Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

adele123
post Dec 17 2014, 11:57 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 17 2014, 11:26 AM)
Will GST apply to insurance next year too?
Yes but not all. What i know is a very general overview.

Life insurance is an exempt supply or whatever you call it, so no GST. However, non-life like your PA, Medical is subject to GST.

General insurance is subject to GST.
adele123
post Dec 19 2014, 01:49 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 19 2014, 12:30 AM)
For mutual fund investment, we will see the dividend declare and reinvested into our account.
For ILP, where is our dividend???
I disn't see the transaction entry in statement
actually i haven't heard of insurance companies declaring dividend. i think you should go to FSM thread and understand dividend declaration.

it really should not be the biggest concern... sweat.gif
adele123
post Dec 19 2014, 02:40 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 19 2014, 02:03 PM)
Mind to share the link on FSM?
It's not the concern, too late for me to concern also, I already with ilp...haha

Good for us to know how ilp operate ma, further more most ppls now buying ilp since more affordable.
read the part about misconception of dividend/distribution...
adele123
post Dec 23 2014, 04:07 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 23 2014, 03:58 PM)
Let say i have an insurance package with investment linked, is that possible that i only drooped the investment part to reduce the premium but keep the other like life insurance and medical card etc.
The concept isn’t so right.

But to answer your question which coincides with your intention, yes, you can reduce premium and still keep alive your protection, of course subject to certain t&c which usually shouldn’t really be a big problem.

best to consult agent, CS. though there's conflict of interest between you wanting to reduce your premium since agent earns your commission. LOL.

adele123
post Dec 24 2014, 09:26 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Dec 24 2014, 07:58 PM)
hi all,

any comments between AIA/Allianz/Great Eastern/Prudential?

pretty noob to insurance and not sure which company has its pros and cons...cause some company can offer cheaper premium, but i'd rather not pay if the service is lousy...

so appreciate any inputs here...or the general feedback is every insurance company more or less the same?

thank you in advance guys!
that's the top 3 + allianz

semua lebih kurang sahaja... i guess you just need to see how's the servicing agent, whether good at following up, etc...
adele123
post Dec 28 2014, 12:58 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 28 2014, 11:29 AM)
Just checking, is insurance fees included / exempted from GST ?
Life insurance is exempted...

Non-life is not... General such as car, fire, pa, medical...
adele123
post Jan 2 2015, 09:15 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Cubed1437 @ Jan 2 2015, 08:05 AM)
Thanks! Usually, is there any rules or targets for part timers? And also, how is the incone usually for part timers? I know it depends on ones effort, but seeing as they are working their own jobs from 9-5, whats the usual numbers they can get in a month? Any ideas?
it all depends...

remember as an agent when you sell something, it's based on commission... you sell, you get commission... you don't sell, you get zero.

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jan 1 2015, 06:28 PM)
He said that it's very good rate for me to start paying premium now, and for the next 20 years, since this SPM has a coverage for 30 years with a low premium for my age of 26 years old.
This agent who recommends this plan really... sweat.gif

to add on to what has already been mentioned, lower premium does not justify the reason why one should get this insurance earlier. Makes no sense. then one is paying for something that is not necessary... instead of paying for the premium... might as well give it to parents or just enjoy it. rclxms.gif

Yes, the premium is indeed lower when one is younger, cause after all, the younger folks do have a lower probability of death... but in terms of one should or should not buy when there's not a need at all, it's a different story.

PS: yes, iphone or any smartphones without data is kinda pointless. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 2 2015, 09:24 AM
adele123
post Jan 2 2015, 09:55 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jan 2 2015, 01:34 PM)

Thanks for the kind reply. notworthy.gif Very good metaphor on the iPhone thingy. Just for knowledge sake, I just google around and found this thread.

MRTA MLTA

So this SPM  is similar to his/her MLTA plan 3 right? But added with those riders benefits?
On the side note, I am a bit skeptical on the MLTA plan 2 that he/she mentioned over there. Not to flame anyone. But i just wish to know from u all here, how true is this getting this MLTA plan 2? I will surely need to refinance/upgrade my home/buy more properties later in life.

