5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V13 **, The Heritage of Nexus.

cowithgun
post Jul 3 2014, 02:49 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jul 2 2014, 08:27 PM)
Anyone else here been getting better battery life with 4.4.4? My battery life has improved significantly since updating. I used to be able to only get around 2 hours SOT with 8 to 10 hours standby time. Now am able to get 3 hours SOT with 20 hours standby smile.gif I'm on PA 4.4 final.
4.4.3 (and 4.4.4) should have better battery life since they fix a couple of wake lock issue:

https://funkyandroid.com/aosp-KOT49H-KTU84L.html

4.4.4 is just a fix on a OpenSSL bug

https://funkyandroid.com/aosp-KTU84M-KTU84P.html

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Jul 3 2014, 01:37 PM)
If N4 get Android L how many upgrade have N4 go through?How old is N4 already since release?

Looks like Google have extend their 18 month cycle support.
i got my nexus 4 last year Jan (although n4 was launched oct/nov 2012). so, it'll be more than 18 months by the time L release next month. minus all the minor iteration, we get free upgrade from the initial 4.2 (another Jellybean) to

- 4.3 (sweeter jellybean) with Bluetooth Smart Ready, OpenGL ES 3.0, merge and re-organize 2d graphics, etc
- 4.4 (kitkat) Project Svelte, experimental ART, new launcher, etc

About the 18 months cycle support, that is just what they officially stated. "little bird" told me the real reason Nexus Galaxy not getting Kitkat is because of it OMAP SOC developed by Texas Instruments; a company that's no longer actively developing smartphone chips.

i m fully confident that L will be released for nexus 4. if goog dont release that, i m jumping ship to iOS.
cowithgun
post Jul 3 2014, 04:13 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Jul 3 2014, 04:09 PM)
Why jump ios?
my ipad 2 (2011) still got update... more than 3 years...

if my nexus 4 less than 2 years old not getting L release, it's my way to show the middle finger to Google.

ps: my ipad2 will still get the next version iOS 8 when they release in a few months later...

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 3 2014, 04:25 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 3 2014, 04:56 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 3 2014, 04:43 PM)
source mana? tongue.gif
source? https://android.googlesource.com/platform/build/+/l-preview ?

anyway, to try it yourself, just install Android SDK: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Start the SDK Manager.exe, download the L platform.

Start the AVD Manager.exe.

"Create" a new Nexus 5/7 device, use L as the OS.

Start your engine!
cowithgun
post Jul 3 2014, 05:11 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 3 2014, 04:57 PM)
Ribuan terima kasih, abang lembo condo aka crazy monks w 2mil dps tongue.gif
hehe paishe lar... dont talk about my gaming life ler...

u can use the same sdk to run Android TV, Android Wear...

thinking Moto 360? user posted image

well, you can start "playing" with it with the Android Wear Round emulator!

cowithgun
post Jul 7 2014, 10:25 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jul 6 2014, 06:42 PM)
Out Nexus 4 is equipped with barometer / air pressure sensor. Have any of you ever utilise it? Say for weather prediction (using barometric tendency info).
i read somewhere before the barometer only meant to help to lock GPS faster.

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jul 6 2014, 02:55 PM)
Not really.  sweat.gif I've used the galaxy nexus and nexus 4 and both have very bad battery life. And I root, underclock, custom kernel and custom rom. Although for my nexus 4 the battery life has improved recently after updating android to 4.4.4 so its much more tolerable. Sometimes I think its luck also. I see some people posting on XDA where they can get 6 hours SOT while I'm just thankful I can get 3  laugh.gif
let me start by saying nexus 4 battery is not the best. but if you practice leaving your phone charging over night, every night, you should have no problem.

i typically only charge the phone once every 2 nights because i barely used 50% battery everyday. my usage and preferences has a lot to do with it:

1. have wifi at home and office - phone save more juice when on wifi
2. have no facebook, wasapp, twitter installed - i use web and google plus
3. undervolt my phone to around -175.

IMO, most battery related issue are due to wakelock in the phone. the 2100mAh is not big by today's standard, but if you leave your phone in air plane mode, off screen, it could last 1 months!

Well, the idea is, if you can let your phone truly "sleep", your phone can last very long.

Unfortunately, most app went out of the way to try to work harder for you. This is especially true for social media app that need to keep you updated to the seconds. They end up waking your phone too regularly. Say 1 app, wake up every 30 minutes, check if there is any new messages for 1 sec, if nothing, go back to sleep. 1 sec in 30 minutes is not that bad right? Well, it turn out that, that 1 sec of waking up, may "echo" other to start busy-body and start checking things. other app (such as radio) will continue to check if signal is okay for another 5 minutes while the CPU is awake.

now, what if, there are 5 of such app, that wake your phone for 1 sec every 30 minutes? you get the idea.

so, enter the Project Volta!

Android L will have better battery life due to Project Volta. Google identify those issues, and is now pushing for developer to use "JobScheduler" API to push for more battery efficiency.

What it will do? Every app now should use JobScheduler to do background stuff. Instead of waking up based on each app, the OS will now consolidate all request and do it in 1 shot. Wake up 1 sec, do everything as fast as possible, and go back to sleep.

