9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

g88
post Jun 4 2014, 11:30 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 11:26 AM)
As i know cleaner wax has some mild abrasive cleaning agent in it, will it damage the clear coat if using it too frequent like monthly basis?

Thanks again~
NO.
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 11:33 AM

1,631 posts

I will do weekly wash at least ONCE a week. After wash usually will top up with UQD or OCW depend on my mood.

Sometime i will wash > wax + OCW or sealant

If after kena rain or drizzling, the next will DEFINITELY will be pre-soak with foam gun > wash > clay > wax + UQD or Wax (depend how dirty it is)

If outstation kena rain or have heavy rain, the next thing to do is foam lance
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 11:58 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 11:37 AM)
Ur car must be really well kept n shines~

i do not have so many equipments, all by hands only  ohmy.gif
typically low usage, covered car park all time. Going out also have to pre-ask the weather god tongue.gif.

Used to have / still owned all the machine detailing product and equipment (which bought to enhance previous old car) but then now with current ride, there are just in kinda of sleeping model.

Focus more toward to maintenance, washing , wax now. No more paint cutting (almost at all), mild polishing maybe once or twice.

Stop purchasing polisher anymore (be it old skool or outdated product)

Last (latest) product was coating on the ride, and now maintaining with top up of wash, clay, wax, sealant, aio, wax booster.

Just wanna minimize the swirl instead cutting (clear coat) it.
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 02:02 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 12:08 PM)
Thanks for your generous sharing smile.gif. Last time i was using Permanon Coating, and the effect is not up to my expectation, and have to use the Brilliantshine Shampoo to maintain the caoting, which produced really less foam. So now i come back to traditional waxing method. I guess i should get a polisher instead of using hand dy.

I was thinking to do the Opti Guard too, but mayb next yr, and its pricey as well. Heard from my colleague he is using Soft99 Fusson Coat 9 Months, not sure is it a good buy.
care to share more about your ride colour, age, condition, parking exposure etc.

do bear in mind you WILL get different input from different sifu...some will recommend you have to 'latest' product or tech thing, some will ask go for 'ease of use' product, some will ask you go for branded (local brand, mid end , and high end)

For me ANY product can perform its DO and DON'T depend how you use it....(just like camera), not neccessary keep buying and trying will make your ride looks 'better'...i was kinda of coming thru this path therefore i am shaking my experience.

g88
post Jun 4 2014, 02:53 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for your advise.

1. Pearl white hatchback, 1.5 y/o
2. Heavy traveler, 80km per day. Passing by dusty construction area along my daily route.
3. Usually park indoor in home & office.
4. Was using Permanon coating previously, but now changing back to wax.
5. Wash at least once in a week.
6. The car currently has no sheeting or beading effect. Glass is maintained with Glaco.

True, some products really expensive... I wish to get the car paint maintain and gloss, and try to wax monthly as an exercise too. Meg cleaner wax + tech wax is my budget limit dy  nod.gif
I would suggest you look for this two product aside from cleaner wax and tech wax. DO get yourself a PermaGlass clay too.

For shampoo, any MG shampoo will do the job.

This shall give u a fairly good maintainance

g88
post Jun 4 2014, 02:54 PM

1,631 posts

M16 is rare and should be at Rm74 or Rm86. Can u locate in CERTAIN ACE hardware or HomeFix

ColorX should be around Rm5x-6x, its an AIO
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 03:19 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 03:01 PM)
Ohh i saw M16 in ACE. ColorX is a AIO product or similar to deep crystal cleaner?
this is the full recommended 'complete' system from Deep Crystal family

g88
post Jun 4 2014, 03:19 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jun 4 2014, 03:06 PM)
There are 3 plastic cleaner and dont know which to buy

Also use foam or microfiber cloth ?

Plast-X

Scratch X 2.0

Then the picture you shared.
Plastic you use Plastx

ScratchX is for paintwork
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 03:34 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jun 4 2014, 03:27 PM)
thank you

how bout the applicator ? use microfiber cloth or foam ?
doesn't matter. Microfiber can do buffing job (2in1) vs foam applicator
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 04:27 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 4 2014, 03:38 PM)
Wow! so many steps XD

I guess i will use cleaner wax/ColorX + m16 wax for my monthly maintenance smile.gif  rclxms.gif

Thanks~
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 11:08 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 4 2014, 06:01 PM)
Bought but haven't use blue painter's tape.  doh.gif  RM5X at Ace hardware..
chinese says 'you already went up to the car' laugh.gif ...Rm5x for a roll of masking tape ? Do you really 'need' masking tape as the first place or just look pro brows.gif
g88
post Jun 4 2014, 11:10 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 4 2014, 08:34 PM)
How much?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I want to rojak2 in product.. ONR for wash + clay lube - DG431 for APC - UC for compounding - PBA601 for paint bonding - Opti-Seal for paint & wheel coating OR permanon platinum - DG Track Claw for finishing..

