7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.

mADmAN
post Sep 25 2008, 05:33 PM

10,530 posts

skill and some imagination as well....

so u can plan how to place ur hardwares and then how to route ur cables
mADmAN
post Sep 25 2008, 08:10 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Sep 25 2008, 07:30 PM)
how u guys think of muskin 550watt modular PSU?? anybody using it for their SFF here?
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 24 2008, 03:06 AM)
forget the mushkin... piece of shit PSU.i friggin hate it. cables friggin stiff... even on an ATX case damn hard to route the cables coz so stiff...imagine an SFF. it doesnt rate that highly in reviews either. go for corsair if budget permits.

mADmAN
post Sep 25 2008, 10:20 PM

10,530 posts

i just bought a belking wifi-G PCI card for RM99

not much choices here for PCI card...

only got Prolink D-Link and Belkin...Belkin was the most expensive 1...

maybe install tonight or tomorrow
mADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 02:52 AM

10,530 posts

laugh.gif my previous post i was in the office la... how to install?? tongue.gif

patience patience... already installed it and already have pix....

but lazy wanna edit them now... almost 3am..need sleep for work tomorrow tongue.gif

will edit the pix in the office and post them up from there...

anyway...heres the one i bought

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 26 2008, 02:53 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 02:58 PM

10,530 posts

ok....took pix.....but i forgot to take pix of the card installed in the case...was too excited to get it working that i totally forgot laugh.gif

i added a heatsink which i bought from uglyvamp years ago (but never used) on the main chip to make sure the card remains cool.... heatsink is stuck on with 3M Thermal Tape....the card is located right below the PSU's 120mm fan so theres always airflow in that area...

sadly the card took the 2nd last PCI slot... so i couldnt fit a 50mm fan... if it took the last slot then mebbe can. i lost my 40mm fan so decided to closeup all the PCI slots.... the PCI slot covers used are Lian Li's mirror finish PCI slot covers drool.gif

picture from the back with the antenna.....

comparing the Belkin PCI vs the Linksys USB....

the Belkin PCI has MUCH better connectivity.... im getting full bar with the connections... with the Linksys USB im only getting max 70% even though the Linksys is placed higher and slightly closer to the router

but take note that I havent tested with large file transfers...coz i cant. my main rig is using another Linksys USB and i know what its large file transfer rate is like wink.gif

ive also havent tested with torrents yet....so lepak first...

in terms of heat... oso dunno yet...

basically i didnt test anything...just pasang... make sure everything works...then go to sleep biggrin.gif

EDIT: i also did a small mod for the front panel connectors...i think this particular mod should be VERY helpful for us SFF users, especially since we have to remove the mobo from the case if we wanna do anything to it... can check out the mod HERE

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 26 2008, 03:03 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 03:08 PM

10,530 posts

wat idea???
mADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 03:19 PM

10,530 posts

thats like the total opposite of my case man....

i went for minimal... ur going for maximum hahahhahaha

might as well add in a GC...like the 9800GT with single slot cooler...then at least can game mah brows.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 27 2008, 03:05 PM

10,530 posts

dude....sell ur torrent rig and buy a torrent-capable NAS la cheaper tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 27 2008, 05:01 PM

10,530 posts

never tried....

im not an OCer man.... dont have the patience and time for it...

knowledge oso somewhat limited..
mADmAN
post Sep 28 2008, 12:21 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Sep 27 2008, 05:46 PM)
mADmAN, most of the rig i get it for free whistling.gif

looking forward to my HP pc now as i might sell and built another SFF. man i love sff  wub.gif
free?? cheh wink.gif

wat casings u using now for ur SFFs???

