Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

eugene9201
post Apr 27 2015, 03:03 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Apr 26 2015, 09:35 PM)
anyone has been to seoul for snowboard/ski? planning to go this coming winter if bonus allowed  biggrin.gif
went last year to Jisan resort. It was fun ^^b

eugene9201
post Apr 28 2015, 11:44 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Apr 27 2015, 09:10 AM)
How much roughly the cost

and did u stay at tge resort?
Last time I went to Jisan (free & easy).
Get the guesthouse owner to book free shuttle bus and get 50% coupon at the customer service counter.

Ski Clothes ₩10,000
Ski Glasses ₩5,000
Ski gear ₩11,000(After discount)
Locker ₩1,000
Food ₩9,000~10,000
Hand glove ₩ 15,000 (only purchase, no rental)

Total: ₩ 56,000
**without lift, lift is for those who already know how to ski by the way, beginner will spend most of the time down the hill learning and take pictures
**Lift is ₩ 46,000 (for whole day)

I didn't stay at the resort (the bus ride is only one hour from Seoul, I don't feel the need to stay at their resort lol)
eugene9201
post May 14 2015, 06:57 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 14 2015, 05:41 PM)
woots MAS finally got offer

MYR 1,157.90 return. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
When o.o

eugene9201
post May 18 2015, 11:42 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ May 15 2015, 09:44 AM)
Hi I would like to ask is it suitable to visit korea in december? will it be snow and nothing to see during that month. plan to go there for honeymoon. Thank for your reply
Depends on what you want to do.
- Snow can't predict, every year also different.
- Winter can go for indoor activities like Lotte World, shopping, cafe hopping, trick eye museum etc.
- Can go outdoor ice skating (1000won/hour drool.gif ), ski, nami island, etc.
- Can experience winter if you never been to winter country before
eugene9201
post Jun 1 2015, 01:19 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Michelle_Y @ Jun 1 2015, 09:10 AM)
Does anybody knows what is the fastest and most convenient way to travel to Gimpo airport from Seoul? My flight to Jeju is at 7am, I want to ensure we have enough time for check in and boarding  icon_question.gif
Take taxi

eugene9201
post Jun 2 2015, 10:57 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Michelle_Y @ Jun 1 2015, 03:38 PM)
Is taxi faster than subway?
depends on where are you staying.
if you want to take train, can refer to their website, got train start from 5:20am
http://english.arex.or.kr/jsp/eng/main.jsp
eugene9201
post Jun 4 2015, 09:38 PM

135 posts

Hi, anyone know any trust-able airport taxi driver? need to go to KLIA2 tomorrow afternoon. Would appreciate if anyone know how much is the fare from Subang Jaya to KLIA2. Thanks!
eugene9201
post Jun 5 2015, 12:19 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 5 2015, 08:22 AM)
Use MyTeksi app lah... and use coupon code FIRST if first time user to get RM15 off
MyTeksi I scare later no teksi around my area want to fetch... I don't have buffer time leh.. finish job at 1-2pm then need to reach airport before 4pm.

To be safe, I booked a taxi from http://www.taxi2klia.com/home.php
Thanks for the suggestion! I will use MyTeksi app when I'm not that in the rush to a place next time. biggrin.gif
eugene9201
post Jul 3 2015, 08:57 PM

135 posts

Anyone used EG simcard before? Going Seoul two weeks later and planning to book one simcard from them online, then I saw many comments saying that they can't use their sim card or internet data. I'm a bit scare leh... Any prepaid card recommendation?
eugene9201
post Jul 7 2015, 11:53 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 7 2015, 11:10 AM)
no use before EG sim card before.. but zstan previously mentioned he plan to purchase ma.. hehe. u can ask his opinion. i alwiz use pocket wifi  biggrin.gif
I also always use pocket wifi but this time going alone, pocket wifi too expensive liao

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 7 2015, 11:14 AM)
i already not going liao sad.gif

but from what i've read the eg sim card seems like the only choice.. unless u got korean friends that can help you activate a korean sim card (in korean directions)..
No choice lo if like that... sad.gif Saw some good reviews too. Hopefully my simcard works fine.

Thanks for the replies smile.gif

This post has been edited by eugene9201: Jul 7 2015, 11:54 AM
eugene9201
post Aug 5 2015, 04:29 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(kahhui_sam @ Jul 26 2015, 11:08 PM)
Hi , I plan to go jisan ski resort on my own but am not so clear on the rental.

Basically I want a simple SKI experience with my gf, is SKI CLOTHING compulsory? What if we're wearing our own winter clothing?
Can i have the breakdown of cost for Gear rental all those?

Thank you for your reply !
Do you understand Chinese? This blog provide a really great guide for free and easy traveler.
If you don't understand Chinese you can use Google translate. The cost breakdown is listed bottom of the blog post.
eugene9201
post Aug 28 2015, 03:56 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Michelle_Y @ Aug 25 2015, 11:39 PM)
How much do you guys spend per day for food during your trip? Trying to come up with budget on food 😊
Depends on how well you want to eat, what you want to eat and where you stay.
One tteokbokki is around 1~3000won
One normal bowl of noodle around 5~8000won
One Bibimbap around 5~12,000won (depends on what ingredient you want, with hot stone or not with hot stone)
One cup of soft drink 2~3000won (but Korean restaurant usually provide free cold water)

eugene9201
post Aug 28 2015, 04:00 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(MsNeeLiA @ Aug 17 2015, 09:58 PM)
Hi! I'm going to Seoul end of Oct and it will be my first solo trip there smile.gif

Is that true we are not allow to use selfie stick in South Korea????

