Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

zstan
post Jun 22 2015, 01:16 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 22 2015, 12:06 PM)
i read news confirmed got 1 case. but not that serious hence not big the news
you mean the 2014 case? laugh.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ed-in-malaysia/
zstan
post Jun 23 2015, 10:59 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Jimsee @ Jun 23 2015, 10:39 AM)
i also request Air Asia to change destination, but they don't allowed.  vmad.gif 
So disappointed with their policy despite this circumstances.
both my flights got cancelled and rescheduled so i am eligible for full refund laugh.gif but i still wanna go sad.gif
zstan
post Jun 23 2015, 11:26 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Jimsee @ Jun 23 2015, 11:07 AM)
They did ? How you do manage it ?

I use live chat and told them , but they ask me to fill in E-form . doh.gif
lol the situation is not as bad as it seems la sweat.gif

i didn't do anything.. they just send me email say my flight cancelled and moved to another date and i am eligible for full refund.
zstan
post Jun 25 2015, 10:49 AM

15,856 posts

sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif ohmy.gif

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/FU/FU_...jsp?cid=2011486

Seoul city has announced that as of June 27, 2015, the base fares for subway and bus will increase by 200 won and 150 won respectively.

Accordingly, the subway base fare of 1,050 won will jump to 1,250 won. The Blue and Green bus fares are to increase from 1,050 won to 1,200 won. The late night and red buses that currently charge 1,850 won will hike up to 2,150 won (300 won increase) and 2,300 won (450 won increase), respectively. Fare for the village buses (maeul bus; 마을버스) is to go up from 750 won to 900 won.

In addition, Gyeonggi-do and Incheon are also in line with Seoul regarding the increase of subway and bus fare. The overall Metropolitan transit rates are expected to increase on June 27, 2015.
zstan
post Jun 30 2015, 02:01 PM

15,856 posts

cancelled my trip and opted for a full refund cry.gif see you next time seoul
zstan
post Jul 1 2015, 12:19 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 1 2015, 11:54 AM)
thn go where?..thailand? laugh.gif
stay at home. save money grumble.gif
zstan
post Jul 7 2015, 11:14 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 7 2015, 11:10 AM)
no use before EG sim card before.. but zstan previously mentioned he plan to purchase ma.. hehe. u can ask his opinion. i alwiz use pocket wifi  biggrin.gif
i already not going liao sad.gif

but from what i've read the eg sim card seems like the only choice.. unless u got korean friends that can help you activate a korean sim card (in korean directions)..
zstan
post Jul 13 2015, 08:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(pjsplayez @ Jul 13 2015, 06:20 PM)
hello all....
Im just have 1 question....my planned trip to Seoul is on this august.
with the MERS condition nowday is it safe to continue my plan to Seoul this august.
give me ur guys opinion please....really in dilemma.
just go. don't be like me. sad.gif it's dying down already
zstan
post Jul 30 2015, 11:46 AM

15,856 posts

Managed to get back my full refund biggrin.gif oh well next time seoul
zstan
post Sep 1 2015, 06:42 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Aug 31 2015, 08:50 PM)
Anyone can advise where to go/do in Dongdaemun? On web everyone says is a shopping place but never really recommend where is cheap and nice.
can go try dongdaemun night market to try their local street food and snacks..
zstan
post Sep 12 2015, 09:33 PM

15,856 posts

bought another ticket for Seoul in July 2016 biggrin.gif die die must go after i cancelled my trip two months back sad.gif hopefully can take leave that time. sigh.
zstan
post Sep 14 2015, 08:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 14 2015, 10:31 AM)
haha.. not so bad as you think ler..