QUOTE(kysl @ Sep 27 2008, 06:00 PM)
errr... wat is torrent-capable NAS? noob  unsure.gif
refer HERE
mADmAN
post Sep 28 2008, 08:13 PM

10,530 posts

eh...anybody here using the thermaltake lanbox ah???

also, i was actually considering the V350 for quite some time....

but after reading some reviews...and the fact that u cant remove the top panel, and also the ridiculous amount of screws u need to remove to open it up, is a bloody turn off...sigh.... microfly still rewls for bang for buck SFF!!! thumbup.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 28 2008, 11:15 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Sep 28 2008, 11:07 PM)
Just one small issue though, the Lian-Li Power-LED is a 3pin cable while my motherboard only has two pins, how to make the power-led lights up then?
if the 3 pin can still fit the 3 pin onto ur mobo, just pull out the cable and put it into the appropriate place...

otherwise, ur gonna have to buy the 2 wire connector housing and use that (can get in jalan pasar or even the electrical spare parts shops in SS2)

QUOTE(hypermax @ Sep 28 2008, 11:11 PM)
EVeryone is getting v350. How come arr?
im not.....decided againsts it....its just not as user friendly as i'd like it to be...so im sticking with my microfly... best bang for buck case...good features...decent cooling.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 28 2008, 11:17 PM
mADmAN
post Oct 1 2008, 12:19 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ May 26 2008, 04:18 PM)
FYI, I have measured my XQBox X-Cube 1 casing and the maximum height for any Heat Sink Fan CPU Cooler should not be more than 73.3mm.So I went out and got myself a Thermaltake Ruby Orb like this one here: user posted imagehttp://www.thermaltake.com/product/Cooler/...91/cl-p0391.aspIt just fits my XQBox X-Cube 1...ngam-ngam as u can see in the photos below (click on the thumbnails for a bigger pic)user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
but i think this is for an AMD setup.... source http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/509973/+220 u can still use the orb on an intel setup coz another forumer "Mayor" is using the orb on an E7200 + XqBox.
QUOTE(Mayor @ Aug 6 2008, 01:38 PM)
A nice SFF Casing. Even 9800GT can fit lah... Bes wooo..
source http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/701124/+20 i know hes using a 7200 coz i PMed him about it

Added on October 1, 2008, 12:25 amdoh.gif sheesh....forgive the messiness of the post...my moms laptop damn screwy ler... it just auto formats the damn text doh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Oct 1 2008, 12:25 AM
mADmAN
post Oct 1 2008, 10:26 PM

10,530 posts

the thing with TR's base is not a plague or wat la....its actually their choice to design the heatsinks that way....

reason being the CPUs (dunno which one) are curved in, so the TR's base are curved out the match the CPU...

or something like that....read it in an article somewhere...

i think it was one of the IFX's review....

but then ah.....which CPU nowadays has the curving in thingy? now all i see are flat...
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2008, 03:38 AM

10,530 posts

yeah me using IFX for my gaming rig Q6600 @ 3.0 with stock vcore...

open case the temps about mid-high 30s in AC room...

close case i forgot liao.....

not using the belakang mari cooler coz cant fit in my case...
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2008, 07:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Oct 2 2008, 03:30 PM)
Idle or full load?
idle la....

i dont load it that often except for games so i couldnt be bothered with load temps...

plus during gaming the temps would be the last thing i look at man tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2008, 09:01 PM

10,530 posts

cant compare....coz i changed cooler and proc at the same time...
mADmAN
post Oct 5 2008, 02:27 AM

10,530 posts

i doubt the max orb will fit....

the non-heatpipe orbs should fit....

can try reading my post on the previous page for more info...
mADmAN
post Oct 5 2008, 01:13 PM

10,530 posts

@jinaun
wat case u putting that in???
mADmAN
post Oct 7 2008, 03:56 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Oct 6 2008, 11:09 PM)
What brand is this Jinaun? Looks sweet, maybe I want to try too.
Anyway anyone has recommendation. I want to use SFF as file server with two hard disk using raid1 software or hardware based on your recomendation. mobo doesnt need to be so high end but must be reliable because its fileserver. builtin graphics is suffcient of course.
if ur just gonna use it as a file server just get a NAS... cheaper and works well enough too

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:29 PM