7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 10:55 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(neohwengtart @ Feb 16 2014, 10:00 AM)
Guys, what is the different for lens for example:
NIKON AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G - RM 389
NIKON AF-S VR Zoom-NiKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED - RM 1849
Both also 70-300mm, but price different so huge?
New and old model, different optics and no VR for the old one. f/4.5 ~ f/5.6 is shoot indoor without VR.. confirm can't survive, even with VR I think will struggle too.
celciuz
post Feb 17 2014, 10:48 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 17 2014, 09:04 AM)
any idea when 50mm ART available?
Zeiss OTUS more ngam you...
celciuz
post Feb 17 2014, 03:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 17 2014, 03:06 PM)
My D800 also has a greenish screen laugh.gif
I just shoot in RAW laugh.gif
My LCD is calibrated, and my D800 monitor looks similar to what's shown on my LCD though.
celciuz
post Feb 17 2014, 06:12 PM

14,037 posts

Depends on your calibration, mine was at D65 120cd/m2.

Mine's calibrated for online viewing ma, not for printing. If printing should be D50 or so, then if those you calibrate for display also got different profile.

And oh, the more cool is usually TN panels of the laptops if you noticed.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Feb 17 2014, 06:12 PM
celciuz
post Feb 20 2014, 03:03 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(3antz @ Feb 20 2014, 01:42 PM)
Hi guys,

A little off topic but just curious to know what are the usual platforms you showcase/upload your photos to?

Apart from Flickr, do you use other platforms such as Pinterest, blog, picasa?I like Flickr but it only accepts yahoo mail  yawn.gif
Flickr is one of the biggest out there, alternative would be 500px.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2014, 10:19 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 22 2014, 08:26 AM)
gt supercars sure gt girls one ma...
Only when you have paddock access, the grandstand is probably dead tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 09:07 AM

14,037 posts

Yannick operates from home, and "little" depends if the item is hot or not tongue.gif. Hot items he has a lot one la haha.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 09:15 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 23 2014, 09:10 AM)
yaya..haha. eh btw what good mirrorless are there out there? my fren asked i dno hw to answer since i only have olympus and fuji in my mind, bt dno what model. lol. XE1 XE2 OMD-EM1 PENEPL5..  rclxub.gif  apa yang bagus? nikon 1 sure out d.
Rangefinder look, X-E2

DSLR look, OM-D or X-T1

FF? A7/A7r!
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 09:59 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 23 2014, 09:56 AM)
+1~
Depending on your friend's budget also.
If its around RM2k-2.5k or so, then the Sony NEX3, 5 and 6 are good choices too  thumbup.gif
Problem with the NEX line up, the lens quality and price sweat.gif If want cheaper, can try the X-M1 too.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 06:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 23 2014, 10:36 AM)
have u checked before olympus ep5 vs XE2? i guess XE2 will be a better camera right?
I can't accept micro 4/3 >_< took me sometime to decide to go back to APS-C LOL. Not gonna consider going below that. For sure the Olympus is a matured system, good AF and all.

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Feb 23 2014, 11:31 AM)
lot of nikon user here already using fuji..
this thread becoming semi-fuji thread
well im also guilty of this..

can u guess which 1 is fuji, and which 1 is nikon ff
without looking in the exif?

Top Fuji, bottom Nikon. Unless post processing is doing a part, the dynamic range for the top seems worse than the bottom. And the dude's clothes is showing some weird patterns, X-trans RAW convertor issue?
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 06:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Feb 23 2014, 06:28 PM)
yup... correct with most accurate reason..  rclxms.gif
but the diff is not much...
well, maybe will show more in really lowlight situation..
iso 6400 and above perhaps?
LOL, lucky I replied earlier else people say I was cheating tongue.gif

What RAW converter were you using? The moire is pretty obvious! the also shot same condition as in both without flash?

celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 10:49 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 23 2014, 07:51 PM)
hmmm i am considering m43 vs fuji eh. but i think i will end up with m43 because of the speed + super weather sealing. fuji's only advantage over m43 is the bigger sensor (better high iso, more bokeh) imo.
Well, higher ISO means a lot to me ;-).

