Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

jepertine90
post Mar 18 2014, 05:19 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

Hi guys, a quick question.

For the Haruka and Icoca pass, can I like buy the Kyoto to Kansai Airport at day 1, use the Icoca for the rest of my 10 days trip, then only activate the Haruka ticket from Kyoto back to Kansai Airport?

My initial plan was use the 7 days JR pass first at the airport > Kyoto/Osaka > Tokyo, as our first trip is lto Tokyo first.

Any ideas? I've read the guide the JR west provided but doesn't seem have the answer. The only concern is single trip only have 1 day validity.
jepertine90
post Mar 19 2014, 01:42 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Mar 19 2014, 11:23 AM)
I have read from the Icoca & Haruka website,
it state that the return Haruka ticket are valid for 2 weeks.
It means that you can use it  when you reach KIX at day 1,
and re-use it on last day when you depart from KIX.

For your case, more logical way is buy the Icoca & Haruka (returned) at KIX,
use  it at day 1 to take the Haruka to Osaka/Kyoto. Once you decise
travel to Tokyo, then active your 7 day JR-pass  to ride JR train ,
u can use the JR pass in tokyo city as well. Remember to complete
the Tokyo route within 7 day and comeback to Osaka/Kyoto. In Kyoto
you can use Icoca card (assume yrs JR pass have expired) to buy the
local train ticket. Alternatively, u can  buy a daily bus ticket to travel
arround. At last day , u can utilise yours Haruka card to return to airport.

Another question i need to raise up here is that, for the Haruka
ticket puchase through this package, is that compulsary to reserve
the seat? Or this is include into  the package without  extra
seat fee?
Thanks for the clear up.
Guess I have no choice but to purchase the returned pass. Bummers, tot going to save that extra RM30 for a meal or something.. tongue.gif

From what I know, the discounted ticket are entitled to reserve seats too(returned).

By the way, how to reserve seat? I heard JR Shinkansen also need to reserve seats before boarding. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
jepertine90
post Apr 7 2014, 12:16 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 7 2014, 11:39 AM)
Kyoto Capsule are very very nice.  Specially the Hotel call Nine Hour
http://ninehours.co.jp/en/
lol, looks like transporter hotel if you had watch that movie.. so futuristic.. sadly I'm enrolled in full time ryokan, if not I would like to experience one night in those capsule hotel..

drafting my itinerary.. will drop bunch of questions soon...

oh ya, here's a quick one.. I'm travelling between 15th to 25th May 2014. 15th to 20th is in Tokyo.

For tokyo pass, I'm getting a tokyo subway ticket(new and only available from 22 April onwards) 3 days for 1500 yen for toei and metro. Should I get a suica card also? My friend studying in tokyo and said no need get a suica pass for my situation because :

15th May - half day in Tokyo because arriving at osaka @8am, settle this and that and reach around 2-3pm tokyo

16-19 May - one day disney sea, 3 days wondering around(still drafting from my list of chosen attractions)

20 May - back kyoto(6th day JR pass)

any advice? I still think suica not worth for us because the credit is not refundable, and I believe we can't finish 1500 yen in 1 and 1/2 days... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Apr 7 2014, 12:17 PM
jepertine90
post Apr 9 2014, 10:25 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Apr 8 2014, 11:40 PM)
thank you so much~~~

i just realise i cant check for room availability in many kyoto's traditional ryokan style inns for the month October 2014 onwards.
is it because its full/peak season or because its too early to do booking for those month?
if homestay or ryokan, just personally e-mail them.. I got mine on December, but I'm going on May 15th, but they allow me to pre-book first.. sometimes you need to ask for such special exemption I guess?

because Im searching via airbnb, hostel.com, booking.com those because it is an agent, they much unlikely to attend your special request, so I figured and pm them and it works.. rclxms.gif

jepertine90
post Apr 9 2014, 03:57 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Apr 9 2014, 01:56 PM)
So last saturday i had a 5 and a half hour queue for sushi dai at tsukiji..

