Technical PS4 - Blue Light of Death, The death of #PS4 #BlueLightOfDeath

lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 12:24 PM

59 posts

Hi All,

Actually I have facing the same problems as the TS mentioned.The blue light keep flashing forever and will turn into white light.

No TV signal showing at all.

My situation is exactly same like TS ,I bought my SG set from Impulse Pbbseller.

Directly call the Impulse Mega Store to notify him regarding this issue.
He told me need to go through RMA process and he say he cannot do anything for now.

I asked him is possible to get replace one to one exchange. He said not applicable as this is just for those US sets not asia sets cry.gif

However,he ask me to pack all the console,HDMI cable,Power cord into the original box and send back to him to see if what he can do for me.

I actually already register my console serial number under Sony Playstation Asia (Malaysia) and my warranty period is valid until March 2015(15 Months) eventhough my set is SG sets.But it should be ok since Sony Warranty are SEA regional for PS4.

If that is the case,how do need to deal with this situation?

1.Send back to Pbbseller and waiting from his news.(I guess he will also help me through claim the Sony Warranty Process,still hope will replace a new set for me,but I guess won't)

2.Directly email and call Sony Directly and send to The Curve repair center ?(Quite inconvenience for me since I am from Penang and quite hard to follow up,some more not sure they will replace 1-1 exchange or just give you refurbish set)

Actually I have go through the Malaysia Consumer ACT 1999 and I found this paragraph
However,I not sure whether this appropriate for my case as I never facing issue in buying defect electronics consumer products,is it got any policy like refund or 1-1 exchange within 7 days or what?

I know this is applicable in Tesco but it is applicable for Sony or other shop retailer?

lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 12:45 PM

59 posts

Hi In your heart,

I already email Sony Regarding this,at the same time,I also inform Pbbseller.

I will see both of their feedback I will decide to see go for which direction.I really hope Pbbseller can 1-1 exchange for me.
Pbbseller is very supportive guy as I know based from my previous purchase experience from him.I am quite upset when he say he not able to anything for me just send him back the console.

I love Sony(Not the Sony Malaysia) and Pbbseller all this while and hope both them not disappointed me.After all,PS4 is not a cheap product and it cost almost RM2000, you just cannot buy a new one just like that.

Unless it is a RM 20 products,then it is different story.
lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 12:55 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 22 2013, 12:48 PM)
Sometimes, it's not just the matter of the price, but it's the treatment and service we should be treated! Imagine you ordered a RM100 or RM5 char kuey teow, and you found out the kuey teow has a strange smell and there is some insects inside? What do you really want them to tell you at the end? Replace it at least!
Ya agreed totally agreed with you.We should ask for replacement for the least.
lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 12:57 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Dec 22 2013, 12:47 PM)
Problem is retailers like Impulse are also facing stock shortages from the supplier so for him to provide a 1-to-1 will also be difficult if there's no ready stocks in the shop.
Ya,I understand on his situation,this kind of situation everyone also not hoping it to happened ,I will wait both sony response and impulse then will decide what to do.
lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 07:30 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(CAPTAIN JJ @ Dec 22 2013, 07:04 PM)
i think lowyat seller here have to take responsible to help as well. 1 to 1 exchange is a must no questions ask. They can settle it

with their supplier. Afterall they are doing business if product is faulty you cannot wash hand and said not my problem lols.

some forumers here bought ps4 from amazon have faulty set and they manage get replacement immediate and why local seller

here can;t do it. Bro give them pressure make sure they replace for u.
@lim360 i think better send back to impulse they shud able solved this for u faster than send to sony malaysia.
Thanks for advise bro,I will send back to them using Poslaju tomorrow.

I call PlayStation Support line just now,they operator ask me to send the console to the Curve.
He said must have official receipt.The problem how we have the official receipt since we are not purchase from sony?

I told them I already register my console serial number(Warranty period valid through March 2015) in Sony Malaysia Playstation website.He said this is not valid must have receipt to prove.If like that,then I need to show you the receipt from Impulse?

If that is the case,I better send it back to impulse and let them settle for me since they have more experience in the process.

lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 07:44 PM

59 posts

As I understand,in US,for example Xbox,you call the Xbox Customer support line.After the dealing,they will get your information,and then Microsoft will send an empty carton box with all the sticker,they will give the instruction on how to pack up your things.Then you send it back to them for repair.Everything is in keep track.

Normally in Malaysia, normally we will just go to the shop that we purchase and return back direct to the shop.

But in any company in Malaysia branch practice the same things as in US?I not sure maybe ,please share your experience here if you encounter this before.