So should I feel that I need to get a sum of money for my beneficiary should sth happen to me *touchwood*, which u all recommend me to get? A term life insurance? Or just a mere PA?
I do planning to get an ilp medical insurance though.

The reason I thought of having this SPM/MLTA plan 2 in earlier paragraphs is,  i thought it would allow me to have the benefits of life insurance and MLTA for my future home. Thought of killing 2 birds with a stone. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks again.
Let's go back to the iphone metaphor... iphone is smartphone... i use it for browsing, reading, messaging, calling, sms-ing, email, etc... there's no wrong way to use it... but if i buy iphone mainly for calling and sms-ing, then what's the point of paying so much to get a overpriced smartphone? true, i still have a iphone... but i did pay excessively for something i thought i should have, but really i don't need it.

Now go back to insurance. You are young, you want to make forward planning, good... cause many don't but i think the forward planning must have some logic and common sense as well, like many things in this world... and i don't recommend buying insurance NOW because you have more needs in the FUTURE.

life insurance works by transfering of risk... from consumers to insurance companies... you can buy any insurance and serve as a protection for your mortgage, the money for your loved ones, etc. MLTA/MRTA is a life insurance... it's just the people come up with a very specific (in a way) design to fulfill one's needs which is to cover loan liabilities.

the MLTA plan 2 by this HLA guy, is actually another life insurance... just not investment-linked and no bonuses/dividends, etc... i am 95% sure, it's a whole life insurance actually (how i know, well, i just know from educated guess).

That GE-SPM is a investment-linked plan but goes up to 30 years, instead of the usual whole life...

to answer your question... ignoring other factors... if i want to leave behind something for my loved ones, i choose term life... cheaper... and... it's only cover for as long as i need it to be... i don't need to leave behind 3million for my child when they are all independent and grown up... i only need to leave behind something when they are still dependent on me...

adele123
post Jan 3 2015, 08:14 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jan 3 2015, 04:00 PM)
thanks for the reply.
another query on term life insurance.
usually term life only available for people less than 50/55 years kan?
And endowment is just a term life insurance with no expiry and with cash value? and it does cover savings & protections?

Any other pros and cons of term vs endowment?

thx
1) yes. but i think it's opened to those about 60 or 60+ actually... can't remember. minimum is usually 5 years, maximum up to the expiry age, usually around 80. varies slightly by company but that's about it

2) endowment can be whole life or short term. but definitely with cash value. and yes, there's savings element and protections.

3) term vs endowment, obvious point is... protection only vs savings and protection, cheap vs more expensive. no value at maturity vs cash value highest at maturity. you pay for what you get. simplistic comparison

adele123
post Jan 4 2015, 09:13 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jan 3 2015, 03:35 PM)
any AIA agent / sifus here?

can you share some info regarding the nature of Elite Care Plus policy, which was sold via Direct Marketing to me previously
if it's really direct marketing, agents probably know little or nothing about it...

BTW, would you happen to be citibank cc holder? wondering if this is the same plan my friend got called to talk about as well...
adele123
post Jan 5 2015, 12:43 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jan 4 2015, 10:30 PM)
i'm now thinking of whether or not to keep this policy, worry about the procedures should the need to claim arise

used to have citibank cc, but cancelled it after just 1 month, do you mean the citibank ppl pass my contacts to AIA??
I dunno, i'm just guessing. Could be just a coincidence... After all, many ppl has citi cc. Maybe this has nothing to do with the thing my friend told me.

Anyway, just call CS like the other guy said.

adele123
post Jan 8 2015, 12:50 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Jan 7 2015, 10:55 PM)
Thanks for explaining.

What I heard is that tpd coverage in life policy meant occupational suite, whereas in pa is any occupational.
In other word, for life policy in the event loss of fingers, it is claimable for a doctor which do surgery, but not for a singer. The same event in PA is claimable for any occupation.

