> Proton Preve enjin lantai, LOL

ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(iconia17 @ Jan 4 2014, 10:58 PM)
maybe you should try to imagine this situation. if the car maintained in the horizontal plane during accident and engine detached, the engine momentum is still forward and it will not leave the car since the gap below doesnt allow it, hence it will act as a crumple zone and also contribute to the kinetic energy dispersion.

2nd scenario if the car tilted and roll, the engine detached but the opening will allow the car rolling leaving the engine with reduced momentum and quite substantial energy going forward. again kinetic energy dispersion and reduced momentum since we have mass reduced from the body.
i think the argument here is that the engine dont leave the vehicle.. biggrin.gif yes engine mounts will break.. as the volvo article states... but it also says end up 45degree angle within the car engine bay..
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:04 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 4 2014, 10:58 PM)
iinm the one one that slows down the collision is the chassis(crumple zone) itself, not the engine,

beside, the engine only held by couple of bolts. if anything, it wont absorb any impact, it only be a battering ram entering the cabin of the car.
crumple zone is every thing.. inclusive of the engine..

if you notice the offset crash photos.. without the engine absorbing some impact.. the impact goes way into the front wheels even for solid built 5 star cars.
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(nefashu @ Jan 4 2014, 11:04 PM)
If the engine stay with the car, the momentum from the engine will crash ur leg and end up in ur lap. it willl also change the the vector of your car and make it more uncontrollable

Seriously, did u take physic or this is just ur assumption?
no need to take physic, looking at NCAP frontal test will tell you, 1. engine did not fall out. 2. engine wont go into your leg..

ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(nefashu @ Jan 4 2014, 11:12 PM)
How can u compare collusion at 80km/h with 160km/h?
if 160.. u rite, cannot compare.. even go airbrone will kill liao.. sweat.gif
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Jan 4 2014, 11:15 PM)
plus, that car guling2 summore.. if the side body is not that rigid, memang GG.
in this case the passenger cell is quite intact hor..
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:17 PM)
this.  rclxms.gif

why ar188 keep defending the engine must be attached with the car or underneath? the car would hv rolled.
u do know this is a rear engine car right? engine wont go underneath the driver floor like a front engine car??.. laugh.gif
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:23 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:19 PM)
yup engine should stay in car but not in engine bay..
wrong,engine does not slow the collision..car frame that slowing and absorb the collision force.
only those with strengthen engine frames to overcome the newer offset impact test.. notice how many fail quite badly until driver cabin intrusion when it was introduced even though front impact got 5stars?
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 4 2014, 11:24 PM)
Can what.

Instead of one big block as the engine it can be made up of 30 different parts.
Upon impact the sensor triggers small explosives at the joints.
The internal explosion counter acts with the external impact and helps to neutralise the damage.

sweat.gif laugh.gif
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:27 PM)
front frame should be made soft to absorb impact
soft? then entire front aluminium cukup lor? biggrin.gif
i guess it should be a mix of high strength steel and ultra high strength steel.. to guide the deformation process..away from the cabin..

ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 4 2014, 11:25 PM)
Any part flying off a car during an accident, which can be many parts, is a potential hazard to passerbys. What are you gonna do, complain that a bumper should not fly off during an accident and demand that NCAP make that into a guideline?

ar188 You seem to focus on the fact that the engine should not leave the car, which I agree. If the Preve did not rollover, the engine might've probably stayed with the car. On the other hand, when Volvo says that the engine will slide under the car, it did not address the possibility of a rollover. Can you vouch for Volvo that their engine will still be attached to the car when the flips? considering the main mounting points are gone and all that holds the engine to the car is the transmission or the exhaust pipe.
in this scenario, i dunno how many side turns did the car do and at what speed .. but i did say the passenger cell is pretty solid.

ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:43 PM)
looks like the engine shot out of the car like a bullet... sweat.gif
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:48 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(danabu @ Jan 4 2014, 11:45 PM)
In lab test / ANCAP test, it is perfect front collision, so the engine just drop under the car.

