Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

Chosen1
post Feb 9 2014, 10:55 PM

202 posts

Hi All, new White Ford Focus Titanium+ owner here... I love my new car!!! But unfortunately when it was delivered today my Odometer showed 999999 (MAX) on its mileage. So tomorrow my sales person will be sending over to Ford to have it fixed... sigh and I was sooo looking forward to taking it out for a nice spin on my holidays today.

Anyone heard of this problem before?
Chosen1
post Feb 10 2014, 01:14 PM

202 posts

Anyone got anything feedback regarding the Sony sound system on the Focus? Ok ka?

Chosen1
post Feb 10 2014, 02:08 PM

202 posts

Thank you..... i'm also trying to locate good service centers that all the experienced owners can vouch for. Any recommendations?

P/S I am currently working in Puchong and apparently there is a Ford 3S Centre by Persada, saw a review online that said "if you love your car dont ever send it there". Don't want to believe only one bad comment so does anyone else here have any experience with this service center?
Chosen1
post Feb 10 2014, 02:20 PM

202 posts

Hi Rooks... for test drive you can go to the Ford showroom in PJ, the one facing the federal highway. I did my first test drive there, but bought from Trio Mantap after they gave me the best discount.
Chosen1
post Feb 10 2014, 04:06 PM

202 posts

Hi Rooks, already sent PM to you.
Chosen1
post Feb 10 2014, 11:38 PM

202 posts

Thanks for the info, did they manage to solve the issue and how would you rate their service there?

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 10 2014, 07:05 PM)
I just sent my car there last week to check my clutch.

There is currently only one service advisor and 2 mechanics working there, recently there was an internal problem that 3 staff resigned from the SC simultaneously.

I'll let you decide whether you want to send your car there.
Chosen1
post Feb 11 2014, 09:01 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 11 2014, 12:01 AM)
If normal oil change probably no problem. If troubleshooting then better not. Like I said, they are seriously understaffed at the moment, so don't go on weekends or you'll be visiting waitlonglong.com.my.

For my clutch issue, no they didn't solve it. It's not a serious problem at the moment so I'll wait for the next OCI and send it to SDAC PJ.
Thank you very much, I think if like that then I better just stick to the PJ one. =D

Chosen1
post Feb 11 2014, 09:20 PM

202 posts

Dear sifus, I remember reading in the previous thread that due to the size of the number plate being too big it will affect the front sensor when the parking sensor is activated and it will beep non stop. Mine has that issue and I cannot seem to find that page anymore. May I know how to rectify this issue?
Chosen1
post Feb 11 2014, 10:27 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Feb 11 2014, 09:58 PM)
change to a smaller plate. lol. nothing else
Haha thanks... do alot of fofo get this problem? I mean if mine has that issue that would mean that the others have it as well so should't the SA already know not to issue so big ones? I think the problem lies with all the dealers want to put their branding on the plates
Chosen1
post Feb 13 2014, 04:07 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(pin86 @ Feb 12 2014, 06:43 AM)
Some put double sided tape to the plate so that it curves with the bumper. You can give it a try.
Thank you... seems to have solved the issue for now
Chosen1
post Feb 13 2014, 04:20 PM

202 posts

Seems that lately FOFO owners not so active anymore compared to during the 1st version thread. Where have all the sifus gone? So much more to learn from you guys.

Anyone want to share their experiences now that they have gotten the FOFO MK3 alot longer? Any other joys, or even issues that isn't that common to share?
Chosen1
post Feb 14 2014, 07:31 AM

202 posts

Would like to ask all the sifus about the low speed juddering issue, I find that its the worst especially moving from 0 - 50 kmph, especially in Jams or when you just started to move the car. Its even worse when you step on the accelerator really really lightly, as it really does seem that it revs up higher and then moves to 2nd gear causing it jerk because of the gear shift. But if you do step on the accelerator it more consistently (aka picking up speed) its much better and the juddering is not so noticeable. It feels really like when in super low speeds like in Jam or maybe in the car park etc when very low speeds are needed its a little confused on how the gear shifts should be handled, esp from 1st to 2nd gear. (that or I'm used to how my VIOS drives haha)

Is this the common juddering in low speed characteristic of the FOFO in low speed that everyone is talking about, or is mine kinda out of character?
Chosen1
post Feb 14 2014, 09:27 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Feb 14 2014, 09:25 AM)
We're too busy enjoying the ride smile.gif
So what's the timing you got? below 10s for 0-100km/h?
It's common, considering that I also a Vios driver before this, it gets better from 3-4k mileage, and I feel it's very smooth at 5k clocked so far, only slight jerking when going uphill at low speed, which is bearable to me smile.gif
Ahh thats good to know... was worried for a second that my ride was worse than others.
Chosen1
post Feb 19 2014, 01:36 PM

202 posts

Hi All... 2 weeks in with my Focus... loving it. But are some observations...

