Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

cucubud
post Jan 28 2015, 12:27 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jan 28 2015, 08:56 AM)
Side tracked a bit but relating to keeping our car interior cool.

Has anyone been using this kind of fan? How effective is it? Your feedback appreciated.

At least got some hot air suck out from the car.
If the window is tinted with V-Kool, will the solar still work?
cucubud
post Mar 7 2015, 05:36 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Mar 7 2015, 02:07 PM)
Hi all. 
I decided want to tinted my honda hrv follow jpj new regulations. Which is 30% rear and both passanger rear. 50% both side and 70% windscreen. 

As my understanding . There is no raytech tinted who offer 30%. So i will make double layer. 

So i want to use;
Ultra 70 = windscreen 
Ex gray = driver both side 
Ex gray + steel black =rear and both passenger rear. 

Or do u all got any combination or suggestion?
You have to take into account that the original windscreen and windows have a certain % of tint from factory.
If you fix 30% tint + factory tint = lower than 30% end result.
That is why all front windscreen fix with 70% + factory tint = cannot pass JPJ 70%.

Don't know which tint can pass JPJ 70% for front windscreen.
cucubud
post Mar 13 2015, 02:51 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 13 2015, 02:09 PM)
Raytech customer service said they have taken factory tint percentage into consideration and if JPJ set the rules at 50%, their testing device usually adjusted to 6% -/+.

Not sure if it's true, better check with owners who had done up tinting and check with JPJ.
Different car got different level of tint. Raytech use which car as a reference?
If use car brand A as reference, will car brand B and car brand C have the same level reading within range?
cucubud
post Mar 20 2015, 01:41 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Mar 20 2015, 12:39 PM)
I have only used Vkool and Huper Optik so far. No experience with other brands. My old car is on Vkool which was sold just recently, and I wanted to try something new so I went with Huper Optik for my new car. FWIW I find the performance of Vkool to be better than the Huper Optik in that Vkool feels cooler in the car with same or higher VLT. With the Huper Optik, you may get similar performance(cooler car) but you need to choose a tint model with lower VLT which fails JPJ requirements.

If you want to be safe, I would suggest Vkool Elite(or the best equivalent tint from Vkool). If you want to try something new, all other brands will also give you a cooler car. but the degree of coolness may differ slightly.
Agree with you totally.

I too come from V-Kool (2 cars) to Huber Optik (2 cars).
V-Kool is the best and the most expensive.
V-Kool is metal base, it can oxidised, thus stain can appear on the film.
Because it is metal base, it can cut heat better than non metal base films.

cucubud
post Mar 21 2015, 01:09 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Mar 21 2015, 12:24 PM)
Yes it is expensive because the quality is there.
Well if you guys have budget more than RM2,000 can consider to use V-Kool
Correct.
Does it still oxidise like the old V-Kool?
PM me your price to install Elite on a CRV.
cucubud
post Mar 21 2015, 09:45 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Lord Gitsy @ Mar 21 2015, 06:59 PM)
AFAIK the latest Vkool has improved much in terms of the oxidise issue if compared with the older V-kool in yesteryears. @lonely1413 should be able to enlighten you. smile.gif
QUOTE(lonely143 @ Mar 21 2015, 09:19 PM)
+1, we are now smart tag and gps friendly. This all thanks to the customer who support us and give good comments + feedback,
so that we could perfected the windows film
This is indeed good news for the improved V-Kool films.
Was worried about the oxidised stain on the film.
Will look at V-Kool again for my next car.
cucubud
post Mar 24 2015, 04:28 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 24 2015, 03:56 PM)
Want to ask. What do you do in this area of the front windscreen?
Do you tint it or leave it without ant tinting film.
I find that when it is not tint the car get heated easier.
If tint, there will be "bubbles" between the tint and the windscreen....

[attachmentid=4384884]
[attachmentid=4384887]
I also wanted to know what is the purpose of this dotted thing.
Under the sun, this portion is very hot.
I don't think this portion can be tinted, it doesn't stick after some time.
I tried to use double sided tape to tape something there, but if fell off the next day.
cucubud
post Mar 28 2015, 10:47 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:30 AM)
Need to go and tint my new car

Has the new 50 30 30 rule take effect or do i still need to adhere to the 70 50 50 rule?
If I am not mistaken, it is 70 50 30.
cucubud
post Apr 6 2015, 07:36 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 6 2015, 12:40 AM)
You guys think i shall re-do my tinted or not??
I have higher expectation before . 

If you redo the tint, the demister sure kena one. If front and side windows, then go ahead, but rear windscreen is very risky.
Better to get the installer to help remove the air bubbles and try to keep the film.
Maybe they can cut a small opening to remove the dust and hope the film still stick to the windscreen.

cucubud
post Apr 6 2015, 07:39 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 6 2015, 01:28 AM)
today when I was washing the car I noticed a 12-14" vertical scratch along of my rear  window. sad.gif  From what I understand about tinting, I'm know this scratch was caused when the tinter was sizing/cutting the film on the outside of the glass for installation on that window. It's fairly visible since my window  has that dark surface coating and the razor cut has penetrated down into a lighter-colored layer below. It is at outside rear window.. And i can obviously feel the scratch when i run fingernail across it.
If my car if second hand one. I would not care so much. But since i bought it new.thats why i am concern.
Is there any other product can be used to eliminate scratch or do the tint guy know how to eliminate the scratch that cause by him?
This is very bad news. sad.gif
Not sure the cut area will weaken the windscreen structure.

cucubud
post Apr 7 2015, 09:06 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Tingwc84 @ Apr 7 2015, 08:50 PM)
Hi, just share my experience with raytech tint, tinted one month ago.  Front windscreen using ultra 70, others centurion 6mil.

