12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

adele123
post Jul 10 2015, 03:11 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jul 10 2015, 02:56 PM)
Guys.

Who is currently holding HLA everlife plus policies? Mind to share?
You can ask questions... i can help to answer to a certain extent.

Disclaimer: i'm not agent, i'm not staff... but i know. tongue.gif
adele123
post Jul 10 2015, 06:21 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jul 10 2015, 05:37 PM)
I was wondering their low annual limit 120k-150k is it too low and not worth for going for it.
if i'm not mistaken it's Room&Board 200 and annual limit 120k, lifetime limit 2.4mil.

relatively there are higher ones out there, but one must be wary of the price and other features. some companies offer coverage up to age 80/90 only. whereas HLA offers up to 100

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 10 2015, 06:21 PM
adele123
post Jul 12 2015, 01:31 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Jul 11 2015, 11:37 AM)
Hi guys,

What is the best term insurance at the moment and also standalone medical card? Budget below 100 and max 10k deductible if there is any.
term insurance i suggest this... cause of convenience...

https://uforlife.com.my/

for standalone medical card with deductible that i know even exist is HLA and AXA (under general insurance). you can google it or get from their website. HLA Major Medi and AXA smartcare optimum.

going direct with axa general should give you 15% savings due to no commission.

have fun for your research.

adele123
post Jul 13 2015, 10:42 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jul 13 2015, 10:06 AM)
So far as i concern AIA & GE offer annual limit for 1.2M /1.3M
Yes. you are right there. because they offer Medical A + B. so without B, the annual limit cannot be that high and B comes with a cost. Everything comes with a price. though yes, HLA is definitely less attractive.
adele123
post Jul 13 2015, 10:45 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jul 13 2015, 02:32 AM)
let say my gross salary is 3.5k / month. Would like to know what's the approximate or suitable amount that i should spend on insurance / month?
the appropriate amount should not be base on gross salary. it should be based on what you need and how much you can fork out each month for insurance. agents will tell you a certain percentage as a rule of thumb, but my standpoint is not to buy what is not necessary. if no money to eat and no savings in the bank account, why bother to buy insurance?
adele123
post Jul 13 2015, 01:45 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jul 13 2015, 11:46 AM)
sad.gif  sad.gif Quite regret to choose HLA then
i hope it doesn't come to that day where the annual limit is actually a concern. well, that's why Great Eastern came up with this plan that works like a 'top up'.

adele123
post Jul 15 2015, 09:27 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 14 2015, 12:36 PM)

I need some advice from insurance expert.

My dad is currently 68 years old this year. (turninig 69 this December 2015). Doesn't own any insurance.

Below is my queries:

1) Is it advisable to purchase insurance from banks? (i.e. Maybank offer Senior PA which covers personal accident until age 75 years old for only RM400 per year)

2) If i dont buy from bank, which company could i buy the insurance from?

3) Normally, how old does the PA covers until?

4) isit still advisable to purcahse life insurance at age 68/69? (both kids are working already)

kindly advise me. For insurance agent, feel free to obtain my number through PM and i would be most happy to discuss with u more on it. smile.gif
Purchasing insurance ‘via’ bank and agent is in a way not very different. It’s like buying apple from the fruit shop or the supermarket. Different seller but same distributor. Insurance still has to be underwritten by insurance companies. Just like the fruit still has to come from the orchard. Of course, the service provided by the bank sales person and a full time agent is very different. Else insurance is insurance, apple is still apple.

If you don’t buy through (note it’s not ‘from’) bank, then you can buy from whatever company you think is suitable.

As the name calls it Personal Accident, it only provides coverage in the event of an accident. It is quite normal that PA only cover up to age 75 (I’ve seen 70 or 80). The coverage is therefore, limited.

For someone around 68 and with both kids already earning money, I don’t see much need for life insurance unless there’s debt or want to leave behind money to cover funeral expenses which depends if you can get any contribution from friends and family. And any insurance purchased at this age is also not worth it anyway. If I’m 68, my worry is probably medical expenses. But again, at this age, it will be expensive, PROVIDED if the insurance company accepts you in the first place.

adele123
post Jul 20 2015, 09:32 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jul 19 2015, 08:02 PM)
They showed me the history of their investment. It's a portfolio and it seems good. But my thinking is, that was before. How about future? What if the fund manager changed? So, now it seems like I should just directly get a UT or something else instead. Am I right?

