18 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

SSJBen
post Jun 12 2020, 07:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jun 2 2020, 08:56 PM)
Wonder you guys using 1 or 2 set of front speakers, 1 for hifi n 1 for HT  or 1 set for both usage.tq
I'm using 2 sets.

My pair of Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers moved to the bedroom for music only listening. My theatre room now fully equipped with SVS ultra and prime speakers.
SSJBen
post Jun 18 2020, 11:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Q Acoustics make decent speakers all around. But which model are you specifically talking about? Significant differences between the entry level 3000 series and the Concept series.
SSJBen
post Jun 19 2020, 11:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Jun 19 2020, 11:07 PM)
Hi guys i got the quotation as below,

1. Yamaha RX-V587 7.2H 2  (2.3k)
2.Q Aco Q2010 Bookshelf Speaker (790)
3.Q Aco Q2000I Center Speaker (890)
4.Q Aco Ceiling  Atmos Speaker 2 pair (3k)
5. Storm active 10"Sub (1.2k)
6. Installation, Wiring & Cabling (1.5k)

total RM 9,680

I don't want floorstanding speakers because my TV drawers is full length attached cabinet to the wall. I don't put floorstanding speakers on the TV drawers too tall.

Is there any particular speaker above i need to replace or some that no need to spend that much?
Or some spend few hundreds bucks to upgrade a better performance like 3030i bookshelf speakers?
Jeez the in-ceiling speakers cost more than your front LCR combined. The shop trying to gasak you or what? shakehead.gif

Spend more on your front LCR, that's 10x more important than Atmos. 95% of the sound comes from the front and sub.
SSJBen
post Jun 20 2020, 12:10 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Jun 19 2020, 11:22 PM)
bro, 2pairs.
Which means total 4 pcs.
Now i thinking 2pcs on ceiling then the 2010 speaker hang on wall behind, 3030I put front.
Like this okay?
Yes, I know it's 2 pairs that's why I said it's overpriced. They're just effects speakers, don't have to spend so much money on them. You could just use some Klipsch CS18C which are 8 inch drivers, they only cost RM500 a piece or if you want to go even cheaper and not lose anything really, a pair of Yamaha IC800 are only RM1k.

Best you follow the Dolby diagram if you aren't sure how to place your speakers - https://www.dolby.com/about/support/guide/s...r-setup-guides/

Also, I don't understand what's the point of that little 10" sub. It's basically a fart box and it's pretty eye opening they charge you RM1.2k for it when you could find it for about RM800 on lazada.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jun 20 2020, 12:12 AM
SSJBen
post Jun 22 2020, 11:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 22 2020, 04:25 PM)
Dear sifus, I just added a pair of dolby atmos upfiring speakers (Dali Alteco C1) to my home theater setup with a Marantz SR5011 AV receiver. The immediate thing that I noticed was that I needed to turn up the volume much higher than before and the overall sound quality feels a bit diminished compared to previously. I think this is because the Marantz Receiver is having to provide amplification for 7 channels now and is struggling to do this.
I am thinking of adding a power amp into the mix and since power amps are sort of future proof compared to AVRs, I can also retain it when I upgrade my AVR down the road. Will this improve the "loudness" or am I wrong in thinking about a power amplifier?

If I should be getting a power amp, my question is what should I be looking for? 2 channels or 5 channels? Any suggestions on brands/models to look for? I plan to keep it under RM3k or even lower if possible. Would Pro Power Amps like Behringer or Crown make sense since these seem to be cheaper and offer a lot of power? I primarily use the system for movies and tv shows 90% and 10% music listening. Appreciate if I can get some pointers on what to look for. Thanks for reading guys.
What are your other speakers and how big is your room?
SSJBen
post Jun 23 2020, 04:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 23 2020, 12:19 PM)
Fronts are Tannoy Mercury V4 floorstanders (90db efficiency) with Mercury VCi centre and VRi surrounds. Its in the living room which is about 500sq ft with 11 feet high ceiling. But its an open area to the dining and kitchen without any walls in between which is another 700sq ft. I only need to cover the living area.
Unfortunately, you have to also cover your dining and kitchen area because sound travels as far until it hits the next boundary and then reflects back. So since there are no walls between your kitchen, dining and living area, the next wall is basically the back of the house - assuming nothing is behind your kitchen after that.

Returning to your question, the most important speaker to amplify in a multi channel setup is the Center channel, followed by the Left and Right mains. Preferably, you'd want at least a 3 channel amp. A good one that doesn't break the bank is the Emotiva XPA 3 Gen3. If you have deeper pockets, then there's a whole slew of multi channel amps that you can choose from like Parasound, Rotel, McIntosh, and so on.

