Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

zstan
post Apr 30 2015, 10:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 30 2015, 10:50 AM)
it depends on your budget.. if for me, i won't buy cz my budget usually will set to max RM800 for flight itself. more than that usually will wait for other round promo unless it's a must to go than is different story.. haha

200k won roughly around RM670+-... per pax or what? you are not first time go mah.. some sight seeing can skip  tongue.gif if you wanna go those cafe's or try good food of cause will need to spend alot. else will be cheaper
yealo i also think > Rm800 a bit too high sad.gif

haha i converted yesterday about RM700++ liao. yeah per pax. lol i plan to revisit some of the sights that i went before. last time really too rushed liao grumble.gif

seoul got good food meh? unsure.gif anything to intro? thinking if i eat instant noodles for one meal everyday i should be able to survive laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 30 2015, 02:27 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 30 2015, 12:01 PM)
haha.. everyday the rate is different.. you wanna revisit what attractions?

doh.gif  Seoul got a lot nice food la.. (at least for me i think so hahaha) and also nice cafe's  wub.gif (definitely not cheap ya)

if you wanna save. than u choose accommodation that provide you free breakfast lah.. some guesthouse got provide instant cup noodle (provide unlimited  whistling.gif)

too many places to be name and it depends on what food you like also.. below is some of the food i luv n miss  wub.gif

hope it keeps on dropping. then can calculate whether is it more worth to change to USD first or not haha

hmm most of the tourist places i guess. myeongdong, dongdaemun, itaewon, insadong.. my last trip there i wasn't very interested so just breezed through grumble.gif and visit new places of course.

haha maybe will try a bingsu cafe i guess. those coffee coffee stuff not my thing. yeah i saw some hostels got give free waffles/bread with jam and butter everyday drool.gif

ooo 3rd pictures onwards are what food? i just wanna try authentic korean food haha.
zstan
post Apr 30 2015, 09:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 30 2015, 04:16 PM)
now not worth to change to USD so our RM too bad..  shakehead.gif
wah.. from the way u mention, it seems like u wanna revisit all leh haha. this round u plan for how many days? cafe's doesn't means must drink coffee. got others drinks and desserts  drool.gif

all is authentic korean food la (minus those western one tongue.gif) if you wanna try the traditional food (many dishes) is not cheap oh.. but it's a must try la..

food in the pictures is Kongbul, Dong dong chu, Spicy Sujebi, Bongchu Jjimdak
yesss hahaha. but it will be summer dunno how regularly it will rain. i dunno leh. how much can RM2000 do? lol. maybe can increase to RM2500 and do 2 weeks? hmm.gif not sure if its overkill if i just focus on seoul.

how expensive oh? more than rm30 per dish? unsure.gif unsure.gif

thanks for the names haha
zstan
post May 1 2015, 12:10 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 30 2015, 11:49 PM)
summer usually will rain lo and when rain mostly whole day and will continuous for few days  sweat.gif 

if you don't want to focus on seoul only, you can go some side trips..

well you estimate roughly rm30+- per bowl (just like average standard kl restaurant price).. some dishes is come with minimum 2 pax price and you can add or top up extra food. if you have 3 persons, just add some side dishes or you told them that you guys are a small eater so only need order 2 pax portion.. usually if they know you are tourists they are ok with it  brows.gif
blink.gif blink.gif

walau die la like that. maybe wear rain coat and cheong only. are side trips expensive? i read about the O and V line thingy not sure if its affordable ahaha

oooo. then i just have to get a friend to share the cost with me hehe. if they are locals then they won't be ok with it? blink.gif
zstan
post May 1 2015, 09:09 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 1 2015, 10:43 AM)
take umbrella la.. wear rain coat feel so troublesome hahaha.. err depends what side trips you wanna go.. such as mt sorak, nami island, north korea border, anyang, gwacheon, etc..

