Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

seshatri
post Aug 15 2014, 03:01 PM

Good Day all. I have a question to the ford focus owners. I booked a ford focus titanium+ sedan 2014 model and today when I went to take delivery found out that the car is 2013 model based on the small cloth stitched to the seat belt at the base. The JPJ Grant and PA says its 2014 but the sticker in the car says 2013.

Also the car is registered as Ford focus Ghia in the grant and also there is a sticker says CBU from Thailand, ford focus ghia. Approved 2012.

I'm now very confused. AM I being conned here? Please shed some lights.

Any ford focus titanium + owners, what do you see in your grant? Ghia or titanium?

Thanks for all the info.
seshatri
post Aug 16 2014, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 15 2014, 11:56 PM)
Not sure about the year of manufacture but the grant of my car indicates Ford Focus Ghia too although it's a Titanium. Bought September 2013.
Tq SportsHandling. Anyone else?

I checked in ford website below
https://www.etis.ford.com/vehicleRegSelecto...0A1E5.eccvas508

Based on chassis number the car was build on 2013. So how come sime darby can get the AP registered as 2014?
seshatri
post Oct 28 2014, 05:03 PM

Hello Friends...good day to all. I'm new in the forum. Got my ride FOFO Sedan Titanium+ in August this year and have been enjoying the ride especially the occasional Fast & Furious ride very much....the car feels solid and glued to the tarmac even on fast cornering (Karak - LPT - Karak) and its very comfy.

There are few things I need clarification from the fellow owners.
1. Can we set Autolock such that all doors get autolocked when we first start driving. Right now I have to manually lock using the lock button in dashboard. SA says cannot do this but I see the manual has some entries on this but its not working for me.

2. When driving on uneven road (gravel / dirt) i hear tok tok sound from the abs. Is that normal? How to make it silent?

3. When I stream songs from my IPhone via BT, I don't get the song details in the screen. This problem only started recently and I'm not sure how to rectify it. Also can't use the steering wheel controls to see the playlist. I can only move forward or back to next track. Initially the details were showing in the screen. Anyone of you had this problem? Please share how to solve it.

Have a great week ahead.

This post has been edited by seshatri: Oct 28 2014, 05:06 PM
seshatri
post Oct 31 2014, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 31 2014, 07:40 AM)
Don't think there is a way to set Autolock but if you manage to do that we would be interested to know.

As on "tok tok" sound when driving over uneven or bad-surfaced roads, I don't think it is from the ABS? Rather, it is from the suspension. Unfortunately the suspension of the Focus is not very quiet. Several(if not all) Focus owners including myself have complained to the service centre on the noisy suspension when going over bad roads. The sound from the suspension when going over uneven road is akin to some loose plastic bottles hitting against each other. It is likely not a defect, in other words, it is normal. Perhaps an oversight or lack of consideration on this area when they design the car. Though, it is not too bad. Slightly noisier than Japanese equivalents but still acceptable.

Can't help you on streaming songs from your iPhone via bluetooth as I usually play the songs from a USB stick.

And yes, the handling of the Focus at the bends is quite splendid as it sticks to the road like a leech. Somehow it seems like the car can sense that the driver is in fast-n-furious mode and automatically adjusts itself to stick to the ground even more. You feel in total control as the car glides through the bends, and body roll is minimal even though you take a bend or corner at relatively high speeds. A fun car to drive especially if you like to drive a bit faster than normal speeds.
Hi SportyHandling, thanks for the clarification. You're absolutely right about the noise from suspension..."The sound from the suspension when going over uneven road is akin to some loose plastic bottles hitting against each other."

Though its not a problem but sometimes it annoys me as I use lots of gravel/dirt road.. anyway got to learn to deal with it biggrin.gif

I do use thumb drive for song occasionally but I stream BT audio from my phone mainly when using Waze so that I get the waze prompts from the car speakers. If use Radio/CD/USB then there won't be any sound from the waze rclxub.gif

BTW, some times I find it difficult to move the shift from P to R when I'm going back after work. Its like the shift is stuck and I have to forcefully pull it to R. Anyone had this issue?

seshatri
post Nov 1 2014, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 31 2014, 09:48 PM)
Were you parked on a slope when this happened?
Yes while pressing brake pedal and not a slope. It happens randomly even in flat area.
seshatri
post Dec 1 2014, 07:17 PM

