127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.

kev da man
post Jul 5 2006, 10:31 AM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 4 2006, 04:28 PM)
Dood...they all use normal ATX psu di..hence the bigger size.

The way I look at it, the only downside for cases like these is the comparitive airflow vs a tower and the lack of HDD bays (though a theoratical 3 bays are enough for most folks).

So....would you get one?

ps: Aopen gaming cube's b1tch fugly.
THEY DOO??!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!!?!!!!
shite......tongue.gif too bad im with my praetorian 730 brows.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 4 2006, 06:03 PM)
Darn nick dood... ONE HDD???? Is that even legal? tongue.gif
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
even the SN25P can fit two SATA disks and an optical, why settle with one? brows.gif
Doom
post Jul 5 2006, 11:36 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

size does not matter .... but what about performance ??

i had my barebone from Shuttle last time for sc 478......

it served me well until the day i had switch to higher end graphic card....

the mobo and PSU gone after 3 months of using it without much intensive gaming...

the same goes for my brother's shuttle ... he had the same problem by running X850XTPE the time...

ever since that i would said mATX has better securement as compared to those SFF with custom mobo..... which u can't get any replacement after warranty is due...

kev da man
post Jul 5 2006, 11:41 AM

super lurker
15,278 posts

nahh shuttles have better performance than the rest of the SFF barebone packages.

in fact, if you don't try to OC it to the max (which is a hard thing to do since they have great OC features and the boards are mighty stable)

and basically if you cram lots of hot stuff in, i wouldn't be surprised why it died so quickly.
Vervain
post Jul 6 2006, 01:23 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

cut a big hole and chuck a nice 200cfm fan inside. that should solve the heat problem
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 6 2006, 09:44 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 5 2006, 11:36 AM)
size does not matter .... but what about performance ??

i had my barebone from Shuttle last time for sc 478......

it served me well until the day i had switch to higher end graphic card....

the mobo and PSU gone after 3 months of using it without much intensive gaming...

the same goes for my brother's shuttle ... he had the same problem by running X850XTPE the time...

ever since that i would said mATX has better securement as compared to those SFF with custom mobo..... which u can't get any replacement after warranty is due...
Yeah buddy... its like matx boards these days are abundant, there's nice cases for it (which in most cases, look better than their ATX counterparts) but reading around the LYN, it still seems that the form factor can't shake off its budget image.

Silverstone SG01 Evolution
http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-sg01Evolution.htm

Silverstone TJ08 <-- Best matx case around I think.
http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-tj08.htm

Coolermaster Centurion 540
http://www.coolermaster.com/index.php?LT=e...cro%20ATX%20540

QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 5 2006, 11:41 AM)
nahh shuttles have better performance than the rest of the SFF barebone packages.

in fact, if you don't try to OC it to the max (which is a hard thing to do since they have great OC features and the boards are mighty stable)

and basically if you cram lots of hot stuff in, i wouldn't be surprised why it died so quickly.
As you know, Shuttle was doing motherboards and almost went out of business until they started the XPC business... and we used to laugh when ppl use shuttle boards...hahahahha. Of course with XPC, their image is different but did their product actually improve, this part I dunno.

kev da man
post Jul 6 2006, 09:57 AM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 6 2006, 09:44 AM)
Yeah buddy... its like matx boards these days are abundant, there's nice cases for it (which in most cases, look better than their ATX counterparts) but reading around the LYN, it still seems that the form factor can't shake off its budget image.

As you know, Shuttle was doing motherboards and almost went out of business until they started the XPC business... and we used to laugh when ppl use shuttle boards...hahahahha. Of course with XPC, their image is different but did their product actually improve, this part I dunno.
lol even low end shuttles are priced sky high nowadays...the sn25p is still 1.8k
and as for their quality - better now, with reliability issues lessening with each model
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 6 2006, 10:06 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 6 2006, 09:57 AM)
lol even low end shuttles are priced sky high nowadays...the sn25p is still 1.8k
and as for their quality - better now, with reliability issues lessening with each model
Gua kata matx ler... seems like ppl still think of it as mobos for boring companies and budget systems.

Back on Shuttles, they're really killing themselves like that cos they no longer have the market to themselves. There's the mac mini's and Aopen mini's (along with the many others that hasn't launched yet) that's smaller than them..... and the more flexible mATX form factor.