You can use pro amps from Crown too, but as far as I'm concern - it's not optimal. Reason being pro amps usually have a very high input voltage, most receivers only has 2v out from their pre-outs and even then they start clipping at around 1.5v. So buying pro amps and not being to utilize the full range of its power is kind of like a waste of money (although they are much cheaper than mainstream amps). Furthermore, pro amps usually use XLR as their inputs and your 5011 doesn't have that. You could use a converter but that means you're driving up noise level even higher.
SSJBen
post Jun 23 2020, 10:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 23 2020, 07:42 PM)
Thanks a lot for your input bro. It's a bummer that due to my house setup I need more power to drive my speakers. Will gypsum partitions help somewhat here? I have been planning to put up a partition between my living and dining area but never had the urgency to get it done before. May start to look at it more seriously now if it can help with my power issue.

I searched for the Emotiva XPA 3 Gen3 and its around RM7.5k, very much above my budget. I found the BasX A-500 with 5 channels for RM2,999 at MaxxHT website, is this an acceptable power amp?
Also, based on what you're saying, if I get a power amp, I should always use it for the centre channel first and then the fronts. Meaning I shouldn't be looking at the 2 channel amps at all?
You can build partitions using gypsum boards yes, but it'll have to be several layers. In between the layers there should be some form of insulation, like rockwool or mass loaded vinyl. If you're just standing a single piece of gypsum, it doesn't do anything and you're just creating an extra point of reflection for nothing.

I converted a bedroom in my house into a dedicated HT room using a method similar to this for the partition walls -

As for the amp question, no what I meant is that if you're going to get an external amp that would last you forever - you should get an amp that covers at least 3 channels. At least, that's my opinion because the bulk of the audio track goes to the fronts and subs.

The A500 is an okay amp, but nothing exceptional about it. I have it and I'm using it for my Atmos channels, which is more than good enough. But for mains - nothing spectacular. Would still be an upgrade over your 5011 though.
You can use this calculator to get a rough estimation of the power you need - https://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

QUOTE(ave666 @ Jun 23 2020, 09:25 PM)
Pasang langsir tebal across hall takleh ke bang
Langsir berape tebal? Got such thing as 10 inch thick langsir ke? Bass standing wave is 65ft long.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jun 23 2020, 10:54 PM
SSJBen
post Jul 1 2020, 05:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jul 1 2020, 04:17 PM)
sure you can smile.gif any comments are much appreciated

room size is pretty much fixed. and actually the room has a small 1.2m x 1.2m space area...(to the washroom, which i have divided it with a thick curtain, see attached photo)

would like to get some ideas how to reduce/minimize standing wave, echo, etc (eg panels, acoustic foams, etc) or any different arrangement ideas?
Unfortunately, no amount of panels or different arrangement is going to deal with standing waves in a square room. The standing waves in a square room is doubled vs a rectangular room, so there's no way any kind of bass trapping will help - not even if they are 20 inch thick. More over, your room is really small so boundary gain is amplified even more.

One method which would not be as feasible (and I do not recommend either) is to construct a "fake" wall on your side walls with gypsum, insulated with rockwool or mass loaded vinly. 1 ft thick for the left and right would narrow down your room, effectively making it more like a rectangle. But then your width would be left to 7ft and I think that is quite narrow as your sides of your sofa may be very close to the walls.

However, here is what I'd suggest -

The more plausible method and what you CAN do however is employ multi subs - it will not fix all the problems but it'll be much better than simply bass trapping. There will be work to do of course, lots of measurements with REW and tinkering with EQ in order to get the best balance. Square rooms is a difficult challenge but it's not impossible to get good bass out of it.

Dual subs is probably the max you fit in here (well I'd say you could put in another behind your seat), generally a great location in a square room is in the middle point of the sidewalls.

You'll also not want to push your couch up close to the back wall otherwise you're going to have another different problem to deal with - reflections created from SBIR, speaker boundary interference response.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 1 2020, 05:11 PM
SSJBen
post Jul 1 2020, 06:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jul 1 2020, 06:07 PM)
thanks for your suggestion. dual subs are certainly possible.

just wondering if its a better option to move my stuff to this small HT room or maintain my current setup in the living room area (which is sooo wide open with glass doors, stairs, kitchen area, etc, typical living area in a landed house, now i can feel the bass is traveling all the way to the kitchen area,...shaking plaster ceilings with rattling sound and kitchenwares  biggrin.gif

ultimately, just wish to have a better overall movie experience (and surround sound)
Bass will still travel throughout your house regardless of where you place them. The length of a wave length for 20hz is 17m long, so you do the math how long your house is? And remember, bass is omni directional so it's not just 17m from one angle. biggrin.gif

I can't tell how much better if moving your living room setup to a dedicated bedroom will be. I don't know how your living room looks like. In my opinion and experience, the bigger the space - the better the sound but only if the bigger space has symmetry.
SSJBen
post Jul 4 2020, 02:34 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(highbury1913 @ Jul 4 2020, 12:21 AM)
Hi all,

Need help deciding on a tv and soundbar.

