Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

SSJBen
post Nov 1 2022, 02:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Oct 31 2022, 07:08 PM)
V385 got dolby Atmos support?
V385 is only a 5.1 channel receiver, it does not have support for Atmos.
SSJBen
post Nov 7 2022, 08:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 6 2022, 07:16 PM)
Plex still need to download the mkv and setup your server.  Too troublesome. 

With CE there is no more download.  Stream everything direct.  Like I said I can stream 100gb files easily.  All you need is Real Debrid account. Real Debrid cost RM70 for 6 months and that work out to RM12 per month. I share with 2 other users and that's RM4 per month. 

There is no need to update the app at all.  It can auto update.  Works like a charm.  I don't see anything can beat CE at the moment.  No need expensive Nvidia shield.  With a RM200 android tv box running CE can beat anything out there in terms of performance and convenience.  It's the best kept secret! OPPS....I just exposed the secret.

If you are a Kodi user and not willing to shell out a few ringgit  per mont for Real Debrid , then you are missing out on the best.
I tried CoreElec a long time ago, it is indeed very good. Extremely convenient and I think it's almost as user friendly as Plex (as long as the skin is easy on the eyes for non-tech savvy people).

The only flaw and really is the only flaw which haven't made me jump ship is support for Dolby Vision passthrough, unless they have changed that recently so correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 7 2022, 08:02 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2022, 12:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 8 2022, 08:14 AM)
Yes, you're right. There is no DV support yet.  Don't think CE will ever see DV support due to licensing so I have to live with other HDR format.
Doubt it's a licensing thing when Plex and Kodi supports them just fine. HDR10 is still fine for the most part, but more and more movies especially in the last 2 years are being released for home with DV and it just looks significantly better.

Also another thing I forgot that CE cannot do is passthrough Auro3D, so that's another no go for me.
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2022, 04:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 8 2022, 04:03 PM)
Technically Coreelec IS Kodi but a leaner form. why is it different?
so u are using plex and kodi now?
You're right, CE is technically Kodi in Linux variant. But for whatever reason, I'm unsure why it hasn't ported DV passthrough from the Windows/Android builds over. I scoured the CE forum and can't seem to find a direct answer, do you know why?

Yeah I'm just using Plex now for the most part. Sometimes I would go back to my HTPC for lower quality content (720p or under) to utilize madvr's STILL industry leading upscaling ability.
SSJBen
post Nov 9 2022, 12:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 9 2022, 08:59 AM)
I decommissioned my Kodi/libreelec long ago. didnt want to keep updating or tinkering with it. easier with netflix and plex. but thats just my opinion. no offense to those still using kodi.
i still think kodi/CE/LE is great if u have the time for it.
Well Plex is technically Kodi too... So, yeah.

In any case, if no DV then no switch for me.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2022, 03:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 11 2022, 07:56 AM)
Can plex support DV and passthrough of all the HD audio?
Plex has no issues with DV and bitstreaming all lossless HD audio, they've been supporting it for years.

It's the client that is important. Nvidia Shield Pro for example supports DV layer 5 and 8. But OTOH Apple TV4k although can theoretically support DV, due to Apple's ecosystem is not allowing users (unless you jailbreak of course) to playback local content, it's as good as no support anyways.

Other high-end Chinese android players like Zidoo Z1000Pro also has DV support locally and through Plex.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2022, 10:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 11 2022, 09:36 PM)
Zidoo able to run Plex?  hmm.gif
Yes but only for local playback, no streaming over local network.

http://forum.zidoo.tv/index.php?threads/pl...EF%BC%89.94140/
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2022, 11:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 11 2022, 11:02 PM)
Most smart tv nowadays got built in Plex app. Just use it. If your tv support dv then it shouldn't be an issue
Smart TVs sucks lol. You can take a look at the Plex forums, more than half the threads on issues are from people using it on a Smart TV. They're just way too slow, prone to crashes, and unstable connection.

Not to mention there are other issues like ARC and eARC not always working the way they should, many TVs also don't passthrough all the audio formats.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 11 2022, 11:29 PM)
Unfortunately TV can't passthrough TrueHD... so looking for better than Shield (if there is one...)
Currently Shield is still the best as a Plex client.
SSJBen
post Nov 12 2022, 10:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 12 2022, 09:08 AM)
if u want solely for media playback then get nvidia shield. if u a want to game and plex then get xbox series s/x.
personally for the price of the shield i would go with xbox series s
That's subjective. If I'm gonna game (which I do), I already have a top-end HTPC for that. Series S is a joke, despite it being at a good price point.

