Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

kelvinftg
post Feb 10 2014, 02:25 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 5 2014, 03:53 PM)
Just an update. The Ford Focus truly impresses with exceptional handling and smooth driving. I mentioned smooth because, due to some complaints on the shuddering or jerking of the Powershift transmission, fortunately and surprisingly, the transmission on my vehicle now shifts very smoothly without any noticeable or annoying jerks. Almost like a CVT! Mileage is currently about 5000km. I was at the service centre today and apparently another Focus user with current mileage above 20,000km informed the shuddering on his vehicle is very prominent since day 1 he got the car. He went through a software update earlier but that didn't resolve the jerk, and today he had just gone for another software update. Somehow I think the extent or seriousness of the shudder or jerks vary with different vehicles. Not too sure what causes this though? Most important is my vehicle now drives exceptionally well without any shuddering at low speeds. No more grinding sound too which is great. I hope it remains that way for a long time.

Also, I just complained on the friction sound from the steering wheel again, and the foremen who checked on it were almost certained that the clock spring is faulty, and the part has been ordered. After this steering wheel issue is fixed, my vehicle would be perfect. :-)

The Focus is surely a vehicle for people who enjoy driving. For those who are looking at the Focus, I strongly recommend that you put it highly in your shortlist. The concern on shuddering/jerking at low speeds and grinding sound is something that I cannot seem to explain. But to my knowledge, not every vehicle has these issues.
My Sport+ is at 20k mileage now and I love everything about it except for one unbearable thing. It vibrates and shudders way too much and badly at idle, RPM is at 750+ when idle. It almost feels like I'm driving a 20 year old car with bad engine mountings.

Already done my 2nd service and they found a transmission oil leak. They said they can't do anything about the engine vibration and shivers. Honestly, it's beginning to annoy me. Every new passenger will comment on it making the whole issue seem worse..
kelvinftg
post Oct 5 2014, 10:10 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Feb 10 2014, 02:25 AM)
My Sport+ is at 20k mileage now and I love everything about it except for one unbearable thing. It vibrates and shudders way too much and badly at idle, RPM is at 750+ when idle. It almost feels like I'm driving a 20 year old car with bad engine mountings.

Already done my 2nd service and they found a transmission oil leak. They said they can't do anything about the engine vibration and shivers. Honestly, it's beginning to annoy me. Every new passenger will comment on it making the whole issue seem worse..
Another update. Mileage is currently at 37,000km+.

The problems I were facing earlier are still present, car still vibrates like an old car with bad mountings at idle. I don't quite care about the transmission jerks and noises as those are the characteristics of the gearbox and dual clutch. Shifts are still as fast as brand new. Another complain however, is the big block of sensor connected to the rear view mirror buzzing and vibrating with music on. As if it was not stuck onto the windscreen properly or it has slowly deteriorated.

I will be giving a long list of things for them to check when my car goes in for the 40k major service.

Recently I have also been pushing my car pretty hard whenever I drive. Especially uphill to Genting Highlands. Pushing it to its limits and keeping revs at around 4k to 7.5k rpm with mostly only 2nd and 3rd gears. I realised that the car does not always allow me to downshift from 3rd to 2nd even though I know the rpm will only go up to about 5.5k rpm from doing so. This is quite annoying, you will just see the gear number blink instead of going down.

Another major major turn off is that when Traction Control comes on, it forces me to HEAVILY understeer and end up going straight unless I apply the brakes. Releasing throttle does not help. This means I turn a hard right (not high speed) and control my throttle, I can literally feel them braking my front left wheel more than my front right wheel, resulting in you not turning at all unless you apply brakes.

While this is happening, I question myself where is the Torque Vectoring which is supposed to do the OPPOSITE? Which is braking the right wheels to increase traction while turning right. There is no Torque Vectoring felt at all, only ESP and Traction Control.

So this has prompted me to finally try turning off my Traction Control. I have yet to try it with hard cornering but there were some immediate changes felt.

Throttle response is definitely increased, low gear changes are slightly harder and not as smooth, sort of gives you a kick. The feeling of delayed throttle response is greatly minimised, especially when you slow down for Smart Tag and accelerate after boom gate opens.

Owners should give it a try.

This post has been edited by kelvinftg: Oct 5 2014, 10:17 PM
kelvinftg
post Oct 5 2014, 11:16 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 5 2014, 10:44 PM)
37,000km mileage. You have certainly clocked a lot of miles on the car.

