Is it safe to give out Credit card CVC code, to Hotel Booking.

TShackwire
post Jan 3 2014, 07:47 AM, updated 12y ago

4,256 posts

I just wanna ask , the hotel policy to book a room requires the full credit card infos including CVC code behind. Is this normal procedures ? How did you guys deal with this ?
Im booking through email.
thanks.
pkh
post Jan 3 2014, 07:50 AM

316 posts

If through phone confirmation, they just need the name, number and expiry date. No CVC code. Only during online booking, they need the CVC code. And when I say 'online booking', I meant the HTTPS transactional page, not the one where you fill up an auto-email form.
TShackwire
post Jan 3 2014, 09:48 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(pkh @ Jan 3 2014, 07:50 AM)
If through phone confirmation, they just need the name, number and expiry date. No CVC code. Only during online booking, they need the CVC code. And when I say 'online booking', I meant the HTTPS transactional page, not the one where you fill up an auto-email form.
thanks PKH.
I also doubtful when they asked for CVC code at the back because isn't that's the last option to block unauthorized transaction from abuse. hmm.gif hmm.gif

gonna teach the hotel a lesson in this. thanks again.

amxpayne67
post Jan 3 2014, 11:36 AM

The Coon
718 posts

IMHO never give them your CVC number. That number is for your card security. Only used in protected online transaction (https:/). Because the CVC along with the card number can be used for online purchases so be careful.
lovejerk
post Jan 3 2014, 11:59 AM

58 posts

I had saw some hotel receptionist ask the customer for CVC code who book hotel room through phone, and the guy did really give the code to the receptionist after the receptionist explain where is the CVC code located. Obviously, that customer is a beginner in using credit card. Dont know if the hotel will charge extra money. biggrin.gif I worry the receptionist will secretly save the CVC code and use it later.
TShackwire
post Jan 3 2014, 12:48 PM

4,256 posts

I think big hotels doing the same thing as well. I wonder y corporate management don't really take this matter more seriously.
cfa28
post Jan 3 2014, 02:19 PM

4,830 posts

NEVER EVER give the CVC Code. Someone cal later use your CC with the CVC Code for online transactions
hwt
post Jan 3 2014, 03:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 09:48 AM)
thanks PKH.
I also doubtful when they asked for CVC code at the back because isn't that's the last option to block unauthorized transaction from abuse. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Actually CVC code offers little protection to cardholders. When you use the card at a physical store, it can easily be recorded.

Protection comes from something only the cardholder knows or possesses, which is submitted to the issuing bank directly. This is 3D-secure / Vbv / ...

This post has been edited by hwt: Jan 3 2014, 04:01 PM
plim_123
post Jan 3 2014, 04:02 PM

86 posts

Pass your credit card to restaurant waiter/waitress.... your 3 digit code gone anyway.
matmoto5125
post Jan 3 2014, 04:05 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(hwt @ Jan 3 2014, 03:58 PM)
Actually CVC code offers little protection to cardholders.  When you use the card at a physical store, it can easily be recorded.

Protection comes from something only the cardholder knows or possesses, which is submitted to the issuing bank directly. This is 3D-secure / Vbv / ...
QUOTE(plim_123 @ Jan 3 2014, 04:02 PM)
Pass your credit card to restaurant waiter/waitress.... your 3 digit code gone anyway.
This and this. It's a security measure, but not that secured.
unsoul
post Jan 3 2014, 04:20 PM

187 posts

i was a hotelier.. and still in same service line but no more hotel now in car rental

yes we do need the cvc # just to do a preauth and security purpose

why is it well its kinda simple we give you our room/Car rental so we just need to secure it.

imagine we give u a room/car in exchange of trust only need a security of credit card

what do we really concern is most of customer may use the hotel room as a party room,mini bar ,carpet stain,furniture and etc for car rental wise we give you a whole piece of car where you can just ran away and change parts,speeding ticket, anythingh that u may imagine.

if u are a cc holder you know right you can report a dispute and there is no issue to have a dispute

if you still feel unsecure you may have the banks to add passwrd for your card.

i hope that can clear things off

SUSPhilHellmuth
post Jan 3 2014, 04:21 PM

699 posts

i did book hotels at 5 stars hotel as well and they do ask and they insist it is required for the transaction

in the end, i give in anyway considering its a reputable 5 star hotel in KL

isn't it the same when u hand in ur cc to the waitress at the restaurant? they can easily record ur CVC as well

CC right now is still not safe
1) hold tight to it - as long as its with u its safe
2) if ppl have ur details such as card no. expiry. cvc, hold on to ur phone because it will require secure id code which will be send to ur phone

guess its a very weak security
unsoul
post Jan 3 2014, 04:27 PM

187 posts

Disputing a Charge on Your Credit Card Statement

If your credit card statement contains incorrect charges or charges for products and services you did not receive or did not participate in, you can dispute those charges. A key benefit of using credit cards is that credit card companies may be able to dispute a transaction on your behalf.