They did try to have an entry level product though... SS59G and SK21G selling for around RM600 but the chipsets are just pathetic.
sockittomebaby
post Jul 6 2006, 06:23 PM

81 posts

actually it is more of an expandibility issue
evilnickwong
post Jul 6 2006, 06:56 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Jul 5 2006, 10:31 AM)

even the SN25P can fit two SATA disks and an optical, why settle with one? brows.gif
Lol well hey I never found the need for many HDDs since I rarely use up a lot of disk space. Anything I download is burned to DVD except for music which I use daily, so it's fine by me. laugh.gif
The HDD is the loudest thing in my rig anyway, so adding another would be a drastic difference.

Vervain
post Jul 6 2006, 10:20 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

why is there a need for 2 hard disk? just to play safe if the primary one goes down. you dun want the data to get loss don't you?
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 7 2006, 09:53 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Jul 6 2006, 06:56 PM)
Lol well hey I never found the need for many HDDs since I rarely use up a lot of disk space. Anything I download is burned to DVD except for music which I use daily, so it's fine by me. laugh.gif
The HDD is the loudest thing in my rig anyway, so adding another would be a drastic difference.
I know lar....u got GF di...that's why don't need so many HDD whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 6 2006, 10:20 PM)
why is there a need for 2 hard disk? just to play safe if the primary one goes down. you dun want the data to get loss don't you?
Nope.... "media" brows.gif
evilnickwong
post Jul 7 2006, 04:44 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 7 2006, 09:53 AM)
I know lar....u got GF di...that's why don't need so many HDD  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Bwa ha ha ha! I've been telling this old n00b too much. laugh.gif

Back on topic though, I just realized the SN27P2 only uses USB mice/keyboards, which sucks a lil since that will force me to change my keyboard and possibly my MX1000 as well since it has jumping issues on USB which is why I'm using it on PS2.

However, the low price of the AM2 mobos are also such that I might just stick to my LianLi. After all, RM410 for a M2N-E is irresistable for someone who doesn't need SLI.
pornstar
post Jul 9 2006, 07:06 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

guys..where do you get shuttle xpc`s?i cant seem to find a place that sells them..im looking at the sn21g5 in particular
ikan_semilang
post Jul 9 2006, 07:07 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(pornstar @ Jul 9 2006, 07:06 PM)
guys..where do you get shuttle xpc`s?i cant seem to find a place that sells them..im looking at the sn21g5 in particular
Try find at C-Zone. tongue.gif
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 12 2006, 10:12 AM

23,414 posts

Check this out.. Nexus psile.

4mm thick aluminum, mini-itx based case wub.gif wub.gif

Veli veli high end stuff. biggrin.gif

http://www.psile.com/index.php?ID=2

r4ydc24
post Jul 12 2006, 11:00 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

OMG!!! this is definitely the nicest SFF casing i eva seen period!!! notworthy.gif but d optical drive, having d slot feature, itz gonna b troublesome to find a replacement ryt? unless from the manufacturer...

er, gez not then.

dem, i like this casing man, wub.gif

This post has been edited by r4ydc24: Jul 12 2006, 11:02 AM
evilnickwong
post Jul 12 2006, 12:28 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Goodness sniper! That looks sexy!
But.. it's from Nexus, which means it will never see the light of day here in M'sia. dry.gif

Ey dinster/moderno, if you're reading this, it's time to expand your business and pick up more companies to play distributor! laugh.gif
ikan_semilang
post Jul 12 2006, 01:17 PM

4,504 posts

Damn, interested to get sff casing for m-atx. Nice casing. laugh.gif
eBola
post Jul 13 2006, 12:41 AM

blah
1,928 posts

any lubangs for slimline slot loading optical drives in taiwan, sniper?
rezzz
post Jul 13 2006, 07:45 AM

Look at me...
1,140 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 12 2006, 11:12 AM)
Check this out.. Nexus psile.

4mm thick aluminum, mini-itx based case  wub.gif  wub.gif

Veli veli high end stuff. biggrin.gif

wonder how much it cost sweat.gif sweat.gif
I wanna get one (only if I have money) cry.gif

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:12 PM