Likewise, what are the other differences..?
I know you sincerely want to research and trying to ask valid questions but your questions are very confusing. Apa tu occupational suite?

Put it this way, aside from the obvious accident vs non-accident event for pa vs life, the way they define as tpd is different.

In life policy, the common definition of tpd is... loss of both eyes OR loss of two limbs OR unable to get a job... Regardless of whether it's the same job. That's how my contract defines it. One can argue but not the main point.

PA only pays upon accident... You lose one eye because of an accident, company will pay. Dont care what, how, why. Valid accident, pay. We have something called schedule of indemnity, lose one toe,will pay according to schedule, a few percent of sum assured. Depending on which toe.

And no, life insurance pays nothing if you lose your toe. Unless if you tell me losing your toe cause you unable to earn wages whether as a engineer or as a janitor. Which i doubt it.

adele123
post Jan 8 2015, 09:04 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Jan 8 2015, 08:45 AM)
Copy from policy contract ma..hehe

Ok so far PA compare life:
Accidental
Lower premium
Schedule indemnity

Pls enlighten me if there is other.
the main ones are there, the minor ones i'm too lazy even to care to research, if any. LOL

these are the ones that will concern consumers the most.

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 8 2015, 08:21 AM)
buy insurance kena gst or not?
scroll up a bit, a bit more... there we go... post #1111 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 8 2015, 09:06 AM
adele123
post Jan 11 2015, 11:06 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 11 2015, 09:12 PM)
1. will there be any penalties if one surrenders his/her policy before it matures? its a savings and life insurance both paid for 2 years. [aia].
2. is it too much to spend 15% of my pay on insurance?
3. i was recommended to buy 2 sets of policy. one investment-link and one traditional. Is it too much?
Without having much info... answer in general...

1) there's no 'penalty'. But you wont get back what you have paid for that 2 years
2) yes. Too much.
3) yes. Too much. Why 2 when 1 can be enough.
adele123
post Jan 11 2015, 11:36 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 11 2015, 11:15 PM)
Thanks for the reply!
Good to know there's this 14days cooling off period.

1. if i only need one, which would you guys recommend? GELC(investment-link) or SPE(traditional), both from GE?
2. i've read up some on the post from this thread. everyone seems to say its not recommended to surrender.
I've bought savings and medical card last time and the two which was recently introduced are health and life ones.
I don't think I can afford all four. any idea on which should I keep?
If you have bought 2years ago, why are you buying AGAIN? Nobody knows what to keep or not because we know nothing thus cant comment further. And dunno what's suitable or not. Yes, but it's not advantageous to cancel one and buy another.

But i believe you are a confused consumer just got conned into buying more and more policies. Not that i hate GE but maybe best to think if you even need to get from GE. It's easier to get rid of GE because you get full refund. Best you take time to review your current policies and what you feel is not enough. I'm afraid by the time you figure it out, that cooling off period would be over. sweat.gif
adele123
post Jan 12 2015, 12:05 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 11 2015, 11:54 PM)
NOTE:

1. my medical card and savings plan were bought under AIA.
2. the new ones (life and health) are from GE.
3. and the 15%...i mean that is how much the new plan will cost.

so if saving plans are useless as you mentioned. means i should consider life and health? or get a life insurance and keep the medical card?
You should sit down and think, what's the purpose of getting the 2 new policies from GE. Do you even know what you are getting? You need to have them?

You keep saying health and life insurance, feels like you have no idea what those are. Dont buy for the sake of buying, understand it.

Also savings plan is not useless. Just not flexible...

adele123
post Jan 12 2015, 09:43 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 12 2015, 12:15 AM)
Thanks for the heads up.
The reason why I post here is because I need to be sure what I was offered is what I needed. and the two plan IS called health and life btw.

will request my agent not to submit anything until i discuss with him again.
life and health insurance is very very general. my guess is the agent will definitely ask you to buy and 'oh, you need this, and you need that too'. so what do you need?

few points to note, brain working better in the morning.

