Financial Cukai Pintu Explained, Cukai Pintu/Assessment Rate issue in KL

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 10:26 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(dreign @ Jan 7 2014, 02:06 AM)
If my upper floor rent RM1000/month and my unit I rent it out Rm500 becos the younger sister very good looking. drool.gif
Both unit are the same build up area. So can I declare a lower cukai pintu?

No. The Annual Value is based on the gross market rental value. It does not matter how much of a discount an owner is giving to anyone, for any reason.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 10:41 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 10:28 AM)
Thanks for the replies but you left out the following:

"To add on, what is DBKL's plan to reduce manpower since statistics have clearly shown that DBKL is having one of the highest staff to population ratio in the WORLD!"

To your item 5, can you kindly provide development charges collected in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 respectively? Somehow, 2013 does not seem to be decreasing in any way.

The process of calling for hearing have already commenced. I have received some notices but I fear I would not be able to attend given that notices were far too short (less than 48 hours notice in my case), and hearing is set to be middle of a work day. I attended once previously and I regret to inform that it is highly ineffective with more than 2 hours waiting time, etc.
The results is also far from satisfactory.
In order to provide services necessary for the city, DBKL needs the manpower to do so.

The development charges are in the Mayor's budget speech for those respective years. The projected decrease in developmental charges is by 50% next year and will continue on a downward trend as less areas in KL are developed by private entities.

Your feedback concerning the public hearing is noted. The last time there was an Annual Value Revision was in 1992. I assume you attended a similar hearing then?

According to the NST Online news report yesterday, the attendees were commenting on how fast and efficient the hearings were. We are covering the hearings this week and shall report on what happens during one.

Thank you for your questions.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 11:18 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 10:49 AM)
I disagree that DBKL requires the existing manpower to do so.
Statistics have proven and shown other more renowned world class cities are operating at much less staff.
Based on your replies here, are you stating that decrease of manpower IS NOT AN OPTION to DBKL at all?

I requested for historical revenue stemming from development charges, not "projected decrease in the future".
This is to substantiate your claims of a decrease in the first place.
While land may decrease, but value increases. Development charge is based on land value, no? Hence revenue WOULD increase if same or even less amount of projects commence year to year.
The decrease or increase in manpower is ultimately up to DBKL. If you believe they should decrease their manpower and lay off staff, please send them the suggestion using the contact information provided above.

As for your historical revenue request, here are all the Mayor's budget speeches from 2002 - 2014:

http://www.dbkl.gov.my/index.php?option=co...id=1231&lang=ms

The projected decrease in revenue from development charges for the coming years is based on upcoming projects in KL. The decrease in number of development projects will not be sustained by other factors, hence a decrease.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 11:58 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 11:41 AM)
Since you refuse to extract it, i have taken the liberty to extract it for your perusal to refute your earlier claims:

(in RM'mil)   
                                          2010; 2011;        2012; 2013;          2014
assessment                        755.08; 783.68; 810.53; 880.5; 1,130
kawalan binaan & perancangan 116;        n/a;            239.7; 270;          272.5
*figure not available for development charge in year 2011?

the stats clearly shows an uptrend for revenue from development charge.
while assessment may have witness an increse in close to 50% within 2010 to 2014, but development charge has witness an outstanding 235% growth in the same period!

i rest my case!

while you claim to explain the rationale of the need to increase cost, it's cleverly and overly convenient you chose to ignore cost cutting measures. to me, it is a biased opinion to begin with.
Seems more like 137% increase, not 235%.

I understand your concerns. However, the development fees will not simply continue to rise based on any increase experienced in the past few years. Since years ago, KL saw rapid development by private developers, etc.

However, this source is running out in the next five to 10 years. You can see the declining trend as we go from 2014 to 2018 with the projected income for the city.

Even if there is an increase, as you can see, the development fees can hardly cover even half of the budget or even development expenditure on any given year.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 12:01 PM

69 posts

Costs will also increase over time. The costs to maintain KL city will go up as manpower and material costs go up.

Furthermore, as a modern city, KL would have to cater to new needs in the coming years.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 8 2014, 03:51 PM

69 posts

Anyone else has any questions related to the Annual Value Revision as well as the Assessment Rate?

UPDATES: DBKL is currently conducting the public hearing on objections to the proposed New Annual Value.

A total of 153,000 objection letters were received and DBKL will process every single case.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 8 2014, 05:43 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(godlikexioo @ Jan 8 2014, 04:29 PM)
i have submitted 3 surat batahan for my 3 properties in KL but till only 1 surat reply i had recieved from DBKL regarding my bantahan. So who should i refer for the remaining surat bantahan which i had submitted?
All notices to attend the public hearing should have been received by or before Jan 6 2014.