Is it too much? Or is there any AIO for all these?  drool.gif
More doesn't mean better protection. It either repeatation of same product from different brand/packing or wasting your time only.
g88
post Jun 5 2014, 11:50 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 5 2014, 11:32 AM)
Mayb with tat price tag we cannot expect too high  hmm.gif
i would prefer OCW way over permanon in term of easy of application, durability and quantity biggrin.gif
g88
post Jun 7 2014, 01:46 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(nig3l @ Jun 6 2014, 11:30 PM)
Hi sifus. My inspira got into an accident.
Now I replaced my rear bonnet and it's too white for my car.
Mine is white as well btw.
They told me my car paint became grey yellowish already so I need to repaint whole car.

Can't afford his suggestion. So I came to ask if polishing can make my car whiter to match my new bonnet.

Pls advise ty
Polish or wax can't change the colour of your paintwork.
g88
post Jun 9 2014, 02:41 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jun 9 2014, 12:45 PM)
My side skirt has some deep scratches, as it is made of plastic or something, the scratch took out a bit of the material. Just wondering whether u guys know of any substance where I can use it to fill up the hole so that I can use touch up paint and paint it over
send to paintshop to respray. They know what to do
g88
post Jun 11 2014, 04:59 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Jun 11 2014, 01:52 PM)
guys,

I got 1:10 dilluted APC in a cheap spray bottle (those rm3 pasar malam bottle). is there any side effect for a long term use? or should i put it in the chemical resistant spray bottle? Sked the chemical in it will spoil the plastic and effect the on the surface i used later on.
APC is not that strong, the most it will kill is your spray head. Get a good chemical resistant bottle will last you for sometime or get a bottle of chemical cleaner and reuse the bottle after that.
g88
post Jun 11 2014, 05:30 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Jun 11 2014, 05:26 PM)
tenkiu bro g88 for the info given really appreciated it  thumbup.gif
sub sub water laugh.gif
g88
post Jun 12 2014, 10:15 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 12 2014, 09:30 AM)
When u have used those megs do u wash ur bottle after use or leave it inside the bottle?

If u wash but the chemical still kill the bottle then i better find chemical type bottle la like this..
depend. I do both...so far all ok .
g88
post Jun 12 2014, 12:02 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jun 12 2014, 11:49 AM)
Talk about this good quality (chemical resistant, grey color head), large volume  (1 liter) sprayer or foamer, other than OSREN, does anyone knows where else can get something that is similar to the sprayer and foamer carried by OSREN?

Does normal shoplot hardware shop carries something similar?
Ace Hardware has some but (i) volume usually lesser than 1liter (ii) price not so competitive, would rather go back to OSREN if has to purchase from there. But the quality is good for those chemical sprayers carried by Ace Hardware.

The other reliable options I am aware of is the Meguiar's one but that one selling way overpriced by Hypercoat Malaysia.

Edit: Suddenly has an idea, this weekend wanna try whether the OSREN sprayer head can insert, turn, and tighten on the 1.5L or 500ml soft drink water bottle or not. I remember I saw some sellers just selling the head. Though I always doubt is it so easy to find a bottle whose  thread can fit the head nicely, and the length of the tube is sufficiently long or not.
why you WANNA MAKE SIMPLE THING SO DIFFICULT laugh.gif
g88
post Jun 12 2014, 03:03 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jun 12 2014, 12:51 PM)
laugh.gif  if you going to have a lot of them then a few bucks will add up to a lot.
If manage to find a cheap bottle to replace, next time if bottle spoil, can replace easily.
I personally think the foamer carried by OSREN does not spray out foam in even direction, it kind of like tilted to one side. I have several of them they all behave the same.
The OSREN grey sprayer working fine for me.
But two of them have one weakness, that is when you shake (as in carry around), it will leak out water. I have tried before others (but I am unable to find it again) that will never leak. So these products as good as they can be, still have weakness in their design. Imagine if that bottle flip because of a cat or mouse, the next day all the product will be gone.

It's never appear bad to me to have more choice.  tongue.gif
i have like 3-5 bottles and been using for at least 3-4 years (or maybe 5-6 years) so far all work perfectly well. All are chemical resistant sprayhead bought from AG long ago.

I wonder HOW MANY type of chemical or dressing are u having laugh.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:01 AM