Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

digilife
post Apr 19 2016, 02:07 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 19 2016, 01:42 PM)
Coupe/ Fun car to drive + auto.... mana boleh T_T

copy paste
crz - easy to jaga, looks good, slow (but slow does not mean not fun)
civic-R (fd/fn) - has the performance (manual, sounds like a win to me)
volester - looks sporty, not truely a performance oriented car
kia koup - all looks no go
mazda 3 MPS - dont know peanuts about this...
scirocco/golf - i would worry abit bout the maintenance (though owners say its good)
208 - dirt cheap for such a new car, looks good, powerful, maintenance on the other hand... ermm
*euro r is another car, but dont know what you can get for that $*

much older cars
-celica - cheap and cheerful, has somewhat 'adequate' performance but old
-altezza - also cheapish and cheerful, rwd platform
-old scooby/evo - maintenance will be high
-old e46 coupe (i really liked this)

the hondas would be my top picks
Best among the rest. Its in my wish list, looking for a good one if its available for sale.

Btw, will the maintenance kill my wallet ?
digilife
post May 14 2016, 08:17 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(dycod @ May 14 2016, 07:07 PM)
1. Brand : Japanese or Volkswagen
2. Budget : 30k to 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matters.
4. Specs : More is better, but not critical
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : sedan or hatchback
8. Remarks : should have power similar to a 1.5cc car

Can anyone recommend a suitable car for me? My estimated mileage is about 7000k annually so fuel consumption will not my first priority. My concern will be more on maintenance, handling and comfortability (rear seat).
E39 2.5L, 2003 last batch , just before E60

thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
digilife
post May 15 2016, 09:02 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 14 2016, 10:54 PM)
i asking about all in...u should think about that first,

remember its not just the maintenance of general things like oil, tyres, battery, pads, suspension, bushings and whatnot... there are always things that can go wrong such as the driveshafts, bushings, alternators, bearings,m huge array of sensors all these may (theres always a chance) fail.

if you are prepared to suddenly dump (in event things do go wrong, not saying it will, but theres always that chance) then....
a 10 yr old golf gti is a fantastic car.... downside, rear seats aint great
++

For Used Conti cars wannabe read this

thumbsup.gif

Something I wanna add, for a car this old, usually the buyer will opt for a non comprehensive insurance coverage like Third Party Fire and Theft & if kena banged, it would cost a bomb to get it repaired with your own money & those parts dun come cheap cause some chop shops might not stock them.
digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 09:59 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 3 2016, 09:39 AM)
my honest opinion is you really need to read much much more than just a few comments here and there if you really want to prove haters wrong. they will find all sorts of excuse to hate because they just want to hate. plus proton is really terrible anyway with sparks of brilliance here and there so it can't be helped.

inspira isn't the best but it was a decent all rounder in terms of purchase price, spec, equipment level, safety, size, comfort, and maintenance cost.
Haters gonna hate, just that.

But some Proton models are really good, Just that there are too many units on the road & faulty units will be more due to law of average. Even Myvi have their own faults too

Just my 2 cents.

Zenix

A quick choice between an Altis 2002 manual 1.6E & a BM E39 2.5L auto , both at rm18k , which is a better buy all rounder. Ya, I am still looking to buy a used car to alternate driving my aging Wira & this "new" buy [ Cash buy only dun want Loan cause buying ageing car ] .....

devil.gif
digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 10:23 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 3 2016, 10:16 AM)
2000 Honda Accord & 2000 Toyota Camry - there are others in better condition and more expensive but the links just to give you an idea of why not just consider a japanese d-segment saloon, it would be cheaper to maintain than the BMW but still provide you comfort and power. i didn't bother for Cefiro cause it looks really ugly and uncle.
I dun mind the Uncle look cause I am already in Uncle bracket now rclxs0.gif

Is Cefiro really good ? read that its cheap but powerful with comfort too

Thanks bro

notworthy.gif
digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 10:40 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 3 2016, 10:29 AM)
cefiro, engine berapa besar @_@

e39, can be expensive to maintain if there are many worn parts (2nd hand cars, expect the worst unless you know its history)
**also i ppl keep rminding me that insurance gona be detarrifed... all these old massive cars gona get hit hard....
i cry imagining what the insurance as i store for me
Noted with thanks

thumbsup.gif
digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 02:02 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 3 2016, 12:23 PM)
The Cefiro has 2000cc, 2500cc and 3000cc v6 back then.....the one in the plane advertisment is the 3000cc v6.
However, the Accord and Camry are using straight 4's for their 2000cc so i would gather a lot easier/cheaper to maintain.

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 - this might be just slightly above your budget but because this version of the Lancer still has many parts compatible with Proton Wira until Proton Waja plus worldwide parts base you'll have much more flexibility in terms of maintenance and part prices. For example if you want to save money on regular maintenance you can always use Proton or any other OEM fuel filter and spark plugs, cause these are consumables and get replaced quite often, and because this is a 1600cc engine which is just 100cc more than your Wira the maintenance, upkeep and fuel consumption for this car wouldn't be a drastic change from what you're used to now. The benefit would be a big upgrade in terms of space (boot space and cabin space), safety features, and overall build and material quality from Proton.

