Car in stop by pressing brake while on gear "D"
nova_freak
Dec 29 2013, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 29 2013, 08:05 PM) Ferman lao is the author write teh article in the earliest link provided in this topic. myb page1 CVTF fluid since delivery. SC for all warranty period and another 1-2 years for that, the rest outside... No GB juddering at standstill, D or N watsoever, touchwood When service outside, wat CVTF u use? I wan service outside too, but not sure wat brand of CVTF to use.. Honda's gearbox too..
kadajawi
Dec 29 2013, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Dec 29 2013, 08:28 PM) it will consume more fuel if you in D and brake. Because the engine is constantly under load. Confirmed this with OBDII readout. ermm.. torque converter is kept spinning, which means the fluid is constantly under stress, friction, motion, and therefore should heat up more than N. i think is totally the otherway round. Most AT when in D, the clutch is always engaged even when brake is pressed. Its just that the torque converter allows enough slippage so that the engine won't stall. I said 'most AT car', because i know some car's gearbox is smarter and will disengage clutch during brake. the first car i experience has that effect is prius C (well i donno if the Snergy Drive system is considered a gearbox in any traditional sense...) THISSS!! i also hate it when the guy infront me blast my face with his super bright led brake light in a 90 sec red light. As for myself, i do switch to N during red light or any stops longer than 10-15 secs. i don't think my habit (10-15 secs stops) is considered as N D N D N D which maybe is no good also. The Prius HSD doesn't have a clutch at all. It's very different from normal gearboxes, including CVT ones. Best is you watch a video on YouTube that explains it, there is one that takes the gearbox apart, does a great job at explaining it.
Quazacolt
Dec 29 2013, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(unitron @ Dec 29 2013, 08:09 PM) There's a simple solution. Long stop put to N short stop just put in D... How long you decide la.. For me it's 30 seconds or so. Can close thread. this. close thread liao.
wayfeel
Dec 30 2013, 04:09 AM
QUOTE(unitron @ Dec 29 2013, 08:09 PM) There's a simple solution. Long stop put to N short stop just put in D... How long you decide la.. For me it's 30 seconds or so. Can close thread. Ya me also lik tht. It balances both school of advocates...it abit logic /klose tered
wayfeel
Dec 30 2013, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(nova_freak @ Dec 29 2013, 09:04 PM) When service outside, wat CVTF u use? I wan service outside too, but not sure wat brand of CVTF to use.. Honda's gearbox too.. I used honda bottle CVTF GB oil...U can buy it at Honda SC n tak it to outside wokshop if U wan absolute surety
nova_freak
Dec 30 2013, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 30 2013, 04:10 AM) I used honda bottle CVTF GB oil...U can buy it at Honda SC n tak it to outside wokshop if U wan absolute surety U bought from Honda SC too? How much? And how many liter?
joefbi
Dec 30 2013, 10:53 AM
car not moving=neutral so, simple...when not moving, put to neutral.
why need to crack down ur head only to ASSUME there will be more damage when oil not circulate, gear level switch, ECU working, connect disconnect bla bla bla and ignoring expertise opinion...
when not moving, put to N for neutral..of course it is AUTO..but actually it was AUTO to moving. not AUTO to stop...thats why it will drag you to move while stop in D (drive) mode. It will put ur engine under unnecessary stress. Also, stop while in D (drive) sound stupid to me...it sound more logic if STOP=NEUTRAL...dont you get it?
only put in P (parking) if you are really PARKING...not stopping.
arza04
Dec 30 2013, 10:58 AM
My dad use D all the way, when he reaches destination put to N
The gearbox never break down altho change atf oil every 40k km
Potong waja
TSSlyp
Dec 30 2013, 11:32 AM
Appreciate all of your replies here but my question is whether or not by doing so will damage the engine or gearbox, not asking whether should I put to N or just leave it at D while car is stopping.
jchue73
Dec 30 2013, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Slyp @ Dec 30 2013, 11:32 AM) Appreciate all of your replies here but my question is whether or not by doing so will damage the engine or gearbox, not asking whether should I put to N or just leave it at D while car is stopping. I think most replies are quite relevant. To put your auto gearbox in D or N after the car stops at idle will determine if the engine and gearbox gets more stressed. I'm old school and I put to N if I know it's going to be a long stop.
rcracer
Dec 30 2013, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(Slyp @ Dec 30 2013, 11:32 AM) Appreciate all of your replies here but my question is whether or not by doing so will damage the engine or gearbox, not asking whether should I put to N or just leave it at D while car is stopping. i stick by my stand, no, the gearbox and engine are not operating in abnormal condition hence no damage will occur
gold member
Dec 30 2013, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 29 2013, 11:18 AM) Ahem, no? DSG does disconnect when stopping, torque converters don't. At least those I drove. Not sure about CVT. How can you wear out your brake pads when you are not moving? Say you put your hand on a table, and then pull it across the table. There is friction. Press down the hand and move with the same force... More friction. Press so hard that it can't move anymore... No friction. --> can't wear out. Only crawling with the brakes applied (but not to a full stop will wear out). I usually disengage the gear while still rolling, and engage while rolling. I don't like the jerk when changing into D while standing (even with applied brakes). Getting to a full stop is also not that smooth with an auto gearbox. Not comfortable at all. My next car will be manual again. There's no way I'll accept a car with automatic gearbox. So bloody troublesome, complicated and uncomfortable. Leave a car on a flat road, shift the gear to D, forward gear engaged and the car will move forward. A car has 4 wheels, whenever being placed uphill or downhill, depends on the moving direction, it will move faster or slower. A car carries weight and has an engine. On the other hand, if we put our hand on a table, our hand does not have wheels, nor engine. So I disagree there is no friction. The friction applied by the brake pads offset the force vehicle moving forward, therefore it is not moving, under D gear.
gold member
Dec 30 2013, 03:38 PM

