Steam Still so many pirates in Asia?, Only 3% of Steam sales from SE Asia

TSArchaven
post Jan 17 2014, 03:35 PM, updated 12y ago

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

Was shocked that Asia only 3% of all Steam Sales (revealed by Steam during Dev Day). Still that many pirates in Asia and really still need pirate with $4.99? doh.gif
Blackops981
post Jan 17 2014, 03:40 PM

82 posts

take a look at /k/ and you'll know why
yiporan
post Jan 17 2014, 04:00 PM

66 posts

maybe mostly get from amazon , gmg retail since it give cheaper price .
red streak
post Jan 17 2014, 06:13 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,595 posts

Look at the minimum wage in most parts of Asia and then compare the price of a typical PC game and you'll easily figure out why. Plus, only a small minority of gamers in Asia are actually aware that Steam has sales in the first place or can be bothered to pay for something that they can easily get for free. I used to be a pirate until I spent a week to download something that didn't end up working so I bought the legit version on the Steam Summer sale instead. It only took a few hours to download vs 1 week of nonstop (throttled) torrenting. The funny thing is that it was actually cheaper buying it online than buying the pirated DVDs laugh.gif Long live Lord Gaben notworthy.gif
miraclejustin
post Jan 17 2014, 08:06 PM

287 posts

Mostly Pc gamer in Malaysia mainly play dota 2. Steam should review dota 2 player statistics.
FourZeroFour
post Jan 18 2014, 11:19 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jan 17 2014, 06:13 PM)
The funny thing is that it was actually cheaper buying it online than buying the pirated DVDs laugh.gif Long live Lord Gaben  notworthy.gif
How much those pirated games DVD cost like in comparison to steam pricing during steam sale?
chtan
post Jan 18 2014, 12:27 PM

2,353 posts

The stat doesn't reflect the actual sales. Many Asian bought their game thru. Other independent source such as GMG, Amazon, Get games go and etc. Which is not reflected in the stat. For one, I myself bought a lot thru. these site which some time offer a better price compare to steam (the code cfrom these site an be use to activate in steam as well).
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 18 2014, 12:38 PM

5,144 posts

Most of the money I spent is on Amazon and GMG.
red streak
post Jan 18 2014, 02:38 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,595 posts

QUOTE(FourZeroFour @ Jan 18 2014, 11:19 AM)
How much those pirated games DVD cost like in comparison to steam pricing during steam sale?
I'm not entirely sure how much they cost now (could be higher) but a DVD is typically RM10 and huge games like Shogun 2 need 2 standard DVDs at least so that comes out to about RM20 at the minimum. Shogun 2 @ 75% on a Steam sale is slightly more expensive than that but you get the assurance that there's no keyloggers just chilling in the background waiting to steal your passwords AND you get to play multiplayer online. Viruses that wipe out your files aren't the real threat imo, the ones like the keyloggers are the real danger and it's part of the reason why I moved away from the "dark" side for my games and have gone totally legit now.
keretapir
post Jan 18 2014, 07:19 PM

rampant public indecency
1,143 posts

most malaysians still under mentality that buying ori games are effing expensive. so, when i showed them bundle games such as Humble Bundle, they go like "wtf??so cheap??!!", but still they dont have debit cards to buy them. end up, they give me real money, i buy for them using my cc...
Shokutbutsu
post Jan 18 2014, 07:34 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 18 2014, 07:19 PM)
most malaysians still under mentality that buying ori games are effing expensive. so, when i showed them bundle games such as Humble Bundle, they go like "wtf??so cheap??!!", but still they dont have debit cards to buy them. end up, they give me real money, i buy for them using my cc...
Still ok. Some of my friends even think bundle games are expensive.
fat cat
post Jan 18 2014, 11:43 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jan 17 2014, 06:13 PM)
Look at the minimum wage in most parts of Asia and then compare the price of a typical PC game and you'll easily figure out why. Plus, only a small minority of gamers in Asia are actually aware that Steam has sales in the first place or can be bothered to pay for something that they can easily get for free. I used to be a pirate until I spent a week to download something that didn't end up working so I bought the legit version on the Steam Summer sale instead. It only took a few hours to download vs 1 week of nonstop (throttled) torrenting. The funny thing is that it was actually cheaper buying it online than buying the pirated DVDs laugh.gif Long live Lord Gaben  notworthy.gif
yeah, i bought 2 copies of pirated l4d which both doesn't work which cost rm 20 per cd, than original that cost only rm 15 in steam sales.

so much money wasted on pirated pc games, its not even funny.
TSArchaven
post Jan 19 2014, 10:46 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 18 2014, 12:38 PM)
Most of the money I spent is on Amazon and GMG.
I buy from Amazon EA games only. Region free XD. Others not dare. Lucky didn't get MGR from Amazin as I heard it's region locked. I got it via buying thru gifts though
Boldnut
post Jan 19 2014, 11:11 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(fat cat @ Jan 18 2014, 11:43 PM)
yeah, i bought 2 copies of pirated l4d which both doesn't work which cost rm 20 per cd, than original that cost only rm 15 in steam sales.

so much money wasted on pirated pc games, its not even funny.

