Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

phernut P
post Sep 15 2021, 09:40 PM

Probation
19 posts

Hi all sifus and pros, I'm looking for full car tint + sunroof for my x50 with good heat rejection (TSER > 50%), budget around 2k.

Previously went to 3M nearby and got quoted 3k+ for full crystalline series and 2k+ for crystalline on FWS and SFW with house brand on the rest (to meet my budget).
Asked for spec for house brand and it is IRR ~90% but no TSER.. abit worried, but might give it a try, also 5 years warranty.
Do you guys think I should go for it?

Also checked for Hamel brand tinted, all the spec looks too good for the price tag.. TSER/IRR on par with 3M crystalline series but half the price of 3M (hamel guy showed me discounted package price dunno is marketing strategy or not, the poster design also does not look very professional..), with 10 years warranty some more, 1.5k-2k can get 95-97% IRR, ~56%TSER with security films (5mil).
found some reviews about hamel brand on this forum too, some earlier posts said it is garbage.. while recent posts gave alot of raise..
Anyone here with experience with this brand? yay or nay?

Newbie here would like to hear some recommendations and suggestions from sifus here (open to other good brands too!)
Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif
phernut P
post Sep 15 2021, 09:48 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 15 2021, 09:43 PM)
Unfortunately the recent post is the seller here. That what i read. Correct me if im wrong.
I PMed Hamel thru Whatsapp.. but I dont think they are the same guy.
Hamel guy also told me their tint will become darker/brighter following the sun.. not sure if its another marketing strategy
phernut P
post Sep 16 2021, 10:56 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Sep 16 2021, 02:32 AM)
I have high-end Llumar tints and I like them. I recently tried Hamel a year ago and it's pretty decent too, but I can't comment on long term as it has only been installed for a year.
I tried to get Llumar at first but the specs for my budget is not really good.. tried different combinations but the price is still high. However I heard that Llumar is a good brand in terms of their security films so might give it a try after filling up my wallet first XD

Anyway thanks for the feedback biggrin.gif
phernut P
post Sep 22 2021, 12:04 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 22 2021, 11:22 AM)

which one is the P8 model? I thought the Diamond 6 was their top-of-the-line product. I got around that price, rm2.1k for Diamond 6 at Llumar Kajang branch, x70 with sunroof
x70 full car with sunroof tinted with Diamond 6 for only 2.1k? at authorized shop? confused.gif
phernut P
post Oct 11 2021, 09:39 PM

Probation
19 posts

got some great tinting deals from dog999 about a month ago.
I went for the 3M Crystalline series but can still feel the heat of the super hot sun these days if follow JPJ standards for the front windscreen (not saying that 3M tints are bad I think they might be one of the best already).
but laws are laws if scare saman must bare with the heat; if scare the heat must bare with the risk of getting bagua mega_shok.gif
phernut P
post Oct 14 2021, 01:29 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(sanakim @ Oct 14 2021, 02:16 AM)
Hi all,
Just received my Proton X50 Flagship and want to get tint. After doing research, I narrowed down to 3M Crystalline and Llumar Pinnacle or P4-35 series. Any advice? Leaning towards 3M CR because skeptical about Llumar's 10Y warranty + claim to pay JPJ summon but higher asking price.

I received quote around RM3k for 3M CR with "made in USA tint" for sunroof. Is it normal to use different tint for windows/windscreen and the sunroof?

Thank you!
Llumar is well known brand, and is popular with their security tint but comes with a price which is usually quite high. I have checked official Llumar website before it did state that they cover JPJ for P4-35. I was tempted for this too but over budget sad.gif

3M CR is good in terms of heat rejection (although i still feel the heat for front windscreen due to high VLT) and has been around for many years but do note that it is not a security tint.

for the sunroof tint they usually give you their house brand, so better ask properly for the specs and warranty and feel the heat rejection yourself physically at their shop. Of course if you have budget you can ask for 3M CR tint too but it is quite expensive because x50 FS has two pieces of sunroof glass I think might add another 500+
phernut P
post Oct 14 2021, 01:33 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 11 2021, 11:05 PM)
3M with 97% IRR might be good. But if follow the jpj spec, it will yield lesser TSER, hence u might feel the sun heat etc. Next maybe find tint with higher tser value but has low VLT
yea.. should've just yolo and go for lower VLT mega_shok.gif
next time is gonna be many years later sweat.gif but i assume you mean higher TSER with high VLT (JPJ compliance)?
phernut P
post Oct 19 2021, 03:51 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(JinXi90 @ Oct 19 2021, 03:21 PM)
Thank you sanakim for your feedback.

But is there anything BAD about Raytech? My reasons for choosing it :-
(1) I can tint my whole car for less than RM1500
(2) 7-year warranty
(3) They have a brand new workshop in PG, so I guess they'd still be around after 7 years in case there is a warranty claim

I got a quote of RM1600 from Ecotintas well. So knowing that I can pretty much have my car tinted around RM1500, guess I won't be spending 2k or anything more.

I do not require "security tint"and a "heat tint" is good enough. I do not expect the tint to not deteriorate at all in terms of heat rejection over the years, but as long as it is not obviously noticeable I m happy. Most importantly, I can just send my car in for a replacement tint if peeling/bubbling issue starts to occur.

Any better proposal other than a 2k Huper Optik and a 3k 3M? Your feedback is very much appreciated.
it still depends on your choice of tint regardless the brand, because most tinting brands have different grades too, i.e. if you choose RayTech, they have cheaper variants with lower TSER/IRR or higher grade variants with better heat rejection or security tint.

TSER value will determine the total solar energy rejected (or simply heat rejection). it is better to feel it yourself with the different grades of tints they have so you will know the difference. usually higher end ones you will feel lesser heat out of it. if you feel like the heat rejection is ok for the RM 1.5k variant you can go for it, everyone has their own budget and expectation thumbsup.gif

but be prepared if the TSER value is lower than 50% because it might be VERY HOT in msia sweat.gif
phernut P
post Oct 19 2021, 10:07 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(sanakim @ Oct 19 2021, 09:51 PM)
BTW, public service announcement: Just tested Smart Tag on 3M Crystalline CR70 on front windscreen and it works!

I was travelling ~20km/h and put the smart tag device on top of dashboard in front of steering wheel.

Can't guarentee it works for you but hope this helps anyone worried about this.
you did not cut hole for the smart tag but managed to get pass the booth? last time I was stuck at smart tag lane.. sad.gif
not sure if I'm going too fast or it's the battery is low (you know, the smart tag display don't really work doh.gif )

but the next time I opened the window and used the smart tag outside it works.

0.2301sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:31 PM