20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

-ahtiang-
post Apr 20 2015, 06:56 AM

435 posts

I just back yday from weekend getaway Treasure Hunt from KL to Bkt Gambang on my Focus... I use both D and S mode back and forth often typically when overtaking in trunk road on 'S' while cruising on highway at 'D' mode.. didn't noticed jerk when on 'S' mode on trunk road though... 'D' mode of course is linear climb acceleration without hectic...

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 19 2015, 09:54 PM)
Tried Sports mode these couple of days. The car jerks more especially in city drive if in Sports mode since it holds the RPMs higher before upshifting/downshifting. Acceleration in D is more uniform, less jerking.

Do others here feel the same?
-ahtiang-
post Apr 20 2015, 06:59 AM

435 posts

I usually don't do any adjustment to my tyre unless it's time for rotation which I do it at 20k interval (some might do it at 15k and it depends).. while on the alignment I will only touch if I feel the car is not going in a straight form.. other than that I usually don't mess with them haha... Balancing is a must when rotation but alignment adjustment may not always be necessary unless the tyre makan aside or your car is not going straight... my 2 cents... smile.gif

QUOTE(seshatri @ Apr 19 2015, 01:47 PM)
Guys how often you do wheel balancing and alignment ?
I did balancing at 10k service and now doing my 20k service. Shd I do balancing and wheel alignment now?
-ahtiang-
post Apr 20 2015, 01:46 PM

435 posts

Let me check later when I go home, I do drive in 'S' mode but usually I switch it from 'D' in sudden motion mode hahaha just to overtake... I seldom take from standstill in 'S' mode... I will feedback tonight...

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 20 2015, 01:42 PM)
When the car is already cruising at highway speed there won't be any jerk. It is when accelerating from standstill, 0 to 40km/h during city driving.
-ahtiang-
post Apr 21 2015, 07:41 AM

435 posts

I tried full mode on 'S' travelling from Bkt Jalil to K.Kemuning and I don't feel any jerk or perhaps I am not sensitive enough to notice them hmm... I only feel the car sometimes feel uncertain in 'S' mode during traffic jam as because the RPM kicks up and have to immediately go down when you jam the brake... you can feel the transition of the RPM and gears in 'S' mode in this scenario is a bit rough and not as smooth as in 'D' mode but then I suspect due to the engine map in 'S' mode is more lively thus this behavior during crawl hours.. maybe this is the jerk you mentioned? Gently applying pressure on the brake or tapping it slightly reducing this nervous act of the RPM and transmission kick-back... that's my findings though... biggrin.gif but I can live with it tongue.gif

I had to use 'S' mode at times because in 'D' mode the acceleration does lag a bit when I need the power instantly and somehow there is a bit of lag before it kicks in in 'D' mode... Typically when in trunk road where you know overtaking lorry or slower car is a split of a second and 'S' mode is perfect for faster RPM climb.. Maybe just my driving style as I am too used to driving a manual car which I can easily control the RPM and which gear to use at any given time...

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Apr 20 2015, 01:51 PM)
Ok. FWIW when overtaking, even in D it is already sufficient and powerful. The S or Sports mode, in my opinion is more useful in certain driving conditions such as when driving up Genting Highlands, or down (although D is equally sufficient in these conditions). If you want to get up to Genting Highlands quicker, then Sports mode is fun as the RPMs are higher and you get more torque at any given speed. But the drive is slightly more jerky, but the jerks can be fun in these conditions, as opposed to annoying in normal driving conditions in city drive.
This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Apr 21 2015, 07:51 AM
-ahtiang-
post Apr 21 2015, 07:44 AM

435 posts

If Ford Focus 2.0L NA has a manual variant version I would grab it instantly hahaha.. the sheer engine brake with clutch grab is just fantastic... I just have to imagine it will come someday and one day lol... Focus ST is out of range lol..