l4d2 cost nothing to me. got 4 copies also 2 for my bro & his dupe acc, 1 more for my own dupe. rclxm9.gif

jaithesimpleguy
post Jan 19 2014, 01:27 PM

186 posts

most games i purchased are from bundles
Panda
post Jan 19 2014, 03:04 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Jan 17 2014, 08:06 PM)
Mostly Pc gamer in Malaysia mainly play dota 2. Steam should review dota 2 player statistics.
I agree with miraclejustin, most of the malaysians only play dota 1 & 2, and candycrush.

they don't play other games..

i once played batman arkham asylum in front of them .. they asked me to play dota instead sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Panda: Jan 19 2014, 03:27 PM
red streak
post Jan 20 2014, 12:46 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,595 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Jan 19 2014, 03:04 PM)
I agree with miraclejustin, most of the malaysians only play dota 1 & 2, and candycrush.

they don't play other games..

i once played batman arkham asylum in front of them  .. they asked me to play dota instead sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yeah. If it's not dota, it's pirated games. I study at a richfag private uni (well not really, it's the cheapest ITPS I think) and after a group meeting one richfag dude (FaMA Scholar, not PTPTN) noticed that I had Starcraft II installed and you know what he said? He asked if I could copy it over for him shakehead.gif Unfortunately my copy is ori so of coz cannot lah. But it shows that the average Malaysian (student) will always consider piracy first. One of my friends has a RM4k rig but all of his games are jack sparrow versions. doh.gif
Shokutbutsu
post Jan 20 2014, 12:51 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jan 20 2014, 12:46 AM)
Yeah. If it's not dota, it's pirated games. I study at a richfag private uni (well not really, it's the cheapest ITPS I think) and after a group meeting one richfag dude (FaMA Scholar, not PTPTN) noticed that I had Starcraft II installed and you know what he said? He asked if I could copy it over for him  shakehead.gif Unfortunately my copy is ori so of coz cannot lah. But it shows that the average Malaysian (student) will always consider piracy first. One of my friends has a RM4k rig but all of his games are jack sparrow versions.  doh.gif
Same here. Every time I say I have a game, they ask me to copy to hard drive lol.
Even had a chat with a friend and they think buying games is pointless, even though I gave a good argument why buying games is not bad at all
Most Malaysians (student) did not know what Steam was until Dota 2 came.
fastreader
post Jan 20 2014, 08:27 AM

4,554 posts

whats humble bundle? hmm.gif
limjenson
post Jan 20 2014, 09:42 AM

755 posts

It's just their mentality. My frens pirates Xbox games cause it's expensive but goes out clubbing every weekend spending hundreds of ringgit.

https://www.humblebundle.com/
smaelz83
post Jan 20 2014, 10:02 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(Shokutbutsu @ Jan 20 2014, 12:51 AM)
Same here. Every time I say I have a game, they ask me to copy to hard drive lol.
Even had a chat with a friend and they think buying games is pointless, even though I gave a good argument why buying games is not bad at all
Most Malaysians (student) did not know what Steam was until Dota 2 came.
Another things why many students look for pirate becoz, Uni (USM Eng Campus) block internet for game.. sad.gif , so I resort to buying pirate although I manage to setup good gaming rig.
pikacu
post Jan 20 2014, 10:33 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

gmg/gamefly have additional 20% coupon at monthly basis.

if gmg/gamefly offer better price than Steam, why buy from Steam?

Amazon always have crazy sales. Sometimes Nuuvem have better price than any Digital distribution shop.

PLUS, amount of REGION LOCKED games for SEA at Steam are at its very best.

so dont assume low sales in SEA equals to piracy. :/

This post has been edited by pikacu: Jan 20 2014, 10:34 AM
pikacu
post Jan 20 2014, 10:35 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Jan 19 2014, 10:46 AM)
I buy from Amazon EA games only. Region free XD. Others not dare. Lucky didn't get MGR from Amazin as I heard it's region locked. I got it via buying thru gifts though
i heard gifting is blocked for MGR according to Steamdb. hmm.gif
yiporan
post Jan 20 2014, 02:21 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jan 20 2014, 10:35 AM)
i heard gifting is blocked for MGR according to Steamdb. hmm.gif
us 1 is region free
chtan
post Jan 20 2014, 08:10 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(yiporan @ Jan 20 2014, 02:21 PM)
us 1 is region free
The fact is,US version is the one locked . And this particular game is begging for pirate.

This post has been edited by chtan: Jan 20 2014, 08:13 PM
TSArchaven
post Jan 21 2014, 12:49 AM

1,201 posts

Someone in the forum helped me purchase thru gifts. Luckily it's not Region Locked biggrin.gif.
yiporan
post Jan 21 2014, 01:19 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Jan 21 2014, 12:49 AM)
Someone in the forum helped me purchase thru gifts. Luckily it's not Region Locked biggrin.gif.
ya us version steamgift is row .
Sophiera
post Jan 27 2014, 12:49 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

We are lanun nation, that's why.

I'm quite serious.
pikacu
post Jan 27 2014, 11:55 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jan 27 2014, 12:49 AM)
We are lanun nation, that's why.