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Feb 23 2014, 09:22 PM)
using lightroom 5.2.. later sharpening by photoshop
the moire is made worse by my post processing
both is with strobe and 60cm softbox
Though seems like there's heavy processing done with the Nikon shot, what about the Fuji? Try applying the same method and see if the differences is that huge?
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 11:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Feb 23 2014, 10:52 PM)
using same prosessing.. well same preset..
Nikon seems to have slightly warmer, and retains more of the details in blown areas and shadows.
celciuz
post Feb 24 2014, 01:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 24 2014, 12:53 PM)
Buy AP set from bro Yannick: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yannick-Came...7834827?fref=ts

Or ori set from "digitalfm14" at Garage Sales  icon_rolleyes.gif

Personally I'd opt for the former... cause certain sellers can help you fix your camera (officially) even when its AP laugh.gif Those kind of sellers are great to know  laugh.gif
Lens yes, body? I doubt... Nikon is keeping a very tight control on these.
celciuz
post Feb 24 2014, 11:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 24 2014, 09:11 PM)
Been browsing around some awesome portrait work by various photographers and came across this, I think this guy is awesome, most Vietnam ones are thumbup.gif
http://www.flickr.com/photos/hunglm/

I think his editing skills are very impressive!
Hung Liu by Hung [L]iu | Photography, on Flickr

Was asking around for tips on how to achieve this kind of results but no one seems to know or want to help  sad.gif
Was wondering whether anyone here knows?

Dry season now, can't really do very much with macro laugh.gif Time to level up in other genres  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
wub.gif me likey this theme!

Sigh I'm still looking to do my first portrait of 2014 >_<
celciuz
post Feb 24 2014, 11:18 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Feb 24 2014, 08:13 PM)
personal experience, bought m43 (Lumix GX1 with kit lens, first pro camera) and after a while realized the kit lens were not enough then bought a zoom lens. End up sold the whole set because it no longer satisfy my need. Then bought D5100 with 17-50 Tamron, follow by 85mm 1.8 and 50mm 1.8. Guess what, i eventually bought D600 with a 24-70 after few months. Lesson learnt, if you are really into photography, dont waste money on crop sensor lens/body since FF body is now quite affordable. it really makes a lot of difference when comes to low light photography.
So I'm on the wrong side... from FF to APS-C cry.gif
celciuz
post Feb 26 2014, 02:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 26 2014, 02:27 PM)
haha..on my phone it looks fine. HTC One X lcd screen are quite accurate. So what i do is after every edit before upload, i'll transfer to phone first. So, yeah, the effect is what i m looking for actually. bt maybe dif people dif taste lo
Well, its subjective. Your image should have a lot of blown highlights, if you view from the histogram.

I see you're exposing the skin well, but as the skin is under shade as compare to the other parts, therefore by exposing the skin well you blow the rest.

So yes, it really depends.. how one determines a "well exposed" photo. There's no definite answer ;-) Ps, for me I think the exposure is alright.
celciuz
post Feb 27 2014, 10:12 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 27 2014, 01:54 AM)

greetings from India biggrin.gif
I would definitely prefer without the "bokeh" flowers in front... find it a bit distracting.
celciuz
post Feb 27 2014, 02:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 27 2014, 11:20 AM)
While I agree with you, still you cannot put a blanket statement and say like that. If newbies spend too much money and gets overwhelmed with all the buttons and steep learning curve, they would probably have their interest killed and would have sold their gear. But those who can persevere, they can save a lot and can go on to be better photographers. So really it depends on that person itself.

When I started photography, I had very little money. I had no choice lah since DX also damn expensive already and FX digital was still unavailable. Well, the advantage now is that great equipment can be gotten fairly competitively lah unlike last time and you have plenty of choices.
I started with D90 and when I was learning it, I actually had the chance to play with D300 and D700 as well. In fact I don't find the functions "hard" when compared to my D90. But then I had big issues using the entry bodies like D60 laugh.gif
celciuz
post Feb 27 2014, 04:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 27 2014, 04:05 PM)
Thanks for the tips. High security area usually tripod not allowed. Summer time not hot?
Yup. Higher end camera bodies and lenses don't drop so much as compared to the consumer type DSLRs.
Coolpix 800 > D70 > D2Hs > D300 > D40x > D700 > D800 > ??? <Canon 1DX>?  shakehead.gif

Hmmm, looks like I went up high and slowly came back to normal again.  sweat.gif
True true. BTW, which kind of hobby is defined as a need instead of want?  laugh.gif
Like they say, we grow into the hobby. No way out.  cry.gif
Mine's D90 --> D700/D800 --> X-E2.. hahaha! Crop --> FF --> Crop!

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0453sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:55 PM