post Jan 23 2014, 11:51 AM

57 posts

pin86, you need to update the price list smile.gif
post Jan 23 2014, 02:01 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(mistasmit @ Jan 22 2014, 09:28 PM)
Hello guys!!.....Got my foucs ST delivered last week. Its been a great week after. Always finding reason to drive the car hehehe....even sending and fetching my kid from school even though takes 2 trips to get all 5 of them. Hope to share my experience and learn some tips from all of u guys. Happy driving guys!
wow, the ST! only the ST have the spirit BLUE! I wonder what colour you got yourself? I really love the BLUE!

QUOTE(vyruzj @ Jan 22 2014, 10:18 PM)
Sometime during jam, i release brake and put on a bit of throttle and the car "leaps" forward almost kissing the front car, thats when active city stop kicks in. Now to remedy it, i'll let the car in front move further abit before applying throttle.

How it feels... ummm.... u can hear the brakes "makan" very tightly and warning on the dashboard, i think if not mistaken the emergency signals will come up as well..
hmmph, thanks for sharing

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Jan 22 2014, 10:32 PM)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkJf53EO-U8

This is how our car is born!
Can't view the video or is it just me?

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 23 2014, 10:53 AM)
Guys,

would like to know when your focus went over uneven roads, does the suspension sound transfer to the cabin? i know it should be soft thud but somehow it's quite a loud thak thak/thud sound
I think I asked this question before, the suspension of focus is to "feel the road", or should I say the road feedback is too good tongue.gif

And yes, to your question, when going through uneven roads, the thud sounds are quite loud.

QUOTE(pin86 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:57 AM)
Maximum post count!!

V2 has been created rclxms.gif

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3109684
thanks for taking up the responsibility!
post Jan 24 2014, 09:30 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Jan 23 2014, 02:09 PM)
Guys, i'm thinking to buy Ford Focus or Peugeot 408, can you guys give me some advise or ideas?

I love both actually.... which one is easier to get spare part, cheaper spare part price, FC?

thx much ~~  smile.gif
To me, Ford Focus won because of the safety features and also more value for money, exterior and interior are better to me too (personal preference)

QUOTE(mistasmit @ Jan 23 2014, 05:19 PM)
Thx bro. I personnaly chose the Spirit Blue too. But then my wife got the final say....haha. She said "if WE'RE gonna pay that much for YOUR car, I wanna to choose the color!" - (Read with emphasis on WE'RE and YOUR). Soo that's the end of it smile.gif

I think the Focus is a great car. The only difference from the regular Focus being the engine and uprated suspensions. The Titanium spec have even more bells n whistle than an ST. But the panels and materials are being carried over throughout the whole range.

That being said i wanna show a few things that is bothering me. I'm wondering is it the same with the other Focus or is this only with the ST

[attachmentid=3828638]
The gap between the driver door panel to the B-pillar. The gap is soo wide that u can see a narrow strip of the car paint in between. Its the same for all 4 doors.
so I guess it's tangerine scream from the picture. And yes, the gap is soooo wide that you can see your car paint in between, but it's okay for me, my car exterior and interior are built with red and black only anyway whistling.gif
post Jan 24 2014, 04:31 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(yuy_hikaru @ Jan 24 2014, 01:25 PM)
hey

anyone successfully bought those paint pen to touch up chips? saw in v1 that there are some in ailiexpress. tempted to buy but not sure which colors represents midnight sky....any ideas guys?
I need some feedback on this as well, got a deep dent in my engine bonnet and hope to fix it soonest, the heat in the engine is quite high icon_question.gif

QUOTE(jenova @ Jan 24 2014, 02:23 PM)
Any one want to sell his Focus?? Looking to buy a used Focus...
why not consider a fiesta if budget is the issue? Anyway, maybe you should try in oto or carlist