I'm quite serious.
and its not going to change anytime soon (at least 10 years)
Vyrnach
post Jan 27 2014, 05:03 PM

168 posts

pretty much sums it up tongue.gif
SUSvmammoth
post Jan 27 2014, 05:05 PM

265 posts

What is so surprised? The government even has policy to rompak you terang-terang, what do you expect the people will do?
spicy.jalapeno
post Jan 27 2014, 07:44 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(smaelz83 @ Jan 20 2014, 10:02 AM)
Another things why many students look for pirate becoz, Uni (USM Eng Campus) block internet for game..  sad.gif , so I resort to buying pirate although I manage to setup good gaming rig.
off topic, but...

are you USM engineering student? Mind if i ask which course and how is the environment there?
frags
post Jan 30 2014, 01:06 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Actually we are going backwards. The fact that most Malaysian households still consider Astro essential but aren't willing to pay upwards from RM150 for fibre internet shows that a lot of ppl rather use cheap mobile broadband for their internet needs.

Point being, the developments of streaming stuff, cloud and digital distribution is lost in a society that is technologically ignorant. Youngsters that get high-speed internet use it for downloading shows and movies.

I always thought the younger generation would innovate and move the country to the right direction. But now, I don't think so. All I CAN do is do my best to highlight steam on my site and always be a proponent of buying original.
miraclejustin
post Jan 30 2014, 01:58 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 30 2014, 01:06 PM)
Actually we are going backwards. The fact that most Malaysian households still consider Astro essential but aren't willing to pay upwards from RM150 for fibre internet shows that a lot of ppl rather use cheap mobile broadband for their internet needs.

Point being, the developments of streaming stuff, cloud and digital distribution is lost in a society that is technologically ignorant. Youngsters that get high-speed internet use it for downloading shows and movies.

I always thought the younger generation would innovate and move the country to the right direction. But now, I don't think so. All I CAN do is do my best to highlight steam on my site and always be a proponent of buying original.
actually fiber internet only available in limited city in Malaysia, not everyone can get it even if they are willing to pay for it. And I don't really find the connection with the topic either.
frags
post Jan 30 2014, 05:14 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Jan 30 2014, 01:58 PM)
actually fiber internet only available in limited city in Malaysia, not everyone can get it even if they are willing to pay for it. And I don't really find the connection with the topic either.
You don't think a high-speed internet is important to digital distribution? Innovation with online retailers and service demand internet speeds to be better. But if there isnt the demand then you wont see it become huge. Digital distribution I mean. Only speaking in Malaysian context. People continue to pirate due to apathy and being ignorant and when the economy of entertainment is dependant on disc based products or pirated products, the demand for high-speed internet is not as urgent.
spicy.jalapeno
post Jan 31 2014, 10:09 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 30 2014, 05:14 PM)
You don't think a high-speed internet is important to digital distribution? Innovation with online retailers and service demand internet speeds to be better. But if there isnt the demand then you wont see it become huge. Digital distribution I mean. Only speaking in Malaysian context. People continue to pirate due to apathy and being ignorant and when the economy of entertainment is dependant on disc based products or pirated products, the demand for high-speed internet is not as urgent.
but...but...but kiddies these days go dl stuff from lanun bay, not buy discs anymore. been lik ethat for quite some years edy
frags
post Jan 31 2014, 11:12 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(spicy.jalapeno @ Jan 31 2014, 10:09 AM)
but...but...but kiddies these days go dl stuff from lanun bay, not buy discs anymore. been lik ethat for quite some years edy
I think you'll find disc based piracy still trumping digital piracy in Malaysia (as a whole). The masses still buy pirated dvds. As to why these kids dont go on the digital distribution path, there is a multitude of reasons. To be honest. All of us here are minorities.

It all goes back to apathy and being ignorant.
weirdguy
post Feb 5 2014, 05:52 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 30 2014, 01:06 PM)

I agreed.

I went back to my Wife's Kampong City last few days.
My wife's brother and I were desperately trying to have some awesome fun together by playing Co-Op Campaign PC Games such as Dead Space 3, Rainbow Six Vegas series.

However, we couldn't manage to buy legit Digital Copy due to damn slow unreliable download speed of Streamyx.

We also do try scout Pirated (due to desperation to have some awesome fun together) at local Market but we hold-out as we believe nowadays Co-Op/Multiplayer Games need Internet Connectivity to connect to Game Server.
Nonetheless, we were surprise to find out that some local Stores were selling at not reasonable price.

Minimum RM20 Operation Flashpoint Red River (Digital Copy, perhaps USD5 with full multiplayer and Co-op).
While, Command & Conquer 3, 4 and Red Alert 3 selling at RM30-RM40 each exclude any applicable expansion packs.

Could get cheaper with full Game access at Steam or other Digital Copy Online Store, especially during Sales.
For an example, I just get Sanctum 1 for USD99cents only.
Cheesenium
post Feb 5 2014, 07:44 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(spicy.jalapeno @ Jan 31 2014, 10:09 AM)
You'll be surprised that how many people out there doesnt know how to download movies from pirate bay which is why disc based piracy is still rampant.
ChocChristy
post Feb 6 2014, 12:43 AM

307 posts

Just experienced it myself. Was back home playing Skyrim during CNY and my brother's friend came in and saw me. First question he asked was "can copy to hard disk? I want to play la.". Was slightly annoyed that he was kinda rude and has the guts to ask me that. I bought it at full price when it first came out. And you want to copy from me?