I am amuse by some people who are so particular on taking care of their cars. My POW is that, car is a liability, and subject to wear and tear. On the roads, how many cars have you seen are >10 years, >15 years or even > 20 years. I believe most of these major parts, should last at least during the ownership of the vehicles. A car is designed in a way to wear out, therefore IMHO, it is good to know but no point argue over this. If it is something very crucial, it will be told and mentioned. Too bad if you do a search, there are 2 schools and no definite answer. To take care of transmission, it is not only D and N, the way the driver maneuver, maintenance, design and etc. have more influences.
This post has been edited by gold member: Dec 30 2013, 03:40 PM
dares
Dec 30 2013, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(gold member @ Dec 30 2013, 03:33 PM) Leave a car on a flat road, shift the gear to D, forward gear engaged and the car will move forward. A car has 4 wheels, whenever being placed uphill or downhill, depends on the moving direction, it will move faster or slower. A car carries weight and has an engine. On the other hand, if we put our hand on a table, our hand does not have wheels, nor engine. So I disagree there is no friction. The friction applied by the brake pads offset the force vehicle moving forward, therefore it is not moving, under D gear. Kinetic friction, ie: stopping a moving car, causes brake pad wear. Static friction, ie: keeping a stopped car from moving, does not cause brake pad wear. Provided that the force pressing the brake pad against the brake rotor is stronger than the force trying to move the car.
Post-Je-Ape-Ape
Dec 30 2013, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Dec 30 2013, 03:40 PM) Kinetic friction, ie: stopping a moving car, causes brake pad wear. Static friction, ie: keeping a stopped car from moving, does not cause brake pad wear. Provided that the force pressing the brake pad against the brake rotor is stronger than the force trying to move the car. Pizik teacher here!!
kadajawi
Dec 30 2013, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Dec 30 2013, 03:40 PM) Kinetic friction, ie: stopping a moving car, causes brake pad wear. Static friction, ie: keeping a stopped car from moving, does not cause brake pad wear. Provided that the force pressing the brake pad against the brake rotor is stronger than the force trying to move the car. Thank you  That was what I meant
kucingfight
Dec 30 2013, 05:49 PM
1 dumb question , say a car is going up a slope and then downhill..would it be damaging shifting from D -> N while is coasting down the slope?
SUSbe7a
Dec 30 2013, 07:17 PM

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 30 2013, 05:49 PM) 1 dumb question , say a car is going up a slope and then downhill..would it be damaging shifting from D -> N while is coasting down the slope? yes. and also dangerous
katmai81
Dec 30 2013, 07:40 PM

Get honda hybrid....then no need worry on putting into N gear at traffic junction It will autostop...