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jan 24 2014, 02:30 PM)
The 408 is surely ugly. The only model that is worth considering in the Peugeot line is the 508.
for me, only the 308 is worth considering in Peugeot, I love hatchback wub.gif
post Jan 26 2014, 11:29 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jan 25 2014, 02:32 PM)
Hatchbacks are not really my cup of tea but yes, if you are into hatchbacks then the 308 is worth considering in the Peugeot line. The 208 looks like college kid's car. A bit young.
guess I'm young then tongue.gif
post Jan 27 2014, 06:59 PM

57 posts

Current mileage: 4k+
Usage pattern(highway vs. city): 30 : 70
Brand: petronas
Octane number: 95
Fuel consumption: 9.5l/100km
post Jan 30 2014, 02:38 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Jan 29 2014, 04:34 PM)
I heard some people said Fiesta not really nice.... so targeting Focus 2nd hand... but not much budget...only aroudn RM70k +-  sad.gif

How's the FC of Focus & Fiesta so far?  Low as vios/city/myvi??  brows.gif  brows.gif
The current facelifted fiesta not so good cause the engine capacity dropped from 1.6 to 1.5 and the new Aston Martin front design not so easily accepted by malaysian. By mind you, the new 1.0 ecoboost engine variant is coming to town this year and it outperform the 1.6 litre engine not only on power but also the fuel consumption. This 1.0 ecoboost engine has been awarded the best engine in the world for two consecutive year!

2nd hand focus I think around 85k cause it's still pretty new to Malaysia market. So you might need to top up a little.

As far as the FC concerns, you can't compare a 2.0 litre engine with vios or city on 1.5 litre. Fiesta is more apple to apple comparison. I own vios prior to the focus and comparing to previous fiesta on 1.6 litre which my gf owned. With the same route to work everyday, we were staying in same area and work in same office before. And the results is fiesta won by 30% more mileage - my vios clock in 400km with about rm70 (rm2.1/litre of ron95) vs fiesta around 500++km for the same petrol costs. At first I couldn't believe it too as everyone said Japanese cars are the most fuel saving car around. But fact is fact, the power of dct on FC and performance over the characteristics that some can't accept like grinding noise during low speed or uphill.
post Feb 5 2014, 09:38 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(kennethwch @ Feb 3 2014, 11:59 PM)
i am short of budget to get a new car. Hopefully i can get a FC plus 2nd hand unit in this year.
What's a FC? Fuel Consumption? You want to get a second hand fuel consumption unit this year?

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Feb 4 2014, 09:15 PM)
How is the feel for normal city drive for passenger behind Focus Sport? I tried sit behind when the car not moving and the cabin space is kinda small. The back is a bit straight and make it less comfortable to sit. I know I won't like bcoz I'm 5'11" but I wonder how it feel for others.
I've not sit in the back while moving also so far, but from the opinions I collected from my back passengers so far are, space wise are okay, but the back seat is a bit too straight, not comfortable if sit for hours, so far haven't carry anyone in the back for long distance drive yet.

QUOTE(jenova @ Feb 5 2014, 02:57 AM)
How about the FC for Focus? Can you share with us too please?  smile.gif
I've just shared it in the first page of the V2 thread, thanks to bro pin86 doing a FC survey for the benefits of potential buyers like yourself.
post Feb 5 2014, 02:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(kennethwch @ Feb 5 2014, 01:47 PM)
Sorry. Typo error. I mean a Ford focus titanium plus/sport plus
I see, good luck with your hunt, don't forget to post your ride when you got it thumbup.gif
post Feb 6 2014, 08:51 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 5 2014, 03:53 PM)
Just an update. The Ford Focus truly impresses with exceptional handling and smooth driving. I mentioned smooth because, due to some complaints on the shuddering or jerking of the Powershift transmission, fortunately and surprisingly, the transmission on my vehicle now shifts very smoothly without any noticeable or annoying jerks. Almost like a CVT! Mileage is currently about 5000km. I was at the service centre today and apparently another Focus user with current mileage above 20,000km informed the shuddering on his vehicle is very prominent since day 1 he got the car. He went through a software update earlier but that didn't resolve the jerk, and today he had just gone for another software update. Somehow I think the extent or seriousness of the shudder or jerks vary with different vehicles. Not too sure what causes this though? Most important is my vehicle now drives exceptionally well without any shuddering at low speeds. No more grinding sound too which is great. I hope it remains that way for a long time.

