Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

Sir_Jim
post Mar 6 2024, 10:46 PM

529 posts

What is your choice for the following car tints (front windscreen), and why?
a) Llumar Pinnacle PIPL50
b) 3M Crystalline 50
c) Huper Optik C50

Prefer high rejection and long lasting even when the car is parked for a long while.. if can, not much impact on phone or smart tag signal...
Sir_Jim
post Mar 7 2024, 09:27 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Mar 7 2024, 02:01 PM)
I think you can forget about 3M Crystalline if you want to use smart tag. This is one of the few range where smart tag signal cannot go thru.
Never use the other brand mentioned. So cannot comment.

What you mean long lasting even when car is parked for a long while. If you mean heat rejection if car parked a long while I think there will be no difference if parked under the sun for a long while. If parked for a couple of hours, yes, there is a difference, heat rejection means the interior car will heat up slower than no tint but once parked long enuf, the car will still be as hot as no tint.

The difference is a good tint minimize UV ray damage to dashboard and leather, slow down heat penetration, reduce direct sunlight heat on skin, anti-glare especially at night, anti-reflection on interior windscreen, etc.
if can't pass smart tag, then a bit wasted. RFID also can't apply on windscreen in that case?

aren't those ceramic tint keep heat at the tint causing front driver/passengers easier to feel hot than those metalised tint??
Sir_Jim
post Apr 3 2024, 09:30 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 3 2024, 11:31 AM)
That is only assuming he never want to use Smart Tag. I never consider 3M no matter how good it is due to its non Smart Tag compatibility that I used almost everyday.

For 3K, you can consider Irispro highest grade, DX and Diamond series for metallic sputter tint. For me, the next best metallic sputter tint after VKool.
for 3k, i would go for branded than those irispro dx etc.. maybe llumar or 3m or even raytech.. can try luck with huper optik
Sir_Jim
post Apr 5 2024, 12:33 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(dog999 @ Apr 4 2024, 06:20 PM)
Original 3M Crystalline have Rainbow effect under raining/mist and comes with 5 years 3M original E warranty.

Need 3M specs catalogue and price can pm me yea:)

what about Llumar or huper optik??

This post has been edited by Sir_Jim: Apr 5 2024, 12:34 AM
Sir_Jim
post Apr 5 2024, 10:25 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 5 2024, 08:40 AM)
The other branded tints mentioned like Llumar, 3M, Raytech are mostly Ceramic based tints. I think I have given some layman view on above post recently on how ceramic tint and metallic sputter tints worked. If high quality tints, both are goods and have their pro and cons. I am definitely no experts on tints and its spec, there are other here that are really good at that but due to interest in re-tinting my 3 cars, done some research on those brands. All got good and bad reviews, pro and cons (ie like 3M Crystalline that can somehow match VKool but Smart Tag cannot work), etc.
For branded you might be right, reputation is important but these are mostly ceramic based tints. If you want high quality metallic sputter tints that can replace VKool (that is my first choice but too expensive nowadays tho I deemed that as the best clear tint), so far locally, at least, I found Irispro highest range metallic based sputter tints are quite unique and worked very well. As mentioned on my earlier post, there are difference in how metallic sputter tints and ceramic based worked. I am partial to how metallic sputter tint reflect heats over ceramic heat heat absorbing properties but that is just my preference.

Do note, Irispro is not those non-branded house brands carried by all shops. It is a newer company that have their own tint shops and trying to established their own line of mostly metallic sputter tint with unique HEV blue light filtering (not as widely available as Raytech, that I have seriously considered before opting for Irispro). Raytech best FWS tint IS Ultra 70 series that can match DX and VKool Elite BUT is NOT Smart Tag friendly like 3M Crystalline thus if opting for 2nd highest range that is smart tag friendly, the specs cannot match Irispro D and DX range liao.

So far, I have no regret installing DX on 3 of my cars to replace VKool Elite. Worked great and love it thus my personal recommendation now but as stated it is my own preference and my partiality on metallic sputter tints after my own research, not to say they are the best and better than any of the long established branded one but in terms of quality, I don't think lose out to any of them.  (except for VKool Elite, that have proven their long term reliability in all my cars). However I cannot vouch how long and reliable Irispro tints will last and worked but Irispro has 10 years warranty (haha, I believe they are trying to seriously established their brands) in Diamond and DX ranges and a special 10 years performance warranty if heat resistance performance falls below a certain range but then again this special warranty might not be of any use but it does give peace of mind and the confident the brand have on their tints. So I just go with it. I don't think my old cars can last as long as the warranty... whistling.gif   icon_rolleyes.gif