But in actual accident, when the engine is dropped, they are many possibility happen. Good thing is after the engine is dropped, the momentum will be reduced. And will also create a longer crumble zone to reduce the impact on the passenger in the car.

I am not sure if Preve is designed for this, but without doubt, this is something good.
the concern is about other people .. as per above picture.. car bang tree.. but engine acting like bowling ball down the road..
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:49 PM)
yup its accident anything can happen dont blame manufacture when u drive at 160km and die or kill someone..
for some, easier to blame the tree being there at that instance.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 4 2014, 11:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(iconia17 @ Jan 4 2014, 11:54 PM)
maybe the design is to save u first not the others  rclxms.gif

your accident is definite but behind you will be either there is a car or no car. and when the engine drops first impact already slow it down plus the momentum is still up front. friction with the road will be the 2nd force against, so anyone who unluckly ram it from behind will face a reduced momentum engine which the movement can be diverted on impact.
QUOTE(danabu @ Jan 4 2014, 11:53 PM)

SO u want to market a car that people in the car will be in trouble but outside people will be safe???

This is the fact, till now, most of the cars in the market are designed in that way, protect the buyer first, other.... at least maybe not at this moment. smile.gif
sometimes , say you just avoided an accident due to some crazy driver zig zag 3 lanes and speeding, and ahead 1min later, bang into something.. dunno wanna come down and lecture him or not.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 12:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 5 2014, 12:00 AM)
Next time is to control the direction, speed and trajectory of the flight path laugh.gif
fine tuning went wrong? biggrin.gif

ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 01:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 5 2014, 06:45 AM)
You'll be amaze if you know all the UNECE requirement can be sometimes ridiculous and troublesome.  Most cars sold in malayisa barely meeting UNECE regulations, but Proton current models and future models are trying to meet all the regulations for malaysian and global market.
obviously you dont have the capability to sell volume in multiple countries.. so you try to make it one size fits all.. duh.. dun give excuse trying to meet all regulations across the world.. just want to save inventory cost cos you cant sell enough numbers to make more diverse model line up...
ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 01:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 5 2014, 01:45 PM)
Meeting regulations is not an excuse.  It is a perfect business sense as you said, to have all same spec from one production line up. You have to choose to meet global regulations or keep producing non-global cars and sell to local market only.  This is not an excuse, but a must.  Unlike Perodua, they are just barely meeting the minimum regulations for local market, because they don't have to worry about export market.
dont be stupid. every country has their own regulations, even japan and korea when they export cars to austrialia or UK or us have different specs for different markets even if they come from the same factory.. there is no such thing as meeting all the requirements. even the climate and seasons is different every where else. doh.gif
ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 01:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 5 2014, 01:53 PM)
In this case, japanese just meet the minumum JPJ approved ECE spec. But some even don't. Also want to exempt further.  laugh.gif
Proton is targeting Europe homologation, so what is stupid about that?  rolleyes.gif
because targeting something doesnt mean they have done it.. proof first la.. model change for their bread and butter model like BLM also kennot do within every 4-5years want to target this n that..
ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 01:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 5 2014, 01:53 PM)
My Car made in Japan and only have 2 airbag... does not even meet Euro NCAP requirement to have 6 airbag... so you are right... car made to cater to each country requirement (not regulation) if he buyer DEMAND safety they will cater to the market... else their car wont sell thats simple... why we buy car with no airbag cause we dont care...
that's how people make money and survive lor.. JIT , KANBAN etc.. people who cannot multitask with 1million part numbers wont be doing global business for long.
ar188
post Jan 5 2014, 02:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 5 2014, 01:56 PM)
not stupid but good... it is actually good... but this spec do made to cater for Malaysian market as well example bigger radiator cause hot climate...

but the safety is on par with EURO NCAP which is great!!! finally they did something right!!!

Malaysian must demand for more safety else car manufacturer will take you for a ride... good case UMW Toyota... i mean look at their safety feature... kinda idiot ppl only will buy
then why dont you take action... why still sit in your perception of "unsafe" 2 airbag car? biggrin.gif go buy the newest 208 or 308 lor.. cheap cheap also.. got many airbags..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >

0.0291sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:09 AM