6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

stilo10
post Dec 6 2016, 09:06 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Dec 6 2016, 08:45 PM)
Hehe... when you said earlier "...share their experience whether there's any difference on sq & pq?" and then you wrote about 4K without saying anything about BD ISO, then this caused the confusion. Anyway, no problem.

Bluray ISO is a one-to-one 100% image copy of the actual bluray disc without any loss of data. Playing the BD ISO has no difference compared to playing than the actual bluray disc itself because the data read by the player is exactly the same.... BUT.... yes, there is a BUT here... somehow there is some difference for me... there are people who can hear the "subtle" difference and there are those that hears no difference! Why do I say that ?

In my personal opinion, eventhough BD ISO has the same data, playing the actual bluray disc sounds better !! Here are the possible reasons that I believe can cause such difference...

1) The longer the path from source played (bluray) to reach the AVR and TV, the more chance there will be that "interference" can interfere with the signal such as EMI. The BD ISO has to be stored in a harddisk which do have moving magnetic discs spinning by an internal motor which can cause interference... and then the USB cable to the player which can also be a problem too. Using a SSD harddisk with any motor will help. The player using laser light to read directly from the disc has the shortest path.

2) When additional hardware is used such as NAS Network Enclosure, Ethernet and WiFi Network is used to "stream" to the player, then quality should also be affected.

3) The desktop computer is BIG source of all sorts of "noise" so if a HTPC is used to play the BD ISO, then quality will also suffer!

4) When additional AC/DC Power Adapter is used, it can also cause interference too. Example... adapters for harddisk dock, External NAS Harddisk, NAS Enclosure, WiFi Router etc.

Knowing this, that is why there are people who uses Notebook SSD (Solid-State) harddisk, good quality USB cable, Low-Noise Power Adapter and so forth. I did all this BUT because the signal path (highway) is longer, I somehow still prefer playing the actual harddisk. Its NOT because of any "lower quality" from the Bluray ISO itself.

Retouched And Remuxed Bluray
This is where the quality CAN suffer when the actual bluray disc data is changed!

A BD50 bluray disc can store a maximum of around 50GB. It doesn't mean that a movie used 50GB. If a movie is originally encoded to 23GB, then a BD25 disc is used so ripping this to 23GB ISO will have the same quality. But... if a movie used 43GB and it is ripped to a 23GB ISO or duplicated to another BD25 disc, then the quality will drop.

A remuxed bluray can mean these things...
(1) When the disc is ripped, all the bluray menus and all "Special Features" and Trailers are removed so that the bluray ISO (BDMV Folder) plays the movie instantly. If they did NOT touch anything to the actual bluray movie file, then the quality will be the same. Whenever the bitrate or filesize is reduced, then quality will drop.

(2) The bluray can be remuxed to a single file such as MKV, MP4, TS, etc. Again, if nothing is touched and transfered to the single file, then quality will be the same BUT most of the time there is shrinking done which also reduces quality. Examples... 35GB bluray remuxed to to 10GB MKV, DTS-HD MA becomes DTS, Video bitrate reduced.

The most important factor whether the "duplicate" has the same quality as the original is actually knowing whether its an "untouched" copy or any "touching" have been done to it. Whether quality will be the same depends on whether anything have be touched on the original... not about ISO itself.
Thanks again for your explanation!
stilo10
post Jan 10 2017, 08:43 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 6 2017, 04:06 PM)
[attachmentid=8368329]
[attachmentid=8368335]

touch up to my man cave
Nice one especially with addition of the posters, just like theaters!

stilo10
post Mar 25 2017, 02:36 PM

266 posts

I will consider this speaker package...

SVS
http://www.htkaki.com/_p/prd1/3014024741/p...e-with-sb-1000)

Mission VX Series 7.1 Package.
http://www.cmy.com.my/product_info_407001-100754.htm

For mission, personally I would go only for 5.1 or 7.1 spk package without the sub (it will be cheaper). If you want a good sub, then SVS should be the choice. Overall this Mission package is quite affordable that comes with a floorstanders and these Mission VX series it sounds quite good to me on movies. Go for audition yourself and see which setup suits you most...

This post has been edited by stilo10: Mar 25 2017, 02:41 PM
stilo10
post Apr 3 2017, 07:52 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 3 2017, 07:15 PM)
Cant add power amp to Yamaha rxv681 didn't have output πŸ˜‹..need to change avr
Hehe... upgrade...

stilo10
post Apr 4 2017, 11:50 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 4 2017, 09:14 PM)
Yup the seller in style laser also said the same need to change the power cable...didn't have chance yet to demo Marantz with diff power cable...
Yeah, to me it made significant improvement but must try yourself to feel the difference... power cables very expensive! sweat.gif

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 12:04 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 4 2017, 11:54 PM)
Very true power cables dam expensive but u can diy it many sifu doing that....i have test marantz sr5010 in shop the seller said need to change power cable to make it sounds​ good but the cable is dam expensive so i drop the idea
Yeah yeah... last time I used stock cable for my sub... initially thought it was good but after recommended by some sifu then try with good power cable, wow the result was awesome! just sounded like a different sub... before I only hear LFE but after change the cable, I can feel LFE... tactile bass! Was amazed with the result although it was very expensive to me but defo worthy!