Currently waiting for MadENVY to be available on mainstream market. Once that's out, I'll stop using the Shield.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 12 2022, 11:26 AM)
I'm using Plex client on 65A80J for a year now, so far so good. No crashes, Wi-Fi was rather consistent too handling the high bit rate files.
Currently holding off Shield 2019, was hoping for a Shield 2022 or 2023 but seems no news so far. Likely some new chip is upcoming perhaps.
I'm with the PS5 camp gaming wise laugh.gif
On my LG C9, Plex crashes often. Worse still, it is a coin toss if DV gets passthrough properly or not. Sometimes it'll just fallback to HDR10, gotta restart the movie until DV kicks in (and at the same time hoping the app doesn't crash).

Have a few other TVs around like a Sony X930e, it's running on Android so the native Android Plex client works but it's stupendously slow. Fast forward, wait 10 seconds before starts playing again, when it starts the audio is out of sync for another few more seconds.

You won't see another Shield until there is another Nintendo Switch. Nothing to do with chip shortages, it's just Nintendo being a bitch.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 12 2022, 10:38 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 21 2022, 03:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Nov 18 2022, 06:15 PM)
Anyone tried definitive technology before? How is it compared go other brand likd wharfedald/klipsch? Thank you.
You can't compare brands like that. You gotta specify which model to which model in comparison, as most don't share the same design philosophy much less to say the same materials.

Def Tech BP90xx series are nice speakers, similar to Golden Ear Triton speakers but the former is at a somewhat lower price point. But the DefTech BP speakers are a hybrid of active and passive speakers design, it's very different to what you get from the more traditional passive speakers you see from Wharfedale and Klipsch.

You can't do a 1:1 comparison of them like that, because at the end of the day it still depends how good your room is and how your taste in speakers are.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 21 2022, 08:13 AM)
Not my taste though, during Gelombang there was a room using Klipsch... the highs were ringing in my ears  sweat.gif
The old RF series were bright and harsh, exaggerated by rooms that has next to no treatment (which is basically majority of rooms). The current RP series is no longer "bright and harsh", unless... the room is untreated and the speakers are placed poorly; which has been the case in E-V-E-R-Y Klipsch demo room in this country today.

The only exception being MaxxHT when used to have the Klipsch THX series in his demo room years ago.
SSJBen
post Jan 4 2023, 04:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Jan 3 2023, 07:18 PM)
I just orderd the 65A80K (very similar to your J). Connections as below:

Connect PS5 to HDMI4
Connect Dolby Atmos soundbar which has an HDMI version 2.1 eARC port on the soundbar  to HDMI3
Connect 2 ‘normal’ satellite boxes to HDMI 1&2.

Question:

1. Can i watch a blue ray movie on the PS5 and passthrough Dolby Atmos TrueHD to my soundbar?
2. If i purchase a second console, say an Xbox, can i connect this console, to the HDMI 2.1 input port on the soundbar? As we know, there are only 2 HDMI ports on this TV that supports HDMI 2.1 and HDMI4 has been used for the PS5.
3. Will watching Netflix using the Tv’s app pass through Atmos DD+ audio to the sound bar?
4. Say, If i am wacthing a program on the satellie box on HDMI1 and assume the XBox is turned on with a game running, will the audio from the XBox interfere with the audio from the satellite box?
I have not purchased an Atmos soundbar with HDMI2.1 port yet.

I still have an old 5.1 channel sound bar which i plan to connect using the optical cable for the time being.

I am not that experienced in ARC as I have never used it before. But now I have to use ARC to enjoy Atmos and i do not want that HDMI3 port to go to waste if i have another gaming console (which i know i don’t intend or will never get but just for the knowledge)
1) Yes, but make sure to set Sound Settings > Digital Output > Pass-Through when watching a BD movie on the PS5.
2) Yes, BUT there is a caveat. If your soundbar doesn't conform to the 40gbps bandwidth the Series X outputs, you will have to sacrifice for a lower bit depth and chroma setting.
3) If eARC is active, yes.
4) No it shouldn't.

I am unsure what soundbars have a proper HDMI 2.1a implementation, do your research. Unfortunately the mess that HDMI 2.1 created means that there are repeater devices (soundbar, AVR, pre-pros) that are equipped with anything from 24gbps, 32gbps, 40gbps and the full 48gbps bandwidth limitation. The PS5's HDMI 2.1 chipset is only 32gbps capable, where as the Series X is 40gbps. It's very important that you match everything in the chain so that everything is as compatible as they can be.
SSJBen
post Jan 4 2023, 06:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Jan 4 2023, 05:31 PM)
Thanks for the response.