I don't experience bad vibrations at idle although there are minor vibrations from the engine at traffic lights. Though the mileage on my vehicle is a low 13,000km+. Perhaps you should really get it checked during the 40,000km service.

As for downshifting the gear manually, you can't do that in Sports mode with the + and - buttons on the gear lever?

You seem to be pushing the car hard. ALthough I occasionally put the car to its paces, the Traction Control didn't come on. If you plan to turn off the Traction Control, the logo of the Traction Control will be lit, yellow in colour. Somehow the lit logo of the Traction Control gives the impression that something is wrong with the feature. Anyway, perhaps you can give it a go. Maybe I should try turning the Traction Control off and see what difference does it make vs. Traction Control on in everyday driving.

Not too sure about the understeer part and the behaviour of the car when the Traction Control comes in. Perhaps the Torque Vectoring is just some term but in real life action it isn't too useful. I've not been able to see the Traction Control or ESP warning light comes on in all my cars so perhaps I'm not driving hard enough(usually it's the tyres that give up first).
Yup, I was changing gears with the + - lever. It does not allow you at times to downshift too hard. Very clear that a conventional push/pull lever to change gears are much more convenient than the stupid lever given in the Ford Focus.

All kinds of lights came on when I drive the car hard! I'm talking sub 60km/h speeds with hard cornering.

Regarding the Traction Control, yes, there will be a Traction Control logo with the word OFF that lights up when you turn it off.
kelvinftg
post Oct 7 2014, 11:26 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 6 2014, 11:07 PM)
I tried disabling the Traction Control and took some corners at relatively high speed. I have to say I can feel the difference between Traction Control off and Traction Control on in those driving conditions. Regrettably I do not like the car's behaviour when the Traction Control is turned off. I can feel the car swaying more erratically(and freely) with the Traction Control off, as if the suspension is really free on its own and not electronically controlled. A more unstable ride as the suspension seems to be slightly loose and "free" as it sways more at the corners.

Also, at a sharp 90 degrees corner, with the Traction Control turned off, for the first time I heard a screeching sound although I wasn't really going too fast. As I accelerated out of the corner, the screeching sound is quite loud. I'm not sure if the sound is from the tyres or the suspension, or whether it is due to the Traction Control turned off.

After some short experiment today, I do think I prefer the Traction Control to be turned on for a more stable ride. I appreciate the difference the Traction Control brought to the vehicle especially during high speed cornering. I can really feel the difference. The vehicle is more in control with the Traction Control enabled.

By the way, is this Traction Control something like ESP or something that prevent the vehicle from losing control in emergency situations, or it's just a feature for the tyres to gain traction on wet or muddy roads?

By the way, I just came back from Genting Highlands just an hour ago. Couldn't drive too fast up Genting this time as the other half told me to slow down halfway up the journey(and Myvi and Nissan Almera start to overtake my vehicle).
Cool. Thanks for the feedback. I'll give it a try without Traction Control the next time!

The thing about my previous few drives is that, on the tighter corners, I bring the car to its brink of losing grip, which is why all the electronic safety measures kicked in and kind of made the car much less predictable to control.

Granted those are great when driving through puddles of water through highways, you can really feel the car straightening out for you when the lights come on.

All this has also made me think about the Focus ST, knowing that dealers are giving out huge discounts now for it. Hmmm..
kelvinftg
post Oct 7 2014, 05:47 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 7 2014, 12:29 PM)
If the ESP's light did not come on, then what you felt was probably ESP's more rowdy cousin, Torque Vectoring.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/12/28/2012-fo...rque-vectoring/

It is designed to maximise grip during hard cornering by using the brakes. It works like ESP, but is designed as part of Focus's handling suite rather than a safety system (unlike ESP, Torque Vectoring does not interfere with the throttle).

What I'm not sure is, when you switch off ESP, does it also switch off Torque Vectoring.
That's the problem, what I encountered was the exact opposite. The outer brakes were being applied more than the inner brakes, so it can't be the Torque Vectoring at work.

So it has to be the Traction Control sensing that I was losing grip and about to spin out, and automatically applied more brakes to the outer wheel to straighten my car. Interferes with driving especially if you actually try to correct it yourself with throttle.
kelvinftg
post Dec 10 2014, 05:23 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Dec 1 2014, 12:27 PM)
yup. I'd called it slippage. especially on a hot weather or you've driven it long. It'll happen.

