the exchange rate these two weeks... now is RM 3.26 already...
I'm flying on 22nd Dec, any money changer recommendation? I staying at Subang Jaya.
Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings
Dec 18 2014, 05:41 PM
135 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
the exchange rate these two weeks... now is RM 3.26 already...
I'm flying on 22nd Dec, any money changer recommendation? I staying at Subang Jaya. |
Jan 17 2015, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 12 2015, 08:52 PM) 2 more weeks for my turn to korea. its been 10 years+ since i was there so i'm kinda forgotten how many layers of clothes did i wear. i only wear a tshirt + jacket back then when i was in melbourne in winter and it's still alright. probably i need to get a thicker clothes for this korea trip? Just came back from Korea last week. I think for upper part heat tech + long sleeve + down jacket, while lower part heat tech + long pants. That's all. Actually, what is really important is hat, scarf and hand glove because your head and hand are the parts really contact with the cold air outside. Especially your ears, so better to get a hat that can cover your ears. And scarf that can cover your nose when the air gets too cold for your nose. As for glove better to get touch screen glove so that you can use your phone outside without taking the glove out. You can get that at 2000~5000won in Korea (try to look at subway station. It's cheaper there). You can buy pocket hot pack at convenience store if it really gets too cold and you don't to wrap yourself up with glove, scarf and stuff. You can get three pocket hot pack with 1000won. Don't worry too much if you are not planning to stay outdoor too long. Heaters are available indoor so if you gets too cold just walk in any building (or bus) for a while to warm yourself up. Lastly Korea is not /that/ cold. What makes Korea hard to survive during winter is the wind, so if you are lucky enough to be there on the days that are not windy, winter in Korea is really enjoyable. This post has been edited by eugene9201: Jan 17 2015, 10:00 PM |
Jan 22 2015, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 20 2015, 02:23 PM) Any street food is nice. It's the best to eat hot Hoddeok & tteobokki in cold winter. Some restaurants I went which I would recommend: Myeongdong Gyoja Stone Uncle Cheese Pizza (돌쇠아저씨) Standing eat bbq (站着吃牛肉) Uchino Curry Rice Dalk-eul-ro-ga-nen-ma-eul spicy bbq chicken (닭으로 가는 마을) Myeong-run handmade noodle (명륜손칼국수) Eat, rest and pay (먹쉬돈나) You can find all of them by Googling P.s. Some are not halal, do check before you go. This post has been edited by eugene9201: Jan 22 2015, 05:24 PM |
Jan 24 2015, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 23 2015, 10:12 AM) If you planning to visit Incheon, there is one quite famous at Sinpo International Market (신포국제시장)If you are not planning to go there, Kyochon is nice. They have a few branches, you can check on their website (or just order delivery). Remember to order the spicy sauce fried chicken too because that is really nice! |
Jan 28 2015, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(smon80 @ Jan 26 2015, 03:07 PM) Just visit back from Korea for my last minute plan trip and Jeju. Same thing in Seoul, the sun starting to set around 5~6pm. The is sky is dark black at 6-7pm. That's why can't arrange much walk around outside for winter trip. For Jeju, do plan well your iternary. Because the day is short, day become dark around 6pm. Nite time nothing much to do. Stay at Jeju Si, walk around the Bai Jien street. A lot China ppl. For me, I like to move around and eat around like ppl there. So I had cut short visit those musuem. Go see their mart, hawker food and market. Food does not come cheap. No choice, our currency weak. Nothing is cheap in Korea except skin care and cosmetics haha |
Feb 2 2015, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(smon80 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:03 PM) Yalor. Even the rate at RM3 to 1000 won also consider expensive. Try to learn Korean. It's easy. Just need to sit down and learn hangul for one day and you can read everything in Korean Overall a good trip. Nami island was showing, very nice view. Compare Japan, at least we can understand abit the wording, but Korean is definately zero for me. |
Feb 2 2015, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 2 2015, 08:50 PM) Just back from Korea with rashes all over me. The weather is too dry that even my moisturizer can't help much. same thing here, I immediately went to buy lotion after the rashes came out on the 2nd day. Can't use hot water for bath because moisture will all gone and need to put on lotion every morning and night... Korean doesn't seem to have problem with the dryness tho |
Mar 6 2015, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(guoshyang @ Jan 3 2014, 01:47 PM) Guys.. what is the best route to go from Myeong dong to Vivaldi Park. Im staying in Namsan Guesthouse. Travelling for 11 days this month there. Why not go Jisan? They provide free shuttle bus and 50% discount voucher if you go by their bus. (You can take the free bus at Sinchon) http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_....jsp?cid=266904 |
Mar 6 2015, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(xiongzz15 @ Mar 5 2015, 11:35 PM) Hi guys! will be travelling to Korea for a few days next week for a business trip. First time going to a cold country actually ,so need some advice on the clothing with the current temperature there =s Get a good winter jacket and beanie/scarf. Heattech from Uniqlo is pretty good on keeping you warm too. |