If you or anyone has not received a notice to attend the public hearing after submitting your objection before or on the deadline last year, please contact the DBKl JPPH:

Tingkat 4, Bangunan TH Perdana, Jalan Sultan Ismail, 50250 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2617 1038
Email: jpph@dbkl.gov.my

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 9 2014, 03:32 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(AlexCbn @ Jan 9 2014, 02:35 PM)
Again it is kind of ridiculous hearing exercise again. received one on 6/1/14 asked to attend on 8/1 12 noon.have meeting at 11am on 8/1/14 .How to go we are all working peoplelah  so no go eventually ... IF DBKL is sincere should give sufficient notice and conduct it at week ends..my other two appeal letters all sent on time but until now not received anything from DBKL on the hearing date yet...so should i blame post slow or what said you DBKL..im sure there are many people here facing same problem like me...
Thank you for your feedback. We have compiled similar inputs and presenting them to DBKL.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 9 2014, 09:46 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jan 9 2014, 08:08 PM)
All I can say is instead of wasting all the resources to send mails or returning mails, why can't dbkl b a bit smarter to just announce a reduction to a reasonable and acceptable increment??? Is dbkl gonna tell us later saying tat kakitangan tak cukup pasal rakyat but bising???

Tauke kltok can u pass the message to dbkl and stop acting stupid??? And stop all the kok toking show and do sthg cos rakyats r paying them. Do u agree???
It will be a reasonable increment for those who face an increase. Some will enjoy a decrease instead.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 9 2014, 11:41 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Fruit @ Jan 9 2014, 10:18 PM)
Hi masters, may i know what are the differences of quit rent & assessment rate between a commercial title unit and residential title unit? I noticed the shop apartment is using commercial title.
Residential units and commercial units (according to land title) pay different percentages as Assessment Rate/Cukai Pintu.

The new percentage is 4% for residential and 10% for commercial (within 36 mile radius) and 8% (outside 36 mile radius)
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 9 2014, 11:47 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Jan 9 2014, 10:36 PM)
huh?  blink.gif  What gives? Like strike lottery....
Assessment Rate/Cukai Pintu = Annual Value X Assessment Rate Percentage

Assessment Rate Percentage is determined by type and location of property.

There are those whose properties increase in annual value by around 30-50%.

The Assessment Rate Percentage has decreased from 30-50%.

For example, a medium cost apartment in Kepong (real world example):

Old Annual Value = RM9,000
Old Assessment Rate = 6%
Old Amount of Assessment Rate paid = RM9,000 X 6% = RM540

New Annual Value = RM12,000
New Assessment Rate = 4%
New Amount of Assessment Rate paid = RM12,000 X 4% = RM480

As you can see, in cases like this, the owner pays less than previous years.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 10 2014, 12:24 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Jan 10 2014, 12:16 AM)
Just checked! 50% overall increase!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

What about u ManutdGiggs? Ada untung?
If you are an owner occupying your own property, you can ask for even further reduction under a special incentive scheme.

Retirees, OKUs/the disabled and owners who occupy their own property are eligible for these reductions.

You can get the form at a DBKL Payment Counter.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 10 2014, 09:41 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Cocoon @ Jan 10 2014, 09:35 AM)
Mine Turun Woh surprisingly
And if you own the property where you are staying, you can apply for the special incentive reduction. Please get the form from a DBKL Payment Counter.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 10 2014, 11:46 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Jan 10 2014, 11:33 AM)
I'm not OKU or retiree le... normal ppl not eligible for reductions? What about reasons like no tenant?

Can download form from dbkl site?
If you are an owner who are residing at your own property, you can also apply for the property where you are staying.

The form needs to be obtained and submitted at a DBKL Payment Counter.
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 10 2014, 11:54 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jan 10 2014, 11:49 AM)
Boss wat tiramisu boss meant is wat if no tenant??? Can ask for special rate boh. U have not answered.
No, the special incentive is only for these three types of cases/owners.

Assessment Rate has to be paid whether the owner has a tenant or not renting at his/her place.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 11 2014, 04:07 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(princeb0b0 @ Jan 10 2014, 02:40 PM)
after reading this thread, TS has not contributed anything useful even when presented by well thought questions by moderator boon. this clown MyKLtalkcock is only here to help DBKL to TRY convince ppl to think that DBKL are actually doing something. He has not addressed any of  the forumers feedback contructively apart from telling everyone to send thier concerns to DBKL which is the party that has caused all the dissatisfaction in the first place. Its like complaining to the robber for robbing your house. Even then he cant even come up with any solid explanation as has been proven by bro kochin.

After so long, the least this talk cock king can do is help to put up info on the assessment rates, hearing schedules or what ever else will be useful for the community here. instead he just wait for ppl to ask question and either tell the person to send letter to DBKL (which we all know takes forever for a response not to mention any kind of action) or cook up some BS figures he pluck from DBKL dumpsite and tell us "oh we receive 200k complain bla bla bla". Halo.... u think just coz you say something we believe ar?? newspaper say last year less than 10,000 ppl gather at MPPJ stadium, u believe?? kamon man, ppl here not stupid wei.

from my short time here at LYN, i see that LYN forumer are very resourceful and it is because they cant find anything by google-ing and by searching extensively on the OBVIOUS websites that they come here to seek more info. i think LYN forumer are on a different level compared to MyKLtalkcock.

for me personally i came in here with hope of some good solid feedback to add to the joy of today that is Friday, instead i find this NUT here put inside the tin kosong. what happen when you shake the tin? we all know noise only, nothing happen.

dear moderator, i apolagize for no contructive question and i respect that everyone has the right to open topic and share thier view but i think pinning this topic is giving this clown too much face. If it really is useful LYN community would make it hot topic by now.
As mentioned earlier, we are engaging the public with information from the source (DBKL) in the hopes of clarifying matters concerning Cukai Pintu as well as to share announcements.

