QUOTE(kiathoong @ Jul 1 2006, 08:27 PM)
holy mama are you an asian????
191 cm, any way jogging is the best way to lose weight.. my pesonal traineer told me...
Errr... yea, pure chinese. Jogging is the best way to lose weight, many people tell me too but I cant do it on a long basis, too much impact for my knees. I dont want to go thin today and sacrifice my knee caps for future pains.
QUOTE(afosz @ Jul 1 2006, 11:18 PM)
it is based on your self esteem..
both cycling and jogging is good but work for diet within 1~2 months??seems quite hard to achieve..at what weight you're aiming??
anyway 191cm??damn tall man..basketball player??i'm 181cm 65kg(max) and having a hard time to increase my weight

Was a basketball player but not anymore. 181cm and only 65kg?! My goodness, isnt that aneroxic?!
I am aiming for 90kg, changing from fats to muscles. Right now, I am aiming for two-digit weights, like 99kg. I havent start on a regular workout program yet. I just lift some weights everytime I enter my room. It's probably stupid but everytime I go downstairs to get a drink and return, I will train my biceps. Or even if I step out to the toilet, I will come in and do some bench press, etc.
QUOTE(t0p_man @ Jul 3 2006, 09:51 AM)
Actually, you can't do direct comparison between cycling & jogging. Both activities have different pros and cons and target different parts of the body. So, to balance yourself, it is best to do combination of swimming, cycling and running , aka thriatlon.
As a marathon runner, I advise you to start from the basic. Start with weight trainning, especially around thighs and calves muscles. Next, learn proper breathing through yoga. And next, learn proper way of running. Many people forget about this. You learn how to swim and drive on the road, but do not learn how to run. This is the major cause of injury. Have proper running equipment , such as running vest, short pant and running shoes.
Yoga for breathing properly? Running properly? Mind if you share a tip or two? I wont sign up for yoga classes purposely for breathing lessons so I can resume my running workout. HOpe you're able to help.
QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jul 3 2006, 11:24 AM)
... yoga?
while i agree with getting some amount of flexibility prior to getting into a full out run and proper breathing techniques are important... yoga?
learning to run is easy, most people in general get a proper form after 1-2 weeks of running on their own simply because their bodies begin to adjust for the added strain from running.
imo its much harder to learn how to jog properly.
shoes are important, but shorts and vest?
Jog properly is hard to learn? I cant stand the small pace and side stitch comes faster while jogging than running. At least when I feel side-stitch during running, when I look back, I know I've covered more tracks. Jogging is quite torture for me.
QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jul 3 2006, 11:29 AM)
Yeah I agree with previous poster. Cycling and Jogging or even swimming not mutually exclusive what. Each has its benefits, do one on MOnday the other on Tuesday and rotatelah. What's the problem?
But sauna does nothing but make u lose water, and occasionally inhibitions (if you are so inclined and go to the 'other ' sort of sauna)
But I do enjoy a good sweat now and then. Opens your pores and whatnot right? Relaxinglah, like hot tubbing mah. But no real use for ppl who want to get healthy coz u lose water not fat.
Yea, I am rotating between cycling, swimming and cross-training now. Just that I dont have much time for it or sometimes too tired when I get back.
QUOTE(Empathy @ Jul 4 2006, 01:08 PM)
I've done lots of research on best exercises and many scientists and doctors agree that brisk walking is the best exercise to slim down and keep fit because it is addictive. FYI, I brisk walk about 3 times a week....around 50 minutes each time. I usually exercise at night...because very cooling and relaxing.
I have never tried exercising at night. My cousin recommend it too. Brisk walking is good for slimdown? I have to continue my workout then.
QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jul 4 2006, 01:54 PM)
Hmm, interesting. My elderly parents brisk walk for exercise, coz that really all they can do. But I think they would agree its quite addicting, they tell me they feel weird if they don't do their morning rounds. U may have something there. Or its the usual adrenaline junkie situation.
Same, my mother cant live without her morning walks too. One day she dont go, she starts making noise, waiting for tomorrow to come.
QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 5 2006, 12:33 PM)
Penny Bro, Try to do some sit up. Start from 25 to 50 to 75 to 100. It is very effective. Plus some other mini exercise, push up, jumping...
i lost about 3.5KGs after 1.5 months of exercising every weekend only.

168cm. <60KGs here
Lately I revive my interest in cycling, I am so envy u got an expensive bike for free.

My 10 yrs old mountain bike sucks. I'm thinking to get a new one when I got enough money.
I cant do sit ups cause of my poor back. I have a lower back problem so instead of lift-ups, I do leg-lifts.
I do push up as well because sometimes I get bored of bench press at home, so I turn around and do push-ups to failure. Jumping, have not try that cause I scared it make me grow even taller.
My bike, I got it free cause my cousin used to use it to university in Aus. Now he dont use liao, so gave to me since he also lost interest in sports. My friend's bike goes up to RM20k. Damn bike can buy a Kancil liao.