Mar 12 2015, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(kahhui_sam @ Mar 12 2015, 12:27 AM) - Can I know how much transportation will cost per day? (3 or 4 places, not that far, mainly subway) - Subway: Using Single Journey Transportation Card is 1,150 won per way (for first 10km) - Subway exit to my hotel is exit 7 of dongdaemun history & cultural subway station. (3mins walk as stated on booking.com). Arex or airport limousine more convenient/suitable? Is there any airport shuttle bus station around this particular subway station? - I plan to join seoul city SKI tour package 2 for 65000 KRW. Incl. ski gear,rental all those but excl. ski clothing. Anyway, is ski clothing necessary when we have our own water proof winter clothing? Is the tour package worth it? Or any recommendation from you guys? Thanks alot ! I would suggest to buy a T money (2500~3000won) like T&Go in Malaysia. Just touch & go and you can save 100won for everytime you use it (the fare for T money is 1050won for first 10km) - With luggage better sit airport limousine because subway need to change line and believe you don't want to carry your luggage everywhere. Print this coupon and get 1000won discount for airport limousine http://2.bp.blogspot.com/--ak2m6Mpw3Y/UJ0k...w/s1600/map.JPG - Last time I went to Jisan (free & easy). Get the guesthouse owner to book free shuttle bus and get 50% coupon at the customer service counter. Ski Clothes ₩10,000 Ski Glasses ₩5,000 Ski gear ₩11,000(After discount) Loker ₩1,000 Food ₩9,000~10,000 Hand glove ₩ 15,000 (only purchase, no rental) Total: ₩ 56,000 **without lift, lift is for those who already know how to ski by the way, beginner will spend most of the time down the hill learning and take pictures **Lift is around ₩ 68,000 (for whole day) Go yourself if you want to save money and follow tour if you want to save the hassle I think better rent a ski cloth since you are going, for picture taking and ski cloth really keep you warm (and somehow protect you from injury more than the normal winter cloth as it is design for ski) This post has been edited by eugene9201: Mar 13 2015, 09:40 AM |
Mar 14 2015, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(kahhui_sam @ Mar 13 2015, 10:26 PM) Thanks eugene ! anyway, i plan to SKI on 30 DEC and I believe that it will be crowded & difficult to buy tickets/rent ski gear. That's why I consider taking SKI tour instead of going alone. Any suggestion on this? Will it be difficult to purchase ticket and rent ski gear when it's really crowded? I went on 30 Dec as well. There were a lot people but Korean are efficient so no worries. And their staff can speak simple English so it's pretty ok. |
Mar 14 2015, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(kahhui_sam @ Mar 14 2015, 06:40 PM) Great to see this ! thanks a lot eugene Check with your guesthouse. Most guesthouse owners don't mind to make booking or even food delivery. You just need to ask them to book the free shuttle bus to Jisan Ski Resort, they should know what to do. There is one customer service center on the left side after you go up through the escalator from the main entrance. Just say 50% discount voucher and the number of people, they will give it to you. (Those vouchers are actually for the people who take free shuttle bus to Jisan)Anyway, can you elaborate more on this ? ""Last time I went to Jisan (free & easy). Get the guesthouse owner to book free shuttle bus and get 50% coupon at the customer service counter. "" Does all guesthouse provide this service? What do you mean by 50% coupon at customer service counter? |
Mar 16 2015, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Mar 15 2015, 09:33 PM) Dear all.. would like to ask if 31Dec/1Jan got snow already? my last trip (which is abt 4-5years ago) end of Nov still not yet snow. Weather has been acting abnormally these few years.. if it does snow, will it snow heavily? thanks a lot.. The snow started in November last year. It might not be snowing during you trip tho. It's just like raining in Malaysia, it comes anytime and it could heavy. It depends on which part of Korea you are going too. Better to check the weather forecast before you go |
Mar 16 2015, 08:24 AM
Mar 27 2015, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(Jimsee @ Mar 24 2015, 05:34 PM) Hey guys, Seoul can stay at W-house at Sinchon. You will have a whole room (soho style) with kitchen for yourself. Literally everything provided + free wifi egg & T money. This is my first time trip to Seoul. Our trip is on 8th to 17th Sept 2015. Our return flight is from Busan. Need some suggestion and recommendation on how we manage our trip once we landed on Seoul. Thanks!!! |
Apr 2 2015, 12:20 PM
Apr 19 2015, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Apr 19 2015, 09:11 PM) Just wanna check with sifus, during dec, winter time, is it ok for me to stay in myeongdong area? Non winter got alot street food n market. How bout winter time ah? Depends on your guesthouse, just make sure they have ondol (heated floor) to keep you warm indoor. During winter also got a lot of street food and market (at night only), even got special winter snack/street food~ |
Apr 19 2015, 10:00 PM
Apr 20 2015, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Apr 19 2015, 10:14 PM) Ya all in 1.4ish. MAS worst 2.8k lol. Double. Korean air 3k lol. Thought of going during eve to experience the xmas environment there. But 1.5k per tix is kinda on the high side. Dilemma lol... Should i wait for promo or should i get it now at 1.4k? Afraid if promo nv drop price, instead price will go up play around with the date then you can get cheaper price. Go on Christmas eve or peak season sure more expensive la |
Apr 27 2015, 03:01 AM
| Change to: | 0.0262sec