Also, I just complained on the friction sound from the steering wheel again, and the foremen who checked on it were almost certained that the clock spring is faulty, and the part has been ordered. After this steering wheel issue is fixed, my vehicle would be perfect. :-)

The Focus is surely a vehicle for people who enjoy driving. For those who are looking at the Focus, I strongly recommend that you put it highly in your shortlist. The concern on shuddering/jerking at low speeds and grinding sound is something that I cannot seem to explain. But to my knowledge, not every vehicle has these issues.
mine also around 5000KM mileage clocked in now and yes, it's much more smoother and the grinding sounds has been reduced dramatically. icon_idea.gif
post Feb 7 2014, 08:59 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Feb 6 2014, 10:37 PM)
My budget is around 100-120K. The focus sport+ extra features like sunroof, HID headlamp, assist parking, rear led are not a necessary features to me. So, the normal sport version is enough but the crammed rear seat is giving me a second thought. I think need to go look the Mazda3 to decide.
M3 is definitely over your budget, and comparing the variant of s and s+, including the discount (s+ get much more discount), and the list of features, s+ is surely more value for money compared to s.

And as far as the safety concern, no other vehicle in the market in this price range come any closer to Focus in my opinion rclxms.gif
post Feb 8 2014, 02:24 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(ACB8180 @ Feb 8 2014, 01:39 PM)
Hello All,

Have had my new candy red FoFo for the last 2 weeks, happy to report that i am not facing any issues with it (touch wood) after 2k km. Been a strong supporter of Ford since the Ford TX3 model. Today i have, the Ford Fiesta (Red), Ford Focus (Red) and the Ford Kuga (Black). All three are giving me lots of pleasure to drive despite its quirks compared to the Jap makes. Most enjoyable to drive surprisingly is the Fiesta.

Cheers
Wow, you're really hardcore fan of ford, don't you?
My gf own fiesta ( chilli orange) while I own the red focus. Focus are more comfortable I terms of space and features and it's equally fun to drive both cars in my opinion.
post Feb 8 2014, 02:26 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 8 2014, 11:17 AM)
Just read on Autoworld in that the Malaysian Automotive Association had revealed the sales of vehicles in year 2013. The breakdown is by brand only as the Malaysian Competition Act disallows car manufacturers to reveal figures of specific models(which surprised some quarters).

Overall, Ford did pretty well this year as the sales of Focus and Fiesta were reported to have increased by 50% last year which is the best sales record (for Ford) so far.

Breakdown of sales by brand in year 2013 by MAA as reported on Autoworld :-
1. Perodua (196,071 units)
2. Proton (138,753 units)
3. Toyota (91,185 units)
4. Honda
5. Nissan
6. Mitsubishi (12,348 units)
7. Hyundai (12,217 units)
8. Isuzu (12,061 units)
9. Ford (10,660 units)
10. Volkswagen (9,538 units)
11. Mazda (9,197 units)
You can read from paul tan that this the best sales records for Ford Malaysia since the past two decades. Ford has started taking Malaysia market seriously since fiesta appeared in Malaysia
post Feb 8 2014, 03:00 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(pin86 @ Jan 28 2014, 09:57 PM)
Ford focus manufacturing video

0304125, remember i mentioned that the front column is detachable?
U can see in this video.
Finally got the time to watch this 5 minutes video. I'm impressed by the technology they used, so advanced! Anyway I didn't notice what front column you talking about? At which minutes/second?
post Feb 14 2014, 09:25 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Feb 13 2014, 04:20 PM)
Seems that lately FOFO owners not so active anymore compared to during the 1st version thread. Where have all the sifus gone? So much more to learn from you guys.

