5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

Skylinestar
post Aug 10 2020, 04:56 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 04:21 PM)
Thank you very much for the info. Learnt something.
No I don't think yamaha is premium, but I think for their flagship model their ypao should at least be able to do some decent EQ. What I read from most users is that ypao is quite poor, that's what leaves me scratching my head.

Ya I'm leaning towards reference over preference too. But many people including some on this thread keep saying everything is subjective for audio, including cables. It's quite a confusing topic reading so many opinions about this.
most manufacturers (for general HT) are not really into eq. audyssey is not part of denon/marantz. onkyo ditched it years ago. pioneer mcacc was crappy too. frankly speaking, there isn't any good eq from all of them. too bad that audyssey stop developing multEQ and venture into headphones, mini speakers and car audio where there could be more money. the fact that most avr fail to set a proper crossover proofs how lousy the stock eq implementation is. that's why we need to learn a lot from communities like avsforum, get a mic and measure ourselves with REW. eq advancement on general consumer avr is already dead for many years.

u want a decent eq, u gotta step up to the next tier. that's how the market is. minidsp DDRC-88A with dirac became a hit for "budget" upgrade.
Skylinestar
post Aug 10 2020, 09:11 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 07:30 PM)
I'm checking out the minidsp 88, it looks pretty interesting. Would you say that getting this 88A is a better route than buying an overpriced pre-pro?
for me, yes, it's a better route if you just wanna stick to 5.1/7.1 as ddrc88 is limited to 8 channels. it exists in the era before atmos/dtsX. you can have 2 units of ddrc88 but it's more like a band-aid solution currently. too late to join the party.
Skylinestar
post Sep 30 2020, 11:47 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 28 2020, 03:14 PM)
It's not.
It's a soundbar with 2 little satellites. There's nothing home theater about it.

If you want to know the opinion of how good it is, well - other than convenience, there's nothing good about it. It reproduces adequate sound I guess, but nothing close to decent much less to say good.
in malaysia, anything with 5.1 or more channels is home theater tongue.gif
speaking of adequate sound, driver size matters. can't bend physics.
Skylinestar
post Oct 16 2020, 11:43 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Oct 14 2020, 10:32 PM)
My long-term dream/goal for the next few years is to build a home cinema room that is as close as it gets to a real commercial cinema. Budget will be in the six figures of course.

Anyone know of any reputable companies that specializes in this? Again, not talking about a basic home theater room or living room setup.

So far I've found www.hometheater.my - based on his website he seems to know his thing and has his own RM800k home cinema.

Also there is of course CMY and when the time comes I will of course consult with them too (anyone here has experience with consulting CMY for a high-end cinema room?). Just looking to see if anyone here has more suggestions. Thanks guys!
Keep this in mind: Reference or Preference?
Skylinestar
post Nov 29 2020, 07:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 23 2020, 09:44 AM)
Yeah.. tat is the problem. No much audiophile scene here. I only can find svs dealer in Sibu.. at miri the hifi shop, they monopolize miri punya market, my dad last time bought infinity set can cost 7k lol. That’s y i give up see all this at sarawak. 2nd half is even scarce.

How about svs prime series? Seems ok to me also. If not I just have to settle with something else. Now mco also, my company not allow us to travel outside Miri, even personal also cannot unless hometown not in miri. Make things worse lol.
my advice to fellow sarawakians, just buy direct from oversea or local distributor (normally in selangor/kl). our situation is totally different from those in peninsular.
Skylinestar
post Nov 29 2020, 07:24 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 25 2020, 09:48 PM)
Wanna ask sifu here when u play 7.1.2 ht system  where did u put the .2 atmos spk, is it above  parallel to front spk or put at your sitting position above u or others.tq
https://www.dolby.com/about/support/guide/s...r-setup-guides/

Skylinestar
post Nov 29 2020, 07:25 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 29 2020, 12:17 PM)
At what hz u guys set your sub woofer crossover,.tq
it depends on how strong your main speaker is flex.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Nov 29 2020, 07:27 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 25 2020, 09:43 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(scilover @ Dec 22 2020, 03:46 PM)
Whats the best Home Theater system ?
room with zero noise pollution
speaker that can playback with no(minimum) distortion
amp that can drive the speakers with no(minimum) distortion and no coloring
processor that can decode all the AV formats that you need to play
accurate display in a "black hole" room where the only thing you can see is the display itself
clean power supply for everything above
Skylinestar
post Dec 25 2020, 09:45 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(david_jhwong @ Dec 19 2020, 06:47 PM)
Hi everyone, I’m new here and I would like to get your advice on the home theatre system.

I have a Samsung 5.1 DVD player with speakers and subwoofer. Recently the DVD player is damaged and not able to power up anymore. Is there any way to get a device that can connect all my speakers together with HDMI port so that I can connect it to my TV.