Tint workmanship overall is good, except passenger side window got one tiny bulge.

For performance, as this is my first tint, I have no other tint for comparison, but definitely I am feeling the different between tinted and non-tinted.

For GPS and my condo remote car entry key card, there is no issue with it.

However there is issue with my Smart tag.  Most of the time I have to literally stop the car at the smart tag lane for one or two second for it to detect, where by before tint only simply drive through.  If I drive slowly without stopping, quite a number of time it cannot detect.  On some occasion (not often) it cannot detect at all even car stopped for like 5 second, I have to wind my window down and take the smart tag out then only can detect.

For your info, I am using the latest edition of smart tag (bought one month ago).

Any tips to improve my smart tag?
What car are you driving?
cucubud
post Apr 7 2015, 09:20 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Tingwc84 @ Apr 7 2015, 09:08 PM)
Honda City
I think Honda cars front windscreen has higher IR rejection. My CRV tinted with Huper Optik C70 also got problem with Smart tags. Always get "tiada Smart tag" message then only deduct the payment. Always have to drive very slow going through the toll. Tried with new Smart tag and old Smart tag, still the same problem. Tried to put the Smart tag below the black dots (this portion not cover with the film) also have the same message.
cucubud
post Apr 27 2015, 12:19 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(GaretLim @ Apr 27 2015, 12:25 AM)
tongue.gif Is it odd for me to plan like this for my newly acquired bmw E90?
Wind screen v-kool elite (due to highest vlt vs tser ratio)
Then for window 50 and 30 will go for other brand as it is not as pricy as v-kool
But still will go for usa original product

Planning front window with 6mm security film + 50% vlt
Rear window and screen 30% vlt with 2mm will do.

Pls advice me if it is not practical  tongue.gif
Can v-kool quote me on windscreen
3m, raytech and llumar quote me on windows as per my planning above?  brows.gif

I in JB area
If you mix with different brands, will your final cost be more expansive than V-Kool for the whole car?
cucubud
post Apr 28 2015, 07:29 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(GaretLim @ Apr 28 2015, 12:25 AM)
I don't know. Suppose to be cheaper? Why would it be more expensive?

Lord glitsy, I went to raytech dealer today. There is a film 97 irr with 2mm seems very good for windscreen but I can't seem to find those film on raytech website. 
Was it genuine raytech?
Need the suppliers to quote the pricing of individual screen to see if it is cheaper than the whole car.

If you are using the Smart Tag, you have to decide on which IRR is suitable to use on the FWS.
If the IRR is too high, the Smart Tag cannot be read by the sensor.
cucubud
post Sep 22 2015, 07:58 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Sep 12 2015, 02:07 AM)
Thanks for compliment and support. Every single product would have their own lifespan and I would say yours can last 7 years means that you take care of it very well.

I have notice you guys keep talking on V-Kool Elite, but do not install on your own car?
Maybe want to test out others film or out of budget? (No offend, just asking)

By the way, have you guys heard of V-Kool 55 which the performance is even better than V-Kool Elite and JPJ compliance?
If V-Kool drop their price, people will install on their cars. tongue.gif
Currently it is too expensive. That is why people go for other brands that are cheaper.

cucubud
post Mar 17 2019, 07:13 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Mar 17 2019, 12:45 AM)
Omg! may i know which branch is that? i have deposited with them but yet install, during sales their service is good, heard your experience I'm doubt whether to continue using their product and services.
Which film and how much was the quoted price?

cucubud
post May 7 2019, 03:14 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 7 2019, 01:11 PM)

I would rather that they do
Front - 60%
Front side - 40%
Rear side and Rear - 20%

I agree with you on this setup.

cucubud
post May 7 2019, 06:16 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(IrisPro @ May 7 2019, 05:47 PM)
Dear Lowyat Forum members, you all can consider our 100% UV rejection and up to 99% IR rejection tint. More details as my post in Automotive Garage Sales HERE

I welcome members to ask me any questions regarding tint. Now there's more option for members who values comfort !!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Your tint films provide so high rejection rate can use with smart tag, auto gate remote and gps?

cucubud
post May 9 2019, 04:42 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Calveez @ May 8 2019, 03:38 PM)
OMG, just got my car tinted last month...and now new ruling.
I used REM tint..for all my sides and Vcool for my front and back. Quite satisfied with the set up. icon_rolleyes.gif
Your VKool can use with smart tag, auto gate remote and gps?

cucubud
post May 9 2019, 07:31 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ May 9 2019, 06:04 PM)
My VKool Elite on FWS all can passthrough no prob.
Thank you for your reply.
Look like VKool is the tint to go for.

0.1952sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:49 AM