News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

crystal_junrong
post Jul 16 2014, 09:30 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Jul 16 2014, 11:55 AM)
my headphone is the one i bought for my smartphone and previous laptop. It is the one with the 3 black lines

i have a feeling its a manufacturing problem

it is earbuds
smart phone headphone a bit different from normal stereo headphone for 3.5mm jack. i remember that
smart phone - 3 black lines (TRRS type)
stereo headphone - 2 black lines.

if not mistaken for the 3 black line is earphone and microphone combine, thats why additional section.
for normal stereo got 2 lines 3 sections; one left audio, one right audio and another return.
for TRSS type, one left audio, one right audio, one microphone and last one return.

since the laptop come with separate microphone and earphone jack,
you might want to try the headphone with the 3.5mm jack of two black lines, 3 sections type, instead of TRSS jack.
hope this help.
crystal_junrong
post Jul 16 2014, 10:26 PM

49 posts

oooooooops

didn't see clearly the picture... blink.gif
seem like your y50 is using a combined audio jack.
that's mean your 3 lines jack should be able to plug in. blush.gif

for combined jack, you still can use stereo headphone but no microphone only.
good luck and hope its not a hardware problem...
crystal_junrong
post Jul 31 2014, 02:30 PM

49 posts

i got my y50 dos version before raya....

upgrade to a ssd (original hdd booting time slower than my y480) doh.gif

installed windows 7 with latest nvidia following the notebookreview guide, so far ok.
need to tweak a little on the synaptic touch pad to make it more "mac" feel. icon_rolleyes.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 1 2014, 04:15 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jul 31 2014, 03:31 PM)
Wait, why my Y50 with Windows 8.1 comes with Elantech touchad? Does it my touchpad is bad? How do you configure to make MAC feel?

That's mean Lenovo got their own hardware options for each model.
Luckily the display still AUO.

EDIT: By the way, how do reinstall Lenovo Onekey Recovery if I changed the hard disk? I mean all recoveries and OEM softwares the come along with the package.
Not sure but mine is synaptic touchpad. Thought Malaysia version should be similar. I edit the registry to enable 2 finger right click. By the way since mine is dos version I didn't install the one key recovery. Official Lenovo site also does not have this software for windows 7. Need to research first. hmm.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 1 2014, 04:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jul 31 2014, 07:47 PM)
I feel like replacing my screen of my Y50. The Y50 display compendium in notebookreview has listed a few options. This is one of the options: http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/6173508851.html . Seems pretty good  but how much would it cost to bring it here?
Edison in lowyat selling compatible aou IPS screen for ~ rm300. Used up my budget for ssd. Screen is below expectations. Feel like changing also but too bad, broke now. cry.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 1 2014, 07:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Aug 1 2014, 02:25 PM)
Edison? Is that a shop or? RM300 is include screen only or cost for replacing as well? biggrin.gif
actually is a seller name "edisonedw" selling lcd screen at the garage sales section. his facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/WorldInfoTechSolutions

RM300 for screen only, i think he is in cheras area, for postage add RM10.
if want to change screen can visit "http://forum.notebookreview.com/"
a lot of information can be found. rclxms.gif

however the warranty will be void for the lcd screen, need to take note. sad.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 1 2014, 07:33 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Aug 1 2014, 12:04 PM)
can add ram for y50? how much is the price now for 8gb ram?
there are two slot for ram in the y50.
but open up the back is really headache, need to exert some force.... scarely...
so if yours are currently 8gb, should be no problem adding another 8gb, costing around RM 250 depends on brand.
maybe check first... hopefully not some model with 2x4gb (should not be) shocking.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 02:14 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(GunBlaDeR @ Aug 3 2014, 09:57 PM)
Crystal, where did you buy your lenovo y50?
survey a bit on lyn, found a seller called "versace". his shop located at lowyat 3rd floor if not mistaken - "caterpillar" something.
got the y50 for RM3400. the next day trade in the hdd for a 256gb samsung evo ssd, a well decision made though not that "untung".
really cannot "tahan" when the new flashy laptop is as slow or maybe slower than my previous y480 with 5400rpm hdd.

for dos version please do some study for installing windows 7 (never like windows 8 anyway). can get info from "notebookreview" forum.
need do some tweaking on the bios (which is quite simple just follow instructions)

so far installed windows 7, office 2013 and latest nvidia driver (need to use modded inf) with no problem. recently too busy no time to play with it.