We deal with facts, not emotion.

If you have any evidence to back your claims, you can either report to DBKL using the information we supplied above or send it over to projectmykl@gmail.com for us to forward to our clients.

For operations conducted by DBKL, if you find any unsatisfactory performance or negligence, you can either report to DBKL, or get one of the media outlets (either mainstream or alternative) to highlight it.

The feedbacks garnered from this forum will be presented to our clients. For that, we thank you for suggestions or comments posted here.

This post has been edited by MyKLTalks: Jan 11 2014, 04:28 PM
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 11 2014, 10:34 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jan 11 2014, 06:43 PM)
Kl boss got athg to add ar other than those v oledi know???
Thank you for your interest. As soon as we get more verified information concerning the Cukai Pintu/Assessment Rate issue from our clients, we will post it on our website, FB, Twitter and update the forums as well.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 12 2014, 11:43 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 12 2014, 11:01 AM)
MyKLTalks, we appreciate you are more sensitive to the needs of the community. the process in getting things done should be made as transparent and easiest possible.

there are discussion about hearings. members got their notification later after hearing. this is not right thing dbkl to address issue. so there must be room for improvement or other way round. doing this give overall picture dbkl wants the hike badly via daylight robbery. how you can change that?

it's either you do it right or give your company and client a real bad name together along bad creditability. so please think and act carefully.
All feedback are compiled and sent to DBKL, especially concerning the notice issue, which has been brought up by members here as well as in media reports.

Concerning the 'wanting the hike badly via daylight robbery', there are a few components to this - first is the quantum of the hike, which has been explained. DBKL assures that any increase in amount paid by property owners - especially for residential properties - will not be high. In some cases, some owners pay lower Assessment Rate as compared to the years before. In fact, there is a special incentive to even reduce the amount further for OKUs, retirees and owner-occupied properties. There will also be another announcement concerning this and we will post it as soon as the numbers and calculations tally during or after the negotiations concerning the Annual Value Revision public hearings.

Then there is the second component - the rationale why this is necessary. As is made transparent in all budget speeches since 2002 and the breakdown of expenditure and income of DBKL as well as the five-year projected income vs expenditure on our website, the city needs the funds to ensure sustainability of the city.

The information being disseminated are verified by DBKL. Any other types of leniency or negotiations between residents and DBKL are beyond the scope of the campaign. DBKL has been known to be open for negotiations with KL residents. As with any allegations of corruption or general inefficiencies. For that, we suggest the normal protocol of reporting.

We join you in your call for thinking and acting carefully as this is the future of the city we all live in, and there are rules and laws that must be adhered to.

It may be easy to get lost in the heat of an online forum, but try to think about it rationally and when in the real world - is the Cukai Pintu increased for all? Will it burden everyone, especially those who have less? There is a cost to maintain the city and hopefully members of the public will be more informed on how much it takes to actually maintain and develop a modern city such as KL.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 12 2014, 05:08 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 12 2014, 12:04 PM)
Again you are contradicting yourself.
No doubt expenses are necessary to maintain a good upkeep of a city. But at what cost.
Any comparison done with other world class cities?
The issue is the citizens are not happy at how the expenses were spent. Ridiculous quantum wasted on unnecessary projects. White elephants such as rm1mil public toilets, unutilised sports complexes in the middle.of no where, shoddy walkways with huge spendings, etc.
Why are nasi lemak stores still allowed to operate with your dbkl staff happily purchasing it?
For god's sake, there is even a daily gerai just opposite dbkl building behind epf building. Sooooooo convenient for illegal trader to set up stalls and stands everywhere in our world class cities. You want proof, those are hard core proof.
Stop propagating lies that it is just.
Justice fairness is justice denied.
Until the day dbkl realise and admit that they are wrong and starts rectification of their faults is the day that dbkl starts to go on the right path.
Budget is a very simple thing. There is only inflow and outflow. If the inflow is capped, one should look at the outflow. So far all reports still concentrate on inflow only.
Walk the talk.
Tell us how many staff are there in dbkl over the population ratio. What was the amount paid for overtime last year?
Thank you for your feedback. We are compiling all input as well as online sentiments for DBKL.

In the meantime, if anyone has any questions about the Assessment Rate, the special incentive or their Annual Value revision, please do not hesitate to post here, email us or visit our Facebook page fb.com/mykltalks or ask us on Twitter @mykltalks

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 13 2014, 02:53 PM

69 posts

If anyone has any more questions pertaining to the Annual Value Revision 2014, please ask us here.

You can also find out more on the whole exercise on our website www.mykl.com.my or FB page fb.com/mykltalks .

Our Twitter handle is @MyKLTalks.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0288sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:45 PM