post Dec 2 2013, 10:43 PM

49 posts

Yeah V3 now! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
windskill
post Dec 3 2013, 08:56 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Dec 3 2013, 12:21 PM)

I will not expect the result to be exactly same as ONR since the price already almost half the price of ONR. You got it from Tesco? what is the price? is it RM30++? i saw it at JJ last time its RM50++ (pack with the MF Cloth)...but we have to use 4oz of TWRF per 2 gallon of water compared to 1oz of ONR...i guess if we take that into calculate...its still almost the same price as ONRĀ  yawn.gif (correct me if im wrong) =.=
Ace's price is too expensive. Tesco you can get it around RM35. Just bought it 2 weeks ago but haven't started using it. Online reviews said you can achieve the same result as ONR if you follow the instructions (4oz for 2 gallons).

Yeah, if you measure this way, the price is actually the same as ONR. The great thing is that you can get TWRF easily in Tesco compared to ONR. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Dec 3 2013, 10:13 PM
windskill
post Dec 3 2013, 10:33 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Dec 3 2013, 10:12 PM)
Do let us know the result, I'm considering this or ONR. ONR in gallon packing is much cheaper compare to 32oz packing.
Sure, no problem. Probably will try that this coming weekend or next weekend. Hopefully my noob iPhone 4 can capture the difference haha.

Yeah, the gallon packing of ONR is cheaper. Initially, I bought TWRF because I wanted to use it as clay lube. But I don't think I can't find any free time to do the complete wash->clay bar->polish->wax/sealant->LSP. So, clay lube experiment have to delay till next year mid January probably. rclxub.gif
windskill
post Dec 4 2013, 04:44 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(yuan415 @ Dec 4 2013, 03:40 PM)
recently just started my diy detailing and found it is very interesting. bought black and decker kp600 polisher, because it is more gentle for a beginner like me? cause i read a lot review saying rotary polisher might damage car paint so i dont want to take the risk.

so my materials are Permanon Platinum pro pack, with brilliantshine shampoo and fusion x3, meguairs quik detailer, meguairs ultimate polish. my process goes like this (wash-clay-wash-polish-platinum coat first layer-fusion x3-platinum coat another layer.

i took 7 hours non-stop for an accord laugh.gif without realizing the time pass so fast.

but actually what i wanted to achieve is the mirror shine effect, and i am not achieving. is this because of the polishing part? i not dare to go too much for polishing yet because scare it will cause more scratchess.
Car detailing is like a drug, once you are devoted into it, you are basically having car detailing addiction tongue.gif

windskill
post Dec 7 2013, 10:17 PM

49 posts

Started experimenting with Turtle Wax Rinse Free Wash & Wax today. The experiment was about clearing bird poop found on top of my car paint.

Instructions said 4oz of TWRF with 2 gallons of water. Since I need it just for one small area, so I use 1oz of TWRF with 32oz of water. It smells pretty nice. I sprayed some of the solution on my hand but I couldn't really feel the "smoothness" or slickness as I would expect. But anyway, I started to work on the stain and I can easily removed the poop from my car paint. However, the poop had done some damage on the car paint. Perhaps it was left there for quite some time and baked under the hot sun before I could manage to remove it.

Anyway, TWRF left a smooth and slick surface on the area I worked on. I sprayed on other dirty areas and it worked out pretty good. There were some pretty stubborn dirts on my car paint, but I could remove it after going through a few passes.

Verdict: I have never used ONR before and so I couldn't really make a comparison between ONR and TWRF. However, I think TWRF did work out pretty good for me. IMO, it's a recommended product, which you can easily get in most of the stores (eg: Tesco, AEON, Ace Hardware, etc.)! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

*Sorry for not having any picture. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Dec 7 2013, 10:20 PM
windskill
post Dec 15 2013, 11:18 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(FlamingASSH0LE @ Dec 15 2013, 09:52 AM)
After polish car must wax ke?
If see black spots which can't remove by washing, wax boleh ke?
I think the black spots are tar sticking on the car paint. Can try to use claybar to remove them.
windskill
post Dec 15 2013, 10:43 PM

49 posts

Have a question to consult all the sifus.

Today I was working on a friend's car - Toyota Corolla. Using Meguair's Ultimate Compound with a hand applicator pad. I tried to remove the swirl marks but I failed to do so even with 4-5 passes.

Is it my technique incorrect or the swirl marks are too deep to be polished by hand? (The car has not been polished for like more than 3 years I guess)
windskill
post Dec 16 2013, 08:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 09:08 AM)

When you say 'failed', do you mean the swirls are not budging at all or only slightly improved?

If there is improvement it could be that the swirls are too deep and would be tedious to do by hand.

Of if there's no improvement or just slightly improved only, it could be that the swirl is deep AND the paint is hard and it would need a more aggressive approach with a machine.....
There's a slight improvement. Some significant swirl marks are gone after polish.

Okay, I will try more aggressive approach next time and see the result. Thanks rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
windskill
post Dec 17 2013, 01:20 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(yumi17 @ Dec 17 2013, 12:04 AM)
Hey guys, i will be getting ford fiesta in white soon. Shud i do coating for my car which will cost RM1500 from Gzox or to polish it every year will do?
Let me diverge first:
Coating and polishing are two different terms and so each of them has its own unique meaning.

Coating layer serves as a protective layer or "sacrificial layer" against direct damage to the existing/underlying car paint.
Polishing is a mean of correcting the defects (eg: scratches, swirl marks, orange peel,etc.) on the car paint.