TV requirements:
- 75 inch
- HDMI 2.1
- Budget about 7k'ish

Soundbar requirements:
- eARC
- Budget about 2-3k
Your TV requirement doesn't exist and is unrealistic. There are no 75 inch TV that has HDMI 2.1 that costs RM7k+.

LG OLED C9 77" has HDMI 2.1, but it's about RM30k+/- depending on where you get it from.

There is also a Sony X90h 75" that will have HDMI 2.1 input but it hasn't release yet. I guarantee you it'll be at least RM15k.
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2020, 04:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 7 2020, 03:50 PM)
I don't mind to invest in a good cable that last me 10 years. What I mind is investing in a cable that cost 100x more than a no name one that does the same thing and has zero difference at all. Basically I don't want to pay for thier marketing bullshit. That's right, I could spend less on cable and use the spare change to buy better speakers. That to me logic say will be a much bigger difference.

I read those 2 in 1 (is it call dipole?) speaker not so good for Atmos setup? At least according to one experienced forummer here ssjben? Apparently better to use those single bookshelf?

The avr part... I stumble across the site audioscience review, apparently they review the latest 8k AVR from Denon liao. But according to this for example: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/in...r-review.14902/
The pre out performance they say is mediocre only and this is from one of Denon higher end model.... it makes me not want to get an AVR. That's why I leaning towards Yamaha CX5200 pre pro.

Subwoofer I heard svs and rythmik is good?
QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 7 2020, 06:03 PM)
What is the highest grade of copper then?
When it comes to cables, you look at science. Not flowery language and certainly not take advice from a very specific moron on this thread since all he says is "if you don't try, you don't know". Yeah, please go and touch fire so you know it's hot please. I won't name who this person is, he's well aware of who I'm talking about. wink.gif

The most important criteria in cable performance goes from resistance > insertion loss > damping factor.

The higher the gauge, the lower the resistance but the longer the cable, the higher the insertion loss as such damping factor goes up. What you need to choose is a cable of a sufficient gauge for the length you are planning to run.

Monopoles are preferred for an Atmos setup because it's object based audio. Don't be mistaken that dipoles/bipoles (you want bipoles actually) don't work, they do and they get the job done. But there are mixes in certain soundtracks where objects are supposed to be pin pointed at your side (or rear), if you use a bipole that info becomes diffused and smeared depending on the surroundings of your room. Not that monopoles aren't subject to this flaw either since there are many monopoles that has poor speaker directivity too, but generally speaking monopoles are preferred.

One thing to take note about the the 2020 Denon AVRs is that as far as pre-out goes, as long as you choose an external amp which has a gain factor of >29db and input sensitivity of 1.2v, you're very unlikely to run into issues. What ASR has shown is that there is a flaw in the Denon AVRs, but this flaw is only exhibited in rather extreme cases.

As for subs, SVS and Rythmik are great companies that makes great subs. However you're in Malaysia and therefore, SVS holds the best performance-to-price ratio on their subs. Definitely check them out, contact MaxxHT or Chong (Actcessory Shoppe) for SVS products.
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2020, 11:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(invest2229 @ Aug 9 2020, 04:40 PM)
Hi All,

I'm about knowing what is the issue. My Yamaha Amp is good for movie and music as well but playing from Bluetooth or USB drive with MP3 file. I'm still not able to figure out what wrong when playing audio CD from my BlueRay player where don't feel the umph but is good when play BlueRay movie.

Thanks the sifu here have valuable inputs and suggestions. Appreciate it.
You comparing the same audio track on both formats or not? Have to understand that there are different mixes between both formats.

I give you an example; The Greatest Showman OST on CD 44.1khz 16bit PCM 2.0 vs The Greatest Showman on BluRay Dolby Atmos.

I will tell you the bass on the Atmos version is much more significant, this is normal because the mastering is entirely different to how it is done on the stereo PCM 2.0 track.
SSJBen
post Aug 12 2020, 10:33 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 07:30 PM)
I'm checking out the minidsp 88, it looks pretty interesting. Would you say that getting this 88A is a better route than buying an overpriced pre-pro?
The picture to me makes no sense at all. Why would a piece of plastic tube change how resistance in a cable work? The picture shows it's just shifting the copper cores to the edge, why would that... change the sound? Mind explaining the science? Maybe I'm too stupid to understand the picture.