a few cons that can be counter resolved.
1. no vga - can get a "hdmi to vga" converter in lowyat around 40 for "cap palang" or around 50 for better one.
2. under expectation screen - do some tweaking using the intel hd for improvement a bit. viewing angle helpless since it is a tn panel.
3. single hdd port - get a portable for proper backup.
4. slow hdd - upgrade to ssd (good choice, no way i am going back to mechanical hdd)
5. no optical drive - got a free dvdrom from lenovo. pendrive also not that expensive nowadays. laugh.gif
6. keyboard missing stroke - train yourself to type properly. thumbup.gif

the price for this laptop for the same spec is bang for bucks. since most of the time i am using the laptop myself, i can live with the bad viewing angle. with the slim body i don't mind carry a portable and a few different function pendrive in the bag. so far quite satisfied judging from the price i paid and the spec i got.

pros for the laptop
1. loud speaker, don't forget to tweak using dolby home theatre for best sound.
2. slim, light weighted, good design.
3. cooling is good for the thickness.
4. best graphic card for the price.

come to know that for lenovo normally they will come out with dos version. for malaysia version also some improvement will be made after complaint from usa (chi mei to auo screen, 2gb to 4gb maxwell card, intel to broadcom wifi card). if you are ok with tweaking and playing around with computer software, dos version is a good choice. you don't have to live with all those bloat ware from computer manufacturer which most of the functions can be found in native windows (maybe a bit user friendly on interface only). however please remember that some feature software may not be available (onekey recovery for eg but never used that also, better third party software can be found). another point is that you can use the money saved in dos version to get a retail windows at lower or same price. the windows that come with the laptop are oem if not mistaken. to purchase an oem version also much more cheaper. use the money to do something much better like ssd upgrade. however patience needed. to set up the computer need time and some basic knowledge. biggrin.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 02:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Aug 4 2014, 05:43 PM)
1) don't need to check, just use it. if u want better viewing experience, hook it up to an external monitor.
2) use the one from the cd included
the cd that came with the laptop are driver for windows 8. never tried.
you can download all the driver from official lenovo website but beware.
i failed in installing intel hd and consequencely nvidia cannot be proceeded.

use window update to install intel hd automatically, then use latest nvidia with a modded inf file for installing nvidia.
got itchy and install synaptic using the synaptic latest driver (not from lenovo) and the hotkeys not working.
then tried the driver from lenovo website and the hotkeys is running again.
one things i hate the stock synaptics touchpad driver is that lenovo disable half of the tweaking features (momentum, 2 finger click, area..)
since i only used momentum and 2 finger click, need to edit the registry to get them working.
need to do a bit of try and error but thank god my cursor in now with momentum and right click using 2 finger touch only icon_rolleyes.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 02:28 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(tth @ Aug 5 2014, 07:09 PM)
Anyone knows why DOS version will be phasing out?
normal practice for lenovo and some dell model. marketing strategy maybe. i like dos since i am ok with installing and setting up computer. but once a model they phase out the dos version there is no way is coming back. you need to fork out $$ to computer company and micro$oft. yawn.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 02:36 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(firebird00 @ Aug 4 2014, 05:35 PM)
Guys, i have a few questions.

i'll be buying a Y50 DOS version soon and i'm planning on installing win 7 for it.

1) Does every y50 DOS available in malaysia is using AUO panel? is there any chance of getting Chi Mei panel? how to check the panel?

2) What version of Nvidia driver is recomended?

thanks guys.
for you gentlemen who wanna check the panel manufacturer:
device manager > monitor > generic pnp monitor >right click properties > details tab > at property list go Hardward Ids

the value will show what kind of panel. mine is "MONITOR\AUO36ED" not chi mei with terrible yellowish screen.

you can use latest nvidia driver from official nvidia website. but to get it into you laptop you will need a modded inf since out "lei lou mo" never sign the driver. prior to that preferable to disable driver signing enforcement. check "notebookreview" forum page 476 (or 467 can't remember) patience is a virtue for setting up this laptop if you think RM 500 is worth the time or you really into windows 7. smile.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 02:41 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Aug 4 2014, 02:54 PM)
you can look at it this way, the P35W has a VGA and a HDMI, technically, you can have dual monitor setup in native while Y50 doesn't (it has only 1 HDMI). there are ways to connect to multiple monitors but we shall not dwell deep into that.
as discussed earlier, vga is still very much useful for projectors.

another thing is optical drive; to the very least P35W comes with an optical drive while Y50 doesn't. this might be a troublesome for some if you need to have access to the optical drive and it's not there. usually for those who tend to reformat every once a while or listening to cd or watching dvds. yes, there's workaround for it.

last but not least, y50 have only one storage bay and it's either you use it with a sata or ssd. P35W gives you the flexibility to upgrade at a later time (when ssd price drops). this is a direct performance attribute.
indeed p35w is packed with more features. however for some the price different and with the same power, sacrifice can be made (me for example) honestly if i got 6 month bonus i will go for this gigabyte too. nothing is free of charge anyway. sweat.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 6 2014, 11:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kwayteow @ Aug 6 2014, 03:38 PM)
Do you happen to remember the registry setting you changed to get momentum working?  thumbup.gif
try but cannot guarantee safe-free but somehow managed to get mine working.