Just in case, I might sound like Irispro salesman....I'm not, just one that have used VKool Elite for decade and try to replace it back with metallic based sputter tints and reviews over many brands before opting to this unique tints.....probably becoz DX uses mixed sputter with main silver based like VKool (VKool have other mixed metal that are unique to them tho). My relatives all have ceramic based tints that worked good (Raytech, 3M) but after testing on their cars, still opted for metallic based tints.
so far my raytech okay with smart tag, but need go through toll very slowly and wait... for a new brand, this irispro need to go in with cheaper price at least... where is their factory based in? i'm not sure how good their scientist is in developing tint vs those big brand.. so i rather go for those bigger brand, at least if one dealer bankrupt, then can still easy to get other dealer to replace it..

This post has been edited by Sir_Jim: Apr 5 2024, 10:26 PM
Sir_Jim
post Apr 9 2024, 09:16 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 8 2024, 10:15 AM)
On Raytech, is yours Ultra 70 or the 2nd range (Q series) and below?

Becoz even Raytech told me Ultra 70 cannot pass smart tag BUT Q series (2nd range) and below all can albite slower.

Irispro has other ranges but the one I used is their most premium tint, so of course more premium price. For high end metallic sputter tints, if cheap also I don't dare use unlike ceramic-based tint. Ya, I understand the feeling of wanting a garantee of those branded ones, I used to do that, thats why VKool Elite on all my cars until recent years where the price has gone up to 4-5k. However since I prefer metallic sputter tints, Irispro is one of the very few alternative high end metallic sputter tints that are available. If ceramics, then many many brands that I can opt for (Raytech is one but their highest end tint pricing is higher than Irispro...so as new company's most premium tint, they are considerably cheaper liao).

This pricing is walkin pricing, of course if buy new car, SA might have great discount for certain tints. In my case, when I looking at Subaru XV, the SA give massive discount on Raytech most premium tint as part of my package of not using their free Raytech low end tint. The pricing discount for that specific nego is way cheaper than any of equal value in the market. The SA also confirm with Raytech that Ultra 70 got problem with smart tag (cannot detect) and recommended Q series also. Also confirmed with Raytech sales representative on Ultra 70 smart tag issue.
yeah top spec ultra 70 but no issue to pass toll.. but still, feel hot.. those unbranded usually can’t last long, so i wont go for those, especially when it is 3k and above… if just 1k or 2k, then can consider

Sir_Jim
post Apr 12 2024, 04:05 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 12 2024, 11:39 AM)
Err..Any clear tint, even VKool Elite will still hot ler. Low VLT does matter in reducing heat.

Based on ceramic that absorb tint, moving car can disperse the heat better. One of the reason I prefer good metallic sputter tints that reflect heat instead of absorb them. However high VLT still hot no matter ceramic or metallic. Thus I gave up on high vlt when I retint my older cars. As long as it is above 50 VLT, it will still looks clear, so opt for those 60 VLT (after reading with windscreen thickness, usually will drop to 54 to 56%). The lower VLT coupled with premium good tint quality DOES matter in heat resistant.

The Irispro D60 and DX60 is substantially less hot (on direct palm feel, no scientific data) coz I got 1 car with D60 FWS, 1 with DX60 and 1 with VKool Elite. D60/DX60 read 56 to 54% respectively while VKool read 64%. 10% difference but heat on back of hand are quite obviously different on very hot sunny day.

Unbranded (house brand) also I no trust. So I go local brand like Raytech, Irispro, etc that is NOT unbranded. Llumar, 3M, etc all have their own strength and weakness. I used to aimed specifically for those brands but after many years of reviewing, still opt for branded metallic sputter tint with long strong warranty including performance warranty backed by organization that is not a 1 shop hero.

As for how long will it last, VKool Elite is the best, lasted 12 to 16 years with effective heat resistance. For others, I can't comment. For Irispro, lagi cannot comment coz just installed 4 months ago but the 10 years performance warranty gives peace of mind if reading falls below a certain level tho not sure it it matters. No choice for me as I wanted a good metallic sputter tint instead of many choices of ceramic. So far excellent result....for now.
raytech isn't local, but claimed to use film from US i think.. irispro even less info i think.. so better go for branded like llumar or 3m or vkool, else save the money, go for cheaper... 3k isn't cheap aldy

Sir_Jim
post Apr 12 2024, 07:52 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 12 2024, 06:11 PM)
Actually I have deemed all other brands subpar vs VKool Elite in terms of clear tint quality, durability and long term effectiveness (my 2 cents only, no scientific data, many will say bullshit and vouched for theirs...it's likely true there is no number 1 but I felt that way lor, no offense to any other users).

