News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

AthrunIJ
post Apr 17 2015, 03:32 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 17 2015, 03:26 PM)
i bought mine 2 days ago. it has 860m 2gb vram. aspire v15 nitro vn7-591g-744n (black edition)
your 3999 is gst already included ?

Do you reckon i should ask the guy to replace or is it too late :{ ? 860m vs 960m big difference ?
Nope, 960 is rebadge of 860 with higher clock speed (960 higher GHz). Though the performance is roughly ~8 percent better (960 vs 860).
Then again it is up to you if it does worth the extra $$. Don't think you can replace the GPU in that laptop unless you meant by replacing with the newer model of Nitro.

Link : http://www.notebookcheck.net/Nvidia-GeForc...w.137893.0.html

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 17 2015, 03:32 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 17 2015, 03:42 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 17 2015, 03:38 PM)
my laptop i bought was Rm3700 GST inclusive. So this newer one is 3999 GST inclusive. And from your benchmark, it doesn't seem to be a big difference for me to want to shell out 300 ringgit more for it. Not to mention it also is only 2gb vram  hmm.gif  If it was 4gb i would be more inclined, but not for the same 2gb vram for sure  laugh.gif
The 4gb vram 960 gtx cost rm 4599 inclusive of GST. definitely out of my budget  rclxub.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3395857/+1380
Not my benchmark sweat.gif sweat.gif . I dont wanna get sued..... cry.gif cry.gif . Is from a good site.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 18 2015, 03:27 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Apr 18 2015, 03:15 PM)
I need a laptop can last at least (3 years) for gaming and every day use.

Which one should I get - Acer vnitro black edition or the lenovo y50?

And thats a good review in page 112, i read all of it and it means the battery of acer vnitro cannot be removed?? I'm the type that plugs from power supply all the time, wouldnt that spoil my battery?

Seems like the price for Acer v nitro is 3699RM with GST, sigh. Thats quite pricey coming from 3399Rm one month ago. (I went digital mall most of them charged around 3.7kRM)
Well,

Both the cooling system is fine with the y50 getting the edge as the Acer needs some tweaking.

No, Li Ion batteries is preferred to be charge as soon as possible. Deep discharge and recharge is bad for the battery. Most of the time battery life span reduce is because of heat and bad battery.

Specs wise they both are on par.

Cooling wise same but need some tweaking on acer part.

screen wise. Lenovos screen isnt the best as it has a lot of complaint while if i remember correctly acer is using IPS panel.

As long as you keep it well. It will last you a long time.

Happy hunting.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 18 2015, 03:54 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 18 2015, 03:45 PM)
the keyboard of the y50 is much better too if you do type a lot.
as a complete package i would go with the y50 despite the average screen (I am actually ok with it then again I come from the age where CRTs were a norm lolx)
Ah, CRT is the BEST!!! tongue.gif brows.gif brows.gif
AthrunIJ
post Apr 18 2015, 07:31 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Unomi @ Apr 18 2015, 07:28 PM)
im planning to get lenovo y50 with 2gb gtx960m

may i know does this model got kepler and maxwell graphic card?
960m is straight up maxwell. I dont think there will be any kepler anymore since maxwell >> kepler.

Link : http://www.anandtech.com/show/9077/nvidia-...ce-940m930m920m

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 18 2015, 07:34 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 18 2015, 07:32 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Apr 18 2015, 07:07 PM)
I just wanna know if the battery of acer v nitro is removable haha?

And it's 8GB memory ram, same as my current laptop hmm.

Tweaking of the fan? Acer got their own software IINM right?
You need to dismantle the whole laptop to get to the battery if i'm not mistaken. There is some pictures from previous page i believe.

EDIT : Page 112 of this thread. Top post.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 18 2015, 07:33 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 19 2015, 09:15 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Apr 19 2015, 09:13 PM)
Is the screen panel for Y50 really that turn off?

Retail price for Acer V Nitro Black is around 3.7kRM incld. GST
Different people different view. As for me as long it is working i'm fine with it. Go to a physical store to view it.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 19 2015, 09:48 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 19 2015, 09:40 PM)
The new ROG is using IPS panel ? Lenovo thread said the refreshed model should be using a better TN panel. So I assume it will be like normal TN panel quality which is fine. Besides that, I believe dual channel 16gb cost > IPS
panel.

Y50 is also using dual fan cooling. Thickness wise, isn't both also 20cm+- ? It is almost about the same thickness sweat.gif
But storage wise, I think Y50 lose cause there is only 1 storage option. No mSata or m2 slot.

If slim is an option, I think HP Omen is also quite good. Its built quality is really as of premium class. I tested it out, the casing and design is really of premium level. Doesn't feel like consumer grade laptop. (The price is also ridiculously overpriced sweat.gif)
You mean 20mm right. 20cm is huge... shocking.gif

Yea, HP Omen. I just hated the ports designated area........ and the overall design to make it look thin....