too many nice food i like in Seoul drool.gif  but i'm afraid not everyone have the same taste bud as me. bbq you can choose what type of meat.. most of their bbq place is quite nice. but i still prefer black pork bbq in jeju  tongue.gif  perhaps you can try their bbq makjang (pork intenstine) at hongdae. sujebi at samcheongdong or insadong. both place also nice just that insadong one got sell dongdongju, yoogane, samgyetang at gyeongbokgung (for me this place quite touristy but first timer usually will wanna try it), jjimdak and too many to be listed out haha
u bought aa promo?  tongue.gif  which month now? u take early leave definitely can
july also. gonna join a conference hehehe. hard to say leh.. that time hari raya.. scared leave not approved sad.gif
zstan
post Sep 15 2015, 09:55 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 15 2015, 01:05 AM)
u join conference not for working purpose? than hard to say... unless your company have less muslim staffs lor.. hehe
i work in gov hospital. what do you think? sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif cry.gif
zstan
post Sep 27 2015, 10:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Sep 27 2015, 12:10 PM)
Is it OK to travel to Seoul on November 23 that week?
Looks like forecast will be cold! I dont mind cold, but I dunno if all the shops will be closed and there would be a waste?
Please advise.
winter sure cold one la sweat.gif sweat.gif
zstan
post Sep 28 2015, 10:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Sep 28 2015, 09:51 AM)
Thanks for the reply! Well, I have not planned any activities yet. Only bought flight tickets heading to Seoul for 4 nights stay. Planning to keep it as a medium to low budget holiday (I guess RM400 per day for 2pax is not too bad right?).
Have not planned out hotel/hostel also but looking and open for suggestions (prefer in-suit toilet/showet/bath).
I am guessing me and my wife wont be too adventurous because she's carrying an "extra baggage"  tongue.gif, we're just gonna chill and relax and eat.
Hope anyone with such experiences could share while I go through all the lovely treads! Thanks!
WOW, that's a very promising answer, exactly like what I mentioned... Thanks...
That's Lovely! I'm going to Seoul and I have not seen snow before, I really do not mind to experience it!
Did you all prepare for the sub-zero wears before going? Any "Long John" needed?
BTW Nice pictures!
because your question implying that the whole south korea don't need to work or open shops because it's winter. sweat.gif
zstan
post Nov 28 2015, 12:36 AM

15,856 posts

Apparently it's already snowing in Seoul
zstan
post Feb 19 2016, 09:21 AM

15,856 posts

Is it possible to cover:

Nami island
Suwon folk village
Co ex mall
Sinchon area (ewha and hongik uni)
Lotte mall
Myeongdong

If I only have about two full days, one half day and one half evening? Or I can actually cover more places haha
zstan
post Feb 20 2016, 12:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Feb 19 2016, 03:10 PM)
It depends on how much time you will be satisfied with seeing all of those. Nami mayb half a day (provided you go early and see and cabut) and then Suwon also about the same mayb a bit more. Then the malls/shopping area... Depends on you.. haha it may not be enough...  sweat.gif
Is it worth it to go Nami Island during summer? or should i skip this.

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 19 2016, 09:22 PM)
Very hard la i would say. Travelling to Nami island itself going to take some time already..Plus the time u going to spend there after going that far, and journey back to city.

And myeong dong itself can take u like 2-3 full days to FULLY explore..
wah. i thought myeongdong mostly just shops hmm.gif
zstan
post Feb 22 2016, 01:34 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Feb 22 2016, 10:18 AM)
Possible, one day for Nami Island & one day Suwon Folk Village (plus Myeongdong/Sinchon in the evening)

One half day for Coex Mall (are you going for the aquarium? because there aren't much things to do there as I rmb, only shopping and eat)

One evening Myeongdong/Sinchon area

Both Myeongdong/Sinchon area better go in the evening because it will be more happening  biggrin.gif 

(P.s. I'm assuming the Lotte Mall is the Lotte Mall in Myeongdong)
Yeah I think it's doable too Hahaha. It's summer when I'm going so going to visit Myeongdong during the day would be quite hot I suppose.

Think I will skip Co ex mall if that's the case. Shall visit the ewha and hongik universities instead.
zstan
post Feb 22 2016, 01:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 22 2016, 10:49 AM)
er.. different people different feeling leh.. actually every season got their own view.. beside shops at myeondong, there is also the church, mall, street foods, etc.. 1 evening can't fully explore all unless you are not those that keens on shopping lah..  tongue.gif
Goto mall
Ooooo what church? Anything special about it? Hahaha yes I'm not keen on shopping. Just go there wash eyes

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1425sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:22 AM