And anyone take up cooking classes in Seoul before??? If yes, can share your experience pls.

Went for free cooking class and make rice cake at the Tteok Museum => http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_....jsp?cid=630938 It was quite fun and interesting (they will show you the Tteok history too) but I won't go Korea just to cooking class, can go if you have extra time and money.

eugene9201
post Sep 1 2015, 12:27 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(sherz88 @ Aug 30 2015, 01:18 PM)
1000 won edi 3.6 now.. gonna cut shopping budget and pumped more food stuff. anyway how is the portion of food there?
Kimbap or meals in convenient store are cheaper options if you don't mind
Their food portions are generally big but not until the extent of one portion enough for two person la
eugene9201
post Sep 28 2015, 12:42 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Sep 18 2015, 04:30 PM)
which sim card you would suggest?
possible to buy when in airport? I reach korea like 5am. not sure if the shop is open leh...
I will recommend EG sim card if you are traveling alone AND more than one week.
Their package works like this:-

20,000 won to buy the sim card and you will get 20,000won credit in it.
(extra 5,500won for hybrid sim or 9,900won need for nano sim).

You can use the credit available to buy data.
5,000won for 100MB
10,000won for 500MB
15,000won for 1GB

*If you select 500MB or 1GB they will give you olleh wifi, which you can use in the subway and some places with their hotspot.

The good thing is that you pay less if you stay more than one week (wifi device 5,000won/day, do the maths), you don't need to carry and charge the wifi device and you can call out (if you need) but you have to plan on how you use your data. I didn't even finish 500MB for my two weeks trip because wifi is everywhere, I only use my data for Twitter/Facebook, Kakao/Line messaging and Naver map.

P.s. You can get the sim card at many places like Seoul Station if you can't get it at the airport. Btw I think you can't get wifi device that early too, right?

This post has been edited by eugene9201: Sep 28 2015, 12:43 PM
eugene9201
post Oct 15 2015, 01:11 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(hans86 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:41 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm planning for backpackers to South Korea at least 3 or 4 days at 1 Dec 15. First time going there and budget is quite limited. Around 2.5K including ticket.

Anyone can suggest me:

1) Place to stay
2) 1 Dec is winter season. Maybe going out for ice skiing.  rclxm9.gif . Later I'll search Agoda for nearest hotel.
3) Eat (halal).
4) Interesting places.
If you guys know any package on that date please let me know too.
Thanks a lot  notworthy.gif
1) There are many cheap guesthouse for backpackers (starting from 18,000won), choose a place to stay depends on your itinerary. Myeongdong for first timer since it's middle of Seoul but I like Hongdae, it's more lively and convenient to me for some reasons (airport railway, restaurants, place to hang out, etc.)

2) I think it might to much of hassle to stay at a ski resort just for ski (the bag packing and settle in, etc.). There are free shuttle buses provided for some resorts, for example Jisan Resort and you can do everything (ski, build snowman, take picture, etc.) you want on that day come back to Seoul for dinner.

3) Unfortunately, it's hard to find halal food in Korea, but you can always ask the restaurant to remove any kind of meat for you. (I know there is one halal burger shop near Kyeonghee University, and there should be some halal restaurants at Itaewon, maybe you can check it out).

4) Depends on what you are interested in. Jamie has a long list of interesting place on her blog, maybe you can check it out too. http://www.jamieliew.com/korea/
eugene9201
post Nov 20 2015, 01:15 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(genolim @ Nov 20 2015, 10:24 AM)
Any advice how much i need to spend for a week food (Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner) in Seoul?
Can try to gauge yourself, depends on what kind of food you want to eat

Average meal around 6,000~8,000won
Kimbap around 1,500~3,000
High class restaurant/non Korean food restaurant at least 8,000won and above per person
If guesthouse got provide breakfast can save some won biggrin.gif

Everything in won because our currency is unsure.gif now
eugene9201
post Dec 13 2015, 11:30 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 13 2015, 09:59 AM)
Anyone use their Maybank credit cards in Seoul lately? Maybank told me I may need a pin to use my card. Is that true?
Heard that at the very first time I activated my card ar counter. Withdraw money at ATM yes you need but I didn't encounter any shop/resturant that need me to use pin (in fact, in Korea people don't really sign for credit card, sometimes the shop owner will help you to draw a line on the "signing machine" as your signature).
eugene9201
post Dec 13 2015, 12:40 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 13 2015, 11:59 AM)
Ok so I'm good to go
I don't have chip and pin yet
Thanks for the info 👍🏻
If you have called to their customer service to activate the card for oversea spending, it should be fine. What is chip tho?
eugene9201
post Dec 15 2015, 09:51 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Dec 14 2015, 11:09 PM)
anyone can recommend me a place to stay? budget cap at 300/night (room for 2 pax with attached bathroom).
convenient and close to myeong dong good? i don't mind stay at other places which is close to myeongdong or accessible by subway.
Hongdae is 18mins subway ride away from Myeongdong.

You can try Jason apartment at Hongdae. His apartment is literally just beside the subway exit.
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/3753729#host-profile

The apartment is really comfy and comes with kitchen and toilet and wifi egg. He has a few apartments in the building and all of them have really good reviews. You can check on it.

This post has been edited by eugene9201: Dec 15 2015, 10:11 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0592sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:38 AM