I experienced their investment link also many tipu helah. They changed the ratio of the premium:investment. I still not sure how well the investment goes but definitely on the loosing side coz every of these company Buy 100% of the investment and sell back again for your premium.
based on the information you have provided, i don't even know what sort of insurance savings plan you are talking about.

like any unit trust, fund management, even your own personal fund management, one only has the historical records. no one can guarantee the future. having said that, insurance companies and any unit trust companies, etc... are smart enough to know continuing good fund performance will be beneficial for their business.

actually you can't say investment-linked has 'tipu helah', investment-linked insurance plan is actually very transparent about what charges they take from you and what goes to where. having said that, it is also common that customers have been misled since those transparent documents often do not reach the hands of customers.

understand that investment-linked insurance plan is essentially insurance plan with investment. if you are looking for pure investments, insurance product is definitely not what you need. there's a cost in providing 'insurance'. understand what you buy, understand that insurance is a long-term commitment, pre-mature termination is definitely not to your advantage.

please do not listen to the other guy BS-ing.

adele123
post Jul 20 2015, 04:23 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Jul 20 2015, 03:02 PM)
Hi. Just started checking out some life and medical insurance products for myself. I noticed most plans indicate that the premium rates are NOT guaranteed. What are the life or medical insurance products being offered by insurance companies have fixed guarantees premium rates?

So far, I have come across HLA Touch which has quoted RM750 per annum for medical ($150/night) but for 20 years coverage only.
1) Health-related insurance premium rates has been and always will be non-guaranteed. Just not viable.

2) Life insurance premium can be guaranteed and is usually guaranteed.

3) the product you saw on HLA is a short-term (20 years is 'short' in insurance industry) product that gives you allowance (150 per day) if hospitalised. it doesn't cover your medical bill.

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 20 2015, 04:24 PM
adele123
post Jul 21 2015, 08:46 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Jenny87 @ Jul 17 2015, 02:17 PM)
Hi roystevenung and ExpZero,

Thanks for the info given..Appreciate them.. So multiple insurer claim is possible with limit to the hospital bill but not all insurance company (as second medical card insurance company) is permitting this? What are the companies that are permitting this?

Many thanks.
Rightfully... ALL insurance companies should honor the claim. what i understand that yes, you only have 1 copy of the original receipt but there is/should be an understanding within the claims people in the insurance companies that customers might claim from 2 companies, under some circumstances.
adele123
post Jul 21 2015, 03:51 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jul 21 2015, 02:59 PM)

Lots of twist and turn and make it look complicated and retrieve those fund for the gain of the company and agents. My premium even get increased by deduction from my investment link(meaning the ratio of montly payment has changed). I'm not misled and I personally went to the insurance company to complain and the CS there just gave me a poker face. What I can do is to accept and regret that I really study the yearly statement on how they do the transaction.

Now I just wonder how's the fund performing. May sell it if it's not performing well to invest on other things since my policy won't lapse if I do so.

So for the saving plan I mentioned appear to be an investment link. So if I choose 10 years, do u think that's a pre-mature or a matured? I think that's called surrender value and the agent can earn more policy in future as well.
1) Yes, if cost of insurance or insurance charges increases, less of your money goes into investment. this is not something agents tell customers.

2) ANY insurance plan whether investment-linked or not, it is NEVER to your advantage to terminate prematurely. as you said, why not just go for the investment product? when you terminate a current policy, get a new one, agents get commission from the new ones. although companies actually penalise agents for advising customers in doing, agents still practise this. cry.gif

adele123
post Jul 27 2015, 09:09 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(ichiglance @ Jul 26 2015, 01:57 PM)
Hi everyone, 

Sorry can anyone please enlightenment me on this chart?

My insurance ING 36 critical Illnessses
p.a premium is RM542
Cash Value is what you will get if you surrender (terminate). Paid up value is what your current insurance coverage will be if you opt for not paying premium but still continuing your insurance coverage.

Assume your insurance coverage is RM50,000. Assume in 20 years time, you have no money to pay premium and you can opt to surrender or to do reduced paid up.