1. I don't know if my ears can tell the difference because I have not even tried any cables yet. But I can't just go spend 10k on a variety of cables then choose which is best right?
2. Don't know, that's why I'm choosing the equipments to go with it now. But why does cable matching to speakers matter in the first place??
3. Right now I believe they are just bullshitting their product (like this audioquest or monster for example), but then there are so many people that swear by it and it makes a difference.
If no name cable is good enough, then that's good. Save me few thousand which I put in to speakers.
I think you're getting too overwhelmed with everything. HT is a journey, you're not going to get it all right from the beginning. You also shouldn't spend all your money on the very best either, it's better to start from low and work your way up. That way you get to learn and appreciate audio.

As long as you don't get suckered into snake oil like a certain member here, you're fine.

For now, get your basis and foundation right first.
Good cables to all your sockets in the room, make sure it's appropriately gauged, use the right MCB, plan out your room for your seats and ask some acoustic treatment companies for help to place room treatment.
SSJBen
post Aug 18 2020, 12:48 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 17 2020, 04:08 PM)
Thankd very much for the pointers. I have already ask my electrician to pull as many outlet as possible since that what you guys advice. Also ask him to use minimum 4mm wires, is that right?

Over the weekend I went to few places to audition some speakers and setups. So far I do like KEF Q series speakers and seem to be in my budget. Any opinion on them?
Other speaker I try are Q acoustics 3000 series (I think that's the name?) and some Tannoy speakers, forgot what they are called. Have not went and audition svs sub yet.

About snake oil, I don't know. I'm still so new to this and I cannot tell what is snake oil and what isn't. I went to one shop, the sales there told me in all his years most of his customers are very happy after making an upgrade on their power cable and power socket. He said something like the power socket, the plug used and the cable is all the blood line of audio. As long as I get that right, any speaker I use would sound its best. It's like no bottlenecking the speaker or something, at least that is what I understood from him.
Yes 4mm is fine, the important thing is that you tell the electrician to at least use pure copper and not the cheap shit like CCA.
Which KEF Q did you listen to? The older Q or the recent Qx50 series? I think they're alright speakers though. But always keep in mind that how speakers sound in a demo room could often sound different in your room due to room acoustics.

As for this:

the sales there told me in all his years most of his customers are very happy after making an upgrade on their power cable and power socket

Well, there you go. Told you there's a lot of dishonesty in this industry and it's not surprising that you even got an advice like that. There is no fault in buying expensive cables if all you are into is how they look, they're jewelry just like watches. A RM200 watch isn't going to tell time any better than a RM20k watch. But if you're buying cables solely based on "improving sound", then my opinion is that you're going to end up looking like an idiot IMO.

Don't even bother with any fancy cables for now even if you're into the looks of it. You're off to a good start, so continue along.
SSJBen
post Aug 18 2020, 11:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 18 2020, 03:45 PM)
Wow! That's a bit harsh but opened a can of worm for me. But I think I agree with your analogy of the watches, didn't think about it that way.

I will tell electrician to use pure copper. Will check before he pull the wires.

The KEF I listened to are the Q550 tower I believe, they also have the matching center. Not sure what the model number is for that one. I quite like it, sound like the soundstage sweet spot is very wide. Allows me to sit anywhere on the sofa but dialog still sound like from the middle of the screen. I really like that.

Do you have any other recommendation? I will try and audition as much as possible before deciding. The room acoustic thing is also something that is making me confuse and nervous. Keep thinking what if I buy good speaker then sound bad in my room? Would that not be money wasted?  sweat.gif
Which KEF model you use?

When you keep say use proper electric, does that mean have to spend thousands for those power cable? You say one thing, then ssjben say another. I dont know who to listen to?  rclxub.gif
Ouch!! That is a very harsh video to watch but he make a lot of sense. So it mean cable is not as important as people think after all?
I don't like to beat around the bush. I tell you like it is. Harsh? Well, no offense but grow a pair please.

Yeah, KEF uses their own design of coaxial drivers. The design of coax drivers allows for wide speaker off-axis response, which is what translates to a "wide sweet spot" as you heard. The downside is that the treble response can be a little too bright for some people, but you seem to enjoy that kind of sound so looks like it's a boon to you.