Anyone want to share their experiences now that they have gotten the FOFO MK3 alot longer? Any other joys, or even issues that isn't that common to share?
We're too busy enjoying the ride smile.gif

QUOTE(pin86 @ Feb 13 2014, 08:29 PM)
I think all are still busy with the CNY aftermath, or still in CNY mode laugh.gif

I just enjoyed driving so much that I drove all the way from Kedah to Melaka when coming back from CNY.
My wife said that I volunteer to drive so much compared to the last car tongue.gif
The car is really a joy ride, I always look forward for a ride (I don't drive to work sad.gif)

Oh yeah, remembered that previously there was some discussion on 0-100kmh.
I gave it a try and following are the steps that u might wanto take if u wanna try:

1. Turn off traction control, air cond, audio
2. Put to S mode
3. Press up once (u can see the gear is at S1 now, which means 95% manual, the transmission will let u drag at much as possible)
4. Fully press the brake with ur left foot.
5. Floor the fuel pedal with brake still press, u will see the rpm stays at 3.5k or 2.5k (i can't remember)
6. Release the brake when u ready to go
7. Switch the transmission at the correct moment. If u want the machine to do the gear change, skip step 3.
8. Enjoy rclxms.gif

Please only conduct this under safe condition. Drive safe icon_rolleyes.gif
So what's the timing you got? below 10s for 0-100km/h?

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Feb 14 2014, 07:31 AM)
Would like to ask all the sifus about the low speed juddering issue, I find that its the worst especially moving from 0 - 50 kmph, especially in Jams or when you just started to move the car. Its even worse when you step on the accelerator really really lightly, as it really does seem that it revs up higher and then moves to 2nd gear causing it jerk because of the gear shift. But if you do step on the accelerator it more consistently (aka picking up speed) its much better and the juddering is not so noticeable. It feels really like when in super low speeds like in Jam or maybe in the car park etc when very low speeds are needed its a little confused on how the gear shifts should be handled, esp from 1st to 2nd gear. (that or I'm used to how my VIOS drives haha)

Is this the common juddering in low speed characteristic of the FOFO in low speed that everyone is talking about, or is mine kinda out of character?
It's common, considering that I also a Vios driver before this, it gets better from 3-4k mileage, and I feel it's very smooth at 5k clocked so far, only slight jerking when going uphill at low speed, which is bearable to me smile.gif
post Feb 19 2014, 12:42 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(musica3173 @ Feb 19 2014, 12:47 AM)
2 quick questions for you guys... Which ford dealer would you guys recommend in term of service and price given? And to all + user, does the extra features on + version worth the extra 10k on it?
Trio Mantap for best offer and fast delivery. Definitely worth it.
post Feb 27 2014, 11:38 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(cheongyf @ Feb 27 2014, 02:55 PM)
About the same for city drive
+1 for city drive around 9 litre/ 100km
post Mar 9 2014, 11:25 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Mar 8 2014, 09:02 PM)
An update. I just got my car back 2 days ago after leaving the car in the service centre for 7 days. Yes, 1 week although initially I was informed it will only take 2 days. Yeah, that was kind of unexpected but anyway, they need more days to troubleshoot a new problem that crops up after replacing the clock spring of the steering wheel. Some electronic problem that has got something to do with the airbags and warning lights.

Well, long story short the car is very nice to drive now without the annoying friction sound when steering wheel is turned. And surprisingly, the jerk or shuddering is almost completely gone now atlhough they have not done any software update to the car. Perhaps when troubleshooting the other problems in the vehicle, those problems may have indirectly reduce the jerks. Now I don't experience any jerks when driving at low speeds around car parks in shopping malls or even up and down concrete ramps. Even when on speed bumps, there isn't any jerk when approaching the speed bump and accelerating away from it, which is great.