1. Jerking at low speeds - For those who are new, hopefully this might help you (that or my fofo has issues), at very low speeds in a jam or parking, be prepared for the jerking to be more prominent. At super low speeds make sure your pressure on the pedal is light but consistent. My habit was to just touch it and let go, then when needed press again (as it was enough for my vios), this makes the jerking quite bad, it seems like that car does not know which gear to shift and goes up and down.. but once you get the hang of it, it gets better and only annoys you occasionally.

2. Fuel Consumption - I'm averaging 8.9 to 9.1 for mixed highway and city (jam) and for me it could be better, but for the power and a 2 liter car i would say its quite acceptable, and it seems to get better and better every time i fill up. So maybe i'll update again. I can't use FUELY yet as some of the members here do as my Odometer is faulty and it shows 9999999 and won't move anymore. The Ford service center has already ordered my part and it will take 4 weeks.

3. Would like to ask if anyone knows how to toggle dual trip odometers like in most other cars? Or is there only 1 trip odometer available?

4. Does our Ford Focus come with any built in Car Alarm? Just Curious.

Overall... I LOVE IT and am enjoying every moment driving it. Even if it requires quite a lot of tender loving care as its white and gets dirty super easily.

Chosen1
post Feb 20 2014, 12:42 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(SuperKL2020 @ Feb 20 2014, 11:50 AM)
Just sent in my fofo for the 1st servicing, clocked 8600km in 7 months. I realised the service centre didnt do much, only change oil and filter..

I asked about the software upgrade for the low gear jerking, but the technician says nothing wrong and no need to upgrade.. Should i insist on the upgrade of software?
Why not? Try to insist as I will be insisting on mine as well, but at the same time, anyone here can let us know what is the latest firmware available and how to check (It might be in V1 but not sure where to find it). Just in case the SA didn't do but tell you do already.

Anyone get higher FC once updated to new firmware?

Chosen1
post Feb 21 2014, 04:39 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(pin86 @ Feb 21 2014, 12:17 PM)
What does Global AC means? U mean we can actually control both AC temp with 1 dial instead of have to turn both dials? How? Teach me...

I actually too had a back tyre squealed when over take car when entering a high speed cornering sweat.gif
Swear to god I will never wanto try that again. whistling.gif
Bro.... push until so hard meh haha... I sayang my car too much leh. Scary leh.
Chosen1
post Mar 5 2014, 09:38 AM

202 posts

Hi All, any Sifus can advise on where to get touch up paint for Focus MK3 the White colour? Some A$$hole go open door next to mine and now there is a gash on the handle. Chipped all the way in... =(
Chosen1
post Mar 20 2014, 03:46 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(pin86 @ Mar 18 2014, 05:36 PM)
Congrats on the new ride!!
Not much worry. It varies from case to case.
My fofo has been good so far, about 8k mileage now, 4months old.

I am thinking how we can meet more member and try out each other's car.
At the same time we can understand each other's care and maintenance and also usage pattern.
This way we can pin point the cause and also find some preventive measures.

side note: really hope that we can have a convoy or gathering icon_idea.gif
Hahaha bro...... you organize lo......... I'll sign up first. =D

P/S My wife really likes the mat leh =D
Chosen1
post Mar 20 2014, 03:50 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Blodia @ Mar 19 2014, 06:21 PM)
Just finished my 1st service, 6 months driving the S+  biggrin.gif

The only complaints I had were pretty standard yet minor:
1. Minor gearbox shudder and sounds during stop/go traffic
2. Suspension noise over uneven road (only experience this at certain locations tho, very weird)
3. Windshield wiper shuddering at the edges

Brought it up during the 1st service, in which they updated the software and changed the windshield wipers.

Suspension seems quieter but would need to go to Cheras to test the sound thoroughly.

Overall, an enjoyable experience with a good cabin and great drive.  Very good stock ICE too, didn't feel the urge to change it yet.

Handling the accelerator should be non-issue for you as you're a MT driver.
Bro where did you get your car serviced? I want to upgrade my firmware also, and my wipers shuddering at the edges... I thought mine was the only one. Anyone else have this issue?

0.0282sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:20 AM