Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

g88
post Jul 30 2014, 02:32 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Jul 30 2014, 02:18 PM)
well the point is if coat, we cannot simply use other material, must use back the coated material. and we are stick to 200+ maint fees for 6 months for 3 to 5 years.

If wax and polish freq example like 6 months. we still spend 200+ for such service. But without the 1 lump sum coat of few K
That is incorrect. Coating doesn't cost Rm few K IF you DIY yourself (even with slightly high shipment fee it won't cost Rm1K)
g88
post Jul 31 2014, 01:50 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(XM177 @ Jul 31 2014, 01:19 PM)
hi all sifus,  icon_question.gif

just want to ask some basics how does a average wax hold up ? 2 to 3 weeks ? incl raining & washing in between.

Due my car cant really hold up wax. 2 to 3 times in a rain, wax gone already. brands i tried 3M, Meg, & nanowax.

worst is the nanowax, 1 time in a rain, 80% of the waxes gone (just waxed a day before)  cry.gif

is it because of my car paint quality ? ( i respray once ) or i have to do something before do waxing ?

*Proton S.Neo
*send for shops to do polish & wax

Thanks ~
Looking like your surface wasn't clean properly or well prepare....what specific wax are you using ? what do you do prior for protection application ?
g88
post Jul 31 2014, 03:15 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Jul 31 2014, 03:03 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif feb till now is like... almost half year, and the ULW still holding up good??? or is it the BSD that you keep applying (weekly??) i wonder is it the ULW that's protecting or the BSD hmm.gif  hmm.gif
its not surprising if you use good stuff WITH THE CORRECT way...

For me the 'polish' step almost zero nowadays (rotary, pad all sleeping for long time)...most is that once in a bluemoon just use ROB to lighten (not fully remove) all the very light swirl (sure kena no matter how careful you wash and dry)...

since got the car, at 1st tot just wash and wax which last me for almost 3-6 months...later explored to permenant coating (all DIY ya)...

So Upto now....only do weekly wash (depend how dirty) with foam gun..average 1 time a week....max can go 3-4 times tongue.gif

if bit 'dusty' or after kena rain...will washed with foam lance brows.gif

From there only do wax, sealant, topper (either do 1,2, or all 3 of them)...

Maintaining is the key
g88
post Jul 31 2014, 03:37 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(XM177 @ Jul 31 2014, 03:22 PM)
well not sure about that but definitely is liquid thou

wow that is impressive

well i tried before i asked them for a polish service before the wax, well below is the details

Paid RM 200 + - for detail polish & wax <inc clay & compounding etc> 3M products
for this packages it holds the wax longest about 3 weeks plus before i have to send for waxing again but as time goes on it holds around a week or twice only. (this is about year ago)

recently paid RM 170 for simple polish & nanowax  <had to paid so much due they incl the nano coat>
this is the worst, finish today a day later park outside and heavy rain, there goes my wax.  doh.gif

what seems to be a problem ? shop pipu skill problem lel ?
why SO MANY Polish and why need COMPOUND (cutting the paint) ? How sure are you the bottle's content is from the same brand ?

I think they are not using genuine product...just the bottle....

DIY la...u can't expect shop give u durability else they bankrupt if you never go back again...

all this nano, waterwax is some sort of shxx product to me....purely gimmick !!!
g88
post Aug 1 2014, 10:03 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(XM177 @ Aug 1 2014, 09:59 AM)
any tips of brand wax that worth buying ? lets say budget around < $100 ?  smile.gif

looking something durable and have max water sheeting as i park my car outdoor most of the time ~
As mentioned couple time its NOT only about getting durable / good wax...its the surface preparation and HOW do you apply and maintain it...