However, there is one (negative) aspect that I think is worth mentioning. The vibration of the vehicle when it is idle/stationary at traffic lights. Either in D or N it is the same. I can feel the engine vibration in the vehicle when the car is stationary. The vibration is not very serious but it is not very mild either. I am not sure if the engine vibration can be reduced or eliminated completely. I will be sending my car for service early next month. Does anybody feel that the engine vibration is reduced after the vehicle is serviced?

Anyway, the engine vibration is a small issue. Just thinking if it can be reduced or eliminated completely it would be nicer. The silent steering wheel and jerkless drive have now increased my enjoyment toward the driving experience. The Focus is certainly a nice car to drive, and it's good to see more and more Focus on the road these days. On average I see at least one Focus in a day, which is a good thing. Just today when on the road a Focus Titanium in the same Midnight Sky was just behind my vehicle.
thanks for the update, good to know the steering issue is fixed, but how many of us here can afford to leave our car in the workshop for 7 days? That's definitely too long for me, I don't know about others.
post Mar 18 2014, 06:54 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(babyshey @ Mar 17 2014, 07:12 PM)
Oh no no....what i meant was if i go to showroom now and how do i know the car they gonna sell me is 2012 or 2013 car? Is there facelift different between 2012 and 2013 version?and i also notice that some SA offer ford focua with dvd player? Does it mean they install the dvd themselve and sell to us?
The manufacturer date is in the papers when you collect your new car, no worries. There's dvd touch screen dvd player available already? Can it utilise the center speaker in our dashboard? Heard it's still not perfect yet that's why I haven't install it yet, lol

QUOTE(pin86 @ Mar 17 2014, 07:52 PM)
Anyone have body kit installed?
Come share share some picture smile.gif
How much does the extra weight affect the FC?
I'm keen to see as well. I doubt the weigh are so much a concern unless you adding extra soundproofing which could weight over 10kgs easily.

QUOTE(Regian @ Mar 17 2014, 09:58 PM)
I don't think they still have 2012 stock.. everything is black and white about the manufacture date, there is no way to cheat on it I think. Just get maximum cash rebate from the SA, forget about others free gift..
Cash rebates and low interest (if the promotion still available)

QUOTE(Leong Ka Fai @ Mar 18 2014, 04:56 PM)
Thx for sharing bro !!

shocking.gif floor mat and user manual oso need to wait ???

I am getting from Trio Mantap, so far so good for the SA...

Hmm probably u can share more on the car with me ?? I have considered a long time before coming to the decision actually... this is the only car worth for the money IMHO...

the SA told me transmission issues are mostly from the first batch of fofo... but i doubt that... the thing is that msia mk3 fofo is less than 2 years of age by now.... and not much around lol.... so getting feedback from users r rather tough i believe....

the only worry should be the after sales service for now.... finger cross...
I also got from trio mantap, fast and good service, just that my car rear number plate (not the whole plate, just the number or alphabet) dropped twice. Funny.

Not to forget it's the most safe car in this price range as well.

QUOTE(pin86 @ Mar 18 2014, 05:36 PM)
Congrats on the new ride!!
Not much worry. It varies from case to case.
My fofo has been good so far, about 8k mileage now, 4months old.

I am thinking how we can meet more member and try out each other's car.
At the same time we can understand each other's care and maintenance and also usage pattern.
This way we can pin point the cause and also find some preventive measures.

side note: really hope that we can have a convoy or gathering icon_idea.gif
Convoy sounds really good! But first we need some gathering to plan it out shall we?
post Mar 20 2014, 04:42 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Mar 20 2014, 03:50 PM)
Bro where did you get your car serviced? I want to upgrade my firmware also, and my wipers shuddering at the edges... I thought mine was the only one. Anyone else have this issue?
I resolved it by doing windshield coating, nice water drop effect too

0.1107sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:01 PM