Since ALL other brands (local or international brands) are subpar in my opinion vs VKool Elite (again my biased 2 cents) I put ALL brands other than VKool Elite (which I used as a model what clear tint performance should be) at the SAME level to me. If you read enuf, all other branded tints got many unsatisfactory comments too (except 3M Crystalline clear tint, but smart tag cannot go thru, I know one above say can work, but I am in 3 cars with 3M already, most recently the my colleague City, smart tag cannot work for that car too).

As long as the brands worked as they describe and most of what matter to me is real life comfort from heat resistance, the performance I can feel, the sharpness and clearness of tints, clear night view, offered good warranties by tint distributors (not single shop warranty) and in the case of Irispro, the stated performance warranty as an added incentive abt confidence of product, etc.

It took me almost a year to check out many tints' reviews. There are as many negative comments as much as their positive. So long established brand or not...it don't feel 100% good to me anymore.

In the end, I still personally think metallic sputter tint to be superior in super hot country like this albeit it has its fault like higher pricing, silver-based has rust issues, etc. So I give a try with the 2.8K highest range premium silver and titanium based sputter tints. As it is, except for the weird mixed colour hue at certain lighting between the DX30 and D60, I like the heat performance result with their clear night views so much that I installed them on my 2nd car (both cars dragged VKool Elite to death with over 15 years). Now still got 1 car with VKool Elite (12 years), worked well but FWS tint kaput, so I put Irispro DX60 on it with VKool Elite still on the rest of the car. Excellent result again...so now you might see why I am asking ppl to consider the brand too especially if you wanted a metallic sputter tint alternative to VKool like me.

As mentioned again, I cannot say anything about durability of Irispro as I installed for only 5 months usage. That one, a few years later only I know for sure (I am hedging my bet here on Irispro with their backed 10 years dual warranty).  The Puchong/Setia Alam branch manager, Lay Ling has offered excellent service including coordinating and kautim my Windscreen replacement with a mobile Dr. Windscreen team with pre-tint FWS directly at their tint shop with all paperwork arranged by them. I have to give them a super like on their onestop service, reduced the hassle of running around for windscreen replacement, tinting, insurance claim, etc.
for 3k metallic, prolly I will go for llumar or xpel metalised tints.. at least if thing happened, still can claim at other branch... for irispro, i don;t know if they allowed so as most local brands can only claim warranty with the respective outlets instead of all other dealers. be safer than sorry.

Sir_Jim
post Apr 15 2024, 09:53 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 15 2024, 08:33 AM)
I'm not sure if Irispro has dealers but warranty can be claimed at any Irispro branches.
if yes, then no bad.. but still, i doubt with its durability and reliability… 3k, i definitely go for branded.. if 2k, then can consider oem or local..
Sir_Jim
post Apr 17 2024, 08:28 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 17 2024, 04:01 PM)
You can read the posts I have above on my review. But that is on the highest end film DX series not listed in website. My FWS is Diamond 60 tho. I used RFID and smart tag everyday from Kesas Klang to KL. 6 tolls at least.

u just started your sales with irispro for how long?? which branch? put your name up got special discount?

This post has been edited by Sir_Jim: Apr 17 2024, 08:29 PM
Sir_Jim
post Apr 18 2024, 06:50 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 18 2024, 05:56 AM)
Hahaha… aiyo, so cynical bro. Kasi chan la. I thought his post was quite informative

oops my bad.. but yeah informative, just that very bias to irispro… one with clear eyes will know the differences between a genuine buyer vs not, but not to share what he said is wrong, but need to filter appropriately..
Sir_Jim
post Apr 18 2024, 06:52 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(edr1c @ Apr 18 2024, 03:52 PM)
got quoted below options while surveying for my myvi, which 1 is fair deal? or overkill?
1680 for 3M Crystalline ebony
1888 irispro uv90
2400 huper optik full ceramic front /css rear
2800 xpel xr plus
2200 xpel xm
for myvi, i think can get full car below 2.3k for full car 3M crystalline, instead of taking the lower spec ebony.. the rest i can’t comment much.. better take branded than oem
Sir_Jim
post Apr 19 2024, 12:02 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(edr1c @ Apr 18 2024, 07:33 PM)
dont have in my area, lowest quote i got is 2500+ and 2700+
ae u from klang valley? if yes sure have, can those seller in Lowyat..
Sir_Jim
post Apr 22 2024, 07:46 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 22 2024, 10:11 AM)
Bro, of course need appropriate filtering. I don't just trust what I read on surface value too. The thing is when I read about tints other people installed, it is not detail enuf on daily life. I don't want just technical aspect, coz that can be pure...b@llshit but real life experience on usage of the tints.