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Nov 30 2014, 10:44 PM)
To make it to mono mode, hold the auto button and change the driver side temp
Now another issue, it seems like not able to detect my 8gb thumb drive. Need to try with a smaller capacity drive
I'm using 16gb stick. No problem at all. smile.gif
Fofo titanium + 2013 model
seshatri
post Jan 4 2015, 09:53 AM

Dear all, after my first service @ 9825 km in odo now I feel my fofo is more jerky especially in stop go traffic. It gets worst on uphill. It's like the jerks you feel when the car doesn't want to downshift when going uphill. Anyone else has this problem?

In high speed no issues at all.

seshatri
post Apr 19 2015, 01:47 PM

Guys how often you do wheel balancing and alignment ?
I did balancing at 10k service and now doing my 20k service. Shd I do balancing and wheel alignment now?
seshatri
post May 10 2015, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(wee939 @ May 10 2015, 03:06 PM)
no smell while driving at high speed. But bad smell coming out from aircon vent when i start the car, anyone experiences this ?
Exactly. I'm getting the smell for few seconds when I first start the car in the morning. But it dissapears rapidly.
seshatri
post Jul 13 2015, 09:06 PM

Hey guys. I'm clocking 27k now and the car feels loss power and jutters a lot when accelerating / turning into junctions and going over speed breaker. Hilly roads are now worrying me.
I also notice a new sound coming from engine. It's like I'm riding a motorbike with the modified exzoz pipe. The sound correlates with the speed I'm driving. The faster I drive the louder the noise.

Do any of you had this issues ?

This post has been edited by seshatri: Jul 14 2015, 08:15 AM
seshatri
post Jul 14 2015, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(zimly @ Jul 14 2015, 08:46 AM)
I suggest u to use engine cleaner. Maybe there is excessive carbon build-up in ur engine that explain the loss of power n engine not running smooth as it should be.
Actually the last service I did in ford PJ and they used castrol magnetic engine oil. Is there a better one?
seshatri
post Jul 24 2015, 08:25 PM

Hi guys. My road tax is expiring soon and just got a call from the current insurance (AIG) and they gave quote for next renewal.

Coverage 113k
Ncd 25%
Insurans 2699
Rotax 380
Cermin 450
Total rm3529

Is this quote reasonable?

Also which insurance company shd I go with?
seshatri
post Jul 25 2015, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(zimly @ Jul 25 2015, 09:46 AM)
What year of your car registration?
you can check online for the value of your car (2nd hand value).
i dont think coverage is RM113k (means your car 2nd value)
other value looks normal to me.
if im not mistaken, SDAC has allocated certain insurance company which covered for towing service + 24 road assistance
Car is 2014 make. This is the first renewal.
seshatri
post Sep 28 2015, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 26 2015, 09:06 AM)
Just had the clutch changed. The exercise took slightly more than 1 week to perform, 8 days to be exact. Not much difference in the performance apart from less jerking during low speed acceleration. Did not perceive a lack of power during acceleration.
Hi SportyHandling, what was your mileage when you changed the clutch? And what prompted the the change? Did the SA recommended to change or you insisted on it?

seshatri
post Dec 22 2015, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 13 2015, 11:55 AM)
Did any of you guys had the clutch of your car changed? Would like to get some feedback from owners who have had the clutch changed.

No doubt the jerking of the car is reduced quite significantly, and the car does not jerk much during low speed acceleration anymore which is a good thing. But there are 2 aspects of the drive which has changed after the clutch replacement :-

1. The sound from the transmission, a dragging sound which is quite prominent when the car is quiet ie. no music playing. During low to mid speed acceleration, you can hear this dragging sound from the transmission before the upshifting of the gear. (before the clutch replacement, this dragging sound is not present)

2. The acceleration of the car from any given speed does not feel as powerful as before. Say cruising at 60 km/h to 80 km/h and you want to accelerate the car, the car doesn't lunge forward as powerful as before. The kick is missing.