This post has been edited by ChocChristy: Feb 6 2014, 12:44 AM
spicy.jalapeno
post Feb 6 2014, 11:54 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 5 2014, 07:44 PM)
You'll be surprised that how many people out there doesnt know how to download movies from pirate bay which is why disc based piracy is still rampant.
biar betik bro?

i remember when i was in form 2, first time using torrent, took me 10 minutes to learn it sweat.gif
abusive123
post Feb 13 2014, 06:15 PM

182 posts

Glad to know I fit into that 3% since I only buy original from Steam or retail. I've been to Blizzcon and talked to some of the game devs and know how hard they work. Glad I can give something back with the genuine purchases.

This post has been edited by abusive123: Feb 13 2014, 06:23 PM
Shawnzz
post Feb 14 2014, 02:02 AM

1,911 posts

3% because the rest is busy playing dota 2
chtan
post Feb 14 2014, 11:50 AM

2,353 posts

Actually, some dev. trying very hard to get us, the genuine buyer away from their product and in the way encouraging the pirate themselve.
Dev. like Konami, going region locking crazy with their title are just fueling the pirate. They did it on MGR and now Castalevania 2 as well.
To the dev., stop complaining pirate when you are the one swaying buyer away vmad.gif

RAMChYLD
post Feb 20 2014, 09:55 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 14 2014, 11:50 AM)
Actually, some dev. trying very hard to get us, the genuine buyer away from their product and in the way encouraging the pirate themselve.
Dev. like Konami, going region locking crazy with their title are just fueling the pirate. They did it on MGR and now Castalevania 2 as well.
To the dev., stop complaining pirate when you are the one swaying buyer away vmad.gif
+1. I have stopped buying pirate a long time ago. However, this kind of ridiculous behavior on the dev side is why the dark side is so tempting. I absolutely hate it when someone tells me about a game and I get interested, then tells me I cannot have it- it's very painful on the heart and reeks of racism and bullying. Less painful is if the game gets released in Malaysia but in Japanese, which a lot of people don't speak.

Region locking must stop. If they region lock a game then complain about piracy, they brought it upon themselves I'm afraid.

For me tho, I buy games when there's Steam Sales or Origin Sales and the game is of interest to me, or if it's really interesting, then I buy without waiting for sales.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Feb 20 2014, 10:26 AM
ZeratoS
post Feb 20 2014, 10:06 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Feb 20 2014, 09:55 AM)
+1. I have stopped buying pirate a long time ago. However, this kind of ridiculous behavior on the dev side is why the dark side is so tempting. I absolutely hate it when someone tells me about a game and I get interested, then tells me I cannot have it- it's very painful on the heart and reeks of racism and bullying. Less painful is if the game gets released in Malaysia but in Japanese, which a lot of people don't speak.

Region locking must stop. If they region lock a game then complain about piracy, they brought it upon themselves I'm afraid.
Should see how Hotline Miami did it. That fugger dev even went on TPB to HELP people out who pirated his game.

Truly an outstanding dev. I bought his game AND the soundtrack.

Jonatan Söderström has responded to complaints and questions on file-sharing website The Pirate Bay under the name 'cactus69', providing advice for users who are experiencing problems with pirated copies of the game. Söderström has made a post on Twitter admitting that whilst he does not want anyone to pirate the game, he can empathise with the fact that some people may not be able to afford it.[39]
When questioned about piracy issues by Eurogamer, Graeme Struthers of Devolver Digital said "He (Söderström) just felt he didn't want people playing the buggy version of his game however they got it. He wanted them to get the patch. He basically said, 'I'm not going to criticise this, it's a fact of life. It would be nice if guys could find it within themselves to pay for it, but that's the world I'm in, so you know, you just have to take it for what it is.' It has been torrented to such a staggering level, and given the file size of it, I mean, you can't really be surprised, right? You could pass this thing around on the world's smallest memory stick. So it has been torrented to extraordinary levels."[8]

FatalExe
post Feb 25 2014, 12:01 AM

695 posts

Movie based pirating is different than games. People pirate DVDs and Blu-rays because pirated ones provide DTS5.1/Dolby 7.1 and Lanun Bay only has shitty compressed audio.. unless you download lossless FLAC ones which will make the file size shoot up to like 50GB. Ain't nobody gonna download that with our speed.

Games... Many Malaysians STILL do not trust online payment.. I have lots and lots of friends that refuse to use Steam to buy stuff simply because they are afraid of paying online, scared of getting hacked and stuff like that.

I still remember buying GTA4 when it came out at RM10 per disc.. TWICE. 4 discs x2 is already RM80. Granted that time Steam is still small and retail copies are freaking expensive.

I still pirate games to test them out, if I like it i'll buy them. I don't know why devs and pubs don't provide demo versions anymore, so I have to resort to pirating it first. Pirating really does not equal to lost sales. Statistics have shown that pirating actually increases sales because of increased exposure.
drpsyko
post Feb 25 2014, 07:31 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Feb 25 2014, 12:01 AM)
Movie based pirating is different than games. People pirate DVDs and Blu-rays because pirated ones provide DTS5.1/Dolby 7.1 and Lanun Bay only has shitty compressed audio.. unless you download lossless FLAC ones which will make the file size shoot up to like 50GB. Ain't nobody gonna download that with our speed.

Games... Many Malaysians STILL do not trust online payment.. I have lots and lots of friends that refuse to use Steam to buy stuff simply because they are afraid of paying online, scared of getting hacked and stuff like that.