You may check out the Wharfedale Evo series of speakers. Been really impressed with these speakers recently, really enjoy listening to them. Pretty well priced too, not much more expensive than a full set of Qx50 KEFs.
For now, get your room done with the basics first as was already mentioned. Choose your sofa(s), choose your wall color and any theme you'd like to go with in your room, get the lights done. The room acoustics part, well without a picture of your room, it is very difficult to say where to put what and how you should sit or orient your setup. I don't even know the size of your room.

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 18 2020, 08:10 PM)
So do you think I should replace the power cable right away if I buy a new pre pro and external amp now? Mean don't use the stock cable they give? I just want to get the power right first so I dont have to keep thinking about it when watching movie or listening to music. I will have anxiety attack.

Oh R11. That is high end model of KEF right?
Ya I know it is a choice to use expensive cable or not. But I'm in a dillema now because either I put more money into better speaker or set aside some to upgrade the stock cables from day 1. I just don't want to be watching or listening to stuff not knowing that I'm "bottlenecking" my system because of power.
When someone says something as absurd as this:

those cables as this will alter the sound, good or bad that will know listening to it.
It should tell you to stop listening to the guy. Power cables will change the sound? Yeah uh huh. Sure. Pigs will also grow wings one day, it's just not their time for evolution yet. rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 20 2020, 03:08 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 19 2020, 03:35 PM)

Yikes sorry sifu. Point taken! Understand what you mean by power cable cannot change the sound, that makes sense. notworthy.gif

I see, so thats what it mean by coaxial driver. Ok ok I understand more now. The KEF didn't sound very bright to me, I think is just nice for my listening taste. Maybe I like bright speaker? hmm.gif
I will check out the Wharfedale Evo you mention, from online reviews seem quite promising and the design of the speaker looks nice too.

My room dimension is 15ft long, 12ft wide. Ceiling height I think is 9ft if not mistaken. I try find if got any pictures to show or not later.
You may want to try Klipsch speakers too then.

Your room is on the small side, so placement of your sub is going to be critical. Will definitely need some heavy bass traps as well, pretty sure you're going to run into pretty significant room modes.

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Aug 19 2020, 05:45 PM)
Ben,

Which model of the Wharfedale Evos did you try and where?
I am very interested to try the Evo 4.2 and 4.4 after seeing some good reviews but I think only Style Laser carries Wharfedales now and they didn't have it for audition when I went there.
Actually I have a pair of Wharfedale Evo 4.2s. Bought it for my wife, put it in the bedroom as she wanted some good speakers for her music.

Yeah I bought my pair from Style Laser on discount few months ago during MCO.
SSJBen
post Aug 20 2020, 03:02 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Aug 20 2020, 11:16 AM)
I see, I suppose then you bought it without listening to it first.
Guess I will do the same as it always seems to be out of stock (for the 4.2) and no demo unit, so have to preorder and hope I like it. Will go for the 4.2s as well. Thanks for your feedback.
I mean, I'm usually not a fan of demo'ing speakers in a showroom because it's practically pointless as the showroom is always going to be different to my room. The truth is, we hear more of our room than the speakers so yeah... IMO, it's sorta pointless to demo speakers in a public space.

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 19 2020, 05:19 PM)
You using 3000 series? Any thoughts on sb-4000 and pb-4000? PB-4000 looks like a giant.
The SB4000 and PB4000 are just rebranded 13 Ultra series, with support for the SVS app. The 13 Ultra series has been legendary for good reasons, so read up on them and you'll get the idea of how the 4000 series are like.

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 20 2020, 11:28 AM)
100% for movies, but I see the PB-4000 is crazy big, deeper than my TV console and it's space behind. It will stand out, doesn't blend in aesthetically. But like you mentioned, the bass. Decisions, decisions.
I think it's better you go for dual PB3000s instead. It's not that far behind a PB4000 really.
SSJBen
post Aug 20 2020, 08:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 20 2020, 07:02 PM)
Thanks guys for the suggestions and insights. Getting dual sbs means getting a Minidsp and tuning, calibration for proper integration? That looks difficult for a noob.
However noob you are, I'm pretty sure you can still follow simple steps right?

Just follow this video -

SSJBen
post Aug 22 2020, 10:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 21 2020, 07:08 PM)
Oh so small room mean must use bass trap? Why? And what is room mode?
I think I prefer to DIY most of the system myself. At least get to learn something along the way, eventhough is very confusing. Sometime I think just get high end soundbar enough edi...  sweat.gif
In my experience, more often than not - small rooms do require some form of bass trapping, either via conventional methods of large bass traps or use of multiple subs, placed properly.

You do have to measure the room first to see what is wrong though before committing to room treatment.
SSJBen
post Aug 22 2020, 10:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

- Delete Double Post -

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 22 2020, 10:58 PM

18 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.1539sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:27 AM