Stupid and stubborn, i know.. im bad at cutting losses and call it quit.

sad.gif

But i did enjoyed the food. And the conversations with people queuing too.. there was a group of marketing/advertisement people from Apple HQ there as well.
thats the reason I'm not opting for sushi dai no matter how good it is.. just waste of my precious time~ unless I have endless time to waste during my visit, then I might go for it..
jepertine90
post Apr 10 2014, 12:12 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Apr 10 2014, 11:23 AM)
AirAsia 48-hour sale to Nagoya in June RM526 before food and lugagge. But summer  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
you can travel on May 13 like that for spring.. not bad weather as it is not hot or cold.. between 17-23 according to my friend.. avoid golden week..
jepertine90
post Apr 10 2014, 01:18 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(girl87 @ Apr 10 2014, 01:04 PM)
hi, been a silent reader all this while, but this caught my eye. may 13 like that is considered spring is it? how about early may? means still winter-ish is it?
from what I research from the wonders of internet. Early May assume is 1st may to 10 may.. is still Spring, according to accu weather, the temp is around 16-22 temp..
jepertine90
post Apr 11 2014, 10:34 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 11 2014, 09:31 AM)
random question, what are you supposed to call sushi chef ah? as in like if u wanna get the chef attention to order (e.g. in conveyor belt sushi place). takkan say excuse me right
I think the most common one got foreigner should be sumimasen sensei ~
jepertine90
post Apr 11 2014, 11:07 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

-edit- SOLVED... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Apr 11 2014, 02:07 PM
jepertine90
post May 26 2014, 11:39 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

just back from 10 days japan trip... on the last day, the weather turned.. super hot in kyoto yesterday..
jepertine90
post May 29 2014, 10:38 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(freshie80 @ May 28 2014, 08:37 AM)
Need help on the best transportation mode to cover these places.. We wanted to see festivals in each area ie belly button, Tenjin.. Is the itininery too ambitious

I've asked japan-guide and they say the 7 day JR pass or is not good to cover cost "If you travel between Tokyo and Nikko mainly by Tobu railroad lines and you take a flight from Haneda Airport [HND] in Tokyo to Asahikawa Airport [AKJ] in Hokkaido,
a 7-day Japan Rail Pass is not likely to pay off on 23 July - 29 July or on 25 July - 31 July."

Will probably consider a flight from Sapporo to Osaka since the travel time is too long via train .
We're thinking to take 7 days JR from 23-29/7 and Seishun 18 Kippu from 29-31/7 and area pass in Kyoto/ Osaka

23-Jul-14 Nagoya
24-Jul-14 Nara
25-Jul-14 Osaka
26-Jul-14 Tokyo
27-Jul-14 Tokyo
28-Jul-14 Nikko
29-Jul-14 Hokkaido (Furano)
30-Jul-14 Hokkaido (Furano)
31-Jul-14 Hokkaido (Sapporo)
01-Aug-14 Kyoto
02-Aug-14 Kyoto
03-Aug-14 Osaka
forget it, you won't make it / enjoy your stay.. I split into 5 tokyo, 6 kyoto in my trip.. guess what, I really missed many places.. cry.gif
Japan is a big county and lots to offer. Don't be greedy and just focus on one region or greedy a bit, cover tokyo and kansai..

Even 10 days alone in Tokyo/Kyoto, you won't finish exploring.