I still remember buying GTA4 when it came out at RM10 per disc.. TWICE. 4 discs x2 is already RM80. Granted that time Steam is still small and retail copies are freaking expensive.

I still pirate games to test them out, if I like it i'll buy them. I don't know why devs and pubs don't provide demo versions anymore, so I have to resort to pirating it first. Pirating really does not equal to lost sales. Statistics have shown that pirating actually increases sales because of increased exposure.
I've actually promoting genuine games through pirating. Most of my friends asked me for old games ended up buying the genuine copy of the game, as links for old games aren't viable and updated. And they can get them far cheaper than when they first came out. But it's true that most of my friends won't even consider paying a cent for any digital content. sad.gif
FluffyMonkey
post Feb 25 2014, 08:36 PM

27 posts

When i saw this thread, Betafail 4: Premium Bug Edition(i paid RM 300 for this shit, never again!) and Rome 2: Total Fail comes to mind. Because their products are not physical, they think they can con the f*ck out of us. Imagine buying faulty cars. The irony is, they cry about pirates not respecting intellectual properties when they themselves fail to respect us customers. Go pirates!
Humanoid03
post Mar 4 2014, 10:52 PM

170 posts

i only do jack-sparrow during study, now working haz money can buy ori games and delete the pirated copies.

else, just Humble Bundle, or GMG...

Steam FreeWeekend seem to do good job promoting games..gotta buy em all smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Mar 6 2014, 01:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(FluffyMonkey @ Feb 25 2014, 08:36 PM)
When i saw this thread, Betafail 4: Premium Bug Edition(i paid RM 300 for this shit, never again!) and Rome 2: Total Fail comes to mind. Because their products are not physical, they think they can con the f*ck out of us. Imagine buying faulty cars. The irony is, they cry about pirates not respecting intellectual properties when they themselves fail to respect us customers. Go pirates!
Thats why I never recommend anyone to pre-order any game before actually seeing reviews and user feedback. And I managed to avoid getting both BF4 and Rome 2 even though I was quite interested in both games.

I dont pre-order unless I know the game should be quite decent.

Tempted to get Age of Wonders 3, but I think i'll hold back a couple of days after release then only buy it. Delay buying a game a few days to a week wont hurt you.
xFreedomBoix
post Mar 6 2014, 01:22 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

I'm actually still raiding on the high seas..
only will decide to buy the game if its on sales or for the multiplayer or the game is really really good after trying it myself ( supporting the developer )
Azurika
post Mar 12 2014, 10:35 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

I do purchase games now since I can afford it, but lets face facts, we are earning MY and original Games in general are quoted in USD sweat.gif
Also sadly in Malaysia, parents are not as supportive in Games. Is not every 12-17 year old kid can afford an Original title sad.gif Id remember last time I had to skip meals to play WoW during my secondary school life sweat.gif

Im not sure has this been brought up, but Imagine this. All the game company in the world collaborate and ONLY release their PC version games on a platform like steam. Would that kill of piracy market ? tongue.gif Its just a theory from a Game Dev point of view. Cheers ~
terradrive
post Mar 12 2014, 11:31 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(FluffyMonkey @ Feb 25 2014, 08:36 PM)
I'm curious on what bug the BF4 had, I had been playing it single player and multiplayer, and it just seems normal to me. I got it free bundled with graphics card smile.gif

I stopped pirating when I switched to steam, cheap games, easy to get patches etc. Some games more cheaper than pirated discs, and some pirated games comes with viruses and trojans, dangerous since I do use online banking shakehead.gif
limjenson
post Mar 12 2014, 04:45 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 12 2014, 10:35 AM)
I do purchase games now since I can afford it, but lets face facts, we are earning MY and original Games in general are quoted in USD  sweat.gif
Also sadly in Malaysia, parents are not as supportive in Games. Is not every 12-17 year old kid can afford an Original title  sad.gif  Id remember last time I had to skip meals to play WoW during my secondary school life  sweat.gif

Im not sure has this been brought up, but Imagine this. All the game company in the world collaborate and ONLY release their PC version games on a platform like steam.  Would that kill of piracy market ?  tongue.gif  Its just a theory from a Game Dev point of view. Cheers ~
That's bad. Monopoly of any sort is bad. They will be able to put any draconian restriction that they want.
Azurika
post Mar 12 2014, 04:53 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Mar 12 2014, 04:45 PM)
That's bad. Monopoly of any sort is bad. They will be able to put any draconian restriction that they want.
US standards will never allow Monopoly
I meant was all the PC games sold or distributed shall require a client like Steam or UPlay to run. hmm.gif Correct me if im wrong, but can you pirate or fake CD Keys to play on Steam, UPlay or Blizzard client ? shocking.gif
Based from a Game Dev point of view thou smile.gif We Game Dev would IF possible like for people to BUY our game, and not torrent it cry.gif Its our revenue cry.gif
neoengsheng
post Mar 12 2014, 05:10 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 12 2014, 10:35 AM)
I do purchase games now since I can afford it, but lets face facts, we are earning MY and original Games in general are quoted in USD  sweat.gif
Also sadly in Malaysia, parents are not as supportive in Games. Is not every 12-17 year old kid can afford an Original title  sad.gif  Id remember last time I had to skip meals to play WoW during my secondary school life  sweat.gif

Im not sure has this been brought up, but Imagine this. All the game company in the world collaborate and ONLY release their PC version games on a platform like steam.  Would that kill of piracy market ?  tongue.gif  Its just a theory from a Game Dev point of view. Cheers ~
Gaming is actually the cheapest form of entertainment you can ever find.

