Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

Jason
post Oct 23 2015, 08:48 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ghostshell @ Oct 22 2015, 12:39 PM)
Hi, the smart tag issue remain the same, need to super slow move in and almost equally fully stop only it able to detect. i guess just have to bear with it, so far the heat resist is good. thumbup.gif

just 1 thing that i felt not happy is when after i complain to the hq, the respond from the person in charge are not so good, felt like a tai chi master. below is roughly the phone conversation.

me : explain the problem
PIC : all the raytech staff using it, none of the staff or customer complain about smart tag issue ( this i very much doubt it that none complain except me)
me : maybe im the 1st experience it but now i do facing the smart tag issue.
PIC : you just change your windscreen rit, it could be because your windscreen too thick cause the signal weak.
me : as i understand, the windscreen model is the same type as before.
PIC : maybe your smart tag device having problem.
me : been using the device for years, and confirm is not battery weak as i do change it to figure it out.
PIC : maybe just coincident the smart tag lane detector that u pass trough is weak, try use other smart tag lane next time.
me : each day i passing through 7 toll, all are smart tag lane, which is different area, wont be all of those lane detector is weak.
PIC : how fast u drive into the smart tag lane, u must drive very slow like below 10km/hr.
me : my car are standstill, as the car in front get through, i only move in and i not even hit the pedal, just let it roll in, it still will appear smart tag not detected and i need to hit brake and stop then it only able to detect.
PIC : it could be the liquid apply on your windscreen paper is not fully dry, try use it another week if problem still there u can call us again.

at this point i was so fed up, so i just told the PIC is ok la, i see how then.

btw i not try to attack the raytech, i just share my experience and maybe that is the only PIC that have such attitude and i no idea. no offense. peace  tongue.gif
Thanks for the feedback bro!! It's going in my shit list.

As a customer I don't expect things to be perfect, but I expect you to fix the problem if I tell you. Not give me excuses.

These jokers, take your money already ask you fly kite.

I am hunting for tint on my old car... Guess really have to choose international brands for proper support.

Jason
post Oct 24 2015, 06:18 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Lord Gitsy @ Oct 24 2015, 04:06 PM)
Sorry bro, we have contacted the customer and settled the matter. Please don't make your judgement here instead of understanding the whole story. According to customer said, the heat resist of the film is good and can pass Smart tag but just need slow down the car. We are selling Genuine product to customer but sometimes when problems happen we will try to solve the problem until fulfill the customer's satisfaction smile.gif
No need say sorry to me. I just read the experience shared by an actual customer. I bolded the bullshit part. Based on what the customer said previously, I don't think that is called solving the problem until customer's satisfaction.

Its more like "go fly kite la"
Then "oh shit the customer is complaining on a public forum and naming us in public"
and then you try to solve the problem

Please la, you're not the only business with this kind of "service". Thank you.

This post has been edited by Jason: Oct 24 2015, 06:19 PM
Jason
post Sep 28 2017, 01:58 PM

6,354 posts

What's better than Llumar Diamond 6? TSER, price and color wise. Security tint only. FWS can be normal solar tint.
EDIT: VLT 50% for driver & passenger, and 30% for rear sides & RWS.

Requirement is that its MUST be JPJ compliant.

Llumar has 10 years warranty too..wow.

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 28 2017, 02:00 PM
Jason
post Jul 8 2018, 01:08 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(cardiac @ Jul 5 2018, 02:59 AM)
Dear Sifu's

I was offered Bellfort Tinting for my City

R85% V32% U99% T68% at RM2.2k

Is this brand reliable ? already searched the Forum - not much info.

Thanks in adv for your advises.
For that kind of price just take 3M. No need to think whether others is good or not. 3M is proven to perform. Why risk with others.

QUOTE(Confused_man @ Jul 7 2018, 09:30 PM)
Does anyone know of Cool Master and ProCool brand? Was quoted rm2.4k Cool Master for 95% heat rejection type. Thanks
2.4k? Sedan or MPV? If sedan, as above, just take 3M.
Jason
post Jul 12 2018, 12:50 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Confused_man @ Jul 12 2018, 11:39 AM)
Thanks for the reply..It's City. How about llumar? Was quoted 2.1k for the same thing
My Llumar windscreen AirBlue80 is failing after 4 years..still under warranty, going to claim warranty soon. Before anyone talk shit saying I got conned by installer giving me fake tint and not real Llumar, I did it at HQ Chan Sow Lin, not dealer outlet.