If you have clear eyes, you would read that I installed on not just 1 but 2 cars recently, I detailed my experience out. When I find it good, of course I want people to know about it, read it, evaluate it. Then can consider or not to put into list of consideration rather than just ignore what I think is a good tint when it is out there.

Why the detailed description ONLY on Irispro and not other tints becoz they are the ONLY TINTS that I installed after VKool Elite when surveying for metallic tint alternative. I can't bloody well comment in detail with experience on tints that I did not use.

If you call that bias becoz I commend lots on it (becoz again that is the ONLY tint have I installed after I survey for long while) and recommend them whenever ppl ask for tint to be considered, I really don't know to say. I am just bloody active in this forum and too free during this period, so most post asking for tint to recommend within 2-3k budget, I recommend them as another tint to be considered coz I love them....for now...a few years later...see how.

Why keep recommending Irispro, coz I find it working very well and feel greats about it with some hiccup like colour hue, long term reliability unknown but got great tint shops service.  It is all written in my posts, both the strength and weakness.

If it is branded one, I likely won't do that coz everyone knows them and will recommend them without me adding to it. For poor Irispro, yeah, it is really only me. So of course I do that since people don't know about them.

Most would just skip over or after read still feel unsecure due to local branded but that is for them to evaluate. I do that myself when I browse for tint replacement but would always appreciate a detailed life experience post for a tint. I read about the Irispro here but no detail experience except for it being a metallic based tint that I am looking for. I cannot find much comment on it, much less detail review. So when I have such experience and love it, I do just that.

To think I would be branded a fake buyer and salesman? Haiiz....that is frustrating. I guess being too enthusiastic about a product can also be condemn.
no worry, u can continue promoting the brand, but when too much then the hard sales is too obvious.. being an user for one brand for more than 10 years across few different cars, i didn't do hard sale for any as I'm not their SA.. but as baby user to certain brand who already keep praising it, then it is a bit hard for one to agree with as the tint's long term reliability were yet to established... to end, i wouldn't spend 3k on local or OEM brand when others are just selling it at 2k or lower. for 3k, i will pick branded only.
Sir_Jim
post Apr 22 2024, 07:49 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Apr 22 2024, 12:53 PM)
Thanks for your feedback!

SUV, comes factory tinted cap ayam god knows what tint.

IrisPro Elite is expensive, but they do not quote me the price "after discount". It can go down cheaper I suppose. IrisPro Diomond was quoted RM4000.

I really hate all these after before "discount" non published pricing.

As for 3M, it's a full Crystalline from an authorized dealer listed on https://www.3m.com.my/3M/en_MY/automotive-w.../find-a-dealer/

I use RFID all the way. SmartTag is a non issue, just that I do not know where my car GPS antenna is, if that matters.
are you getting a 6-7 seaters suv? for 5 seaters jap brand SUV, i was quoted for less than 2.8k in KL area... you may need to ask quotation from different seller then.
Sir_Jim
post Apr 22 2024, 07:50 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Apr 22 2024, 11:10 AM)
Quoted:

IrisPro Elite - RM3800
3M Crystalline - RM3200

Opinion?
I don't know anything about Iris brand, but at least you can trust 3M quality... for this price, I will go for latter... but 3M crystalline, most installer told me it will block SmartTag but not GPS.. im still waiting my new car to test out 3M or llumar tints.. or maybe Vkool if budget permit

This post has been edited by Sir_Jim: Apr 22 2024, 07:51 PM
Sir_Jim
post Apr 24 2024, 10:58 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 23 2024, 08:26 AM)
When you said it that way....it makes sense. Ok, my bad.

When I install this, its 2.6K tho,,,then upgrade 2.8K to DX. It included a perfect job of removing old tints from both my 16 and 18 years old cars. Demister for both still worked like a charm. The pricing also included full arrangement of windscreen replacement directly in the center. When I look at that pricing included the excellent services, I can't help but try to help promote the brand a bit when I can because I think they are worth it. That is from the pricing view of a sedan...tho coz when it goes SUV, the high pricing, not sure.

Unfortunately I did not think it would look like that to a sceptic of premium price local brands, but I accept as it does look like that when I look from your POV now that you mentioned the reason. I am never a sceptic of any brands local or international, just look at their price range and then the review on quality of tints.

For metallic sputter tints, my bias preference, not much choice at that. So I would still recommend them if ppl looking for good metallic sputter tint alternatives coz I found one that I like and think the company doing this is ok.

