Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

digilife
post Jun 26 2016, 10:13 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(2wcp @ Jun 26 2016, 09:13 AM)
Name: Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI (B7) vs Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo
Price: 118k vs 128k
Both new

Opinion?
Should I go for specs or long term maintenance prospect...
You basically cannot compare a Durian with a Cheese Cake

Compare D2 Durian with D24 Durian or compare Japanese Cheese Cake with boston Cheese Cake la

One is Conti & another is JDM

digilife
post Jun 26 2016, 01:56 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 26 2016, 01:44 PM)
frankly speaking..... im a fan of the civic, my vote would go to the civic.... its a beautiful car and being a honda, it will be cheaper to maintain (not saying cheap, just saying cheaper then the passat) civic comes loaded with specs as well...... comparable to the passat if in not wrong. Im sure you know about the potential issues surrounding passat's dsg (pretty sure its using the problematic one). At the moment, some owners in thailand have experienced some issues with their cvt as well, not sure why so maybe wait a while to make sure its resolved.
Heard that Civic 1.5T have issues , whereas 1.8 so far no issue yet

digilife
post Jun 26 2016, 07:12 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 26 2016, 07:01 PM)
if u mean that overheating thing..... its not just the 1.5, from the pics of the cars in the sc, u will see that some were actually the 1.8 (the na ones) which lead me to suspecting that its probably one of the shared components, in this case the cvt.... engine itself seems fine, only thing 'not so great' with the 1.5 is the servicing interval which is kinda short....
The Turbo servicing issue, they still noob on that
digilife
post Jun 27 2016, 09:48 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(YJSEE @ Jun 27 2016, 04:48 AM)
HI,

Would like to ask for advise. Got a deal for VW Passat B7 1.8 for RM67K. Is it a YAY or Nay? Did some research on the DSG Gearbox and the owner said had been replaced last year and new clutch and mineral base oil are doing well. Is that true? and any other maintenance problem on that B7 model?

It will be my first conti experience and hope to be good ...

Thanks in advance for advise.
Wat year ?

sounds gooding

brows.gif
digilife
post Jun 27 2016, 01:15 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jun 27 2016, 10:39 AM)
ism91 and digilife, Proton Iriz 1.3 Mt is still way better than myvi in terms of everything  except after sales service and spacious(https://www.carsome.my/news/item/Head-to-Head-Proton-Iriz-VS-Perodua-Myvi).I am surprise that proton has done a great job in fuel consumption which i really need the most.Proton Delivers the best fuel consumption for proton iriz.Ok maybe i will get iriz 1.6 executive mt but i still do not know yet.
You want to talk abt FC, yes, my Wira, pump rm50 can pergi balik Seremban ~ KL 3 times in a week & still have enough fuel for town driving until the orange warning light come out. Calculate how much mileage I clocked yourself. Its a Manual 1.5 , carb model, of course la the carb tuned by a carb expert in Seremban.
digilife
post Jun 27 2016, 02:14 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jun 27 2016, 01:58 PM)
i mean that i am talking about iriz mt . Yes wira is a good car.However i still like iriz more than myvi and kia picanto and axia and wira.because it is better than myvi,axia and picanto. I think iriz is better than wira. What do you think?(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd2Sn4raDqY)(https://www.carsome.my/news/item/Head-to-Head-Proton-Iriz-VS-Perodua-Myvi).How about persona and saga flx? which one is better saga flx or persona or iriz mt or exora cfe or cps or suprima s or preve cfe?
I dun want to play Wira or Proton/Perdua anymore cause been driving it for the past 19years already........

Now I am looking to buy a E46 & keep my Wira as a spare car. Time to try Conti cause my frens told me "once you tried Conti, you wont look back" . I also fully understand that the maintenance of a Conti may triple the cost of a Wira, but I am well prepared already.............. devil.gif And because of that I am buying it via Cash only & get ready spare cash monthly to upkeep it like paying monthly installments .................

Like zenix once told me, an upgrade from Wira > E46 is a "big upgrade" for me already, so now I am ready to take the plunge. Wish me good luck. Thanks
digilife
post Jun 27 2016, 03:05 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 27 2016, 02:22 PM)
all da best! i went sushi proton cause... i actually had no real legit reason... just liked my japanese proton~~
http://www.mudah.my/2000+BMW+318Ci+1+9+A+-46901373.htm

http://www.mudah.my/BMW+318Ci+1+9+A+-45884738.htm

Vios/City/Almera all can tapao already

brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Jun 27 2016, 03:14 PM
digilife
post Jun 28 2016, 10:03 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 28 2016, 09:35 AM)
2000 Merc CLK200 - if you like big coupes let me show you something, although there is a model with a 2300cc engine I think getting this model with the 2000cc engine is better since with two reasons the "K" in the name means it is a Kompressor model which in Mercedes terminology means it has got a supercharger with stock power output of about 130PS but since it is a supercharger some clever engine tuning can increase that by 5-25% without worry/modifications just use better engine and gear oils and the car won't fall apart especially the gearbox as it uses the 5AT from the V12 S-Class it can really handle the power. Iinm this 5AT gearbox would become common in all Merc models from 2000 onwards. Safety wise it has all the stuff that's beginning to be standard on Japanese cars nowadays -- Traction control, Stability control, Anti-lock braking system (ABS), Brake assist (BR), etc. For about the price of a high spec Perodua Axis new you can buy a 16 year old Merc that is safe, powerful, and prestigious. Maintenance isn't going to be cheap, that's a given, however if you compare Merc maintenance with BMW/Audi/VW's usually Merc's will be cheaper to maintain and some how specialist are more competent with Merc electronics than BMW's i dunno why.

2002 Merc C200 - about a few years back when my friend was also looking to upgrade from his Wira he bought this, at the time it cost him RM50k -- i don't remember what year make it was but do becareful as some sellers won't tell you it's actual age until you buy it and give you the car card -- do ask to see the car card before putting down a deposit. As you can see this seller is pretty open about it (manufactured 2002, registered 2006) also cars that took so long to be registered usually are grey imports so usually have better build quality/spec than the CKD units made locally. In terms of spec and kit it would be the same as the car above -- 2000cc supercharged engine, 5AT gearbox, TC, ESP, ABS, BR, etc. So if your flavor is sedan instead of coupe, this should be a good starting point.

BTW when you try supercharger/turbo you won't look at NA cars the same again.
damn it, you poison me again

devil.gif

btw, collector's item here

nice one

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0990sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:04 AM