Quoted:
IrisPro Elite - RM3800
3M Crystalline - RM3200
Opinion?
Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....
Apr 22 2024, 11:10 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Quoted:
IrisPro Elite - RM3800 3M Crystalline - RM3200 Opinion? |
Apr 22 2024, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 22 2024, 11:36 AM) What range of vehicle is this? Irispro Elite already so expensive? Thanks for your feedback! If you use smart tag a lot, in general, 3M crystalline got problem with smart tag. All Irispro top range got no issue with smart tag. If you don't mind smart tag issue, between the 2 ranges, 3M (make sure its real 3M Crystalline) will be more worth it at that price. If it is Irispro DX or Diamond, maybe still can fight but considering that pricing, a bit hard to swallow vs 3M pricing. SUV, comes factory tinted cap ayam god knows what tint. IrisPro Elite is expensive, but they do not quote me the price "after discount". It can go down cheaper I suppose. IrisPro Diomond was quoted RM4000. I really hate all these after before "discount" non published pricing. As for 3M, it's a full Crystalline from an authorized dealer listed on https://www.3m.com.my/3M/en_MY/automotive-w.../find-a-dealer/ I use RFID all the way. SmartTag is a non issue, just that I do not know where my car GPS antenna is, if that matters. audio technica liked this post
Apr 23 2024, 01:07 AM
The amount of time we have to waste on a car is just mind-boggling. And, of course, money! If the amount spent on plastic films is higher than the cost of my recent trekking trip in the Himalayas, I'm starting to question my sanity.
It's just a Proton X90 FS, and the factory tint comes with a 5-year warranty. I'm somewhat reluctant to re-tint, but I can tell the heat rejection is poor. I also do not like the flawed look, where the rear window is much darker than the front; it doesn't seem seamless. I had a bad experience with an installer's workmanship on my other car (which I won't name); they pried open my car door panel with a test pen, and I had to live with the scratches. Oh yeah, FWS is a major culprit. Thanks for your valuable insights, folks. |
Apr 23 2024, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 23 2024, 08:01 AM) Try get what is the spec installed by proton on factory tint. If it is Mazda CX-5, the all windows apart from front windscreen, its getting 97% IRR while the windscreen is 55% IRR. Hence everyone complaining it hot. The spec as below, worth to re tint? https://ice-u.com.my/activ-e/ For that car, just replacing the front windscreen also does major difference due to IRR percentage ![]() |
Apr 23 2024, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 23 2024, 02:20 PM) Do note the original FWS tint is not working very well coz is JPJ compliant. Since it'll fail Puspakom anyway, what's darkest and "safest" VLT we can go for without getting flagged, 60% FWS?You can actually live with them, many does but if you want max comfort clear tint, then change lor but effective tints like VKool and 3M that listed 70+% have very high risk of failing Puspakom test. These tints won't be stop in operasi tho coz very clear, operasi only aim for cars with much darker front tint. Im thinking of doing VLT 60% FWS, and 40% for the rest. This post has been edited by Underhill: Apr 23 2024, 06:53 PM |
Apr 24 2024, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 24 2024, 08:24 AM) Tint produces different hue, different colour of light penetration and brightness, for my VLT30 rear tints (read 20-21%), it is light brown and pretty bright for a supposedly low VLT tint, in a good way. Its very clear at night and comfortable at daytime, not dark and yet not bright, comfortable lighting. So you can try VLT30. Any lower, the reading will likely falls below 20, making me strain my eyes a bit. VLT30 (read VLT21) did not strain my eyes at night but that is my preference coz many ppl still drive ok with even lower VLT tint at night. Thank you for the detail write up, appreciate it. It'll make me easier to decide.I do notice that 3M Crystalline has more of brownish hue say than with other tint, or even with their own Ceramic. My other car has a greenish hue which I hate. |
| Change to: | 0.0710sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:19 PM |