Maybe try not to sound so enthusiastic tho, my bad on this, as I did not look from a neutral point of 3rd party but one who have used them and are excited about it... sweat.gif  whistling.gif
And you are also right, I run the risk of recommending one when I have not use it long term, I may or may not regret a few years later...mmm, let me think about it.... rolleyes.gif  hmm.gif

As for the pricing, I think I have to disagree that local brands have to sell at 2K or lower if they think their quality are on par with the premium ones. Maybe you are not into metallic sputter, you might not care, I do, so it will appeal to people with the same bias. I won't recommend them over nano ceramic tho as both have their pro and cons aka premium metallic sputter are usually more expensive in general but against advancement of technology of nano ceramic, I can't be sure of premium nano ceramic cost.

My 2 cents is good metallic sputter tints cannot be sold too low a price coz its generally more expensive to produce real good metallic sputter. If sold at low price, I would definitely think there is something wrong with material they used for sputtering or the sputtering process is not what they say they did. It would be harder to sell at premium price tho, unfortunately but when the selling price is too low for a premium metallic sputter tint that the owner really believes is good, they would drag the brand name to 3rd rate brands and would likely never be able to achieve the premium brand name that they aim for. Its a dilemma for them if you think about it.
if the tint quality is just on par with branded, then is no brainer answer as one will 100% go for branded. just like 1 go buy a beg from pasar malam that having exact same quality as C.keith at the same price, then why pick pasar malam brand over C.keith.. ppl picked less branded because of higher spec, yet cheaper.. same price same spec, branded is the only way to go.
for 3k, i will try branded metalised tint like xpel.. but of cos, u can continue irispro

Sir_Jim
post Apr 24 2024, 10:59 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Apr 24 2024, 10:03 AM)
Thank you for the detail write up, appreciate it. It'll make me easier to decide.

I do notice that 3M Crystalline has more of brownish hue say than with other tint, or even with their own Ceramic. My other car has a greenish hue which I hate.
most tint has some colors on the tint, be it black/grey, green, charcoal, etc colour... pick the one u like most, and the color be come more obvious when reflection is higher, usually at low vlt
Sir_Jim
post Apr 25 2024, 09:41 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 25 2024, 08:52 AM)
Of course if same quality, same spec with same pricing, I would go for branded. Now, on the spec requirement that I want, it is cheaper than the branded that I compared to (VKool Elite), of course, who can be more expensive. Other branded does not fit my requirement at the price I want....Irispro do...so it is wrong that I choose them, installed them and found them good both in tint and excellent services and then recommend them albeit the pricing is a bit more premium than I would have like? I'm crazy at that, I did say that before.

I am still a fan of VKool and I still think VKool is better if going at same VLT and the only reason I think DX60 heat resistant seems better is due to much lower VLT. I cannot denied that. If both at same VLT, I think VKool Elite still wins outs but I do get to installed what I feel now is a better than VKool Elite at much lower price (I am just talking abt getting better heat resistant due to much lower VLT vs my earlier very bright VKool Elite). Still if I can afford VKool Elite with the same VLT specs that I install now, but with the spec I have now, I cannot afford VKool.

Xpel using Dye-Metallic hybrid, the word Dye comes in and I skipped that straight-way, just does not fit my requirement that Irispro do but as I say b4, your preference on tints specs especially metallic differs to mine, a lot but that is again my own preference.

As I have my bias, you seems to have yours as your eg, seems to compare local brands as pasar malam or fake brand even as an example. you seems to be treating local brand as OEM or fake branded instead of them trying to build their own brand mindset. Thus local brand must be of lower grade and cheap stuff, I can't say anything more as seems your mindset is made up. I give up arguing on that.

I do think your suggestion of toning down my own enthusiast view is correct. Looking back, I do sound like a salesman... sweat.gif ...and might screws up if something did goes wrong with the tint years later. I would still recommend the tint if ppl ask for alternative coz I still like it a lot except for the hue and lighting tones difference. Maybe just put more emphasis on caveat of not tested for years..
no worry bro, u can continue sell irispro, nthg wrong, i didn't say their spec not good also.. but look at those big branded, the tint almost the same since intro, and which local brand has the capital to invest and invent. if so easy, local brand need not take from foreign and rebrand it.

and when the spec is too high, only time can tell its reliability... for the high price, why don't go branded when the spec and price are the same, obvious answer... so i won't go for local or oem when the price is so high. if want it to be cheap, a lot of cheaper local brand with high spec claimed too
Sir_Jim
post Apr 25 2024, 09:42 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(dog999 @ Apr 25 2024, 02:38 PM)
Only Crystalline 70 blueish, 3M Crystalline 60,50,40,20 more towards brownish yea.

how reliable is the quality over times? can beat irispro??

0.0349sec    1.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:03 AM