It will be good sharing,if there got future victims like us facing same problem.At least they do what need to be done next time smile.gif

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 22 2013, 08:02 PM
lim360
post Dec 22 2013, 08:37 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 22 2013, 08:25 PM)
Couldn't agree more. I would suggest some senior or even staff at here, to tell the sellers on this matter.
Ya totally agree on that,maybe some people don't care on this issue at the moment because they are not the person who invlove in this situation.

But in case if this thing in future happened to them just like me or TS,it will be beneficial for them at lease they got the fair treatment as a consumer purchase their gaming stuff through LYN sellers.

Not only to applicable to PS4,it may be PS3,Vita,Xbox,Wii whatever related to console gaming stuff.

Since this is console thread smile.gif
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 10:13 AM

59 posts

I got an "so called" feedback email from Sony after call through their Customer Support and they asked my to do a feedback survey and comment.

PlayStation® Customer Service Email Online Service Quality Survey

1 Are you satisfied with Sony Computer Entertainment customer service? *
Dissatisfied(Call 3 times never picked up the phone)

2 How satisfied are you with the agent’s technical knowledge ? *
Dissatisfied

3 How Satisfied are you with the agent’s friendliness and professionalism? *
Sattisfied(At least the agent talk softly and gentle when communicate with me although he have no idea how to troubleshoot this issue,I assume he is innocnent)

4 How satisfied are you with the speed in which your call/email was answered ? *
Dissatisfied(Took 3 days to reply my email)

5 Did you try to solve this problem on the PlayStation Web Site FAQ before contacting customer service?
Yes

6 Have you contact us for the same query before? *
No

7 Did we resolve your query? *
No

8 How likely are you to recommend PlayStation product to family, friends, or others ( 1 – Not likely , 10 – Very likely ) *

9.Suggestion and comments

I have tried all the steps as mentioned as above,and the problem still occurs.I have send back the console to my retailer and hopefully he will assists me in going thru RMA process with Sony.

I hope Sony Asia will give their greatest support by expediting this issue in shortest time either replace us with atleast a working system just as what Sony US practice.

PlayStation Prodcut has always been great the past 20 years and suppose PlayStation 4 as well I believe!

I sincere hope that Sony Asia will treat and expedite this issue seriously and send us a working PS4 to the unlucky customer like us in the shortest time as soon as possible.

Expecting good news from Sony Asia.

Regards.
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 03:00 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ruitian97 @ Dec 26 2013, 01:05 PM)
So, my PS4 also encountered same situation.. Got mine from CK Multimedia,Selangor. Then they shipped it to me here in Sarawak. Got it the next day after they shipped. I was like WTF , my PS4 arrived. Then started to set it up,then i waited. And waited. Then i reliased it not gonna turn on. So i tried the controller. Pressing the PS button just makes it glow couple of times(purple/white colour). So i suddenly noticed damn , i got BLOD. So i called CK. Then they said, should register the product for warranty. So i did. Then i had trouble registering so i called again then they said, not quite sure how to register cause first time. Yet their FB page said they had 10 years of gaming experience. After i managed to register for warranty. I called my local Sony centre. They said they couldn't do anything as its a new console. So i thought if i sent it back to CK they would work it out more quickly. Then they said they would ask their supplier if there is any stock to replace. But then they said, warranty already running can't exchange for me. So i though if Sony Centre exchanged one for me wont the warranty renew? Then they said sorry, cant do anything as they had limited stock. And guess what? They posted on FB saying restock on 24 dec. and they telling customers they can still walk in , but just not confirm a set for them.. Telling them to pre-order. WTF? They just refused o exchange one for me. F Them.
How come the retailer can be so irresponsible,sell you the console,yet tell you they dont have knowledge about new console,in the end you have go through the process yourself to claim warranty.and yet sony tell they cannot do anything.Then how,just let you leave it like that and this is the treatment you got from both retailer and sony? Seriously,if this situation cannot be solve,you might need to report to consumer association malaysia and let them solve the issue for you .

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 26 2013, 03:04 PM
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 03:27 PM

59 posts

I would like ask,those who bought the console from sony store one utama,curve or klcc,are their console getting any blod issue so far?if yes,when you semd back the console to them,are they immediately do replacement with new set?since the console not even launch one week yet.
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 03:54 PM

59 posts

I saw a news from facebook page from one the PS4 victims.

It stated those who bought their PS4 from reseller (Singapore set) will not able to claim warranty from Sony.

To claim warranty you will need:
1.The PS4 box must have the Authorize Regional Sticker
2.An authorize official receipt from Sony or from an Authorize Reseller.

