12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

adele123
post Feb 24 2015, 12:11 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 23 2015, 02:16 PM)
Hope that you can help me. I am getting confused after doing some reading here and there.

Should one inform the insurance company once a new illness has been discovered e.g. diabetes?

What is the normal way forward - the insurance cancels the insurance or raises the premium?

declare BEFORE you buy insurance. what happens AFTER you have bought the insurance policy is not required to be declared.
adele123
post Feb 25 2015, 08:52 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Cubed1437 @ Feb 25 2015, 05:56 PM)
Hello insurance gurus, if someone with age 50, nonsmoker, can he take life insurance with CI? If so, would a normal life insurance or an endowment plan be better? From my thinking, endowment usually need to pay 10 years only, and life usually alot more/longer. However, the coverage is totally different. Life gives alot more with CI covered as well.

For more info, he wants a protection so his family can survive if anything touch wood happens. Also to bypass account freezing by gov and those other complications. Please advice, thank you.
age 50 is very much open to any insurance. barring any serious health condition, etc.

endowment - short term, force savings, not for protection purposes. and given the timeframe and the age of the person, i will say against it. usually at about 20/25 years term... not very practical as the person will be 70/75 then.

health related insurance are more relevant i would think, though life insurance may still be relevant if still have many dependents. again, depends on the situation.

i think touch wood anything happens, someone should have a will?

adele123
post Mar 3 2015, 10:07 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 3 2015, 06:33 AM)
Any term level insurance that pays lump sum of insured value upon diagnosis of any of the 36 critical illness?
Yes...

but life company will bundle with life insurance... either lump together or the CI will be as a rider.

also would depend on whether it's early CI or the normal CI.
adele123
post Mar 3 2015, 05:06 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Mar 3 2015, 04:59 PM)
I have checked, we do not have that..
We are collecting donations among colleagues, though cannot solve his problem but hopefully able to help a bit..
i don't know what happened but maybe can check if it's covered under socso? but socso is only due to work reasons eh? no harm finding out?

adele123
post Mar 6 2015, 02:37 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 6 2015, 01:59 PM)
Hi regarding the gst. If I bought a medical card health plan last year, do I need to go & pay for gst on 1st April or the gst will only apply when I renew my yearly health plan later this year???
should be the latter. else insurance company will be very busy.
adele123
post Mar 10 2015, 09:17 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(hikari-tadashi @ Mar 9 2015, 10:23 PM)
Hi. Wanna ask the sifus here

I'm 23 years old, fresh grad, salary is only around 2.8k
My company provides us with medical card, but I still need to buy insurance isnt it?

Soooooo, paying RM200/month, is it too expensive?

It's a GE product, with TPD, medical, and investment linked.
So... if i were you i will postpone getting it.

1) you ask why?

well, when i was 23, i only need to worry about myself, my parents not relying on me for income. so, the only thing i probably worry is if i get hospitalised. and that's covered by my company's medical card. Note: there's a limit on company's medical card coverage, which is usually lower than the limit provided by insurance companies.

2) but... some agents tell me it's better to buy younger, and cost less...

well, if you are healthy and buy now, insurance company will accept your case... if you are age 60 with diabetes/hypertension insurance company might think twice. this is an extreme example. i'm not saying you should get it at age 60. just you don't have to get it now.

cost of insurance (which is essentially the money that insurance company deduct from you) WILL increase as you grow older. nothing gonna stop that. so, buy now or later, not gonna cost less.

3) need to buy insurance?

i would really say no. as explain above

4) then what should i do with that 200?

invest, do financial planning.

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Mar 9 2015, 10:43 PM)
can ask about motor insurance here?
ask la. just if nobody answer you then too bad.

This post has been edited by adele123: Mar 10 2015, 09:20 AM
adele123
post Mar 10 2015, 11:46 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 10 2015, 11:39 AM)
1st year full coverage from the premium you bought, say you bought premium for rm100k, they will pay rm100k.
2nd year onward, follow market price then discount 20%, so if your car's market price is rm80k, they will only pay you rm64000. But for a person that pay rm0 for down payment, bank will decide the premium based on your outstanding balance. If the balance is rm90k, you have to pay for it but coverage are rm64k only.
this is so not true. please ignore this. thanks. doh.gif
adele123
post Mar 10 2015, 07:13 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 10 2015, 05:56 PM)
When our car is still under loan, it will follow the outstanding balance even the market value are much lower. That's why now more and more banks are opening their own insurance company, is for them to manipulate on this. Gain extra from premium but pay less if something happens.
i'm only replying so other readers are aware. while i'm still not familiar on total loss payout, etc. (couldn't ask my colleague who knows better), keep in mind that what insurance company pay is based on market value, etc and does not correlate with loan amount.