Just like Proton Waja/Wira/etc this body is able to accept a variety of hot engines if you desire from the VR4's, smooth 1500cc v6, GSR, etc.
This model was suppose to be a replacement of Wira but Proton went ahead to develop Waja, correct ?

This model not bad wor

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Jun 3 2016, 02:04 PM
digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 03:29 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(andrewyu2005 @ Jun 3 2016, 02:49 PM)
1st best proton current car are  preve cfe,suprima cfe and exora cfe since inspira is not longer in production.
obviously inspira is the best car in proton 2nd are preve cfe,suprima cfe and exora cfe 3rd are proton waja cps and 4g18 and 4th is  wira and 5th is saga 1985,iswara and lmst
I would say that Wira is best in its class, you cant compare a Wira with Preve cause time factor matters.

Me poorfag have been driving my 1.5 GL Manual Wira since 1997 [ bought new ] , yes, its well past 19 years already , clocked 250,000km , what have I replaced over these years , a few sets of Timing Belt Kit, 1# Rear absorber set [ oem made in China Wira 1.6L for the height ] , 2# water pump , 1# radiator , 3#Denso air-cond cooling coil , a set of ignition wires , one set of manual gear change cable , a few sets of spark plug , oil filters & air filters. Front absorber set is still Original , exhaust system still using original too. I wonder how may Prever can match it ?

thumbsup.gif

digilife
post Jun 3 2016, 08:15 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 3 2016, 06:49 PM)

it is a dependable and solid car to keep around as a spare car.
if it is well maintained without issues no point to sell it off.
only problem for me is that for an everyday driver car it lacks alot of safety features found in cars today.
You are spot-on on my old trusted Wira.

Yes, it lacked safety features compared to Preve, but again in the nineties not much budget Japs car comes with safety features too. But then again, driving is a risk & even if your car have all the safety features, shit does happen. I once kena knocked by a student driving an Iswara from the side, rear left passenger side & my Wira spins a few rounds but just did not not overturn [ maybe due to Wira's low profile on factory 13" rims + standard 175/70 tyres. damage only to the external body of my Wira but not to my wife & myself, just shaken with the impact. It was on the 6 lanes highway in front of Kg Pinang Tambahan[ KL ] & luckily not much car was around that area that time , only another car, a W124 was grazed on the side from the student's carelessness. sweat.gif

Btw,regarding the changes to insurance premium, when will it commence & what major changes will take place ?

digilife
post Jun 9 2016, 10:29 AM

8,025 posts

zenix

You got PM, urgent pls advice.

notworthy.gif
digilife
post Jun 9 2016, 10:54 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 9 2016, 10:35 AM)
never !!!

Got your reasoning , after through thinking over, you have some valid points.

Noted with thanks

notworthy.gif
digilife
post Jun 10 2016, 09:59 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 9 2016, 04:30 PM)
reliable tank.... just check for wear and tear, stuff like that
-wear tear (see if realistic)
-accident damage
-check if everything is working (being a tank usually ok)
-check what has been replaced (whatever it is, assume its a lie unless receipts are provided OR you can obviously tell by looking)
Altis really that good ?

What abt the last previous Corolla before this Altis ? the diamond headlight model , wat you called this model SEG Advance ? heard that it was a Made in Japan car as oppose to Vios that was Made in Thailand
digilife
post Jun 11 2016, 10:18 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 11 2016, 09:04 AM)
Try putting negative keywords like "lousy, crap, fail, etc" for newer Proton cars in youtube, you won't find any, you'll find lots of positive marketing videos and reviews only. Is it truly that good?  innocent.gif
fyi the older genting taxi model has a complicated multi link suspension for the rear while this newer one is a torsion beam only, so handling isn't as good but you're not flying up genting everyday right?  sweat.gif
not to bust your balls but local reviews are more like paid advertisements even if they're not paid to say nice things about the car they can't be honest about the negative side of the car, they have to skirt around the issue or state it but not highlight it.

additionally, in a B-segment battle what kinda idiot would put the Axia (A-segment) in the mix?

i'm not surprised as these are the same guys that compared Mercedes CLA, BMW 316 and Audi A3 as if they're of the same class/segment only because the pricing in malaysia is similar.  rolleyes.gif

anyway end of the day the choice is in your hands and you've gotta pay every month and drive it everyday, think about that before you buy it, if it makes you happy driving it everyday and month end paying it you don't feel cheated or you could've gotten something better then choose what u wanna choose.