If you wanna spend that much, 3M
Jason
post Jul 15 2018, 01:39 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Jul 12 2018, 08:19 PM)
Raytech or 3M or huper optik ?

Anyone try XPEL ?
3M if you’re rich. Huper Optik if you’re not.

QUOTE(seancl85 @ Jul 13 2018, 10:29 AM)
And to all Sifus, HO,3m,vkool and others wish one the best for hear rejection/safety film/good price?
V-Kool/Llumar/CannyCool

QUOTE(malaysiaboleh2020 @ Jul 14 2018, 03:30 PM)
yeah you are right and thats I thought but clarified with the 3M tint shop. its all crystalline but they add their own extra security film provided by 3M for those that prefer 50 cause as you said SCS only 40 and 70.
If it’s not listed on 3M website. It is NOT 3M. Hope you didn’t kena scam. Other people posted to say there’s not crystalline 50 security tint. Suddenly got from the shop? It’s called house tint lar. Don’t be idiot pay 3M price get 6M product.
Jason
post Jul 16 2018, 12:58 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(malaysiaboleh2020 @ Jul 15 2018, 07:53 PM)
Woah are you depressed or what, take a chill pill.
As I mentioned its a full crystalline 3M with extra layer of their security film for people that doesn’t want SCR 40 or SCR 70 which are too dark or light respectively. yeah you are right the security film is their own addition may be I never wrote that clearly. You sound like a you can get a great deal of 3M, perhaps share your recommendation ?

Even with without security film I get quote about 2.1-2.2k after surveying 4 3M authorised dealer shop, kepong, puchong, bukit jalil and kuchai lama.
Void warranty for the 3M if you have extra layer of other stuff on it.

I'm not using 3M. And I went with 40% VLT on my front side windows as well, not too dark for me. I'm using Huper Optik, its cheaper.
Jason
post Nov 12 2018, 01:46 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 10 2018, 03:10 PM)
What are your thoughts on Llumar Crystal 6?

How is the heat rejection and the GPS and smart tag signal like for HyperGard?

Is the price RM2.8K for Honda city us usual price? Or is someone else able to quote me a lower one? In Penang Island
My car with Llumar AIR80 for windscreen no issues with GPS and smart tag. Works perfect. I think the Crystal 6 is only for the sides.

That being said my AIR80 tint is failing at the place I stick roadtax. I did not stick the road tax direct to the tint, got a protective clear film. Gonna go claim warranty when I am free.
Jason
post Jun 20 2019, 10:33 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 20 2019, 05:12 PM)
Used Huper Optik but not 3M.

Huper Optik's heat rejection performance tends to deteriorate over the years. I could feel the heat in year 3 onwards.
Mines 1 1/2 years. Still good.
Why don’t you try claim warranty?
Jason
post Dec 15 2023, 04:41 PM

6,354 posts

Contribute a bit lai…

Llumar = lapsap don’t waste money. Thing peeling at the corner, I think it’s adhesive failure within warranty period but covid so I don’t care lah. This is windscreen. That time did in Chan Sow Lin HQ lagi. Sudah claim windscreen inso now using 3M. Very good but smartag fail, another kebodohan. No I won’t cut a hole in my tint for smartag. Don’t stupid pls.

Huper Optik ceramic series = bagus ini. On my car 6 years still perfect.

After reading some feedback on Rhinepro in this tered. Wah scary. Wanted to consider cause spec macam yes and price slightly cheaper than Huper.

Huper CS series roughly RM2xxx. So if you’re paying that much might as well get Huper. Big factory backing it. Abang adik Llumar, V-Kool.

Genuine huper optik import punya. It is also color stable at least for me, even the piece on sunroof which kena constant sunlights
Jason
post Dec 17 2023, 01:34 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Escaflowne @ Dec 16 2023, 08:45 PM)
I'm a huper optik user.. Surveying out in case there's other new brands which is good since planning for new car. Since I want to a tint shop today tested my huper optik which has been on the car since the day I bought it.

10 years and 11 months..

Sadly Sech60 discontinued, I feel it’s a good balance for front windscreen. Now have to opt for C70.
Jason
post Dec 18 2023, 12:50 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 16 2023, 03:32 PM)
Im user of huper optik for past 4 cars. I cannot move beyond this brand for tinted and no reason to switch other brand. Literally perfect
I think this brand, the marketing and branding not very aggressive. So other brands like Rhinepro more famous (which is why I looked at it).