There is 100% certainty that I will not get an Xbox. It is just more of future proofing and to make me feel better..haha (Sony is stingy they give only 2 ports vs the LG C2 which has 4 HDMI ports supporting 120Hz). Say one day there is a new gadget which supports 120Hz I know that I can just hook it up to the soundbar as a workaround, also taking note the caveat you mentioned.
I have a budget of around RM5.5K and I thought of the following components for a Home Theatre.:

Sony HT-A5000 soundbar - I believe this one has HDMI 2.1 and eARC.
Sony SA-RS3S wireless rear speakers
Sony SA-SW3 subwoofer

Prefer to go the soundbar route / setup as I do not want wires running from the front of the living to the back if I opt to use a  AV receiver (and also due to budget constraints)

Happy to explore using an AV receiver and separate speakers if I can get one for this price. It has to be wireless (for the back and support Atmos), let me know if you know any.
I won't tell you what to get because previously when I did for many other forumers, there are people who gets overly butthurt about it.

I will only tell you my opinion about your proposed setup and you can decide if you think that's the route you want to pursue.

Personally, I never liked soundbars and I continue to not like them because they are simply a compromise on the fundamentals of good audio. The HTA5000 sure on its own in relevance to TV speakers, it is a huge step up but it's like comparing a high school bully who thinks he's hot shit but when thrown into the real world is still just a kid.
Point is, if you have RM5.5k as your budget, why do you want to do Atmos or surround sound? You could get a pair of good bookshelves and settle for stereo until you have more funds to upgrade the system IMO.

The "up firing" drivers in the A5000 means you'll be relying on reflected sound for height audio. Unfortunately this barely works even in a perfect room designed for reflected sound reproduction. The way I see it, Atmos is not a usable feature on the A5000, you're basically buying a very expensive yet compromised 3 channel driver setup in a slim box.

But if the allure of having a system that is theoretically (not practically) capable of doing Atmos is too much of a sweet pot for you to ignore, then at the very least I hope you can place the soundbar and wireless speakers well enough. With the sub being wireless, you also have more freedom in properly placing the sub in your room to have the best bass response (and yes, sub placement is a very critical yet often ignored topic).
SSJBen
post Jan 9 2023, 12:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Jan 5 2023, 10:46 PM)
Someone from an oveseas forum recomended the following budget HT setup. I did  some research on the AVR-S760H and it seems quite feature rich and capable low budget receiver. It is also available in Malaysia.

However I couldn’t find the Neumi, Micca and Monoprice speaker models being sold here. Would you be able to recommend some alternative budget friendly models which i may purchase in Malaysia with decent sound for a 5.1.2 setup?

Also, is there anyone you know who can help install these speakers and do the wiring in PJ?
Receiver: Denon AVR-S760H

Center: NEUMI CS5

Front L/R: NEUMI BS5

Rear L/R: Micca MB42X

Subwoofer: Monoprice 9723

Overhead ceiling speakers - any recommendation?
I'm still unsure why you die die want to get a 5.1.2 system as your first setup. Is your room even appropriate to place the speakers properly in the first place? Understand that speaker placement is VITAL to a good Atmos experience. If you can't place the speakers right, you might as well not have them.

More importantly, the most important speaker to buy in a surround system is the front 3 LCR speakers, BY FAR. Highly suggest to spend the majority your budget there, instead of anywhere else. In fact like I've told you from the beginning, spend the money on the the L and R speakers first. Everything else can come later.

A lot of budget friendly speakers in the market now. Q Acoustics, Mission, ELAC, Polk, and Wharfedale to name a few.
SSJBen
post Jun 28 2023, 03:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Aaronnnnnn @ Jun 28 2023, 02:32 PM)
is it possible to setup 2.1 system with active speakers without adding any receiver or amp?
The entire definition of "active" speakers means you don't need an external amp. Please read up what active speakers actually are.

As for an input source so that your speakers can actually play the audio, you need at least a DAC - preferably with an optical input at the very least.
SSJBen
post Aug 3 2023, 04:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kskoay82 @ Jul 26 2023, 08:25 AM)
Hi all, anyone using Yamaha RX-A6A? can share your experience? so far any issue with 4k 120hz? Im currently using Yamaha RX-A1080, not sure if worth it for the upgrade or should i wait for next generation?

Also wonder how is the performance if compare A6A with Denon 4800....

thank you smile.gif
Been using A6A for the last 9 months, bought it after it got the firmware to enable 4k 120hz.