you summer go leh.. if take O & V line trains during spring and autumn scenery much more beautiful  brows.gif just like if i suggest you go try the railbike. you might not feel enjoy or nice cause very hot during summer hahaha

in korea, locals won't share food portions. if 4 people, they will order 4 pax portions.. you will notice if can't finish, they will just leave it like that.. not like malaysian style like to share portion of foods oh  tongue.gif even tourists some waiter (especially ahjumma) also don't care and will show dislike face or ask you leave the restaurant. unless you go along with a westerner  whistling.gif
yealo. all the side trips macam more beautiful in other seasons sad.gif think i should just save money and go next time with future gf laugh.gif just stay in seoul and slowly explore haha

ooo why they so like to waste food one ohmy.gif leave the restaurant some more ah shocking.gif westerner win liao lor grumble.gif
zstan
post May 3 2015, 11:20 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 1 2015, 10:18 PM)
culture different ma.. u see roc ppl also like to order alot of foods but end up can't finish what  tongue.gif

my fren fren's kena ask to leave the restaurant as the ahjumma don't wan to serve them as they wanna order 2 portions and they have 3 or 4 gals (small eater plus they wanna try out since they had lunch already)  sweat.gif

so far i no encounter any issues.. went with westerner friends before (can see very obvious they super treat us so well.. high status style hahaha)

really can see the difference one. if they thought you are roc ppl sure doomed  whistling.gif  outlook and appearance is also very important as well haha. once i went with malaysia friends to a shop to purchase accessories, she doesn't look like local, the cashier told her no plastic bag given. when i purchase (same stuffs) they provide me plastic bag as they thought i'm local or japanese..  whistling.gif
i've also seen prc ppl order a lot and sapu everything rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

ohhh is it a famous restaurant? usually i go those quiet restaurants i get better service haha. aih koreans still suck up to ang mohs eh sad.gif

yeah they really hate china people lolol.have to brush up my korean before i go laugh.gif

QUOTE(kla2552 @ May 3 2015, 04:27 AM)
i go SPAO Myeongdong shop, the cashier ask me (in Mandarin cause she know I'm not local) plastic bag is 100Won.

you mean they charge foreigner for plastic bag. FK CB like that!!! Fucking Seoul
ooo do they charge other people as well? cause in taiwan 711 if you want plastic bag have to pay as well. unless u buy a lot of stuffs.
zstan
post May 6 2015, 01:48 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 5 2015, 02:23 PM)
huh? perhaps they thought you are prc's  tongue.gif  i bought an umbrella before and paper or plastic bag automatically give without charge leh.. perhaps certain days they implement no paper or plastic bag day hence if you need any have to pay (i think guess la.. ehhe).. i didn't mean they charge foreigner for paper or plastic bag but definitely some will have a little bias or unfair to non locals.. i guess this is quite normal for every countries la..  laugh.gif
not famous restaurant ler.. famous restaurant at least ok cause expected sure will have foreigner's lor.. of cause can't generalize it as all restaurants is bad la.. i guess some only. aiya u speak with english la  laugh.gif

i bought stuffs before in those 7e or other minimart eventhough 1 or 2 small stuffs also plastic bag is given.. unless they practice certain days without plastic bag la.. but so far i never encounter purchase stuffs need to pay for plastic or paper bag  hmm.gif
In taiwan it's their go green initiative. not sure about seoul though laugh.gif

anyway, on a side note, does anybody how much it cost for a small tube of toothpaste in seoul? thinking to just go there without buying luggage. so expensive for 20kg alone sad.gif
zstan
post May 6 2015, 03:15 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 6 2015, 02:58 PM)
if you stay in guesthouse, normally they will provide toothpaste.. don't know how much and don't cost that much also lah

errr.. without luggage? not planning to buy any souvenirs or stuffs?  brows.gif
toothpaste very unhygienic to share la. dunno how many toothbrushes brushed on the cover d. i'm referring to those hostels ya laugh.gif

no money la sad.gif budget strictly on food & transportation and maybe one night clubbing at hongdae =X
zstan
post May 14 2015, 05:41 PM