QUOTE(wingwp @ Apr 20 2015, 02:57 PM)
in sum, engine braking = Adrenaline Rush rclxms.gif
-ahtiang-
post Apr 22 2015, 06:37 AM

435 posts

I think it is because the ground clearance for the HB is a bit on the high side therefore the airflow is excessive at the bottom resulting in the nervous twitchy handling.. I believe if they lower down the HB for a diffuser will help to stabilize it at high-speed corner... it has 17" tyre and with torque vectoring techy, so I think the only thing messing around would be the aerodynamic of the center gravity...

QUOTE(wingwp @ Apr 21 2015, 10:25 PM)
the HB actually not so steady at hard corner but it just that not easily lose grip

compare to other low profile and stiffer suspension ride, HB sorry to say I'm not that confident LOL cos it got slight wobbly and feel like going to fish tailing..

u'll feel it when zig zag at the corner
-ahtiang-
post Apr 22 2015, 06:41 AM

435 posts

It is fun but at times you will feel insecure as you would second guess if the Torque Vectoring and ESP is there to assists you... at times when you do fast long sweeping cornering (you know those highway entrance that almost a full circle 25 degree sweeping down to major highway) you tend to put the foot on and ride out the long corner but then at the same time you feel the car is sliding away as you press on but then it holds back... there is a tendency of accelerating more and it slides away again and you thought that you lost the car control but then it grips again lol... that's where there is a feeling that you just don't know what is the limit of the grip laugh.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 21 2015, 10:35 PM)
Fishtailing is fun, helps your rotate the car, especially when the ESP is there to catch you  brows.gif

Fishtail tanpa waswas  laugh.gif
-ahtiang-
post Apr 22 2015, 07:05 AM

435 posts

I service my car for 10K recently at Ford 2020 Motor Trading Sdn Bhd (Seri Kembangan) and I need not to wait very long for the car to be serviced. This service center is a decent one and you need only like 2-3 days lead time for the appointment as compared to those big ones that is 3-4 weeks lead time.

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Apr 18 2015, 06:51 PM)
My car clocked close to 9k km. Need to send for service in 1 month time
Any recommendation on the service center? Planning to send back to Cheras as I got my car there. Maybe they will give my car higher priority? laugh.gif
-ahtiang-
post Apr 26 2015, 07:42 PM

435 posts

All car insurance nowadays provide free car tow service (limited to certain km for the year). Btw, any RED exclamation indicator on your dashboard screen? Or when you navigate to the vehicle check screen any error found/diagnosed?

QUOTE(wee939 @ Apr 26 2015, 04:01 PM)
thks for ur help, i will call my insurance to tow my car, btw anyone have same problem like me ? gearbox gone burst while driving ? it happened too sudden, and its dangerous coz i was driving on the road
-ahtiang-
post Apr 26 2015, 10:21 PM

435 posts

Hmm.. it's strange as it didn't registered by any of the sensors. I suspect it could either be the Transmission Control Module (TCM) which acts like a brain to up shift or down shift or the actual (mechatronics) electric motor/solenoid actuation which does the shift..

Sorry to hear this happen bro. How long is your car already? Do keep us posted here on your car and hope it is not a major one.

QUOTE(wee939 @ Apr 26 2015, 09:49 PM)
thks for ur info, screen runs normal, no warning signs. i think the gearbox boom alrd, i can hear "crak, crak,crak," with i shift to D gear.
This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Apr 26 2015, 10:21 PM
-ahtiang-
post Apr 27 2015, 09:21 PM

435 posts

Walao, which service centre staff told you that?!.. Ask him/her demo on their cars that walk near and cars unlock! lol...

QUOTE(aneip @ Apr 27 2015, 02:37 PM)
At ford service center.. Complaining door won't unlock/lock when tap the handle. Driver side. Other door ok.. The Staff keep telling no sensor  at the inner side of the handle.. You just go near N car will unlock.  I was like 😱😱.. Everytime Need to put hand 1 before unlock..
-ahtiang-
post Apr 28 2015, 08:04 PM

435 posts

Standard Ford Focus free service is 3 Years or 60,000KM which ever comes first.