Even with coating, you still need to perform proper regular maintenance. As time goes, eventually you still need to polish your car to remove the defects (minor defects are on the sacrificial layer instead of on the actual car paint layer) and re-apply the coating after polish.

How long do you need to polish again even you have a coating? I am not sure either. IMO, it depends on how OCD you are on the condition of the car paint. I would leave this to other sifus to reply. smile.gif

Back to topic: Should you apply coating layer? I would say if you have extra budget, go ahead and do that as the main purpose of coating is to protect the existing car paint layer. (Does it worth the money, particularly on G'zox coating? Perhaps you can refer to the following link -> http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=99004)

I hope I did answer your question at some point, probably. Haha. Do correct me if I am wrong as I am on the learning stage too. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Dec 17 2013, 01:22 AM
windskill
post Dec 18 2013, 03:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 18 2013, 12:03 PM)
Year end coming.
Anyone taking leave to polish their car? laugh.gif
Lol, I wish i can too. haha. Then tell boss, reason of leave: polish car. blink.gif
windskill
post Dec 19 2013, 10:30 PM

49 posts

Today I went to Daiso and found this pretty decent microfiber cloth. Couldn't find the gsm information of the cloth, but my guess would be around 300+ gsm.

Just bought it and haven't tried out. Hopefully it won't leave any lint strands and discoloration biggrin.gif

Anyone uses the Daiso microfiber cloth before?

This post has been edited by windskill: Dec 19 2013, 10:30 PM
windskill
post Dec 21 2013, 04:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(MelonLover @ Dec 21 2013, 02:21 PM)
hi, can anyone recommend me some decent car wash shampoo wax? is it good? thanks smile.gif
You can try Meguiars Ultimate Wash and Wax. Result is impressive.

If you are on tight budget, Osren Bubble and Wax is recommended as well.
windskill
post Dec 21 2013, 11:00 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 21 2013, 07:01 PM)
Where to buy Osren Bubble and Wax ? What size does it come with ? Price vs Ultimate Wash and Wax ?
I believe you can get Osren products either from the distributors in different states or from the main office in KL. Last time I emailed Osren and asked about the prices for some of the products (not bubble and wax). They did reply me with the prices, as well as some useful advises on the application/uses of various products. smile.gif Also, they told me I can actually get the product directly from them and they will deliver to me via postage.

Osren Bubble and Wax can be in 4 liter or 20 liter size. Not exactly sure about the price, but I heard 4 liter one costs around RM70-80-ish price range.

Ultimate Wash and Wax is around 1.4L, and costs around RM74-ish, if I am not mistaken?

This post has been edited by windskill: Dec 21 2013, 11:01 PM
windskill
post Dec 23 2013, 03:18 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 23 2013, 03:09 PM)
yeap save your strength from your other hand. but yeah, get a pressure washer. makes detailing fun
Some people don't really encourage using pressure washer as they said it might introduce scratches as well...due to the high pressure on the dirt.

I am confused on this sometimes rclxub.gif
windskill
post Dec 23 2013, 05:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(carl90 @ Dec 23 2013, 05:10 PM)
Hello guys im new here.i have a question,is it okay to wash n wax my car once a week?is there any side effect to the car?thankss

Im still learning bout polish n so on.hope u guys can shed me more knowledge biggrin.gif
Wash every week should be fine. Not sure about waxing every week. Recommend to wax only when water doesn't bead anymore. (Afraid that wax without claying first might cause some swirl marks).

I am new on polishing too rclxm9.gif You can either start doing it by hand or by machine (recommend using DA polishing tool instead of rotary polisher first). Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish are good products to work with, IMO.

Common procedure: wash->clay->compound->polish->wax/sealant

You may skip compound step if there are no severe scratches/swirl marks on the car paint.
windskill
post Dec 25 2013, 03:41 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 25 2013, 02:51 PM)
I detailed my car over the weekend using Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover, Finishing Glaze, Deep Gloss Paint Sealant.

Impressive rclxms.gif
windskill
post Dec 29 2013, 01:35 PM

49 posts

Hi everyone. May I know where can I get isopropyl alchohol (IPA) over the counter? I went to most of the pharmacies, and they only have alcohol swab.
windskill
post Jan 4 2014, 11:45 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 4 2014, 11:24 AM)
hahahaha...like i said noob here. To be honest I never waxed any car before and never ever sent my car for waxing. so yeah super noob in car detailing but what i do not lack is passion!
Passion is the fuel that keeps you go crazy with car detailing! Haha. Just learn as you go, and read up some articles in Autogeek. Ask and share here. there are many sifus here! biggrin.gif
windskill
post Jan 5 2014, 09:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 5 2014, 07:59 PM)
Just sharing Dodo Juice Supernatural Infinity Sealant.

Seems like Opti-glass sheets water faster than Dodo Juice Supernatural Infinity Sealant. Or perhaps they use more water so it gives an "illusionary" effect? hmm.gif
windskill
post Jan 6 2014, 02:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jan 6 2014, 09:36 AM)
How do you guys actually compare apples to apples when he's testing Dodo Juice on a bonnet and Opti-Glass on a windscreen? My guess it's not even the same car...

But Opti-Glass sure does look delicious biggrin.gif
You know what...I have been thinking Opti-glass is paint coating..... rclxub.gif oppps, my bad. Haha. Your reply just woke me up biggrin.gif

0.0497sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:02 AM