Common credit card disputes include:
Being charged twice for one purchase
Being charged for an item you didn’t purchase
Failing to receive a refund
Receiving damaged merchandise
Failing to receive ordered products

In these cases, you can work with your credit card company to eliminate those charges from your statement.

Both Visa and MasterCard offer Zero Liability policies: you will not be liable if your card or card number is used without your authorization, as long as you comply with the Cardholder Agreement.*

1. Resolve disputed charge with merchant

The most efficient route to getting these charges off of your credit card statement is to work with the merchant. By speaking with either a sales clerk or store manager, and providing receipts and other documentation, you may be able to correct the mistake and get them to issue a refund immediately.

2. Contact credit card company

If the merchant is not cooperative, you should turn to your credit card company. You need to dispute a charge shortly after it appears on your statement. If you dispute a charge after you paid the credit card bill, it may be too late to reverse the charge.

3. Document credit dispute

While your credit card company will collect essential information over the phone, you should also document your credit dispute in writing so there are no questions about it later. Draft a letter, detailing the erroneous charges, giving proof of what the accurate charge should have been, and outlining the steps you’ve taken to resolve the issue. Send a copy of the letter to the merchant as well as your credit card company.

If your credit card company also requests that you fill out a form regarding the credit dispute, you can attach your letter to that. If you don’t receive a form to fill out, ensure the letter to your credit card company includes your account number, the credit card statement date, and a detailed explanation of why you do not wish to pay the charge in question.

4. Be patient

It will take your credit card company several weeks to investigate the charges. If you are asked for more supporting documentation or further explanation, you must respond promptly to keep the process moving.

5. Pay your bill

Make sure that you still pay your full bill, or you will still accrue interest. If the dispute is successful, you will then be refunded your money.

TShackwire
post Jan 3 2014, 04:54 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(unsoul @ Jan 3 2014, 04:27 PM)
Disputing a Charge on Your Credit Card Statement

If your credit card statement contains incorrect charges or charges for products and services you did not receive or did not participate in, you can dispute those charges. A key benefit of using credit cards is that credit card companies may be able to dispute a transaction on your behalf.

Common credit card disputes include:
Being charged twice for one purchase
Being charged for an item you didn’t purchase
Failing to receive a refund
Receiving damaged merchandise
Failing to receive ordered products

In these cases, you can work with your credit card company to eliminate those charges from your statement.

Both Visa and MasterCard offer Zero Liability policies: you will not be liable if your card or card number is used without your authorization, as long as you comply with the Cardholder Agreement.*

1. Resolve disputed charge with merchant

The most efficient route to getting these charges off of your credit card statement is to work with the merchant. By speaking with either a sales clerk or store manager, and providing receipts and other documentation, you may be able to correct the mistake and get them to issue a refund immediately.

2. Contact credit card company

If the merchant is not cooperative, you should turn to your credit card company. You need to dispute a charge shortly after it appears on your statement. If you dispute a charge after you paid the credit card bill, it may be too late to reverse the charge.

3. Document credit dispute

While your credit card company will collect essential information over the phone, you should also document your credit dispute in writing so there are no questions about it later. Draft a letter, detailing the erroneous charges, giving proof of what the accurate charge should have been, and outlining the steps you’ve taken to resolve the issue. Send a copy of the letter to the merchant as well as your credit card company.

If your credit card company also requests that you fill out a form regarding the credit dispute, you can attach your letter to that. If you don’t receive a form to fill out, ensure the letter to your credit card company includes your account number, the credit card statement date, and a detailed explanation of why you do not wish to pay the charge in question.

4. Be patient

It will take your credit card company several weeks to investigate the charges. If you are asked for more supporting documentation or further explanation, you must respond promptly to keep the process moving.