If you wanted a 'better' wax...you can look for this rare/limited product in Ace or HomeFix if you see it..price should be Rm74 or 86

g88
post Aug 1 2014, 10:33 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Aug 1 2014, 10:21 AM)
Is okay to use shampoo as lube? Was thinking to do that as well. I thought that Meguairs used the quik detailer as clay lube but that's expensive!
definitely no problem to use shampoo as lube (clean bottle not the balance from the car wash ya) biggrin.gif
g88
post Aug 1 2014, 11:20 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Aug 1 2014, 11:08 AM)
In that case after washing my car it is wet. Do I have to dry it down completely then only clay with shampoo?
no you dun dry the car..can straight continue with clay as long the surface is free from sand , dust or mud ....some ppl also use water hose as lube....i do sometime..but u might feel water not as lubricant as shampoo...

typically you GLIDE the clay ON TOP Of shampoo...instead RUB against the paintwork
g88
post Aug 1 2014, 03:27 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 1 2014, 03:00 PM)
Poster Posts
Quazacolt 287
KrisMas 231
scoutfai 221
g88 147
acefreakz 104
MyWifeCar 74

tongue.gif
What does this mean ? More post more gadget more equipment more product and better skillset ? laugh.gif
g88
post Aug 1 2014, 05:04 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(LazyJin @ Aug 1 2014, 04:05 PM)
I have the same attachment as you. I've only used it twice, with very disappointing results. It is not as well built as other foam lance attachments, just do a youtube search for foam lance and karcher foam lance, you will see a very big difference. Others get snow, Karcher gets melting snow, if you get my drift...

Also, based on my previous searches, Megs Ultimate Wash and Wax doesn't create as much foam as other shampoos.

Try using very hot water when you mix the soap solution, dont shake before you close the top, and don't shake too hard because it freaking leaks! And lastly, play around with the dilution.

I gave up after realising i use 5X the amount of soap with the foam lance vs normal 2 bucket method. Maybe when my kid is older i'll bring it out and have a snow party... or a melting snow party.
not that i know of where karcher make foam lance.

A true or good foam lance look like this , expecting around Rm3xx. Don't try the one from china where my friend bought almost half of the price...after use two time...it went dead.

I have tried with consumer series (MG) shampoo on foam lance...the result is not that awesome.

Well i would use foam gun when the car not so dirty and want quicker wash.....foam lance take little bit more time to setup but enjoy the nozzle biggrin.gif

Btw, am using OCW, DG, Sonax, CG, Valet Shampoo with both gun...work well for me...

My MG Gold Glass and NXT still in sealed bottle hehe
g88
post Aug 1 2014, 05:59 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(LazyJin @ Aug 1 2014, 05:45 PM)
Yea, Karcher's one looks nothing like that. Anyhow, IMHO the added lubricity from the foam is not significant enough to justify a lance purchase and time needed to setup. I found that in our weather i had to foam, wash and rinse section by section to prevent the soap from drying up. Or maybe i've got slow hands  rclxm9.gif
not really...depend on product you use...

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 1 2014, 05:50 PM)
Is this a good example of OCD...? Hahaha.. i hope i not getting into that.. although hand itchy itchy all the time after started a bit into car care (me not detailers yet, you guys are crazy bunch, detail until even hard / soft water) ..
once you try it and found it efficiency...it will become WORTH value for you..save time and save product...

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Aug 1 2014, 05:52 PM)
Ok will try to clay my car and hopefully take some photos then. Going to clay + wax. Normally i don't know if i am too anal or what but a normal washing + drying takes me around 3 1/2 hours doh.gif

thanks to quaz and g88.

How do i tag someone btw?
g88
post Aug 4 2014, 12:13 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 4 2014, 11:17 AM)
only for my clay lube lol... for regular shampoo, megs gold class works fine for me... and it's taking too damn long to deplete as i wanted to try Sonax sad.gif
i think aeon big or aeon got sell...Rm35-40 for 1 liter. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
g88
post Aug 5 2014, 04:57 PM

1,631 posts

detailing is more about maximising the product capability + your skillset...

similar to photography. If you dunno know how to take a good picture even give you a expensive camera your image may turn sux...

anyhow pratice, practice and pratice will improve your skill before more on to more effective/easy of use product.

A BIG NO NO is NEVER follow ' MY FRIEND SAID THIS product IS GOOD then you go buy' but the UNFORTUNATE part is majority ppl will go thru this to gain more experience.

I still with my old product which i think going to last me for another 3-5 years (2-3 years also i was saying the same thing..) till now the product till have that 'much' in a way wink.gif
g88
post Aug 7 2014, 09:56 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 7 2014, 09:51 AM)
Wait im confused .....