QUOTE(wee939 @ Apr 28 2015, 06:06 PM)
ford focus u mean? i thou its free for 3yrs/60000km which every comes first ?
-ahtiang-
post May 1 2015, 05:59 PM

435 posts

Did you already encounter issue that you need to put in the fix? Just wanted to know... thanks...
-ahtiang-
post May 4 2015, 02:02 PM

435 posts

I have a habit of turning everything off haha.. maybe I am used to all manual thingy lol... tongue.gif

QUOTE(deathwingo0o @ May 3 2015, 07:45 PM)
tq gorilla and ah tiang smile.gif

anyone knows if have to off aircond and radio before leaving the car? they look like off auto but Sa say need to off  hmm.gif
-ahtiang-
post May 9 2015, 07:29 AM

435 posts

I drove Proton Wira previously and I know exactly which screw you refer to... the adjustable camber screw and it cost about RM 45/piece (it's bloody expensive and the cost price I think is never more than RM 5/piece)? if not mistaken... I've changed them for my Wira both the front and back biggrin.gif

However thinking of newer cars and more expensive cars like our Ford, it should not be necessary as I feel if those suspension engineer spend hours to implement the torque vectoring or the independent suspension system, they should have included in the adjustable camber screw as part of the package if it is really really necessary or important... I do not recommend to add or change the camber screw to 3rd party to mess around with your precious Ford ride... I always have a feeling that those adjustable camber screw easy the job for them to adjust the alignment perhaps?

QUOTE(aneip @ May 7 2015, 05:45 PM)
Anyone can explain how much usual cost for alignment. I mean the basic rate is just checking right? If need to adjust got different cost? Also last time when driving proton, the workshop also said need to change the screw? what's is that?
This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: May 9 2015, 07:30 AM
-ahtiang-
post May 9 2015, 07:35 AM

435 posts

Strange as I have not noticed any burning smell... does the smell come into your cabin or only in the engine bay when you open the front boot? perhaps common burn scenario would be jammed brake pads on the disc or the clutch disc doesn't disengaged entirely from flywheel...

QUOTE(zimly @ May 8 2015, 10:46 PM)
Anyone noticed some burn smell during high acceleration or during speeding > 160kmh?? How to fix it?
-ahtiang-
post May 11 2015, 06:39 AM

435 posts

Yeah the smell does happen in my car too from the aircond when you turn on the car.. I put an Ambi Pur to overcome it
-ahtiang-
post May 13 2015, 07:47 AM

435 posts

When you visit the Ford PJ, has the new building opposite activated? They claimed that the new building next to KIA centre will be only for Service which has more service bay while the existing HQ will only handle insurance claims and all others admin stuff.

Perhaps once the new building is open, it would be much better in handling all these backlog. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: May 13 2015, 07:48 AM
-ahtiang-
post May 17 2015, 11:22 AM

435 posts

I reinstall back my Papago P2PRO DVR on my Focus and immediately for night recording, it suffers from clarity due to all those fine prints of heat sensors on the front windscreen lol... all the lights reflects from those fine prints like mad creating focus issue for the DVR hahaha...

[img][/img]

Day recording is still fine as the reflection of fluorescent light is not as severe as night...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: May 25 2015, 08:39 PM
-ahtiang-
post May 19 2015, 10:35 AM

435 posts

Video quality would be much better at night if the screen is without the heater print as you can see all the incoming light source have multi reflection effect bouncing off those heater lines... when I mount it to my Wira last time, it was super clear hahaha.. tongue.gif but things have to go unfortunately...

Speedo shows higher speed than the Papago GPS although there is a slight delayed on the Papago like 1 seconds.

QUOTE(Dwango @ May 18 2015, 03:48 PM)
Video quality not too bad even at night.

Any difference in the recorded speed of the Papago unit (164km/h) compared to the car's speedometer? Which is quicker?

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1122sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:58 AM