Even if you put 60USD into a game, you get much more value out of it if the game gives you more than 30hrs of entertainment.

Besides, I only buy like 1-3 games only per year since I got Guild Wars 2 and Loadout to keep me entertained.
sai86
post Mar 12 2014, 05:16 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Mar 12 2014, 05:10 PM)

Even if you put 60USD into a game, you get much more value out of it if the game gives you more than 30hrs of entertainment.

Besides, I only buy like 1-3 games only per year since I got Guild Wars 2 and Loadout to keep me entertained.
This. its alot cheaper than my side hobby such as camera, phone, badminton and etc.
Azurika
post Mar 12 2014, 05:37 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Mar 12 2014, 05:10 PM)

Well it is definitely true that games is 1 of the cheapest form of entertainment.
But a heavy gamer like me who purchases Games on weekly basis , it can be quite costly sweat.gif
And not to forget, students who have not started working can hardly save up USD60 for games sad.gif unless all of them just stick to Dota sweat.gif
I have been doing abit of research on Game Pricing in MY for my company, I do find adults complaining games are too expensive and advicing their kids to buy the pirated version. This could also be a reason which contributes to high piracy as Parents are teaching their kids to do it.

PS: How is Gaming cheaper then Badminton ? shocking.gif All using Yonex Boron 200 ka ? tongue.gif
neoengsheng
post Mar 12 2014, 05:45 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 12 2014, 05:37 PM)
Well it is definitely true that games is 1 of the cheapest form of entertainment.
But a heavy gamer like me who purchases  Games on weekly basis , it can be quite costly  sweat.gif 
And not to forget, students who have not started working can hardly save up USD60 for games  sad.gif  unless all of them just stick to Dota  sweat.gif
I have been doing abit of research on Game Pricing in MY for my company, I do find adults complaining games are too expensive and advicing their kids to buy the pirated version. This could also be a reason which contributes to high piracy as Parents are teaching their kids to do it.

PS: How is Gaming cheaper then Badminton ?  shocking.gif  All using Yonex Boron 200 ka ?  tongue.gif
High quality shuttlecock + the rent + shoes + racket maybe?

For me if I cannot buy the game at full price, I will buy it on discount.

Then again there are bunch of people that insist on playing the newest game and ditch everything as old as 3 months.
[d]-ky
post Mar 12 2014, 07:09 PM

633 posts

gaming can be exp too, imagine how much it cost to build a rig that is able to run in maximum quality tongue.gif
limjenson
post Mar 12 2014, 10:22 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Mar 12 2014, 05:45 PM)

Then again there are bunch of people that insist on playing the newest game and ditch everything as old as 3 months.
Shuttlecocks ain't cheap man. Especially if you're playing with people who likes to smash every single time.

Indie games are way cheaper than shuttlecocks.
Cheesenium
post Mar 13 2014, 10:15 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

No ones asking you to buy games at full price. You can always wait for sales.
skylinelover
post Mar 16 2014, 06:20 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,266 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ Mar 12 2014, 07:09 PM)
gaming can be exp too, imagine how much it cost to build a rig that is able to run in maximum quality tongue.gif
building the best rig ever is definitely expensive but buying steam games is less than 1/4 of the rigging costs per copy...no big deal ever since i have already started filling up my steam library this year laugh.gif
Eiensakura
post Mar 21 2014, 08:40 PM

189 posts

I think you guys can imagine my reaction when a bunch of UTAR/KTAR students saw me playing WoW: MoP at a local CC, and asked me: " Eh bro, this one got pirate one ah"
memphiz_zero88
post Mar 21 2014, 08:46 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

local FB so-called "PC gaming comunity" group. pinned is a link to Skidrow page doh.gif
newuserex
post Mar 21 2014, 09:31 PM

キャッハハ…キャハハッキャッ……キャハハ…
546 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 21 2014, 08:46 PM)
local FB so-called "PC gaming comunity" group. pinned is a link to Skidrow page doh.gif
pm me link, I would like to see it.
skylinelover
post Mar 22 2014, 03:26 AM

11,266 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 21 2014, 08:46 PM)
epic doh.gif indeed shakehead.gif
qhalidx
post Mar 24 2014, 02:18 AM

148 posts

the only thing i can say is they doesn't represent the pc gaming community in malaysia anyway.
why pirate stuff if you can afford a "gaming pc".
[d]-ky
post Mar 24 2014, 10:26 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(qhalidx @ Mar 24 2014, 02:18 AM)
the only thing i can say is they doesn't represent the pc gaming community in malaysia  anyway.
some are because of region lock
ie : metal gear revengeance
qhalidx
post Mar 24 2014, 12:41 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ Mar 24 2014, 10:26 AM)
some are because of region lock
ie : metal gear revengeance
IMHO, i don't think you can blame everything on regionlock. We survived the dreaded GFWL. I still think many indie game could give the same satisfactions as AA games.
skylinelover
post Mar 24 2014, 11:50 PM

11,266 posts

QUOTE(qhalidx @ Mar 24 2014, 02:18 AM)
the only thing i can say is they doesn't represent the pc gaming community in malaysia  anyway.
because suxmyx 2 slow 2 download games from steam laugh.gif doh.gif
terrytay2009
post Mar 26 2014, 10:16 AM

149 posts

Confession Bear: Used to Pirate everything until I got my first job. Now mostly either preorder or steam sale. I also buy "cosmetics" in Dota and CSGO.