If you surrender you get 172 x 50 = RM8,600.

If you opt for reduced paid up, your initial insurance coverage will be reduced from the original RM50k to 587 x 50 = RM29,350

adele123
post Jul 29 2015, 02:19 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jul 29 2015, 02:08 PM)

Nowadays, I see through many insurance product coverage sum is like 500k to 1mil easily with slightly higher premium compared to my current. Wonder worth to hold this current as it bought by my parent and paid by me after I entered working life.
Those products do not come with cash bonuses etc... it's not the same thing.

insurance products without savings/other survival benefit is of course cheaper.
adele123
post Aug 6 2015, 09:59 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(izwanz @ Aug 5 2015, 11:37 PM)
I was listening to BFM and heard an ad on a new standalone life insurance policy which anyone can buy online. The insurer is Tokio Marine Life, the premium is very affordable and it seem such a hassle free. Choose your age, declare your health, etc and get a quotation prepared for you at that instance.

I am just wondering who would need such a life coverage unless you have dependants or specific beneficiary?
Actually I would say, who would need any life coverage unless you have dependents?

This that you heard from BFM which I also saw on BFM website. It is just another life insurance. The obvious difference being buying online.

A few corrections:
1) Anyone can buy online
While true, anyone can try to buy online but the questions that they will ask before purchase (also known as underwriting) will filter out the real unhealthy ones, who really cannot buy.

2) Such a life coverage...
Is not very different than other life insurance that you buy through agents. The difference is you can't add other things like your medical card or your 36 critical illness benefit, etc. Which serves its purpose depending on what you need for. Example pointed out by another forummer, he opt for this term life instead of going for MRTA, etc… because the money given can be used by the family either to offset the housing loan, or for them to use it anyway they deem suitable.

3) New standalone life insurance policy
Life insurance has always been ‘standalone’. What most people has is this ‘standalone’ and then add in medical and/or other health-related benefits

hope this clarifies something.

adele123
post Aug 6 2015, 11:04 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(izwanz @ Aug 6 2015, 10:40 AM)
1. What might be interesting here is about self-declaration method (which is perhaps no different from the traditional insurance from buying through an agent) i.e. what happens if the insurer finds out about a certain discrepancy regarding the earlier disclosure would render the policy void. I can say that I am a non-smoker although the real definition of a non-smoker is someone who hasn't smoked a cigarette for the last twelve months! I mean, how could anyone verify this?

2. Perhaps buying the insurance online without the need of an agent reduces the transaction costs i.e. commission to the agent. This is something Bank Negara wanted to do a year ago but was shot down by the strong insurance agent lobby group.

3. It's just a bit amusing how insurance company insists you in buying Investment Linked Products which includes a minimum life coverage on the pretext of a "comprehensive" policy.
1. it is indeed as you have said, no different in buying through an agent. insurance go by 'utmost good faith'. i'm not sure on the operation/procedure but most non-disclosure should end up in policy contract being void.

2. The new framework or change you mention whereby Bank Negara allows remove commission limit for agents if insurance companies provide insurance product that is at the same time "commission free". not something to be implemented in a short period of time. it was proposed some time back, which needs feedback etc, before it can be implemented.

3. not any different when the bank staff sell house loan and also sell credit card at the same time. like mcdonald selling burgers with fries and drinks and not just the burger alone. just the way of how businesses try to get more money from each customer... like any other industry in this world. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by adele123: Aug 6 2015, 11:10 AM
adele123
post Aug 19 2015, 08:57 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(huiewy @ Aug 18 2015, 10:08 PM)
Hi All.. I need help..
My parents bought me AIA insurance in year 1994. It's called VisionLife Plan. I guess it is some kind of life insurance which included some cash value, death, TPD and critical illness (as per written in supplementary contract). My parents bought this because their friends recommended, but they actually have no ideas what have they bought. Just keep paying annually whatever stated in insurance letter.
I'm newbie in insurance knowledge. Would like to understand more on this insurance contract. Would like to find someone can seriously help to interpret the contract personally. Any pro can help? Is it a good idea if drop by insurance branch office to ask?
QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 19 2015, 06:49 AM)
hmm.gif if one were to do that,...will it in any way affects the final outcome of the cash value/total coverage value in the end?
is that a "Good" option for him, when he is NOT stating of no monies to pay the annual premium?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
General rule of thumb is usually the return is best when one pays the premium every year, until you no longer have to pay, as determined your insurance plan. so, i usually discourage using cash dividend/bonus to pay off the premium, unless one really has problem paying for it.

