Mechanical Keyboard Thread V19
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 21 2013, 11:11 AM) What do you think of other brands quality? Like mainstream ducky, corsair etc? Don't worry, I'm not Ducky fan boy. You may bash Ducky as much as you can too. Just want to know the honest answer from senior here.
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 21 2013, 11:30 AM) Ducky Shine 3 and 2018S pcb should be same base as F104. They are good. Ducky Shine 2 / 9008 base come afterwards If distributed to ranking for quality? ignore backlit or non-backlit. For keyboard brand, not include custom. 1. Filco 2. 3. 4. 5.
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 21 2013, 11:46 AM) It is hard to determined now because too much coming out. I suppose MJ2 FR4 board is same as nowadays F104, Shine3, 2108S..etc. Gaming keyboard's board quality?  Seems there is only little info about it. Ppl say non-standard layout la, too much gimmicks.. Razer always like piece of crap for you guys
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(toiletwater @ Dec 21 2013, 11:55 AM) Yes, Razer focuses more on marketing so called gaming-features (most of which are completely unnecessary) to gamers, rather than making good solid products. That said, I use a DA and it is awesome Razer mouse still very nice... I bought their Mamba 2012. But I already remove the rubber coat layer on the mouse. No play games also. For their keyboard, really look ugly(sorry, fan boy). Overkill backlit system. Too much light, dunno for what.
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(Racerx @ Dec 21 2013, 02:46 PM) What about for more compact layouts?   You see see you like this kind of layout? very compact
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(aurora35 @ Dec 21 2013, 02:44 PM) Dunno if this the correct place to ask, but my 1.5 years Xarmor mec keyboard starting to have chattering / repeated characters in C V B W and backspace and yeah, it's very annoying, just writing this alone needs alot of corrections. I've tried taking out and cleaning the switch with no success, any tips? Also is it possible to sell some parts of this keyboard? Like keycap or the "still okay" blue switches? Thanks in advance  If you don't press that 4 keys then will not automatically repeat, right? Only when press? Maybe same like what you think, over the years the keys get stuck with dirty. Wait some sifu from this forum come and verify your case. p/s: I'm care-le-fare in this thread, not sifu.. You may call me "keh leh feh" too for better pronounciation. This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 21 2013, 03:13 PM
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(Sup2Nic @ Dec 21 2013, 03:39 PM) saw a forummer sell as 2nd hand at RM390, tkl ducky very rare.  RM250, of course very interested.. This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 21 2013, 03:50 PM
quovadis123
Dec 21 2013, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(TittleTattleToxin @ Dec 21 2013, 09:12 PM) since you guys changed to mechanical keyboards has it changed your typing speed or its still the same??? perfect training makes perfect. This really not related to your keyboard, for your typing speed. Because we will more want to type on our keyboard, then speed does improve. Last time not really like to type on crap keyboard. Acceptable  ?
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(imbibug @ Dec 22 2013, 10:41 AM) No. Its the complete opposite. People who don't need to type much everyday or type slowly and poorly do not need a mechanical keyboard. Any RM20 cheap rubber dome will do since they type so slow anyway. Don't waste money on mkb if you fall into that category. People who use it for work like me find cheap rubber domes need more finger pressure because of the need to constantly bottom out. The biggest defect of rubber dome is the jiggly feel which causes mistakes while typing semi fast or fast. Then rubber domes wear down faster and the feel changes and keys bind even though it still works because the stabilization is poor (or missing). There are good rubber domes in the past like the Dell quietkey but its discontinued and scissor switched keyboard which are hard to find so the only choice for serious typists are mkb. Again, if you don't type much, stick to cheap rubber domes since you'll never wear it out anyway. Bro, totally agree with you. If you don't type much then you do not need a mechanical keyboard. maybe 0.5-1 hours per day, I considered is not type much. With exception you think mechanical keyboard is a hobby.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 22 2013, 11:23 AM) yaoming.jpg Wondering how many moar Rapoo V7 reincarnate existing out there... BTW, why don't we have something similar but at almost less than half of the price? http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...ed55e27b&pm_id= The cherry switch on zalman is "kailh". Clone switch. http://www.kailh.com/gb/Newsdetail.asp?Newsid=37