Sorry, I’m not really good in this and here is the picture of the back of my DVD player, hope can get some advice on this and hope to get something cheap and make those speakers work again.
your samsung dvd hdmi out > hdmi capable avr > tv and your current speakers
Skylinestar
post Mar 21 2021, 11:12 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Mar 16 2021, 03:19 AM)

Some inspiration. Hope to be able to have something this nice and bespoke one day.

Anyone care to share their favourite setups found online?
always cinemascope and AT screen flex.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 21 2021, 11:13 AM
Skylinestar
post May 29 2021, 09:54 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

Users with network receiver, what are the internet radio stations that are available here? is it (internet radio) easy to use? plan to buy for my old parents.
Skylinestar
post May 29 2021, 11:07 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 29 2021, 10:23 AM)
Which internet radio? VTuner? If VTuner can check the radio station list on their website.
A lot of states specific station, but for me quite limited choices for my favorite and majority quality not so good, 64k AAC or MP3.
all brands use vtuner? i'm planning for yamaha.
vtuner $4 per year. also AiFM not in the list doh.gif it's a big NO.
Skylinestar
post May 29 2021, 05:48 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ May 29 2021, 05:14 PM)
once u listen oversea fm. will not return to msia fm
no. it's for my parents who listen to local radio stations. we have other means for oversea info.
Skylinestar
post Jun 19 2021, 03:46 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

The new Onkyo TX-RZ50 is the first AV receiver that could do 4K 120Hz HDR VRR with the Xbox Series X, the Sony PS5 & NVidia's RTX 30 Series graphics cards

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jun 19 2021, 03:47 PM
Skylinestar
post Aug 4 2021, 05:40 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(GuyB @ Aug 3 2021, 12:12 PM)
Can someone recommend a reasonably priced stand for said speakers? Dealer was trying to sell me stands which cost almost twice the price of the speakers!
i bought this kind of metal stand (1 pair) for approx RM300-400 many years ago. dunno the current market price. very heavy. provision for adding more weight if you think it's not stable enough.
Skylinestar
post Aug 6 2021, 06:17 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(GuyB @ Aug 6 2021, 06:03 PM)
Beginning to find that Onkyo too pricey in Malaysia vs the US.
did you find anything that is not too pricey in malaysia vs the us? tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post Sep 28 2021, 07:07 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(anon118 @ Sep 26 2021, 04:39 PM)
Have always wanted to buy a sound bar. The reason is whenever we watch something, the dialogue is always very soft. So we turn up the volume. But then all the other action sounds are too loud. So now I have recently learned that there can be "soundbar for dialogues".

Any experience Sifu share their experience and thoughts please?

Thank you in advance...
what you are experiencing is common if you watch a movie with 5.1 audio (or any surround audio) on a stereo speaker setup. 5.1 downmixed to 2.0 will create this mess.
Skylinestar
post Dec 20 2021, 09:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

Audyssey MultEQ X User Guide
https://audyssey.com/MultEQ-X%20User%20Guide.pdf

The app:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-my/p/multeq-x/9p0smvdtvhqj

Supported models (Product availability varies by region):

Denon AV Receivers: AVR-X6300H, AVR-X4300H, AVR-X3300W, AVR-X2300W, AVR-X1300W, AVR-S920W, AVR-S720W, AVR-S930H, AVR-S730H, AVR-X1400H, AVR-X2400H, AVR-X3400H, AVR-X4400H, AVR-X6400H, AVR-X8500H, AVR-S740H, AVR-S940H, AVR-X1500H, AVR-X2500H, AVR-X3500H, AVR-X4500H, AVR-X6500H, AVR-X1600H, AVR-X2600H, AVR-X3600H, AVR-S750H, AVR-S950H, AVR-A110, AVR-X6700H, AVR-X4700H, AVR-X3700H, AVR-X2700H, AVR-S960H, AVR-X8500HA, AVR-X1700H, AVR-S760H

Marantz AV Receivers: AV7703, SR7011, SR6011, SR5011, NR1607, NR1608, SR5012, SR6012, SR7012, SR8012, AV7704, AV8805, NR1609, SR5013, SR6013, SR7013, AV7705, NR1710, SR5014, SR6014, SR8015, SR7015, SR6015, SR5015, NR1711, AV7706, AV8805A

icon_idea.gif Important note from the manual:
At launch, the only microphone supported is the Audyssey ACM1h / ACM1hb microphone that is included with the AVR. However, support for existing pro customers is coming soon. Alternative microphones cannot be supported because the measurement system depends on having a signal directly into the AVR mic input.

I thought I can make good use with my UMIK-1 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Dec 20 2021, 09:59 PM
Skylinestar
post Mar 5 2022, 06:27 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(zombie24 @ Feb 23 2022, 04:14 PM)
Any budget soundbar to recommend with my Philips 4k tv. When I watch Netflix I'm getting low dialogue on the ultra box. Music n fx too loud at times.Budget around 200+-.
generally, any 5.1 content that is downmixed to stereo will get low dialogue.
Skylinestar
post Mar 23 2022, 12:31 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

any shop recommendations for acoustic treatment panels?

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1349sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:53 AM