Got it change and i drove it back to ipoh on the next day. I'm not sure it's the new clutch needing a run-in or not or maybe they might've updated the firmware, let's say on 5/6th gear and cruising at sub 2k rpm, the engine vibrates.

a downshift would help but before the clutch change, i dont notice any vibration at all.

any of you guys experiencing this? highest gear, cruising at 2k rpm and lower.
Left my car there for a week as I went overseas for work, took them 2 days to do everything including 40k major service.

I confirm that I am experiencing this as well after changing clutch pack and also transmission internals. Engine vibrates and struggles a bit in 6th gear, unless you apply more gas which will drop the gears, the engine will continue vibrating. Can be tested in S mode and just move all the way up to 6th gear, cruise at 120km/h, and slowly step on gas pedal.

Prior to clutch pack and transmission change, car will just accelerate very slowly using 6th gear without vibrating.

Now not only this problem is new, I can also feel my steering wheel giving lots of vibration feedback once the car moves. I'm not sure if it's an alignment or balancing issue as I still haven't done it. If it is still there after balancing and alignment, I will return my car again. It is giving my hands the 'pins and needles' feeling everything I drive because that's how bad it is..

They have fixed some of my previous problems but now I have new ones. Engine vibration at idle is STILL there and the guys have literally told me they can't fix it. I will update here again.
kelvinftg
post Mar 31 2015, 10:39 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 31 2015, 10:23 AM)
Late last week, managed to test the acceleration power of the Focus with an exotic sports car. Can't really figure out the model of the car as it was night time at the moment though it looks like a Porsche, but the car was surely fast. My car was just behind the Porsche as our cars were both on the right lane. Once a slow car moved to the left, the Porsche accelerated away in a split second. I tried to keep up but it looks like the acceleration power of the Focus cannot match the Porsche. Though when approaching a bend, the Porsche slowed down and that was when my vehicle managed to get close behind it again. Just as another slow vehicle moved to the left, the Porsche again accelerated away.

Suddenly the Ford Focus feels slow.
Although our Ford Focus is one of the most powerful 2.0 NA cars out there, sometimes I really can't tell if you are being sarcastic when I read some of your comments.

And now you are comparing with a Porsche. Even an ST can't compare with a Porsche as kianyung highlighted. Simply put, they are in different leagues.
kelvinftg
post May 31 2015, 07:46 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ May 31 2015, 08:11 AM)
Is there an ST word after the Pilot Sport 3 on your tyre?
I think it stands for Silence Tuned.

This post has been edited by kelvinftg: May 31 2015, 07:47 PM
kelvinftg
post Sep 23 2015, 05:40 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(zimly @ Sep 12 2015, 12:06 PM)
Ive done it myself.
Infact i peeled it to make it as a stripe design
Below is the pic
There will be very minimal sticky residue left. Dun worry you can use 'sticker remover' sold @ DIY shop. Some say can use wd-40. Ur hood will be shining again.

[attachmentid=4938197]
If only this colour was available at launch. I am officially jealous you have a Ford Blue Ford Focus.
kelvinftg
post Jan 8 2016, 10:53 PM

268 posts

My honest positives and negatives on my 2013 Focus Sport +. These are my very own unbiased views so other owners may not agree. I still love my car, but too bad ST was out of budget.

While it does not break down and require towing like the infamous VW Golf or Peugeot 308, it definitely has its flaws. And the biggest flaw is without a doubt, the transmission.

+ design (subjective)
+ Less common
+ Powerful 2.0 NA
+ Handling
+ Front seats
+ Technology packed
+ Fit & finish
+ 5 years warranty (no disputes so far for all my claims)

- Space (fine for me, not so fine for my rear passengers as I'm tall)
- Terrible driving at low speeds, traffic jams etc. Jerks due to poor double clutch design. I DREAD it.
- Engine vibration at idle (Literally no one at Ford knows WTF is going on)
- Replaced gearbox, clutch, steering rack, drive shaft & engine mounting so far.
- Service centres need improvement, same goes for some of their staffs.
- Absolutely horrible resale value
kelvinftg
post Jan 9 2016, 02:38 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Jan 9 2016, 01:45 AM)
wat flaw? jerk is not flaw

r u sure replaced gearbox? wats abt it
Well, then what do you want to call it? A unique double clutch "characteristic" that we as owners are supposed to embrace and adapt to? To each his own, I guess.

