Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

ben3003
post Nov 23 2020, 07:37 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 23 2020, 07:30 AM)
Look for old monitor audio gold. Monitor audio silver is ok too but not the new series
ok but really hard to buy here.. me from sarawak.. no much choice. most hifi player in west msia. i found some at carousell sg gold also quite expensive 3-4k not yet include shipping, shipping to here at least add another few hundred sweat.gif

https://www.carousell.com.my/p/vintage-moni...sort_by=popular

this vintage gold ka? rm699 seems ok tho lol

tried looking around seems like nobody selling used centre.. if centre which one is good?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Nov 23 2020, 07:53 AM
ben3003
post Nov 23 2020, 09:44 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 23 2020, 09:21 AM)
It will take some patient and time to look for it especially when you are in east malaysia. Its best to get the center the same series as your front.
Yeah.. tat is the problem. No much audiophile scene here. I only can find svs dealer in Sibu.. at miri the hifi shop, they monopolize miri punya market, my dad last time bought infinity set can cost 7k lol. That’s y i give up see all this at sarawak. 2nd half is even scarce.

How about svs prime series? Seems ok to me also. If not I just have to settle with something else. Now mco also, my company not allow us to travel outside Miri, even personal also cannot unless hometown not in miri. Make things worse lol.
ben3003
post Nov 23 2020, 11:06 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 23 2020, 10:50 AM)
SVS is definitely the safe bet.
ok thanks.. maybe i just go SVS route.. the centre is abit expensive tho but 3way design should sound fuller.
ben3003
post Nov 23 2020, 11:26 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 23 2020, 11:12 AM)
Don't go cheap on center. It is super important.
ok thanks for the info. saw this SVS also quite tall. but not as big as my X-CS so ok la, should sound better with the midrange driver.
ben3003
post Dec 2 2020, 08:09 AM

10,859 posts

guys, worth shipping in used svs prime centre from US? Estimate total cost is around 1300 include shipping tho..
ben3003
post Dec 2 2020, 04:24 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 2 2020, 04:01 PM)
You forgot about tax? It's not that simple.

Better you ask Max for second hand Prime center instead.
ok thanks for all the advice. i check with them. Saw this year got ppl selling but missed out when i was too focused on getting monitor audio bronze new version but macam that version isnt that good.
ben3003
post Dec 2 2020, 06:46 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 2 2020, 06:35 PM)
I was one of those selling it. You didn't mentioned you want, otherwise I'd keep for you.
Yeah sold it beginning of the year when moving into new house. Ultra center is significantly better.
aiks.. too bad missed out. ultra way too out of budget for me. if no choice then have to buy new one. the selling price for used prime centre is like 1400 ish?

Btw guys, not wanna promote download stuff, but technically, i saw some 4k/hdr rips which is half the bitrate of remux, both also using HEVC, are they actually have significant diff? I know remux is exact the same BD file, but the re-encode one seems to be able to save more space.

ben3003
post Dec 2 2020, 07:53 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 2 2020, 07:44 PM)
u buy ori disc got many teaser + extra feature contents maa.
possible re encode guy delete all
But tis new one i saw review said really apa pun tarak.. only the movie lol.. remux also wont have extra cos is mkv already.. just tat ada lagi smaller punya which they did reencoding to make the file size smaller
ben3003
post Dec 3 2020, 10:30 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 3 2020, 08:17 AM)
how about audio part? video is only a fraction of the size.. the audio codec can make significant differences to the size of the file...especially with remux..  they often comes with different audio language for your selection.
i saw those rerip the audio metadata maintain same, so should be ok. Anyway will stick with remux. but yeah we should stop the discussion on rip here lol. Takut kena flag mod.

yesterday ask max, they say no used centre prime unit sad.gif maybe next year only upgrade like tat.. kumpul duit syiling dulu lol.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 3 2020, 10:31 AM
ben3003
post Dec 3 2020, 11:19 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 3 2020, 10:51 AM)
tell him to keep u in the waiting list..  icon_idea.gif your luck might come when ppl decided to upgrade from prime to ultra like our shifu did
yeah.. but i think they will ask me keep an eye on their fb page haha. me ikan bilis saja. at the mean time, maybe should also look for svs prime bookshelf lol...
ben3003
post Dec 3 2020, 02:35 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 3 2020, 11:47 AM)
its ok if i come across then i will let you know.. brows.gif
ok thanks smile.gif meanwhile bought a speaker mount for my puny polk signature s10e for my surround. hard thing is to drill hole and lay cable lol. normally what is the height for surround ya? i look around some is at the side, some say maybe 2feet above listening position? if 2 feet macam wan quite high tho.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 3 2020, 02:36 PM
ben3003
post Dec 24 2020, 07:51 AM

10,859 posts

Hi guys, anyone with buying experience from hifi4sale? How can verify they not scam?

Someone pm me said they got svs prime centre up for sale. And i received some funny pm the other day that they are like from US or UK. This time is from malaysia la

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 24 2020, 07:53 AM
ben3003
post Aug 31 2022, 08:30 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 30 2022, 11:53 PM)
regarding human ear listening power. if mine have no problem to catch little details of asmr. means ear good ?

got such a test valid or not guys
Can go clinic do audiometric test. It can test good ur hearing is.
ben3003
post Mar 22 2024, 05:54 PM

10,859 posts

Seems like my elac sub3010 faulty already.. when do power cycle can see the back blue led lit up then powered down. Cannot detect via app. Gonna try local repair shop see if they can repair else maybe can intro any budget sub?
ben3003
post Mar 22 2024, 06:57 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 22 2024, 06:52 PM)
How much is the price range for budget sub?
i think i can stretch my budget for svs sb-1000 pro, around 3k+, but if there is anything that is smaller and cheaper i am ok also, cos even my elac sub i only put to night mode, don wan get complain by parents lol.
ben3003
post Mar 23 2024, 07:04 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 23 2024, 06:43 AM)
If your budget is 3,000+, can consider Arendal Sound 1961 1V or 1S. Quantum Acoustics is doing 50% discount their retail. This sub is makan the SB1000 or SB2000 easily.

7 band PEQ too.
Ah dang. Im from east msia. 1s seems to be in the right size for my room.. got shopee seller recommend sunfire hrs-12, this ok ka? Seems like very old model. Actually my room is very small probably 4x4m only, so i don really need powerful sub.
ben3003
post Mar 23 2024, 10:39 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 23 2024, 09:14 AM)
My room is about 10.5" x 16.5"... I have 1 big sub... which I'm replacing for 3x 16" soon haha... you will always enjoy good bass!
Living with parents 😂 thats the issue lol. Just need to have some lower oomph haha. Gonna try fix my sub3010 first. Went to electrical shop they say not confirm can fix cos problem is with spare parts lol.

Mostly likely will get sb-1000 pro for my budget and the footprint.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.1149sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:59 PM