My generation almost destroy PC gaming. Now we have to put it back on track.

Thx to Steam. and EA (yeah.. right..)
sonny_san
post Mar 26 2014, 12:17 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(terrytay2009 @ Mar 26 2014, 10:16 AM)
Confession Bear: Used to Pirate everything until I got my first job. Now mostly either preorder or steam sale. I also buy "cosmetics" in Dota and CSGO.

My generation almost destroy PC gaming. Now we have to put it back on track.

Thx to Steam. and EA (yeah.. right..)
Don't forget the site's that offer bundles too, commercial and indie alike.

This post has been edited by sonny_san: Mar 26 2014, 12:18 PM
AbdullahCheng
post Mar 26 2014, 01:58 PM

67 posts

from a conversation just a couple minutes ago

*friends watching Skyrim videos*

ME : main la game ni... best oh.
FRIEND (F) : ko ada ke?
ME : tak cukup duit lagi la... haritu beli macam-macam, tunggu Steam Sales la kot baru beli
F : loh, beli buat ape, download je la (suggesting download pirated games lah)
ME : noob je download game pirate. pc power tapi main game pirate darjat dia mcm penagih dadah bawah jambatan.

EGO BOOST LEVEL : OVER 9000

HAHAHAHA
littlepotato
post Mar 26 2014, 02:18 PM

28 posts

i buy original only if got multiplayer in it.
if only single, buy pirated only

L)
sai86
post Mar 26 2014, 02:26 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

original ftw. less hassle and by less, its a lot less on updating and etc.
original = dl and play. otherwise, you know the problem you gonna face.

as all said, mampu beli gaming rig, x mampu beli game, pergi la......
terrytay2009
post Mar 26 2014, 04:43 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(sonny_san @ Mar 26 2014, 12:17 PM)
Don't forget the site's that offer bundles too, commercial and indie alike.
I tried the EA Bundle before, but I only play 2 out of 5 games. I guess I'm a player, not so much of a collector. I'll just get what I want.. limited time for gaming too...
sonny_san
post Mar 26 2014, 07:00 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(terrytay2009 @ Mar 26 2014, 04:43 PM)
I tried the EA Bundle before, but I only play 2 out of 5 games. I guess I'm a player, not so much of a collector. I'll just get what I want.. limited time for gaming too...
True but look at the bright side. Your kids (or future kids) might thank you for the original games you bought. Maybe they'll like them, after all you said it yourself; you have limited gaming time.
nagflar
post Apr 15 2014, 12:24 PM

1,813 posts

those are blindly follow trend . just like smartphone . now S5 come out all rush buy S5 , some of them even don;t know what is the different between S4 and S5 etc . They dont even know what they like and what they need just follow trend .

same like my neighbor aunty who buy Iphone 4S last time. I ask why you buy Iphone , she say' ever1 using mention abt Iphone so i must buy one to use or else i will consider 'outdated' .

This post has been edited by nagflar: Apr 15 2014, 12:27 PM
skylinelover
post May 1 2014, 07:22 AM

11,266 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ Mar 12 2014, 07:09 PM)
and with cheap 4K monitor (3840x2160) in coming soon,,,using TN panel btw,,,time 2 bleed more as i heard only 780TI and TITAN Z can maxxed everything in 4k and both gpu cost more than 2.5k on average ohmy.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(nagflar @ Apr 15 2014, 12:24 PM)
those are blindly follow trend . just like smartphone . now S5 come out all rush buy S5 ,  some of them  even don;t know what is  the different between S4 and S5 etc .  They dont even know what they like and what they need just follow trend .
same like my neighbor aunty who buy Iphone 4S last time. I ask why you buy Iphone , she say' ever1 using mention abt Iphone so i must buy one to use or else i will consider 'outdated' .
thanks 2 samsung multi million dollar bomb on marketing costs alone,,,all the dumb customers fell in 2 the trap so easily laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: May 1 2014, 07:23 AM
VanishS
post May 23 2014, 06:20 AM

234 posts

Because its partly human nature when someone thinks they can steal without anyone knowing, they will do it.
nodeffect
post Jul 14 2014, 03:19 PM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

I only buy games when there is sales... All the new games which cost like USD50 i would never buy them... I mainly buy games from steam sales only or humble bundle if there's good sales...

However, look at ea games... origin store... I would never buy them, they are priced around USD70 or 80 plus.. its insanely high, and it forces me to get pirate version.... I'm no millionaire man....
king99
post Jul 16 2014, 10:13 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jul 14 2014, 03:19 PM)
I only buy games when there is sales... All the new games which cost like USD50 i would never buy them... I mainly buy games from steam sales only or humble bundle if there's good sales...