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 22 2013, 01:55 PM) Yup, Rapoo is the pioneer in using the kailh clone switch. Overally, some say the switch is fine to type on, but the durability and reliability is much inferior to cherry mx. Get it only if you plan on do switch swap to genuine cherry mx in future. Rapoo another cloner powerhouse. I did bought their >RM100 mouse last time. Nice to use, coz exact same clone like logitech mouse. But quality is not there. Broken after a while.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 22 2013, 02:07 PM) I'm really against buying what so call "clone" of anything.. It's ok for me to buy whatever cheap stuffs, as long as not clone.. Becoz anything clonned only good on the outside, but something that we can't see inside, it's kinda "rubbish".. sorry to say  This is because chinese good in cloning but not good in quality control, or precisely, they don't want to use money for quality. Chinese-DNA is have talent to clone things. They don't like invent nowadays.  Do you find this picture d logo looks similar? Another great brand of china
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 22 2013, 02:09 PM) I doesn't mean by "typing much" to tell the difference between rubber dome and mech kb. I mean for the better feeling of typing on it over a long term of usage with a right switch. Yes indeed its expensive but it is worth for, same goes as ssd vs hdd situation. It just need time to get ppl adopt to it by time. mkb and rubber dome is like posche and proton. 1 is luxury class, another is common class. Of course luxury car doesn't increase your skill of driving, but improve your experience of driving. You sux at gaming, buy mkb still sux.. True facts.. Get all end games items still not able to kill character in game.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Mofolicious @ Dec 22 2013, 05:21 PM) But the down one , they use what type of key caps? I see their key caps like so weird one. Not mx cherry I wanna get mx cherry blue  That looks like alps switches, not mx cherry indeed.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(Mofolicious @ Dec 22 2013, 07:54 AM) Hello sifus , newbie here. Just wanna ask , are these mech keyboards?? I plan to buy one of them but my budget only around rm 100 - 150. Feel like buying CMstorm quickfire TK cause of the LED backlit that so damn nice. Confuse. Backlit really got so important or not? Really will satisfy you ka? or without the light , just typing ady syiok? http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...&id=26743332644http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=35417894423Just like abang Human said you need to top up extra RM50 for decent keyboard like keycool etc. backlit just a preference of people. There is people think that backlit is annoyance too. So, just preferences, not important. Do you buy mechanical keyboard for playing games, or pure typing , combination of both? In rare case, ppl buy for fun, dunno buy for what. Ayam hoping you're not rare case
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(Mofolicious @ Dec 22 2013, 05:40 PM) haha. But i feel backlit like poison eh. Dont know the long erm after see backlit will be annoying or not. For me gaming + typing. Combination of both. I heard the cherry mx brown like damn suitable but always out of stock. need to pre order and the price is fulamakkk too high for me :| I'm using razer artcosa now. dislike it. Manage to grab it for rm50 only that time and grab it cause its brand new. Tried my friend black widow. cherry blueeeee <3 You should try every switches before you decide you want to buy brown/blue.. MX red and black also very nice.. You now considering what brand of mechanical keyboard?
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(Mofolicious @ Dec 22 2013, 06:19 PM) Should i save up for another rm 100 then can upgrade to ducky?  Which Ducky? Ducky Shine? Ducky Zero? If you like ducky then you can save money for it.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 22 2013, 06:05 PM) This question very much depending on your preference and usage, not us since everyone is different. If you want full functionality and easy access from numpad, get a full size. If your table is small or u just want something small and probably easier to carry around, get compact size like TK, TKL or 60% layout. I'm start to wondering about the numpad? I mean buying separately. Consider me got a tkl, later want to buy a numpad with mechanical switch.
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 22 2013, 06:42 PM) Yes u can get it separately, there's mechanical numpad with mx switches. So far from taobao i saw is leopold and keycool brand. Can't remember how much it cost, still quite expensive iinm. Indeed. Very expensive, maybe the price represent the quality of it. I found the leopold. http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=18752285964
quovadis123
Dec 22 2013, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 22 2013, 07:14 PM) Here's one from keycool, http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=21861795154Only mx blue, while leopold one can pick switch u want. Edit: leopold seems no mx brown and black. Anyway, still can mod it to any switch u like by desoldering and soldering. Nice yet affordable. The only bad is the keycool have the brand name so big on the numpad Will see if local have before purchase from taobao. Anyone in this forum bought numpad separately? Don't worry about the switches, ayam pengguna biru tegar.. MX blue is absolutely fine for me.  Found MX brown, Filco http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=24798224406This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 22 2013, 07:22 PM