10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

saitong09
post Jul 10 2016, 04:22 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 10 2016, 03:57 PM)
I have not heard the sound from supra cable but I will think is quite a decent cable. However, Bose system is really nothing to improve even with change of cable. I will say is just nice looking system.
Oh, I plan to replace my DZ7 and vokal speaker wire with Supra wire smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 10 2016, 06:30 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 10 2016, 05:38 PM)
I see. I am sure is better than stock cable but really can't tell if it will change much
Just curious if same type of wire but different diameter, got different? e.g. 2x2.5 vs 2x4.0
saitong09
post Jul 10 2016, 10:43 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 10 2016, 07:44 PM)
Theoritically bigger should be better but is just a thought. You must try out to know
Will go for 4.0 since not so long for front smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 11 2016, 09:44 AM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 11 2016, 08:35 AM)
bro mean 4.0mm spk cable
You are right smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 11 2016, 07:40 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 11 2016, 09:53 AM)
I will suggest you try out oxygen cable. Go to amcorp mall and buy it from acoustics system. Is about RM10 per meter and I can tell you is a very good cable for HT use
Do you have the detail of the oxygen cable?

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 11 2016, 11:25 AM)
very clear, tq notworthy.gif
finally i able to own the cheapest mon audio bronze
Cheapest still need 5 figure i believe tongue.gif
saitong09
post Jul 12 2016, 08:13 AM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 11 2016, 08:57 PM)
Oxygen Speaker Cable

I called Acoustique Systems at Amcorp Mall, Mr. Lim and asked about the specs for the Oxygen Speaker Cable.

http://acoustiquesystems.blogspot.my/

Oxygen Speaker Cable is manufactured by a Taiwanese company.
AWG 16 Copper RM 7 per metre
AWG 16 Multi strand Copper RM 10 per metre
AWG 14 Multi strand Copper & Centre Solid Core Copper RM 20+ per metre

* The smaller the AWG number, the thicker the cable.

I am thinking of using AWG 16 Multi strand Copper speaker cable for my soon-to-come pair of Atmos speakers.

Monitor Audio

I bought my MA Gold GX200 and my M2Tech Young DSD DAC from Mr. Lim.

In 2011, I bought the MA top model for the Bronze Series, BX6 at RM 2600 from a guy in Penang who imported a few sets at a cheaper price for sale. At that time it was actually retailing at around net RM 3300. At today's prices (with GST), I guess it should be at around RM 4K+.

This BX6 model have been replaced with the Bronze 6 model which is almost exactly the same as its predecessor.

http://www.monitoraudio.co.uk/products/bronze/bronze-6

So the Bronze Series prices are NOT at the 5 figure price range. I did not check, maybe the top model of the Silver Series should just touch 10K.

Later in 2013, I upgraded to my present Gold Series GX200 (one step below the top GX300) at RM12K+ in 2013 so I believe the Gold and Platinum Series are at 5 figure prices.
Thanks for the info smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 14 2016, 06:48 PM

10,822 posts

jamesleetech
Oppo 105D built in Darbee video processing, better picture quality
saitong09
post Jul 14 2016, 09:32 PM

10,822 posts

[quote=stilo10,Jul 14 2016, 08:16 PM]
Now coming into this, we shall go into cable. I am in the same boat of thinking some cheap HDMI and expensive HDMI make no different until I had use 12 meter long HDMI which is super cheap compare to a 12 meter long HDMI which cost me 10x more. Straight can notice the picture quality different. OPPO has 2 HDMI output which is great to separate the audio and video. This makes it even better. I do use himedia player as well for some movies playback from HDD. It is iso BD files I am using for the media player. Even so the quality it comes out is not comparable with OPPO. Even speaker cable I had tried from cheap cable to thousand of ringgit cable. I can tell you the different is amazing. So believer or not, you can try and find out

[/quote]

[/quote]
Wow you got Oppo player? Btw, is the quality significant different on 2 meter long HDMI between cheap and branded?
saitong09
post Jul 14 2016, 10:16 PM