you can go to branch office, and ask what is the policy all about. but even customer service personnel was still in school when the plan was launched then. they will try their best to answer you, else you need to get someone financial savvy to explain the t&c to you. nod.gif tongue.gif nod.gif

Disclaimer: this is ignoring opportunity cost, whereby you have better places for your money to grow.

adele123
post Aug 20 2015, 03:45 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Aug 19 2015, 05:38 PM)
As I'm concerned, this is the advise from the seniors. I think it will not affect it as it is the coverage that still matters let's say 20K or vice versa. Also, think in that circumstances, your policy has matured and it is a benefit ONLY for the old policies.
apa maksud anda? saya tak faham.

if this visionplus is a par endowment product (or in layman endowment savings plan), by cashing out the Cash Dividend to pay for premium, one must consider the customer loses to opportunity to accumulate the cash dividend with the insurance company.

so is it just the insurance coverage only that will matter?

adele123
post Sep 2 2015, 09:06 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(frosteer @ Sep 1 2015, 09:47 PM)
Quick Question =))

Medical card usually cover organ transplant (kidney, lung, liver, heart, pancreas & bone marrow) However, it only covers the surgery cost but does not cover the organ.
Is this correct? Please advise, thanks =)

By the way, is there any AIA agent here can help too?
I heard the latest AIA medical card (sample: R&B200, annual limit 1.375 million, lifetime no limit)
covers both the organ transplant surgery cost and also the cost of the organ. Is this true?
What you mean 'does not cover the cost of the organ'? Cannot 'buy' an organ.

I'm not AIA agent and i'm not AIA staff but inside AIA contract it says:

The costs of acquisition of the organs being transplanted and all costs incurred by the donor are not covered.

i think that answers your question?

PS: i think most insurance companies have that clause.

This post has been edited by adele123: Sep 2 2015, 09:08 AM
adele123
post Sep 2 2015, 01:58 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Sep 2 2015, 09:55 AM)
Guys,

I am looking to buy medical insurance for my wife and young daughter, I am deciding between AIA and GE...

Both are for Room rate of either 200 or 300 and 1m yearly and no lifetime limit.

However was advised to check the details of GE as they said for GE only the initial amount is paid directly and the balance you have to pay first and claim from GE.

Another concern is that GE has payor benefit for both wife and baby plan but AIA has payor benefit only for baby and not for wife plan.

Can anyone clarify? I need some honest opinion on a good medical plan for my small family.
you can clarify with the AIA agent. under normal circumstances, all insurance company do offer the payor benefit.

Both AIA and GE should be cashless medical card and i believe not what you said is pay first claim later.
adele123
post Sep 6 2015, 01:20 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 6 2015, 11:47 AM)
After comparing all that plans (thank you to all that have helped providing advice / quotation / explanations!), I have decided to go with the Deductible option for now mainly because:
1) I'm paying 1/3 of the cost to get slightly better benefit, compared with Traditional plans, with exception that it requires deductible amount (which is covered by company's group policy)
2) The benefits definitely are way lesser as compared to ILP products currently in the market (especially for some insurance company with attractive offering up to 900k annual with no lifetime limit)
3) However, at this stage, since my main objective is to extend my protection (beyond what the standard company's 30k offering) as a protection to myself, deductible plans worked just nice for me with 1/3 the cost of traditional (or 1/10 the cost of ILP) with similar protections.
4) Lastly, it is also easier for me when group policy + deductible plan comes from a single insurance provider, easier to manage and still maintain the Cashless Admission.

With these, I'm able to extend my protection with minimal cost, while still being able to mitigate the risk (should anything happen).
I agree with your analysis. cost saving. but do bear in mind what are your insurance planning for your own in future, once you retire, but still have time to plan that later. on

also i don't think getting the deductible plan coming from single insurance provider will necessary mean be able to maintain cashless admission if say you exceeded your company's limit. you should be wary of this. after all, to the 3rd party administrator, it's still two different insurance policy.

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0712sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:57 PM