This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 5 2017, 12:05 AM

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 12:11 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 12:07 AM)
thumbup.gif great 😜.. I'm still far away from power cable area πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
hee... must try bro and feel the difference yourself... thumbup.gif

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 12:15 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Apr 5 2017, 12:09 AM)
unable to go shop
because i staying Penang
that why can buy online to ship

have you visit shop https://www.audioart.com.my/brands/denon/

they sell very good price i don't know dealer good or bad

That i did contact
they got denon x6200w rm7k nice price
Style laser they dont have denon avr x6200w
They have denon avr x6300h rm10k

That i did contact
they got denon x6200w rm7k

Nice price

I dont know that dealer

Have u deal any problem
Can visit CMY Penang... 170-04-30,4th Floor, Gurney Plaza, Persiaran Gurney! To me, some Cmy branch do provide good services but not sure with Penang branch...

This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 5 2017, 12:15 AM
stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 12:36 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 12:29 AM)
Sorry bro i didn't buy anything from audio art....u are going to pay high why not go straight and check the item by yourself bro...bring your family together to kl on weekend...im from taiping actually...u can check at cmy penang like stilo bro said another shop u can look at bercham ipoh audio concept gallery he have few brands too can ask for demo for sure https://m.facebook.com/audioconceptgallery/ call them
Luckily yamaha 681 power cable is not removable 😜😜😜
haha... SR6011 can bro... biggrin.gif

When you get a sub then can try it... brows.gif

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 12:46 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 12:38 AM)
Hehe still have time for that moment hehe..

haha... rx681 quite good adi... rclxms.gif

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 11:22 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Apr 5 2017, 02:26 AM)
i know last time few year ago i did go CMY Penang... 170-04-30,4th Floor, Gurney Plaza, Persiaran Gurney!

they are lazy and staff also sleepy sofa  mad.gif
Tell them you are John's friend and see how they re-act...

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Apr 5 2017, 03:02 AM)
I'm using 6011 also, good power cables does makes a difference, you will notice the difference more in stereo music imho.
Ya ya... nice US sockets and plugs... i used to hv US plug but when try to removed fr unswitch outlets/wall sockets always with comes sparks and very tied to remove which even make the sparks becoming intense... unless you don't removed it from the wall sockets then it will be fine! The unswitch wall sockets are better for sure IMO...

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 5 2017, 04:35 AM)
for uk plug. most important is fuse. then connector material. then cable.
fuse very hard to judge without listening. so far i swap from old electrical appliances from family houses. a lot work.

thats why some sifu change to usa plug. no fuse required.
just choose material.
I had my MK plug's fuse removed... for better performance!

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 11:26 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 07:09 AM)
thumbup.gif How about the performance of 6011 for movie bro..did the avr get too hot
thumbup.gif
Haha bro poison already hand itchy now πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹...i already apply for another 6months warrant via online so it will 1 year 6 months...have too wait till that long oh god πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ hehe
Usually avr don't have much issues... Usually only top range avr power cables are removable... sigh!

This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 6 2017, 01:43 PM
stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 01:06 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 5 2017, 12:25 PM)
spark happen inside switched socket. no difference with
happen outside unswitched socket.
still i scare. so i switched socket. haha

after unfuse, u use solid metal or short wire to link the live wire?
Ya, I scared too... so use switched wall sockets now smile.gif

Haha... done by shop... he just gave me back the fuse! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 5 2017, 01:10 PM
stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 05:51 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 02:51 PM)
I think high range Yamaha is removable power cables
Most high end avr usually can... mine oso kenot!

stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 09:26 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 07:58 PM)
πŸ˜‹
Sr6011, Rxa2060!!! tongue.gif
stilo10
post Apr 5 2017, 11:29 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 5 2017, 10:06 PM)
Can consider rxa2060 too πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹
At first, I thought of A2060 also but sifu advised me to save up and go for a3060... as some got a2060 regretted then folk out $ again for a3060... I been through this for my past experience, so now I will try to go for the best that I could afford rather upgrading all the time which cost more at the end!

stilo10
post Apr 6 2017, 10:56 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Apr 6 2017, 10:38 AM)
How was the 5010 compared to your v681? It didn't sound good?

The changing cable thing sounds like snake oil to me coz if new power cables can make a difference they are implying that the original cables are defective/crap?
I don't really understand the logic of this power socket and power cable thingy. Is it just a placebo affect or there is some truth to it?
No one can give u accurate answers but you need to try it yourself! You don't need to folk thousands for pair of cables but instead try to get some mayb wt brands or recommended ones through reviews by some users from AVS, Audioholics forums and etc... or go to local av shop for a test... after demo it if no difference then better don't waste your money but if noticed difference on the sound quality then you decide whether to get it or not...

This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 6 2017, 10:57 AM
stilo10
post Apr 6 2017, 12:24 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Apr 6 2017, 11:01 AM)
Good suggestion! Will try to test with different cables the next time I go for a demo.
thumbsup.gif

stilo10
post Apr 7 2017, 11:46 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Apr 7 2017, 11:22 AM)
daam hard trust audio art

i still can trust style leser and hi-way laser

Mind sharing why can't trust Audio Art?
stilo10
post Apr 7 2017, 12:59 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Apr 7 2017, 12:37 PM)
because (sivanathan04) he saying Sorry bro i didn't buy anything from audio art

i know many people already buy avr shop for style leser and hi-way laser
i have read for lowyat forum

i had contact hi-way laser he got stock Denon AVR-X6200W PRICE RM9500 and Denon AVR-X6300 RM10500
Audio Art he got stock Denon AVR-X6200W PRICE RM6999 and Denon AVR-X6300 RM11500

bangwall.gif

Audio Art someone haven't deal  sad.gif

i know someone already deal both style leser and hi-way laser  sad.gif

Wow so much difference on the pricing between Audio Art and SL for AVR-X6200W! typo is it... can whallop if RM6999!

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1108sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:43 AM