10,822 posts

My new toy smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 14 2016, 10:37 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 14 2016, 10:26 PM)
Wow... a single 12TB NAS harddisk. For use with HTPC and for Audio only or AV?
is 2 x 6TB NAS RED inside for movies, I'm using Dune HD player to stream Bluray movie from NAS smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 15 2016, 08:21 AM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(stilo10 @ Jul 14 2016, 11:17 PM)
@saitong
is 2 x 6TB NAS RED inside for movies, I'm using Dune HD player to stream Bluray movie from NAS

Many new toys to play!  biggrin.gif
You want to play?
saitong09
post Jul 15 2016, 03:59 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 15 2016, 01:51 PM)
u mean micro soft haha.
i do have luck in 1 cheapo hdmi that can fight qed and wireworld brand in term of sound and video.
Share the detail of your cheapo hdmi and qed comparison smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 15 2016, 10:32 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 15 2016, 10:17 PM)
I missed those days before Win XP... DOS 6.11, Lotus 123r2.4, WordStar, WordPerfect, Windows 3.11, etc.

Correct me if I am wrong, an earlier firmware version allows ripping of SACD discs to ISOs too.
lol you had went through MS-DOS 6.11, so you born around 1970++ tongue.gif
saitong09
post Jul 15 2016, 11:40 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 15 2016, 11:22 PM)
Mine initially started with Intel 80286 IBM compatible PC with DRDOS 5 and two 5.25 inch drives reading 1.2MB floppy discs! Creative SoundBlaster was just starting!
Yeah, I still keeping the SoundBlaster 16 ISA card smile.gif

QUOTE(skeelee @ Jul 15 2016, 11:31 PM)
I was on 8088, with 8087 maths co-processor. And I paid S$1,100 for the 20MB hard disk.
wow 8088, 30 years back
saitong09
post Jul 16 2016, 08:16 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 16 2016, 12:11 AM)
qed qunex purple (rounded stiff one) vs tesco, can listen the difference clearly. the cheap one win from audio section, especially when u playing mid-slow tempo songs. voice stand out as my other system, counted as accurate.

video right on sharpness 0 and contrast able to push high, no clipping white that happen to qed.

when compare to wireworld ultra violet 7 (flat type), has no run in yet. the video is blur at sharpness 0.... audio is very dull.

tried both direction for few hours, then return to owner (im just tester)
Didn't know the interconnect also need to run in tongue.gif
saitong09
post Jul 18 2016, 08:06 AM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 16 2016, 08:23 PM)
Spent the whole day with a DDRC-24 from minidsp. DIRAC is seriously, seriously awesome but I think I've only just scratched the surface of what it can really do.

The dual SB2000s in my bedroom are sounding so cohesive now, it's till the point where I *think* I can't even improve it anymore other than moving the couch to a different sitting position (which I absolutely can't). I', very anal about in-room response, so that says something.
Wow dual SB2000 in bedroom, you might be heavily did sound insulation in a small room.
saitong09
post Jul 18 2016, 09:11 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 18 2016, 03:44 PM)
My bedroom is about 1650cu feet. I have some corner bass traps, but it's really not too bad considering I have a queen size bed in there as well as a couch.
I thought the best matching are ported sub + sealed sub?
saitong09
post Jul 18 2016, 10:32 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 18 2016, 09:59 PM)
No, it's generally best to match the same sub to one another. It's also much easier to EQ and find proper sub locations.

But a ported and sealed sub can be mixed together though extensive know how of room modes work, EQing, as well as time and patience to find the best location for the subs. Get them right and you really will have the best of both worlds.
ic, so you didn't think of best of both worlds?
Btw, saw your room at Actsessory FB smile.gif
saitong09
post Jul 19 2016, 09:03 AM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 19 2016, 12:22 AM)
Not enough space for the PB2000 lol, not that I don't want. The only feasible location I can put a PB2000 is under my PC desk, but that place isn't good at all for a sub.

Haha yeah that pic was taken when I just had the Prime Sats as my main system. Small little guys, but definitely gutsy.
Ya the PB2000 damn big and bulky even put in the living Hall and if put in a small room all things shaking including your ceiling smile.gif
So what was the replacement for your Prime Stats?
saitong09
post Jul 19 2016, 10:29 PM

10,822 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 19 2016, 02:53 PM)
Replaced the L/R with Prime Bookshelfs and the center with Ultra Center.
Not Ultra Bookshelfs?

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1540sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:18 AM