I'll visit again next year, got poisoned by the culture/food and mini skirts and girls! drool.gif drool.gif
jepertine90
post May 29 2014, 10:40 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ May 29 2014, 01:30 AM)
brows.gif  notworthy.gif When Ramen, Sushi, and schoolgirl gives you ZzzzzZz feeling lolz
schoolgirls and teenager are so well fashioned, when I come back malaysia, I saw lenglui(malaysian standards) I was like meh, not that pretty also.. Need few months to get off the JAPAN effect off of my head. rclxub.gif
jepertine90
post May 29 2014, 01:29 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 29 2014, 01:24 PM)
sweat.gif not alot of japanese chic hv naturally pretty face, they like to wear heavy makeup and fashionable
next time try taiwanese amoi wub.gif ...
still pretty, been to taiwan.. also wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
jepertine90
post May 29 2014, 03:11 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ May 29 2014, 01:29 PM)
It will never GOES OFF hahaha
Actually I agree with this point. But they give you certain positive impression because Japanese take trains, walk a lot up and down, you rarely see any "bigger size" people no matter male or female.

Here in Malaysia, in shopping mall just 1F only also must take elevator. Aduh...
never goes off, how to find GF like that? standard high liao.. haha

and true, rarely spot a big person.. the only big person was me during my stay in Japan.. haha

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 29 2014, 02:03 PM)
dont goto taiwan...
goto okinawa... it is flooded with taiwanese youngster
Okinawa of coz, beaches always attracts youngsters... but I'm more interested my next visit to Hokkaido
jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 10:28 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

Hi ZombieLand,

We can't actually suggest anything for you based on this.. you need to do homework yourself for your itinerary.

1) good guesthouse/hostel that u recommend
-there's no good guesthouse/hostel as most of them are pretty good because it is japan, this sole based on the places you travel to set your base.

2) cheapest mode of transport to these places
-cheapest mode always public transport, train, buses, bicycle, and your leg

3) ur suggestion on the itinerary
-do homework as many forumers told me before

4) any good places that could not be missed
-do homework.. basically all place are good..

please visit https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3092421/+2160
for all your inquiry...

jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 10:29 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

Going Kyoto/Osaka again on Jan/Feb 2015.. I back from there less than a week and purchases ticket again to revisit some places I missed.. That's Japan. rclxms.gif
jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 11:59 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jun 2 2014, 11:46 AM)
I hope I can do that too... But I needed more time for more $$$ sad.gif
I try squeeze my budget in less than 3k for 8 days trip.. due to I want to visit Universal Studio Japan.. budget increase to 3.5k.. breakdown as below as according to current rate :

Air fare - RM 875
Hotel - 6 night RM100 x6 = Rm600
Universal Studio Japan - Rm 223
Kansai Thru Pass - Estimate 3 days - Rm160
Kyoto Bus 1 day = Rm16
Haruka & Icoca = Rm130
Wifi 6 days - Rm45

Total : Rm2050 + Rm1450(Spending money)

which 1 day aprox 6500 yen to survive, which is acceptable..
jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 04:00 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Jun 2 2014, 03:23 PM)
what hotel you staying?
and what wifi you using?
wifi should be same as i just used, globaladvancecommunication wifi.
hotel still looking, but i'm looking at hana hostel in osaka, then stay some guest house in kyoto. still planning and working around my budget of rm600
jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 05:33 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Jun 2 2014, 04:37 PM)
RM45?
i checked all above rm100.
this one right?

http://www.globaladvancedcomm.com/pocketwifi.html
sorry my cost were divided among 4 person, so Rm45 per person.. smile.gif
jepertine90
post Jun 2 2014, 11:07 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(ZombieLand @ Jun 2 2014, 10:48 PM)
Thanks...I did my homework but pretty confused with certain things...the mode of transport between and with osaka and kyoto....is it cheaper to us icoca or to use the JR pass? Can anyone enlighten me of this?
depends on where you want to go. you can always use hyperdia.com to check your train, it will show which type of train and fare you going to take. From there you can calculate how are you going to utilize those passes. However just within Osaka, you can buy Osaka Unlimited Pass.. In Kyoto, you can always take bus(kyoto 1 day buss = 500 yen)..

if you keep travel between osaka and kyoto, kansai thru pass is suitable.. which can go to Nara and other places as well..

0.0520sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:40 PM