15,856 posts

woots MAS finally got offer

MYR 1,157.90 return. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

zstan
post May 15 2015, 09:41 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ May 14 2015, 06:57 PM)
When o.o
I checked July 2015
zstan
post May 21 2015, 11:02 AM

15,856 posts

ahahaha Air Asia further cut the price for July 2015 by 50%. lucky i still wait and wait and wait.
zstan
post May 21 2015, 05:16 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Batai @ May 21 2015, 06:55 AM)
Hye Guys.. Juz bought ticket to Seoul from AA. It was an impulse buy bcause of the promotion AA got.. lol.. will be travelling March 2016. i'm planning for backpackers only

Wanna ask, what is the best timing to book for hotels room? maybe there is any promotion for hotels room? wanna look for moderate room for 2 person only. 2 or 3 star is ok with me..  rclxm9.gif thanks
march when? if it's during the cherry blossom season then you better book early. quite a peak season that time.
zstan
post May 22 2015, 09:44 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Batai @ May 22 2015, 02:29 AM)
8 of march 2016.. when is the cherry blossom season? already search a few guess house in myeongdong. i can get as low as rm160 per night,, is dat good?
for two person? private room? quite ok considering the location.
zstan
post May 22 2015, 10:53 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 22 2015, 09:53 AM)
not all dates have...july not school holiday so should have
yeah the dates that i plan to go have rclxms.gif
zstan
post May 22 2015, 03:06 PM

15,856 posts

lucky i still got leftover 60k won from my previous trip sweat.gif
zstan
post May 23 2015, 09:50 PM

15,856 posts

Bought the tickets from 9-16 July. RM606 without baggage. Tq air asia for the discount. got extra rm250 to spend now.
zstan
post May 24 2015, 10:48 AM

15,856 posts

Is this the usual sim card people get while visiting the Korea?

http://www.egsimcard.co.kr/eng/main/index.asp
zstan
post May 25 2015, 02:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 25 2015, 12:00 PM)

of cause you need IDL.. just go JPJ apply and they will issue you a small letter. that is IDL  and it can last for 1 yr thumbup.gif  car in Korea equip with GPS. when you wanna hire a car, just mention to them English GPS but sometimes can't detect the destination.. Korean GPS more accurate.. definitely in the beginning you will feel weird driving on the left hand side, but after some times you will get use to it.. no worry..

usually people will opt for rent a car if in a group. if you are only 2 pax and want to have less hassle than go for hire a taxi. if you want freedom and go on your own leisure way, drive yourself. the feeling is different  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif

there are many different types of sim.. usually people get pocket wifi or phone rental instead of sim in Korea

check out my comment in green color
pocket wifi and phone rental over budget la for solo traveller sad.gif the sim card RM100++ also haha.
zstan
post May 25 2015, 04:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 25 2015, 04:00 PM)
the pocket wifi cost 5k won per day leh  doh.gif  even cheaper than using our telco roaming.. if you only travel in Seoul only, opt for metro that cost 2k won per day.. or else get a guesthouse that provide foc pocket wifi for you during your stay  whistling.gif
5k X 8 days = 40k won leh laugh.gif

simcard = 25.5k won

what do you mean by metro that cost 2k won? you mean the subway? haha i staying those super budget hostels where got pocket wifi laugh.gif
zstan
post May 25 2015, 05:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 25 2015, 05:10 PM)
metropolitan area la.. Seoul and capital region but that is promo price until end of may tongue.gif your travel date is june right? so the price is 5,000 won haha..

if you wanna save, even sim card oso no need buy la.. back to guesthouse at night only use..  brows.gif
hmm.gif hmm.gif i doubt i will travel until 5,000 won. will be mostly walking haha.

i scared i get lost le sad.gif then i need to call my korean chingu also got number easier.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:31 PM