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 19 2015, 09:49 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 19 2015, 09:56 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 19 2015, 09:54 PM)
HAHAHA doh.gif Yea I meant 20mm+-
Thanks for pointing out.
HP Omen quality is really like a premium laptop, just the spec doesn't pair up with the price sweat.gif
Well, straight up SSD brows.gif brows.gif . I won't be getting it anyways because of the ports.... sweat.gif sweat.gif shakehead.gif straight turn off

True, the spec doesn't pair up with the price.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 19 2015, 09:57 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 23 2015, 11:06 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(andyliew97 @ Apr 23 2015, 09:31 PM)
need opinion from you guys, i own a nitro v15 ,just bought it 2weeks ago,but while i play gta v,all graphic set to high instead of very high(auto set) ,sometimes when i play,suddenly frames drop then i go check temperature, i realized my cpu temp around 93.. can i know will i able to replace the thermal with a better one at the shop i bought this laptop or acer service center ?really tak tahan la ,any game i play, temp 90+ confirm thermal throttling D:

edit: no cooling fan ,but i put small box on all sides to elevated the laptop higher abit to get proper vent and use it in air condition room,still the same thing, only get hot slower
btw is the fan as per attached really can help much? probably want to buy one as im going to further study and the room i rent no aircond
How about trying the fan speed thing (If it still works.)

Link : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3489863 << Acer Nitro thread. I think it is post 1.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 24 2015, 12:09 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(andyliew97 @ Apr 24 2015, 10:58 AM)
wah thanks bro,really works hhaha..
btw if i gaming for like 2 hours a day and max out the fan speed manually, won't this will shorten the laptop lifespan?
Nono, since you max the fan speed. The fan life span is shorten and if you take care of your laptop it will last you a long time.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 24 2015, 12:14 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 25 2015, 10:47 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Apr 25 2015, 10:35 PM)
I checked everywhere it says both Y50 and V Nitro uses 4th Gen Intel. Is that true?
Yup, 5th gen is still using the U model which is not recommended if you game. The 4th gen HQ/MQ version still beats the crap out of 5th gen U model buddy.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 25 2015, 10:50 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 25 2015, 11:19 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Apr 25 2015, 11:01 PM)
I see, thank you for your comment!

Until now I'm undecided on which to pick haha between Y50 and V nitro. V nitro latest version only has 8GB RAM, and more exp because of the better screen.
Well, if you use the laptop to design stuff that requires good colour i suggest the IPS of Acer if not Lenovo. Best is to test the product at the shop. Some may say TN panel suck this and that but it depends on individual preferences.
AthrunIJ
post May 23 2015, 11:17 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(andyliew97 @ May 23 2015, 06:16 PM)
Anyone know what is the max ram supported by acer v nitro? 860m version..  Currently 8gb,thinking of maxing it,but will it void warranty if i send to the shop where i brought it to upgrade?  Or need send to highpoint?
Most likely 16GB max.
Don't think it will void warranty if you add in yourself hmm.gif hmm.gif
AthrunIJ
post May 24 2015, 10:39 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(andyliew97 @ May 24 2015, 10:09 AM)
i see, thanks anyway..
it's hassle to access to the ram section on this laptop so i better leave it to the shop to open it up rather than me screwing up anything inside(maybe).
so if i replace the thermal by myself it should not be a problem right ?
Replacing the thermal paste would be more hard than replacing RAM. i think you let the shop fellow do it when adding RAM but do it in front of you.
AthrunIJ
post Jun 26 2015, 05:45 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(sscloudstrifey @ Jun 26 2015, 04:58 PM)
PE60 or G501JW?? Helpp, would like to play GTA5 , asked a lot of people and there are mixed reviews on both of these laptop. 😨
Both have similar hardware. Take the one you prefer. I'm sure you are aware of the pro and con for both the laptop.

Link : http://www.notebookcheck.net/Asus-G501JW-N...w.141745.0.html <<G501 review

It suffers from thermal throttling and the temp is quite good but performance would be lower than normal.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jun 26 2015, 07:03 PM
AthrunIJ
post Aug 5 2015, 07:06 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(MichealLees @ Aug 5 2015, 06:52 PM)
no lahh a forumer posted the 4k GE62 gtx965m furmark result also, it is 78c something i remember...then we tot the temperature is good....

now gtx960m alrdy 88c too bad le....
Stress test is different from everyday use as it really STRESS TEST the GPU. From the stress test result take off around 5 - 8 degrees Celsius and that would be your gaming temp.

Temp below 80 Celsius is quite good actually. Of course the lower the better.
AthrunIJ
post Oct 7 2015, 11:22 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 7 2015, 11:18 PM)
Slap in GTX and call it a gaming laptop...

Same chassis as pavilion i don't think it can handle the heat with one fan it seems. But lets wait and see.
AthrunIJ
post Oct 7 2015, 11:43 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 7 2015, 11:40 PM)
lol, just curious the graphic card is in ddr3 or gddr5 hmm.gif
knowing HP most likely gddr3 but "gaming" so gddr5 is likely too though smaller chances in Malaysia.
AthrunIJ
post Oct 8 2015, 12:09 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 8 2015, 12:06 AM)
yea since this is a affordable gaming laptop, most likely is ddr3, gddr5 is very little chance
just wondering what the price when hit Malaysia stores, since the price is USD 899.99 (900) and start selling at US at 8th November
A little over RM4k bud. It is HP brand they are known for premium pricing. I know because i own 2 HP laptop biggrin.gif

If they sell it lower than RM4k i'll be surprise.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Oct 8 2015, 12:10 AM

0.0443sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:47 AM