux kernel settings @ faux N5 thread.
Most likely will switch ROM to Cataclysm + Faux and with complete KK look mod. PA been on bug fixed update for 2-3 weeks already, cant cure my itchy hand. tongue.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 12 2014, 01:53 PM)
Already bought Cerberus. At RM14, it's pretty darn cheap for a peace of mind right guys? smile.gif
When occasionally Android Device Manager cant detect where's your phone are when you were holding it connected to same Wifi, Cerberus is not expensive at all.
Someonesim
post Feb 13 2014, 12:20 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Feb 13 2014, 12:04 AM)
Buy to support dev. PM me to get half price.  brows.gif
Want to know about Sweep2Wake of Faux kernel apps, how's the experience on it ? Remembered read somewhere that Faux kernel apps cant be installed from apk anymore as there's verification in place, cant test it.
Someonesim
post Feb 13 2014, 12:22 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 13 2014, 12:16 AM)
have you tried simulating as if your phone is stolen?it does what they claimed?

i think i read it support up to 5 devices per account
I've tried for locating devices, sending messages, took photo and also sounding alarm ( quite fun it is ) biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 13 2014, 12:54 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Feb 13 2014, 12:48 PM)
My friend has a note 8.i used it (borrow for 2 days and play) and the 1 inch is not that much of a big deal for me (compare to my n7 la). I would prefer development and updates over a little bigger screen tongue.gif
Most likely depend on your hand's size, let's see what rumored HTC nexus tablet will be. Unibody body with 'improved' ultrapixel sensor brows.gif
Someonesim
post Feb 13 2014, 03:34 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 13 2014, 01:02 PM)
IMHO being able to palm a 8 inch tablet would be a crucial factor because if you can palm it, you would choose a 8inch over a 7inch any day (my opinion la)

But if you can't palm it, then it would be treated like a normal 10" tablet where you have to use 2 hands to navigate through it which would make more sense getting a 7" if you prefer top palm it using one hand and the other to use the touchscreen functions
I had experience with 10" tablet ( Toshiba 1st tablet ), it's huge, heavy and not convenient to play game.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0458sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:04 AM