HOWEVER, it is possible your insurance pay out is indeed less than the outstanding loan.

and pretty much the whole statement is bull. case close.
adele123
post Mar 10 2015, 07:24 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Mar 10 2015, 06:12 PM)
Should this person meet with an accident or an illness that require long term treatment such as kidney dialysis, before having his own personal insurance, the company will still absorb it.
But
How long will the company keep him/her?
Who is going to take up the dialysis bill? You?
Company employee benefit hospitalization at 30k, who is going to pay the rest if needed? You?
Are you willing to take that financial responsibility to discourage him/her from taking up some basic personal insurance coverage while he/she is young and insurable?

Saving capital to enable one to invest as priority... with the amount of dengue patients who followed your advise, none of them will be buying any property any time soon with a RM2,800 salary and an increment of 10% every year.  sweat.gif
yes... there's always that 0.00001% that i might get some disease, resulting in kidney failure, i have to go for dialysis for the rest of my life, and i'm not even 30 yet. statistic is a number, it doesn't matter it's 10% or 0.00001% when i get it, i get it.

now i can live in fear that my insurance is not enough to cover all sorts of weird disease in this world, which nobody knows i might get it or i might not.

or i can live my life, spend that 200 on retirement planning, savings or even to buy iphone (assume enough money is available) or even some crazy expensive dinner. you can't have all the insurance in the world. disease, death is inevitable.

so you brought up dengue. might i comment that dengue not gonna cost 200k once i get admitted. most dengue case are probably normal, admitted few days, then out. even if i think one gets the worst strain, one gets admitted for 2 weeks? remember no surgery can cure dengue (i'm putting surgery as an example because surgeons charge a bomb). TS already commented he has company medical card. despite not knowing the coverage amount, i would like to point out it should be sufficient for most (if not all, i don't work in hospitals and i don't know how hospital charge, but i go by logic) dengue cases.

adele123
post Mar 11 2015, 08:58 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Mar 10 2015, 11:50 PM)
noted on the syariah investment. Beside this? cos they have profit sharing, so do they have loss sharing?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(roystevenung @ Mar 11 2015, 12:01 AM)
The term "investment" means there is a risk of profit or loss. Investments are never guaranteed.

Buying insurance is definitely not for investment as there are various charges involved, agent commission, admin charges, cost of insurance.

By the way, what has car insurance have to do with profit sharing? unsure.gif
interesting question. the profit sharing part. well, supposedly there is this profit sharing in general takaful as well, i.e. your car insurance.

i'm not familiar, so bear with me.

based on what i know (and read) there will do whatever calculation, determine if there is surplus or not. i know another company (not etiqa) in their FAQ, they mention, they do give out if there is surplus. but if say the amount is less than RM10 per policy holder, it will be donated to a charity instead. or something like that. so it's NOT mandatory that there is an amount to be pay out to policy holder.

ALSO, i'm not even sure how the payout mechanism works. if they do pay out, do they give you a cheque, or just deduct next year's premium? but since out motor insurance profit margin is low, do they give out in the first place?
adele123
post Mar 11 2015, 12:05 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 11 2015, 10:06 AM)
I have received 3 cheque so far from etiqa for auto insurance. The amount varies though from myr45 to myr55. Most probably due to my NCB keep increasing every year.
my understand is that the calculation of surplus and profit sharing should be based on your contribution amount. not exactly directly related to your NCB.

anyway... 45 to 55 is a good amount, much better than zero. (but then i don't know if you are driving a kancil or a mercedes tongue.gif)
adele123
post Mar 11 2015, 09:28 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 11 2015, 09:16 PM)

Another bad surprise waiting for me with the waiting period due to the late payment. Gee ....!