By the way, bravo to Sportyhandling and -ahtiang- for all their detailed reports here. I can say that their issues are also quite consistent with what I experience but unfortunately I do not take the effort to write it up so often here.
kelvinftg
post Jan 25 2016, 12:58 AM

268 posts

I believe ken77 got a really bad quotation from a greedy second hand car dealer. The most recent I heard was a 2014 Sport + sold at 75k to a second hand car dealer. Owner sold the car to change to MPV, also because was sick of car jerking in traffic jams.

A few points to note. Sedan was sold at a cheaper price, had better discounts and overall less desired.
kelvinftg
post Mar 22 2016, 12:34 AM

268 posts

Focus RS is slower and less premium than A45 AMG and Golf R but maybe it is the most fun?

So realistically, if they want to attract buyers, I think they will have to price it very close to and less than Golf R price.
kelvinftg
post Mar 24 2016, 08:12 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Mar 23 2016, 10:12 PM)
It may be "outrageous" to some people, but not everyone. Although money is important to most people, it is not everything. I think you would have heard this phrase before. Some people don't really regard the high monetary losses  as something that is worth fretting about. It's not like it's the end of the world to have a lower resale value of say ~RM15k to RM20k less than a similar Japanese car.

For what it's worth, almost all 3+ years old continental cars will register a 50% or more losses when sold in the used market. My cousin sold is BMW 320i for RM100k which is more than 50% the price he paid when brand new. A loss of more than RM100k in about 3 years time. The costlier the car is, the higher the loss will be. The Volvo's resale would be worse. The losses incurred with the sale of the Ford Focus at about RM50k to 60k is nothing when compared to these costlier premium cars.

In summary, not everyone will look at the high losses with utter dismay. Of course, it would be good if the car has good resale and owner does not lose much, but you can't have everything sometimes. If one doesn't want to lose money, one can just go with a cheap local-made Proton or Perodua car. If a person wants to enjoy the performance of premium cars, cars costing RM250k or more, then he/she would not have thought about the losses as something that is "outrageous". It is the luxuries of life or the choice that one makes that will take precedence, not money. Of course, one would have to be financially capable to be able to reach this stage.
EVERYONE looks at high losses with utter dismay, regardless of how rich that individual is, or what model was bought. At the end of the day, we just try to comfort ourselves.

All valid points taken into consideration, no Focus owner should feel okay with a resale value that shit.
kelvinftg
post Mar 24 2016, 09:52 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Mar 24 2016, 09:40 PM)
You are just being ignorant. If you feel utterly disgusted with the resale value of the Ford, that doesn't mean everyone should feel the same like you, as you have stated confidently that EVERYONE will be disgusted. Just because you are disgusted, you think everyone should be in the same boat feeling the disgust? That is just pure immaturity that you are showing there.

If Focus owners (or any other car model) should not feel okay with the poor resale, what should you suggest that he do? Bang his head on the wall or jump into the sea? You didn't realise that your rant here and some others who think that EVERYONE should look at the losses of the Ford with disgust not only makes you look like sour grapes, getting the car and then having regret, crying out about the shitty resale value like a small child.

Get over it. I repeat, NOT EVERYONE look at high losses with disgust or we try to comfort ourselves. That only applies to you. You are just speaking for yourself, and to imply that EVERYONE feels that way is just stupid.
A glance through this post tells me you are the sour grape.

No need for me to stoop down to your level and argue, people can't tell the difference then. Have a nice day.
kelvinftg
post Jun 2 2016, 11:17 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Jun 1 2016, 02:48 PM)
Finally after putting up my car on the Clutch Replacement waiting list last year November, its finally my turn to have mine replaced on the 16th June. My car has since clocked 42K mileage so far and minor jerking.. let's see how it goes... but worst thing is 1 weeks w/o my car!!.. pppfffftttt...
My previous clutch replacement only took one full day. You need to check with them exactly why on earth it needs to stay in the SC for that long.

With that said, I tried making a reservation through phone for my 80k major service yesterday at Ford Damansara and was told that the earliest is 21st June. I refused to take that date and insisted they look at their calendar again, moments later they shifted it to 10th June. This is the first time I encounter such high traffic at this SC so it must be due to Raya.