5. Pay your bill

Make sure that you still pay your full bill, or you will still accrue interest. If the dispute is successful, you will then be refunded your money.
One time i make a wrong purchase and called the bank to reverse and they told me its too late. I assume if some one use our card illegally , will the bank reverse the transaction immediately?
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 3 2014, 04:58 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 07:47 AM)
I just wanna ask , the hotel policy to book a room requires the full credit card infos including CVC code behind. Is this normal procedures ? How did you guys deal with this ?
thanks.
QUOTE(pkh @ Jan 3 2014, 07:50 AM)
QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 09:48 AM)
thanks PKH.
I also doubtful when they asked for CVC code at the back because isn't that's the last option to block unauthorized transaction from abuse. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

CVC Code are required for them to do a Pre-Authorization.

Without the CVC they are unable to "lock" the amount from ur card, meaning they will not book the room for u.

Credit Cards are never safe. If you are so afraid, DONT USE CARD BUT USE CASH.
And keep the cash in your house, not bank.
unsoul
post Jan 3 2014, 05:10 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 05:54 PM)
One time i make a wrong purchase and called the bank to reverse and they told me its too late. I assume if some one use our card illegally , will the bank reverse the transaction immediately?
wrong purchase wise is your own mistake.. if the ur purchse can be accept back or can be undone so it can be done.if someone use ur cc without ur knowledge you must file a report like stolen or fraud. but you must give them supporting doc they do required

how simple.. buy online stuff stuff that have an address so can dispute cause is not ur address and must call the vendor who charge ur card.

about online item thing like virtual item you may called the vendor and get the full detail of buyer and report a fraud

additional info.. for most of visa and master we can like preauth it without 3 digit but certain card cant proceed without 3 digit.amex wise we MUSt have the 4 digit to do preauth

if foreigner card many² type....

This post has been edited by unsoul: Jan 3 2014, 05:13 PM
TShackwire
post Jan 3 2014, 10:56 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 3 2014, 04:58 PM)
CVC Code are required for them to do a Pre-Authorization.

Without the CVC they are unable to "lock" the amount from ur card, meaning they will not book the room for u.
Credit Cards are never safe. If you are so afraid, DONT USE CARD BUT USE CASH.
And keep the cash in your house, not bank.
I think you found the wrong place to rant, this is serious kopitiam. U can get out if u dont like my post. Your tone is no different than mine isnt it. Even cash is not safe, so dont use cash? If u have nothing positive to contribute, go to kopitiam for your cuppa.

And by the way, not all hotels request for cvc , in case u never book with some hotels or even motels b4. I have booked b4 without providing the cvc.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Jan 3 2014, 11:06 PM
SUSdestiny6
post Jan 3 2014, 11:07 PM

817 posts

nowadays i'll say almost 99% online transaction requires 3D secure , so should be quite safe gua? unsure.gif
then again when u give your CC to cashier to make physical transaction CVV also gone with full card number printed with expiry date on the slip for merchant copy as mention before... laugh.gif
#aten
post Jan 4 2014, 02:16 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 10:56 PM)
I think you found the wrong place to rant, this is serious kopitiam. U can get out if u dont like my post. Your tone is no different than mine isnt it. Even cash is not safe, so dont use cash? If u have nothing positive to contribute, go to kopitiam for your cuppa.

And by the way, not all hotels request for cvc , in case u never book with some hotels or even motels b4. I have booked b4 without providing the cvc.
yes you are right that not every hotels will ask for your 3/4 digit security code

i use AMEX for hotel booking overseas before, they just require the card number and expiry date.

but then it was channeled via company booking, maybe for personal booking they will ask for it I doubt.

and yes if you feel insecure about giving out the security code using online transaction/phone or physical merchant you should check your card transaction regularly
idoblu
post Jan 4 2014, 09:41 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 3 2014, 07:47 AM)
thanks.
CVC? You mean CVV
I won't give out my CVV over email. You don't know who might be reading it.
And it's totally nonsense that it is needed to do pre-auth. It only means they don't have a merchant terminal.

Does your card offers any protection for fraudulent charges?

Think about this - if I can call my insurance company or even astro over the phone, give them my card number and they can charge it. They don't ask for CVV number....now why they can still make the charge?

but having said that, it could be "normal" practice to insist on giving out the CVV code, although I havent come across that yet.

call and ask your bank

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 4 2014, 09:56 AM

0.0212sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:39 AM