There were plenty of drop out issues initially when I connected to my PC which has a RTX 3080. Turned out the issue was the ugreen HDMI cable. Changed it to RuiPro and it's been rock solid ever since.

PC games been running fine at 4k120 HDR and VRR enabled (played RE4 Remake on the PC few months ago, was amazing) as long as everything is set to fit within the 40gbps input limit the A6A has. This means no 12-bit color bit depth, max is only 10-bit @ 4:4:4 HDR. Not too big of an issue since my OLED is only a 10-bit panel anyways and 12-bit being downscaled doesn't really improve contouring issues that much either.

PS5 has no issues either, since the max HDMI 2.1 bandwidth from the PS5 is only 32gbps. PS5 forces games to be in 12-bit 4:2:2 HDR (or 8-bit 4:4:4 if you force enable PC mode on your display) so it's well within the bandwidth limitation of the A6A.

In terms of A6A vs 4800H, you gotta pick your poison. The main difference is really just DIRAC vs YPAO, and it's no secret that DIRAC is simply in another league vs YPAO. It simply is a much more sophisticated room EQ, much more advanced. That said it is extra cost as a DIRAC license has to be purchased on top of the receiver.
If you're a tinkerer who knows how to take your own measurements and have external tools (like a minidsp), then getting good bass from your subs and integrating the rest of your speakers is still possible due to YPAO allowing full customizability of the PEQ bands for each channel. I do however like the abilities of the 4800H being able to completely disable the internal amps when connecting an external amp. The 4 independent sub-out channels which allows grouping of zones is also very nice.

Considering the A6A and 4800H (the latter much more expensive if you add in the DIRAC license) is very similar prices these days, you just gotta choose which features from either receiver stands out to you more. I know some people here and across the internet will swear that receivers from different brands sound different to one another, but the reality is what makes them sounds different is the room EQ software they're equipped with.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 3 2023, 11:44 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2023, 03:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kskoay82 @ Aug 4 2023, 11:16 AM)
If I remember correctly, you are moved from Yamaha 3080 to a6a, what do you find with the sound improvement? I’m using a1080 now, wonder how much improvement I can get if I move to a6a (plan to move from current 5.1.2 to 5.1.4)
Yeah I switched from A3080 to A6A.

Honestly the "sound improvement" is really from YPAO being much better in this new generation of Yamaha receivers. Biggest improvement is seen on how YPAO now does not EQ above 1khz in my room, which is a very nice thing to see as the most important frequencies to deal with is below the treble range. Next improvement I'd like to see is to allow users to set a custom curtain filter (like DIRAC, ARC, and even Audyssey) to stop EQ at a certain frequency (500hz for example).

While I don't use any EQ for the subs since I have my own minidsp for that, I can confirm that out of the box YPAO also does a lot better with sub EQ and integration than before. Still some ways off Audyssey and far from DIRAC and ARC, but it's a good improvement over the past versions of YPAO.

But my main reason to switch was for 4k120 and VRR on all 7 HDMI inputs, I have 4 sources that requires it and I also got a fairly nice deal on on the A6A at the time of purchase too (RM8.2k from Harvey Norman). So that was the driving factor to switch.
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2023, 04:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kskoay82 @ Aug 4 2023, 03:59 PM)
That price is really nice! Too bad no more for now sad.gif
Yeah indeed.

That price was lower than any other shop I've asked at the time. Everywhere else was RM10k with RM100 TnG reload, so end up RM9.9k.
SSJBen
post Aug 6 2023, 10:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kskoay82 @ Aug 6 2023, 07:36 AM)
HiHi, can you share where you bought the RuiPro HDMI cable (any link available)?  How much the price ya? thanks again.
Bought direct from Amazon. They will ship from HK because that's where their HQ is.

I think I paid around $170 for it IIRC, mine is 30ft length.
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2023, 04:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kskoay82 @ Aug 9 2023, 01:08 PM)
You connect your PC (3080) to your A6A directly then only go to your OLED or PC (3080) to OLED then only use eARC back to you A6A?  based on the feedback/review from Amazon customer, looks like there are still some ppl complaint that they cant get the signal properly even using the RuiPRO HDMI cable...

thanks again.
Huh? I don't use eARC at all other than the streaming apps on the TV (Netflix, AppleTV, Prime).

There is no reason to use eARC with a direct connection. Audio from the PC is sent to the receiver either via LPCM (or WASAPI) or bitstream if watching a movie with either Dolby or DTS encoded tracks.

18 Pages « < 16 17 18Top

0.1275sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:24 PM