i'm here to help newbies be better informed not help people choose cars.
thumbsup.gif
digilife
post Jun 11 2016, 06:33 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 11 2016, 05:41 PM)
my personal opinion between the 2.......
maivee beeats it in a few aspects...
-built quality (no by much but at least most of the dash aint as fiddly)
-power the 1.5 seems alot more friskythan a 1.6 axia
-comfort back sets of the myvi are nicer to be in, not sure why.... iris rear leg space seems to be very cramp though reviews say otherwise?

iris basically
-better handling, safety, gadgets, (i do like the interior looks as well, fancy)

good knows which engine is more reliable, the myvi has old proven tech, the iris has new, old tech (cause they are still behind times) which might be reliable (not proven yet, still pretty new)...
now, when it comes to maintananceim going out on a limb here and going to say that the myvi will be cheaper to maintain... lots of parts already out there you can salvage parts off the boon and passo and many other toyota/diahatsu's...
IMHO, a car without a proper boot suffers, esp if you need go outstation & need carry some cargo & if shit happens & some one bang you from behind, your back passengers suffers.

digilife
post Jun 15 2016, 12:36 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 15 2016, 12:25 AM)
best value given that, the car has already depreciated alot more.... a vios of the same age would have depreciated less leaving you less money in hand.... for a short term user, the best car would be the car that i) depreciates the least during your ownership, ii) wont cost you much issues during that time,  and iii) poses the least risk (tax, insurance, accidents, theft, other random money consuming things and whatnot)
a 1.5 Wira manual is the best value for money buy now due to reasons below but just that its not that "handsome" to some ppl

1) Parts aplenty from China & local chop shops, parts are cheap too
2) Good Wira now cost between rm5k to rm8k only now, try look for SE if possible.
3) Any mechanic can repair cause its like a Honda Ex5 bike.
4) A very reliable horse , mine clocked > 250,000km from new purchase in 1997 and still my primary mode of transport now everyday, into the 20th year now.
5) Can mod into Wiralution [ but not my style la ]

rclxs0.gif

digilife
post Jun 15 2016, 07:52 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 15 2016, 12:53 AM)
haha this is actually very true..... assuming he is tilling to ride around in what ppl consider to be a cheapo car  rclxms.gif
some just dont wana touch it..... reliable as it ca get this one, cheap to repair too... you also cant lose much when you sell it off... the only issues with it is its status.... and its safety features....

i like heuristics.... you can actually come up with a mathematical formula to heuristically calculate the best car for yourself hehehe thats what i did. But be warned.... each person distributes points very differently so one mans formula will not apply to another person and this formula will change over time due to forgotten attributes/weights or a change in lifestyle.
We need more ppl with these paradigm.

notworthy.gif

Status really that important ? maybe & maybe not , to me , Not at All, haha. deswai I can drive my Wira for 19 years without a blink until recently I have a change of heart to try something more exiting , a UDM , brows.gif

But I fully agreed with Safety Issues. But then again even with the best safety feature available in the car & if the driver drive insanely , what ever kete kebal also no use la, haha.

digilife
post Jun 17 2016, 10:07 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 17 2016, 09:29 AM)
i prefer people tell everything one shot so easier to research.
if not later become never ending story with andrew laugh.gif
thumbsup.gif
digilife
post Jun 23 2016, 11:35 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(SummerOntheWay @ Jun 23 2016, 09:46 PM)
There are several steps you should take in purchasing a used car. Do your homework by reading consumer car reviews and consumer car reports. Ask the people you work with and friends about different car models. Gather information on gas consumption of the make and model you are interested in buying. Ask to see the report. If they don’t have one, note down the car’s VIN number and By checking a vin with http://www.vincheckup.com/cars you will find out accident data, police data, and more info about the car’s history. Check the reliability ratings of each car and calculate the costs.Most people know that buying a used automobile is like rolling the dice. However, following the steps of a used car checklist is one of the best ways to protect yourself, your money and help minimize the risks.
Anyone here have access to VIN Membership for "rent" ? I need chk a VIN but not a member yet and dun want to pay the full rm84.42 just to chk one VIN. I wont mind to pay rm20 to anyone who can help me chk one VIN , thanks

digilife
post Jun 24 2016, 01:22 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Lyn.cookiemonster @ Jun 24 2016, 11:17 AM)
Budget : under 60k
New/Used/Unreg: doesnt matter (not too old)
Transmission : Auto
Spec : higher better
Type : Sedan/hatchback
Remarks : fresh grad, klang to kl, first car, not so high maintenance
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Iriz? used Polo sedan? Rio?Swift?
no idea man. first timer
thank sifus in advance  brows.gif
If I were you, go for Polo Sedan but then again its a bigger version of the Saga now........

Polo Hatchback if you are young & vibrant .

Its a good buy at 60k now, demo car ok too

digilife
post Jun 24 2016, 01:50 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 24 2016, 01:33 PM)
haha no problematic dsg but..... fresh grad + euro car not exactly a recipe for great success
totally agreed, esp new car owner, but if filthy rich, who cares

rclxs0.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0253sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:06 PM