It is also good, the price I tint today, versus 6 years ago, just stayed within inflation and didn't increase dramatically.
Jason
post Jan 5 2025, 12:47 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 7 2020, 12:52 PM)
I used that Totalgard tint at my wife car, a local car, x70. Reason bought is due to spec offered, IRR, TSER and proven on meter not just saying only. And most due to price offered at rm1k and warranty covered for degradation if happen.

For 3 months using it, it performs quite well. Not feel hot at all during noon time.

But I reserved my review to check if it performs well on 2nd & 3rd year of usage.
4 years liao, how is totalgard?

Looking for budget < RM1k tint for my weekend car.
Jason
post Jan 10 2025, 01:43 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 20 2024, 08:12 AM)
Thinking to tint my camry, but i want a rfid and smart tag friendly tint, any brand should i go for?
Huperoptik… used for 5 years on my old car
New car 1 year already

No fade no bubble just perfect. Ceramic based so no issues with smart tag. RFID also no issue (my guard house uses rfid sticker — I stick it inside the car windscreen).
Jason
post Jan 14 2025, 10:35 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 14 2025, 09:59 AM)
Depends on what vehicle you drive. Previously I tot smart tag cannot work for all cars (3M), but some like an owner of Toyota Harrier (i think) says it worked. But for Honda, at least Civic and City, it does not. If cut hole, sure can work lar if the tag aligned with the hole but do you really want to do that (cut hole) if your car smart tag don't work for 3M. If it does not, there are many other tints with good quality to look at (if you use smart tag a lot).
I’ve never seen smart tag work for real original crystalline tint.

Other 3M tint it works lah.
Jason
post Jul 7 2025, 11:24 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(erasergate @ Jan 4 2024, 12:40 AM)
My ALVA tint is going 2 years now. If I remember it right, I just avail the mid spec so I paid 700 including removing the old tint. So far so good. I don't have complaints. What I noticed is that it keep my car cooler. As if the aircon is new.

But I agree, I think the problem is the workmanship and the people installing it, Not the tint or product itself.

Anyway, I recently acquire a 2nd hand car and I think I will give Alva another try.
How’s your Alva now? Third year already. Any issues with the tint?

But their workshop like factory production line, so many cars so I guess they are rushing when install.
Jason
post Jul 11 2025, 06:15 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Jul 11 2025, 06:05 PM)
This is just the nature of businesses here. Many problems we Malaysians face with all sorts of products are usually not the fault of the products themselves but the quality of the installation (I just got back from an office block that had a nightmare VRF air-con installation).

With Alva, at least you pay for what you get — semi-decent product, questionable workmanship, low price — but in Malaysia you will also find man companies with high-end pricing that practice dogwater standards. I won’t name names, but there is a very famous “premium” ceramic coating company with branches all over the country, and in every branch, the work area is a joke. The customer cars are so close to each other in the same room, staff working on cars at the same time. You will see one car with workers applying the coat, while the next car barely 6ft away has someone polishing it. They don’t know small bits are flying off the polishing pads and floating in the air, falling onto the car that has the coat in the middle of curing?

Let’s not even start discussing shops using J&J baby soap for tint application instead of dedicated applicator liquids. Heck, they can’t even get the grammar right in this country. “Tinted” is past tense/participle la, tauke.
Laws of diminishing returns.

V-Kool is good. Not 6 times better than Alva kind of good. And I prefer ceramic tints over metallized, I don’t know what’s 3M crystalline - not metallized not ceramic.

I’m surveying <1k tint partially reasons you mentioned, and frankly technology has advanced a lot since V Kool started this tint thing 20+ years ago.
Jason
post Oct 24 2025, 02:20 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jihia @ Oct 20 2025, 09:56 PM)
I saw many good reviews about Vkool, when I try to research there are very minimal stores in PJ area. Can you guys recommend any around PJ area? based at ara damansara
Many fakes.. https://www.tint-shop.com.my/contact.html
I went to the one in Glenmarie. They will even tell you how to identify V-Kool real or not.

They also carry other brands la, V-Kool expensive. My car is now on V-Kool + Huper Optik. I am a fan of Huper, but I need to admit the superiority of V-Kool's performance. 3m Crystalline also very high performing.

If I care about performance outright, V-Kool & 3M Crystalline (their other 3M lines is rubbish). If i wanna save some money and have a nicer color of tint, Huper Optik is my choice.

Llumar AIR 75 failed on my windscreen, peeling at edges, so it is straight to the shit list for me. V-Kool also show rust on the corners but no issue (20 year old V-Kool).

0.2314sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:04 AM