I got the feeling that insurance companies are there just to get the maximum out of their customers with all these ridiculous SOP. No offence to you. Ha.
in this particular case/scenario (whatever you call it), i would say it's still your fault. you forgot to pay, such the way things work. of course, insurance company can be nicer and maybe can treat it case by case... but ya, still you didn't pay.
adele123
post Mar 11 2015, 10:34 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 11 2015, 09:40 PM)
If only they contacted me when the card transaction was not successful rather than 2 months later.

now this, yes, they could have done it. you can comment to them. tongue.gif

adele123
post Mar 12 2015, 04:47 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Cubed1437 @ Mar 12 2015, 04:32 PM)
If one would invest in property, would MLTA or MRTA be better? Or just dont care about any.
MLTA...

i.e. buy term life insurance.

assuming those who invest also switch properties around.
adele123
post Mar 12 2015, 10:54 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Cubed1437 @ Mar 12 2015, 07:39 PM)
MLTA is basically life insurance right? So if one has a life insurance, there's no need for MLTA?
Depends on the person. Simple example... I have spouse and a house. I have life insurance 200k which is enough for the spouse for very very long. I have mlta 300k which is enough to pay off the house. Or i can buy 500k life insurance enough for both.

From my simple example what i want to say is, it depends. If i believe what i have is enough, i dont need mlta. Vice versa.

Mlta is indeed basically life insurance. Mortgage level term assurance.
adele123
post Mar 14 2015, 12:20 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 13 2015, 03:25 PM)
My wife have company medical benefits after getting employed in MNC. She has a cheap medical card that she is still paying annually. I asked her to stop paying for it as medical claims will only be reimbursed by 1 insurance party only.

I told her to resume medical card only when she has no medical benefits from company. Am I right?
The joker really getting more interesting. Priority for warga emas and jabatan kebajikan... shakehead.gif

You are not so right on reimbursement by 1 party only. Hypothetically, if i have 2 medical card... Medical card A has limit 10k. Medical card b pays anything above 10k up to 100k. If your bill is 80k, you get 10k from A, 70k from B.

Medical insurance claims pay you back as to put you in a no-loss situation, so will cover you that 80k, no more than that

In an ideal world, yes, one can get medical card when she does not have medical benefit. That will save you alot of premium. In the real world, when we get older, we get funny things like diabetes, high blood pressure and insurance company may not accept us.

Say i'm 23 right now and working with medical card. It's quite an extreme example if say i dont buy any medical insurance until i retire. One can either get it after 40 (maybe) or stay healthy or get a medical insurance with high deductible that has option to reduce deductible.
adele123
post Mar 15 2015, 07:41 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 15 2015, 03:45 PM)
Why am I joker?  shocking.gif
Lol. Not you. The guy who mentioned the priority for warga emas in hospital and jabatan kebajikan...
adele123
post Mar 18 2015, 11:36 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 18 2015, 10:40 AM)
A quick one,

A person got multiple life insurance, and then die.

Can the family members claim for death coverage from each insurance company?

Or have to pick one with the highest coverage only ?
Please ignore the idiot above.

Yes, you can claim from ALL life insurance. and you can claim from PA too (if proven due to accident, etc...).

as for operational procedure one can always contact agent or CS directly.

if i remember correctly, just bring your policy and the original death cert will do.

adele123
post Mar 18 2015, 11:48 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 18 2015, 11:40 AM)
shocking.gif LOL so which is the correct one?
told you to ignore him. he's a regular joker.

yes, you have to produce original death cert to all the insurance company.

my question to you is... are you really gonna give insurance company the original death cert? of course not. i don't even give EPF the original death cert. the purpose of original death cert is for verification purposes obviously (i didn't think i have to state this explicitly in my previous post). you always keep the original. doh.gif

adele123
post Mar 18 2015, 02:06 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 18 2015, 01:11 PM)
^ no no is not meant for me.
I am enquiring on behalf of others smile.gif
figure of speech. lol. usually agents are supposed to assist in all these also.

but anyhow, one can always walk-in and do it. it's straight forward. death is death, they will pay. nothing to dispute. to avoid going back again, call in ask about documents required. i'm not familiar with claims procedure, but afaik as i know the 2 important items would be death cert and policy.

and the stingyness of what i do is i always get the banks/EPF to photocopy it instead of me bringing it. tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:03 AM