You are right. That will only be effective if every app participate. Good guy google will "eat their own dog food" (their term) and start using this in all their app. So, a Nexus 4, running only Google stuff in L release, you should see something like 30% better battery life (some already tested it in the preview). But as soon as you start putting your other favorite app, if they not using JobScheduler, the efficiency may decrease.

See for yourself

And 1 last thing, will you see a better SoT with L release? May be not. SoT may not be best to measure a phone battery life... AMOLED will always win. *wink*

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 7 2014, 10:26 AM
cowithgun
post Jul 7 2014, 10:55 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 7 2014, 10:36 AM)
Moto X with AMOLED yawn.gif
personally, i chose IPS over AMOLED, anytime. i like bright screen.

pretty good summary:

http://www.phonegurureviews.com/ips-vs-amoled/

cowithgun
post Jul 7 2014, 04:41 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Jul 7 2014, 02:23 PM)
Very nice explanation. So it will be useless if others app dev don't join in.
not useless. at least the OS will be more power efficient. it only take 1 bad app to drain your battery. nothing is changed. good thing that they now include a more efficient Battery Historian that may allow you to identify the culprit and take the necessary action. brows.gif

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 7 2014, 02:40 PM)
Android L port for Nexus 4 is ready on xda.
i'll never run something like this in my nexus 4 laugh.gif
cowithgun
post Jul 7 2014, 05:45 PM

2,248 posts

Who is getting L release? Based on L preview source code Google published, the following device has new "L preview" build, which mean, they are working on getting L release to work on these devices. brows.gif

Nexus 7 and variant:
device/asus/deb device/asus/flo device/asus/grouper device/asus/tilapia

Nexus 5:
device/lge/hammerhead

Nexus 4:
device/lge/mako

Nexus 10:
device/samsung/manta

Android SDK emulator:
device/generic/goldfish

Not in the list:
Galaxy Nexus - Maguro / Tuna Nexus S - Soju / Crespo

So, as you can see, L is coming to Nexus 4 brows.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 7 2014, 05:49 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 8 2014, 01:40 PM

2,248 posts

Something interesting about the Google Search update this morning:

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 8 2014, 01:42 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 11 2014, 12:17 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 8 2014, 02:19 PM)
Cast Screen for Chromecasts?
Successfully cast my phone into my TV via the "Cast Screen" and Chromecast attached to my TV. brows.gif

Feel awesome to view photo/video recording in the phone in a big TV at a simple touch. nod.gif
cowithgun
post Jul 21 2014, 10:10 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jul 20 2014, 09:22 AM)
the last phone.. nexus 6. after that it will be project silver.
does not look like nexus is going to an end after Nexus 6:

"People have been commenting about Nexus because there is something else and they think that means the end of Nexus. That is the totally wrong conclusion to make," Burke said.

http://readwrite.com/2014/06/26/google-nexus-android-silver

cowithgun
post Jul 21 2014, 10:40 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 21 2014, 10:17 AM)
yeah.. brows.gif if HTC take over for Nexus 6 i confirmed to stick back to my Nexus 4/5
personally, i m quite excited if HTC will build the next Nexus.... i was so close in getting HTC one previously... really like the hardware... micro-drill speaker holes, metal uniform frame, etc

however, dont think any phone is able to make me upgrade my nexus 4 any time soon...

everyday, i browse thru Google Play, hope to find an app that will make push my n4 to the limit... some games may be, that may perform poorly on my phone... but none...
cowithgun
post Jul 24 2014, 12:50 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 21 2014, 02:42 PM)
PUI!  tongue.gif

Another smooth gameplay record smile.gif

cowithgun
post Jul 24 2014, 04:12 PM

2,248 posts

Act 1 Boss fight

ps: i am the left hand side shadow guy... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 24 2014, 04:13 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 24 2014, 06:46 PM

2,248 posts

Act 2 Boss!

cowithgun
post Jul 25 2014, 04:25 PM

2,248 posts

Act 4 Boss! Magic kaboom finish!

cowithgun
post Jul 25 2014, 06:21 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 25 2014, 06:13 PM)
damn this lembu ah
Act 5 Boss! I am getting good at this!

cowithgun
post Jul 25 2014, 06:40 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jul 25 2014, 06:29 PM)
looks abit boring. like keep puinching one. hahaha
hahahahah! thanks for watching anyway! will take a break before fighting the final act sweat.gif

cowithgun
post Jul 26 2014, 02:09 PM

2,248 posts

Final Act 6 Final Boss! Too bad the game ended with no option to roam the world and fight anymore... just end...

ps: it's free after all smile.gif been fun

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 26 2014, 02:12 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 26 2014, 03:00 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Jul 26 2014, 02:34 PM)
whoa! I just read ur siggy. n4 6 hours SOT, wow. I get arround 3 hrs only, how do u do that drool.gif
my post back in jan 2013:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry57700435

some ideas on how to keep n4 battery last longer:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry69108847

if u interesting in under volting:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry62976911

getting more juice from your n4:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry68506466

(recompiled kernel with linaro, tweak the RAMDisk's OnDemand governor, lower GPU idle voltage, etc)

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 26 2014, 03:00 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0466sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:20 AM