However, look at ea games... origin store... I would never buy them, they are priced around USD70 or 80 plus.. its insanely high, and it forces me to get pirate version.... I'm no millionaire man....
Worse , USD 70 only the basic one , need another USD 50 for season pass
Darkz01
post Jul 18 2014, 09:08 AM

223 posts

i thought origin use sing dollar not usd right??
because previously i bought game from them the currency is in sing dollar...
if usd then memang mahal lah lol...
nodeffect
post Jul 19 2014, 01:51 AM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Jul 18 2014, 09:08 AM)
i thought origin use sing dollar not usd right??
because previously i bought game from them the currency is in sing dollar...
if usd then memang mahal lah lol...
Sing dollar or not, still expensive given $70 for a game.
red streak
post Jul 19 2014, 02:10 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,595 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jul 19 2014, 01:51 AM)
Considering how much work and time was put into most games, SGD $70 is a bargain. The reason why so many DLCs are being put out nowadays is because what was good enough back in the past, isn't good enough now considering inflation and rising costs. Developers are barely making back their money let alone profits to fund future developments of games. If people wanted to pay $20 or less for every game and then never have DLC at all, then you'd quickly see the market being overrun by indie crap with low end graphics like Terraria, Magicite and FTL. Some of them are great of course in terms of gameplay, but they're not exactly what you'd call cutting edge or even progressive. You gotta remember that game studios are businesses first and foremost. They can't just (barely) make bank every time.
Darkz01
post Jul 19 2014, 03:45 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jul 19 2014, 01:51 AM)
if sing dollar, even its $70, its comparable with steam as steam new game usually around 50-60 in usd...
do the math... biggrin.gif

by your logic...
IF (in our dream biggrin.gif ) suddenly origin use MYR and also put 70 for new game then you will also consider it expensive because of 70 not the currency lol...

This post has been edited by Darkz01: Jul 19 2014, 03:46 PM
AbdullahCheng
post Jul 19 2014, 08:12 PM

67 posts

ini semua alasan mau justify the action (pirate the game because mahal).
[d]-ky
post Jul 19 2014, 08:20 PM

633 posts

if your salary is about 3k sgd / month, 70sgd/game isnt that expensive
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
likewise to usd

This post has been edited by [d]-ky: Jul 19 2014, 08:21 PM
skylinelover
post Jul 23 2014, 11:06 AM

11,266 posts

EA is crap just a money making scam company...dont buy them...i cant think of better EA games lately since the end of the era NEED FOR SPEED with most wanted 9 years ago laugh.gif doh.gif
Akmall540
post Jul 24 2014, 09:39 AM

197 posts

So far I guess all the original game that I bought come from same game developer.

Sports Interactive- FM13, FM14.
Blizzard- Diablo 3, Diablo 3 Reaper of Souls.

Only FM13 I bought it using Steam, others I bought it at Impulse Megastore at JB. wink.gif
Angel of Deth
post Jul 25 2014, 11:34 AM

1,242 posts

- wrong thread -

This post has been edited by Angel of Deth: Jul 27 2014, 08:35 AM
Angel of Deth
post Jul 27 2014, 08:39 AM

1,242 posts

In my opinion a big part of supporting original works is to support the content's creator. So when you're spending, make sure to spend it at the right place. By buying games from dodgy sources is like supporting legal piracy instead. But I am guilty of that sometimes, especially when the money is tight.
nikaizad
post Jul 27 2014, 02:57 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

QUOTE(Blackops981 @ Jan 17 2014, 03:40 PM)
take a look at /k/ and you'll know why
DOTA 4 LAIF
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 27 2014, 07:38 PM

2,776 posts

steam user, not supporting pirates anymore
skylinelover
post Jul 28 2014, 10:36 AM

11,266 posts

haha same here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Gabbidon
post Jul 28 2014, 09:03 PM

29 posts

I own all legit copy of games

thanks to steam sales and humble bundles... biggrin.gif

kianweic
post Jul 29 2014, 10:52 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 27 2014, 07:38 PM)
steam user, not supporting pirates anymore
Same here, I am a user of the following digital distributors:
1. Steam
2. Gamer's Gate
3. Good Old Games
4. Origin

Nonetheless, this video is very interesting:

VanishS
post Aug 10 2014, 03:01 AM

234 posts

Reminds me 10 years ago where we go to lowyat to buy 10 bucks pirated games lel
skylinelover
post Aug 10 2014, 07:51 AM

11,266 posts

QUOTE(VanishS @ Aug 10 2014, 03:01 AM)
haha real good old times indeed laugh.gif
memphiz_zero88
post Aug 10 2014, 09:03 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(VanishS @ Aug 10 2014, 03:01 AM)
i still got tons of pirated CDs in my collection. all collecting dust sweat.gif
SUSsniperz
post Aug 10 2014, 09:49 AM

2,464 posts

Don't really support "pirates" though got thousands of it.

My original games just keeps increasing!

abgbeca
post Sep 23 2014, 02:59 PM

84 posts

i believe dota 2 introduce me to steam, then i know how lord gaben can be, all hail to gaben!!
crapp0
post Oct 7 2014, 08:48 AM

4,414 posts

Most malaysian gamers are poorfags or thieves.

White man developers just accept that fact.
SUSsniperz
post Oct 8 2014, 06:29 PM

2,464 posts

I started investing in original games. 230+++ games and counting.

0.0552sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:03 AM