1. GELC has life and CI components to it.
2. SPE being an investment-linked plan is in a way, a life insurance but with investment component. under SPE you can add riders, with CI.

which is why i think it's weird that the agents offer you to buy both. overlapping, ain't it?
adele123
post Jan 12 2015, 02:48 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 12 2015, 01:10 PM)
It was offered by a close friend so I did not think too much.
But when I found out that I will need to fork out 16% of my monthly pay I kindda freak out.
He's explanation was, the reason being to ask me to buy 2 life plan is because he has breakdown one plan into two.
One with return, one without.
I've read it from other forums that it was do-able too, eventually they will recommend to keep the traditional one after they retire.
My main concern here is the fees is a lot since everyone says 10% of total pay is enough.
it's good to freak out. you became aware.

It’s still two policies, however you look at it. You already have a savings plan which is already sort of with returns.

I don’t really like the benchmark on saying buying insurance at 10% of income. I mean, if I get paid 50k a month, do I pay 4k-5k alone for insurance? I really think it depends on other factors as well. 10% thing probably came up by some insurance agent. Cause if they came up with anything less, then normal people don’t buy so much.

I don’t mean to bad mouth a friend, but seems like the friend is also taking advantage.

Say you have a savings and medical already. Next the missing item is probably CI coverage. Life insurance portion, is up to you to think whether your dependents need that kind of money. Keep in mind upon untimely demise, savings plan will have also amount being paid out to next of kin.

adele123
post Jan 12 2015, 04:12 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 12 2015, 03:41 PM)
Noted!
So I'm still in my late twenties with month myr2700 per month, non-smoker, admin worker.
I'm already paying RM259 per month for the semi-saving(RM100/month) and medical card(RM159/month).
Would you still recommend me to get the life insurance now?
As I've read that Life insurance is the last type you should consider as compared with other types like PS, Medical and CI.
At the same time my concern is the price for life insurance will be more expensive if i buy later.
This ‘semi-savings’ is also life insurance though amount may not be very high, but it should still be payable upon death.

Life insurance will get more expensive when you purchase later but doesn’t mean it is advantageous to buy now. A fictional example, a 30 year old pays RM200 yearly for 70 years, vs a 50 year old who pays RM300 for 50 years. Is it better to buy earlier because it seems cheaper now? Again, insurance agents will definitely say it’s better to buy earlier because they want your business earlier.

Whether to get or not, start on the affordability aspect. Life insurance is a long term commitment. Should ponder on the needs of life insurance, living behind money for dependents (if any), etc.

Also pay attention on other aspects of financial planning, savings and investment instead of just looking at insurance. Like instead of just asking do I need to get this insurance, what about ‘do I have enough savings/investment’?

adele123
post Jan 12 2015, 05:25 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Alexis~ @ Jan 12 2015, 04:37 PM)
Well... I did not consider much when I bought my first two as medical card seems to be an essential plan nowadays.
And when I was introduced with the semi-saving I also gave the green light because it provides coverage and also savings.
I was persuaded to drop both as this agent, a friend of mine says he was disappointed with the changes in policy when ING was taken over by AIA.

So now when I slowly get to know more about life plan...
I kindda felt like it was not really necessary at the  unless *touch wood* something happens to me where I need a big lump sum of money to treat some sickness that pops up suddenly. So yeah thank goodness for that freakout. I've told him to hold my payment so even if he has submit I can have my 14 days cooling off period to terminate it.
I think the more you explain the more I feel something is not right.
1. When ING was taken over by AIA, contractually, your policy remains the same. There should be no changes. Change in prices, maybe, but not changes in benefit. I don’t work for AIA but I’m sure some common sense can be applied here. After all, insurance contract is legally binding.
2. One of the most unethical things an agent can do is ask the customer to drop current policies and buy new ones. Very bad.
3. Also, if one have some big illness, the insurance that helps is medical card. Even 36 CI is subject to if you kena one of the 36 AND fulfil the conditions as set out by the insurance companies.

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0642sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:16 AM