My point is, regardless of what car manufacturer, never settle for what they offer.
kelvinftg
post Jun 23 2016, 10:36 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Jun 23 2016, 07:12 PM)
So I was away for 1 week and drop my car to service center and I received a letter from Ford when I am back to MY yesterday. Its a letter to inform me to bring my car to update the TCM software to 15B22 from now until 31st July 2016. This new software is supposed to alert driver of a possible TCM circuit failure before symptoms progress.

After this software upgrade, the "Check Engine" light will lit if TCM isn't functioning properly.

In the very same letter, Ford is extending the warranty coverage on the TCM to 10 years or 240,000km from the warranty start date (whichever comes first).

Any others received similar mail?

Btw, I shall be collecting my car tomorrow after the clutch assym. replacement. Let me show them the letter and ask if they have updated the software to the version stated in this letter.
I received this letter a week after my 80k service and I don't think they updated the TCM software for me. I have yet to double check with them.
kelvinftg
post Apr 19 2023, 03:11 PM

268 posts

2013 Sport Plus having christmas tree lights recently. Sent back to Ford to check and problems were ABS pump (~RM7k) and all 4 ABS sensors (~RM400 each) need replacing.

Ouch.. waiting for the Ford Bengkel to check and confirm before deciding whether to repair or sell this 10-year long serving car.

This post has been edited by kelvinftg: Apr 19 2023, 03:12 PM
kelvinftg
post Apr 21 2023, 04:54 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 19 2023, 09:48 PM)
Care to share what exactly is the symptom of "christmas tree lights" that prompted you to send your car for a check up? Also, may I ask what is the mileage of your car at the moment?

I presume the prices (RM7k and RM400x4) are quoted by Ford authorised service centre. Please update if you manage to get a lower price at Bengkel Excellent Auto.

I wrote here few months back that the steering rack of my 2013 Titanium sedan broke down and the cost of replacement quoted by Bengkel Excellent Auto is RM9.8k if I'm not mistaken. Replaced it with a recond set together with other parts and workmanship at another workshop, all in cost RM3k only.
A few ! warning lights here and there, ABS lights, slippery traction control lights, hill assist not available warning, city stop assist not available warning. Quite colourful I would say.
Mileage is 200k+. Car only goes out of limp mode when I untick and turn off traction control but it just ticks itself back on.

So... yup. It's time. Either fix and drive for another year or sell now. Although now that you mentioned, maybe get old parts from halfcut or recond parts is a better idea since I do not plan on keeping it for more than a year anyways. Mind to PM me which workshop you went to? Much appreciated.
kelvinftg
post Feb 25 2024, 12:23 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 2 2024, 08:52 PM)
An update, probably my last post on this thread and I'll make it short. Despite my earlier plan to keep the Ford Focus for few more years, I finally decided to let it go after much consideration There are just too many surprises and I don't really wish to go through the ordeal again.

My only mistake that I regret doing is replacing the steering rack with a second hand unit, not once but twice. If I could turn back time I will replace it with a new one. If any Focus owners have a faulty or malfunction steering rack, I would strongly urge you to replace it with a new one. Only replace to a second hand one if you don't plan to keep it for long with the intention to sell it away.

I will miss the handling and performance of the car, and the powered seats for both driver and passenger, that's for sure. I don't think there is any vehicle that offers the value of the Focus at its price point of RM105k to 115k. The powered seats for both front and passenger are only offered in few D-segment vehicles such as Toyota Camry. Most if lot all C-segment cars only come with driver's powered seat while the passenger seat is on manual adjustment.

One thing I won't miss about the Ford Focus is on unplanned failure of parts or electronics especially one that requires the vehicle to be towed to the workshop. If there is any vehicle that drives like the Ford Focus at below RM150k, I would appreciate any information.
It is indeed a feature jammed packed car for its age. No other C-segment car at this price point from 12 years ago had self parking, self opening/closing flaps, AEB, Hill assist, sunroof, 160hp, and the list goes on. But with all this comes the endless list of problems and I have encountered them all.
Mine is a Sport+ with 200k km now and I am looking at replacing it with either a Mazda 3, used 330i, or go all the way with more budget for a used SUV like XC90 or Macan.

This post has been edited by kelvinftg: Feb 25 2024, 12:23 AM

0.0316sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:56 AM