The Sony Service Center guy told him:

"I am sorry,eventhough the warranty said can be repair in Malaysia and as I know yours is Singapore set but you need this document then only we can help you.
Sony is very strict about the Warranty or else we get get sue by Sony,If you still want repair,you need to pay RM40 and then we will let you know the estimated total repairing cost"

Anyone can confirm regarding this?

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 26 2013, 03:54 PM
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 06:42 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 26 2013, 04:53 PM)
Give us the link you saw. And screenshot it.

You can go the Impulse Megastore facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/impulsemegastore,got person post on it
lim360
post Dec 26 2013, 08:19 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 26 2013, 06:17 PM)
To all consumer from Malaysia who has just bought their PS4 and facing issue such as BLOD (Blue Light Of Death), or any other error, please contact to SONY Service Centre right away, as apparently they told me I am still just the only person having this issue.

As for Singapore users, they said there is just a few who encounter this. So please, whoever having the issue please contact your service centre, as well as sending a feedback to your respective SONY main site.

Thank you.
Seriously are they still telling you are the only one?if like that,just tell since i am the only one,replacing a console is really so hard?Sony malaysia not able to settle a faulty console and need to take such long time.what a joke,next time must bring voice recorder go to sony store and record whatever things they said.or record whatever phone converstation mad.gif
lim360
post Dec 27 2013, 10:12 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 26 2013, 08:45 PM)
THey said they going to call me at 5pm, then no news. I called back and they said will call me before 630pm, still no news until now.
Hi Bro,any update from Sony regarding your PS4 status?Did they mentioned when you will be able to get your console?
lim360
post Dec 27 2013, 01:49 PM

59 posts

Latest news from my side.

I sent back my Console back to Impulse,they test out my console,according to him my console is no problem.Can boot up and play game,he did even send me a video of my PS4.

I told him my situation,it won't able to boot up at my place,blinking blue light.

But according to him,my system can be work once take from the box.

Let me explain my situation to all you guys again.

When my arrive ,it can be boot up and then I proceed for update 1.52 through the WIFI. After console restart and it blinking blue light.I went into safemode and then start rebbot,it ok again.

Then as normal,I play like usual for 1-2 hours then turn off.After that maybe 1-2 hours ,I turn back the console on again and it give me blue light pulsating and wont boot again.

After that,I need to turn off by holding the power button,turn on gain still blue light.

I tried turn off and turn on,keep repeating the process for maybe 5-7 times maybe,one time the console can boot up again.

This issue still occur again after turn off and you turn it on again next time.You will still need to try 5-7 times keep turn on and off,and 1 time will boot up if you are lucky.

I told impulse regarding this,he said he will help me monitor over the whole weekend if the issue i mentioned will occurs,he will try turn off the console and turn on again every 1-2 hours interval.So far he test 2 times,and he feedback to me that can boot up at first try.

If still no problem occurs,then he will send back the console back to me.

Anyone can please help explain this issue?How come the concole can be fine again after reach impulse?
lim360
post Dec 27 2013, 10:04 PM

59 posts

Really frustrated.

At my place,the PS4 cannot be turn on,after that reach at Impulse side,the unit can be turn on again even turn off for every interval 2-3hour !!

Impulse has did it several time already,so far all can be boot up everytime!!

Most likely he will ship back my "faulty" console back again monday,how if the console still giving me the same problem when reach at my place?

Anyone can please explain this situation?Is it really related to firmware?But the problem is,impulse din't do anything on my console,it take out from box and can be turn on just like that!

Just very frustrated.If I assume what he told me is true.Then is it should be my house power plug point problem already? Either voltage supply into PS4 power supply is too big or too small when first boot up?

Or is it something that related to shipping?Maybe when the unit is shipment back,halfway at poslaju side the console is being moved or vibrated causing the component connect back again or what?

Now I really frustrated on this.The problem is I am live far from JB side and cannot see it myself actually what happened!!

This is my problem regarding the BLOD issue:
Source:http://thenextweb.com/gadgets/2013/11/19/playstation-4-review-technical-issues/#!qJ9hd

"The main issue that’s plaguing the system seems to be the so-called “Blinking blue light of death.” Most of the time that we turn on the PS4, the blue indicator light on the console just blinks and no video appears. Pressing the power button for seven seconds usually works to reset the system. After a few tries, the PS4 eventually boots and can be used as normal, though sometimes it needs to go through safe mode to start up."