Does anyone experience the same thing in the car after the clutch replacement?
Hi SportyHandling,

I have the 2nd issue after my clutch change at 30k service however I already noticed the 1st one even before the clutch change. I think I started to hear the 'ooooooo' sound (the faster I drive the louder it gets and when you let go the accelerator while crazing fast it's more prominent) at around 25k. The SC told me the sound is due to worn out clutch but even after changing it the sound is still there. I need to send back to check again.

seshatri
post Dec 24 2015, 12:58 PM

QUOTE(wingwp @ Dec 23 2015, 11:57 PM)
did they tell u is worn out clutch after diagnosed? i dun find the oooooo sound is cause of problem
Ya. I complained about the sound before the service and also the jerking problem. After diagnose they told me both problem is due to clutch and should be rectified after the change. But only the jerking problem solved. The sound still there.
seshatri
post Dec 28 2015, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 24 2015, 09:41 PM)
This is real bad. Although the jerking has been eliminated, now there is this dragging noise during acceleration, and also the slight reduction in acceleration power. There is a slight lag before the power kicks in at any given speed which I suspect is due to the dragging in the transmission. Something is wrong with the transmission (or clutch), I don't know. Every time the car accelerates, I can hear this sound from the transmission / gearbox. The car is not very quiet now due to this sound which comes up every time the car accelerates.

I am still waiting for them to inform me when they can slot in an appointment for my car as I need the replacement car. I wanted to bring in my car next week, just for one day so that I can collect the car on the same day, but they told me to wait a bit longer for the replacement car as they are arranging it (for more than 3 months now). The reason they didn't want to take my car next week is because they knew they needed more time to check and rectify the issues of my car.
I have the dragging sound occasionally, especially going up hill with low gears / going over speed bumps but I can second you on the loss of power. I can feel a delay in gear change when I slam the accelerator to overtake or to speed up. This is very obvious compared to before the clutch change. Guess I need to check this on my next service.

BTW, any recommendations to which tyre suits best for FoFo Sedan (stock is GY Assurance 205/55/16)
seshatri
post Dec 30 2015, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 30 2015, 10:30 AM)
Looks like the loss of power after the clutch change is consistent among owners, coupled by the dragging sound. I need to get this sorted out very soon, together with the vibration in the car when it is stationary waiting at the traffic lights.
I do notice the vibrations when idle but its not very serious and only happens occasionally..
seshatri
post Dec 30 2015, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 30 2015, 10:33 AM)
Forgot to mention. For tyres, it depends on what you want, whether you want comfort and quietness, or sharper steering and handling in dry and wet. It depends on your driving style. By the way, the stock tyres of the sedan is 205/60 R16 isn't it? Not 205/55 R16.

If you want quiet and comfortable, the popular tyre is the Michelin Primacy 3ST, though I have not tried this tyre. If you want quiet and comfortable but with better performance in the wet (wet braking and handling), then you can consider the Yokohama Bluearth AE50 tyres.

IF you want handling or performance tyres, there are quite a few to choose from.
You're rite. the size is 205/60 R16. my bad. Anyway I do travel outstation a lot so need a safe tyre as well as one that can last long. However Id be happy if it also can give comfort and quiet as well smile.gif
Heard the 3ST quite good but is it suitable for our ride? Anyone using it here?
seshatri
post Dec 30 2015, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Dec 30 2015, 04:34 PM)
Wow, seem like it is quite consistent feedback after the clutch changed ya.. so I guess I will be holding back my clutch change then if my turns come. Will wait if they are able to address your issue here.. Hmm.. strangely the jerking and shuddering seems to be at very minimal lately.. it could either be I'm starting to get used to it or I have ride out the clutch phase erm... which is unlikely for the 2nd one..
lol... no worries, eventually you will need to make the change.... I was like you before, holding back to change it but it was becoming unbearable for me to have the jerks in every corners, speed bumps, cross junctions, overtaking etc.... When they changed mine I asked them why so many people complain about this but still no proper solutions. The SC told me after changing the clutch everything should be back to normal.....
I guess what he means by normal is you start the cycle all over again smile.gif waiting for the problem to occur again and waiting for your clutch to be changed again ! rclxub.gif

BTW, SC also told me that if you complain about the clutch issue they will run a diagnose and if the reading is >300, then its time to change the clutch. (don't ask me what reading as I don't know. Its just 1 of the items they check during the diagnose) Apparently mine was around 380++ sad.gif

0.1051sec    1.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:04 PM