open regedit then check left panel for
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Synaptics\SynTP\TouchPadSMB2c\

at the right panel click on the MomentumMotion
modify the value from 0 to 1

then restart and you are good to go.

since i install official latest synaptic and later reinstall lenovo stock, i got 2 key folder.
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Synaptics\SynTP\TouchPadSMB2c\ (lenovo driver)
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Synaptics\SynTP\TouchPadPS2\ (synaptics driver)

funny to see different keys... rclxub.gif
if not sure just change both.
crystal_junrong
post Aug 7 2014, 12:04 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Aug 6 2014, 06:37 AM)
Hi bro,

Does that mean currently in market there is chi mei & auo lcd panel? they are different batch?
talked to some sales person (shifu level). so far for genuine malaysia set (non touch, fhd) no different configuration from the follows, being
- 4gb ddr5 maxwell gtx860m
- auo lcd
- broadcom wifi

chi mei lcd panel looks yellowish... just check the hardware id for ease of mind. nod.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 7 2014, 12:10 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Aug 6 2014, 03:08 PM)
thats where the air exit right, i'm looking for the entry, btw the OKR got use for DOS version?
if not mistaken, air enter from the bottom where the fan is located; blow out toward the back louver which the view covered by the screen.
the small holes at the bottom is covered by a layer of fabric like material (avoid dust maybe).
if you are in air con room doing regular work, just lift the base up a little for better ventilation. smile.gif

crystal_junrong
post Aug 9 2014, 12:00 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(tth @ Aug 7 2014, 07:44 PM)
Need to register? How?
go to the lenovo website and register for warranty.
you have to send them 4 piece of info: official receipt, serial number, model, date of purchase.

http://support.lenovo.com/en_MY/detail.page?DocID=HF003341

then they will send you an email saying your laptop had been updated.
but my dos version is covered only one year. hmm.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 9 2014, 12:05 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:07 AM)
hmmm...isit advisable to get a notebook skin for the 'fingerprint magnet' cover?
totally agreed. was thinking getting a 3d carbon sticker that available in some diy but the color was not to my liking (gold???)
saw in aliexpress the same kind of sticker but with transparent type. maybe a good choice.
then when i was in ACE hardware, saw some sticker. don't know whether the effect is good.
at Daiso saw some window antitheft sticker transparent type but the size maybe a bit small.
somehow these are just my own idea but tried none. the finger print is not a sight you want on this laptop. vmad.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 9 2014, 12:17 AM

49 posts

one more thing would like to add to fellow bro and sis.
one of my keyboard was broken. didn't notice earlier.
only know this issue when i press the key a bit upward and the keycap piece was lifting up from the board, showing the scissor plastic underneath.

then closely check the bottom part of the keycap piece found that one of the tiny leg was broken (that used for securing keycap to the scissor plastic).
send to warranty center but they said this is some kind of cosmetic issue not covered under warranty. the shop said the same.
if you want you need to replace the whole keyboard and of course you need to pay. estimated cost around 500 shocking.gif

god sake, just bought for two week, used for the third time and i had to come out with 500 bucks? vmad.gif

anyway just take back the laptop and fix myself.. doh.gif

so for anyone who want this laptop, please remember to check the key.
i was busy checking for other thing but left out the most basic item.
had to live with a reduced-sensitivity key for now.

read the lenovo forum seem that this issue happen to some purchaser for y500.
although the key can be replaced through buying single key from laptopkey.com but this model too new. no key available.

bloody "lei lou mo" vmad.gif
crystal_junrong
post Aug 9 2014, 12:28 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Aug 7 2014, 04:12 PM)
i just got one from lowyat yesterday. you can go there take a look, but be warned, units are very limited.

btw, any idea if there's any silicon keyboard protector available in lowyat for this keyboard?
personally i don't think i will put the silicon keyboard protector.
if you move your finger close to the keyboard you can somehow feel some heat emitting from the keys.
to put a layer covering the keyboard may lead to the failure of heat dissipation.

i use one for my previous lenovo y480 and after some time the keyboard really felt warm. throw away immediately the protector.
crystal_junrong
post Aug 10 2014, 02:12 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Aug 9 2014, 01:33 AM)
i'm thinking of getting transparent one...isit similiar to those screen protector, hoping it wont harm the surface....
thinking of getting from here https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1028573&hl=
bought something similar "transparent laptop skin" saying that can supported up to 15 inch.
so the item is really supported up to 15 inch. therefore too small to cover up the laptop. doh.gif

0.0452sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:23 AM