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 27 2013, 10:13 PM
lim360
post Dec 27 2013, 10:39 PM

59 posts

This is the problem I excatly faced

http://community.eu.playstation.com/t5/Sup...n/td-p/20259959
lim360
post Dec 28 2013, 05:54 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ruitian97 @ Dec 28 2013, 04:11 PM)
TLOL. My retailer say : 'Oh, you register warranty already? Cause supplier said the next batch wil coming this thursday.' Then i was like WDF? YOU TOLD ME TO REGISTER! Then they say really sorry about this. Then i was very angry then got on the phone with them and they say really sorry but already help you liao. My supplier also said no 1 to 1 exchange because the warranty already running. Later this console aunty cannot sell. Later if sell other people not fair, because warranty will less 1 week or 2. Then wtf. I pre-ordered. I should have the priority not them o0o.
How they are supposed to sell this console again,even if the Console already spoiled at the first place?
What is the logic,warranty register liao cannot 1-1 exchange with supplier?

Means what,you send back the faulty console back to them,and they will repack it and sell it to another victims?If the console already spoiled,no way the console must be exchange,you can use report to tribunal if they don't want replace.

This is how the way doing business,when you buy things from them,if no problem,then very good,and they will claim that they are so called most reputable seller,by gamer for gamer whatever.

When got problem happened,give you 1000X excuse and bla bla bla this and that and never give commiment.mad.gif

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 28 2013, 06:01 PM
lim360
post Dec 28 2013, 06:16 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ruitian97 @ Dec 28 2013, 06:10 PM)
Yeah.. b**** right? Then i try act pity, cus im 16 only also... Haha.. I said, really cant help me meh.. I now begging you liao aunty.. She say.. Cant already, because the warranty already running so i cant sell this console already.. Then she say cant 1 to 1 sorry.. Wth. Tribunal? Whats that? Tell me i wan report damn.. Damn hate this fcking bullshit sony centre and their focus stores.. Even freggin unauthorise reseller that gets sg sets give 1 to 1 replacement Fck.
Please refer to this website,below is the information:

http://www.fomca.org.my/v2/

Their Office:
http://www.fomca.org.my/v2/index.php/hubun...ta-lokasi-fomca

Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations
1D-1, Bangunan SKPPK
Jalan SS 9A/17
47300 Petaling Jaya
Selangor
Tel: +603 7874 1622
Fax: +603 7877 1076

(Attn: Ms. Ratna Devi Nadarajan)

fomca@fomca.org.my

Tell them excatly what is your situation,and get a clear cut direction from them,and make a report.

Either Sony or CK Multimedia should be get charged for the violation,I not sure,just tell your situation excatly and they will help you analyse accroding to the Law (Akta Perlindungan Pengguna 1999) .This is the final way to do so,
I suggest please do get help from your parents as well if you not able to handle it as you nned to go to school.Let your parents follow up for you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lim360: Dec 28 2013, 06:26 PM
lim360
post Dec 29 2013, 11:59 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lim360 @ Dec 27 2013, 10:04 PM)

Really frustrated.

At my place,the PS4 cannot be turn on,after that reach at Impulse side,the unit can be turn on again even turn off for every interval 2-3hour !!

Impulse has did it several time already,so far all can be boot up everytime!!

Most likely he will ship back my "faulty" console back again monday,how if the console still giving me the same problem when reach at my place?

Anyone can please explain this situation?Is it really related to firmware?But the problem is,impulse din't do anything on my console,it take out from box and can be turn on just like that!

Just very frustrated.If I assume what he told me is true.Then is it should be my house power plug point problem already? Either voltage supply into PS4 power supply is too big or too small when first boot up?

Or is it something that related to shipping?Maybe when the unit is shipment back,halfway at poslaju side the console is being moved or vibrated causing the component connect back again or what?

Now I really frustrated on this.The problem is I am live far from JB side and cannot see it myself actually what happened!!
This is my problem regarding the BLOD issue:
Source:http://thenextweb.com/gadgets/2013/11/19/playstation-4-review-technical-issues/#!qJ9hd
"The main issue that’s plaguing the system seems to be the so-called “Blinking blue light of death.” Most of the time that we turn on the PS4, the blue indicator light on the console just blinks and no video appears. Pressing the power button for seven seconds usually works to reset the system. After a few tries, the PS4 eventually boots and can be used as normal, though sometimes it needs to go through safe mode to start up."

QUOTE(inyourheart @ Dec 27 2013, 11:41 PM)
There's nothing you can do since they ship it back to you. All you can do is wait it reaches to you then open it hopefully it's working. If it's not then either you send back to them or to sony. I'm kinda tired dealing with SONY anyway.
Hi Bro,not sure its good news or not,today and yesterday impulse test out my units,he told me got problem already and not working,will help send for claim tommorow.

Luckily my PS4 shows not working at his side,if not he going to send me back the faulty console tmr.

So consider this as good news or bad news?

But anyway there will be still long way to go until I get my PS4 sad.gif

0.0337sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:26 PM