M135 is equivalent to Meg's Ultimate Quick Detailer.
D156 is equivalent to Meg's Quick Wax.
D155 is equivalent to? 
hmm.gif  hmm.gif
D155 consumer version is this

Nothing to confuse. If you really have gang and contact probably you can only go look for Detailer (gallon) series since its not openly sell to consumer

This post has been edited by g88: Aug 7 2014, 09:58 AM
g88
post Aug 7 2014, 10:19 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 7 2014, 10:04 AM)
Oh haha thanks for that tip... thumbup.gif

Well have to slowly gather gang gang detailer!!!  brows.gif
different period/era got different group...once you into detailer, you will start venturing more and more brand...crazily look for purchase from oversea even the shipment cost is 100-300% then the actual product....

g88
post Aug 7 2014, 11:31 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 7 2014, 10:53 AM)
Well...I've been using them (on and off) and a few others for quite some time now.

Here's my takes on QDs and spray waxes.

I only use QD (M34) for clay lubricant and also (Last Touch) for light cleaning when/if I missed some spots AFTER WASH. I don't feel comfortable using it to 'clean' light dusting after a few days, regardless if the car had been driven or not. I just let it be and leave it that way until my next proper wash.

If I were to do (which I very seldom need to) that kind of 'cleaning', I would prefer to use a 'no-rinse' or 'waterless' product instead. For these, I would alternate between Optimum No Rinse,  Duragloss Rinseless Wash or Megs D114 - Rinse Free Express Wash - my current favourite. These products are more economical to use. I use at 2oz to 1gal dilution (around 1:64) in a spray bottle and spray liberally or at 1oz to 1gal (1:128) if using a wash bucket.

M135 also I only use occasionally for spot removal of stubborn dirt marks or when I see light water spots had started to form AFTER A PROPER WASH. Like I said before, M135/Ultimate Quick Detailer is loaded with solvent and it cleans these type of contaminant really really well. But again, mind you, it could also strip or weaken the existing wax/sealant.

For Ultimate Quick Wax...now...this one is a good topper, and also use it AFTER WASH.

And here's my suggestion. If you were to start with one product, I would suggest you get the D156 first. Very rarely that you would need to do a round of QD after a good wash unless there's something wrong with your washing. And also a QD won't be able to do much on the appearance side. D156 would be more suited and meaningful to use after a wash, to top up the protection and amp up the gloss. To tell you the truth, before I have the glass coat on my ride(s), I use to top up with one form of spray wax or another *almost* after every wash sweat.gif

And do consider using Optimum No Rinse or DG Rinseless Wash (these two are locally available) if you decide to do those 'in-between wash' cleaning instead of using a QD. They cleans better and *maybe* safer as these were meant to be use as a light wash instead of just for *light* clean up.
Time to replace your tinting film shakehead.gif

g88
post Aug 7 2014, 05:09 PM

1,631 posts

Ken one is under power...when u press on it...its suffering to spin !!
g88
post Aug 13 2014, 11:17 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 13 2014, 10:47 AM)
This is my setup. I bought the foam lance attachment online from Autobrite quite a few years back (plastic bottle included but not attached in the pic taken).

sifu . what was the price of foam lance + shipment charges to malaysia ?
g88
post Aug 14 2014, 09:40 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 13 2014, 11:28 AM)
Can't remember...too long of a time ago....
I believed you sifu thumbup.gif
g88
post Aug 14 2014, 02:42 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Aug 14 2014, 02:28 PM)
Hyper-wash is AKA ?? in consumer product ?
nothing.

If shampoo plus = gold class shampoo
g88
post Aug 14 2014, 03:34 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 14 2014, 02:44 PM)
Here is my guess:
D111 Shampoo Plus aka NXT Car Wash OR Utimate Wash and Wax
M62 Car Wash Shampoo & Conditioner aka Gold Class wash
D110 Hyper Wash aka ... maybe Deep Crystal Car Wash??

The above is just my guess. Need sifu to correct me if I'm wrong..
incorrect. M62 is dinasour and dun think its available locally

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0602sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:22 AM