4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 12:22 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

Thank guys, i almost forgot the crop factor is come with body, not the lens. tongue.gif

f5calvin 85mm too expensive for me.

asrul mind to share why u ask me opt for 35mm rather than 50mm?
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 01:35 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Dec 26 2013, 12:35 PM)
can I campur tangan here? smile.gif

35mm is more versatile as compared to 50mm, because I believe 50mm is = 75mm in DX which conisder a zoom lens already. while 35mm = 50mm-ish which still a standard wide.

as for zoom lens, the frame you are capturing are much tighter, so if you want to take a full size car you might need to stand way back to frame it, while 35mm you can stand on a normal distance to take the shot.

Because I'm more to like street photography/food/capalang photo, 35mm can capture more than the 50mm. Unless you are going portrait 50mm is perfect for it. I remember read it else where that 35mm is good for full size body, and 50mm is good for half size body..

just some of my humble opinion on 35mm vs 50mm. I think we should get both since 2 lens are very good and strategic priced.  whistling.gif
Thanks for ur 'campur tangan'...ur advise is welcomed and appreciated. tongue.gif rclxms.gif

asrul yeah, tried before, 35mm is more suitable for me. I thought the reason u recommend 35mm over 50mm is something related to quality...

Anyway, thanks u guys opinion, i adi changed my mind to 35mm instead.

The reason i want to get the prime lens is the small size and light weight, and also i more interested on street photography & capalang photo like jepertine90. tongue.gif So 50mm and 80mm (especially after consider crop factor) maybe not suit for me becos not portrait priority. Another reason is current kitlens the more i zoom, the aperture will become smaller. So I have to always use flash gun for that especially for indoor and night shooting. I use 4pcs Panasonic 2050mAh AA rechargeable (from what i remember rechargeable is not that heavy last time, maybe due to high capacity) for My Nissin flashgun and the weight is sweat.gif

Will try hunt for it. moneyflies.gif

Any non-Nikon prime lens to recommend? tongue.gif

PS: Is it 'dangerous' to buy lens from garage sales? Via postage... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Dec 26 2013, 01:37 PM
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 01:46 PM

3,112 posts

Guys, here i want to share something regarding aperture size.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/great-high...performance.htm

Please refer to 'math refresher' there. Seems like the aperture size = FL/xx is true like what i mentioned last time. Just i can't figure out why zoom lens is darker at the zoom end. Becos based on the calculation, aperture diameter of 18mm f/3.5 is smaller than 55mm f/5.6...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Dec 26 2013, 01:49 PM
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 01:54 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 01:52 PM)
Yeap, that's why aperture is always states as f/xx which means respectively 18/3.5 and 55/5.6.
Then why 18/3.5 is brighter than 55/5.6 in fact the calculation show the reverse? hmm.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 01:59 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ Dec 26 2013, 01:58 PM)
my current setup is D7000 + 17-50VC Tamron + 35MM + 50MM.
thinking of changing my tamron to 18-55 kitlens, and going for 24mm and 85mm.
prime lens all the way yo brows.gif
Best price... brows.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Dec 26 2013, 02:00 PM
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 02:01 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ Dec 26 2013, 02:00 PM)
i bought it for RM350.00  whistling.gif
Then sell me lower than 350... whistling.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 02:05 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 02:02 PM)
Those new Sigma is impressive, glad to see a third party like Sigma stepping up their game to put pressure on Nikon!
As far as I know, the light going through is measured by aperture size, in this case focal length / number.

Don't really know how to explain but what I know is the longer the focal length, the bigger aperture as there will be light loss along the barrel before arriving at the sensor.

18/3.5 is brighter because its f/3.5.

Take a prime for example, f/1.4 or f/8 brighter?

And next is 35mm f/2.8 vs. 200mm f/2.8 is expected to be the same... but as usual they won't and the 200mm tend to be darker due to more light loss along the barrel.
For same FL, of course small f number is brighter.

I think the bold part explained my doubt. nod.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 26 2013, 05:02 PM

3,112 posts

Wait guys...The 35mm f/1.8G lens don have manual aperture ring, means it is impossible to reverse lens if i want to play macro?
coolkwc
post Dec 27 2013, 08:10 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 09:30 PM)
Just replaced 3 of my D700 rubber grip, RM230 total damage  cry.gif
IMO, camera replacement part/accessories most of them the pricing is unreasonable.

Last Sunday i saw the Nikon remote pricing, ridiculous high, just a button for shutter, RM290. shakehead.gif
I just use my handphone to remote only... yawn.gif whistling.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 27 2013, 09:29 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 27 2013, 09:23 AM)
Wait, your phone can remote control your DSLR? What model are both of them?
DSLR is D3200...but Nikon shutter remote is universal, even u bought genuine remote is same for all Nikon DSLR.

Phone wise, galaxy S4...this phone got IR transmitter, just download free apps from google play then tata... laugh.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 27 2013, 02:09 PM

3,112 posts

Maybe i read the price wrongly... blush.gif

The remote is genuine Nikon part, saw from camera shop.

Maybe just RM29.00, not 290... doh.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Dec 27 2013, 02:13 PM
coolkwc
post Dec 27 2013, 04:08 PM

3,112 posts

Read alot of entry level DSLR recommendation threads today...

Curiously i wonder why ppl seldom recommend Nikon entry level DSLR if compare to Canon and Sony? I read alot of reviews, those in depth analysis, also shown output quality from Nikon is higher than other brands in the same class. The most commendable item for Nikon is hard to learn for newbie in fact they know the quality of Nikon is better.

I dun know, before i own my D3200 less than 2 months ago, i have almost near to nil knowledge regarding the relation of exposure, shutter and aperture. But after less than 2 months, i already able to use manual mode now. Almost every night at home since i bought, i will take out my Nikon to play around even though i have nothing special to shoot (Yesterday i check my shutter count, reached 3359 just over 6 weeks), just shoot and compare the difference of each setting, read and understand the histogram, read online guide, read camera magazine (5th issue bought this week). IMO, Nikon menu setup is not as hard as they mentioned, each items has guide on that, just press a little '?' button will do. For me just same as driving a brand new manual car and learn all the characteristic from the feedback of the car.

My opinion, if ones feel difficult to learn, is not becos it is difficult, just they dun have enough patient and passion for it. Then i would recommend taking compact cam rather than DSLR, cheap and easy to use.

Just my thought.
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 01:53 PM

3,112 posts

Tonite go hunt for Nikon 35mm f/1.8G prime lens...

Can't let my wife know about that. sad.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 02:30 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 30 2013, 02:21 PM)
let me know the outcome.. i am looking too
i expect something around 750-850... hmm.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 02:57 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 30 2013, 02:54 PM)
Should go for 35mm f/1.4 leh.  brows.gif
lol...immune to poison... laugh.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 02:59 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 30 2013, 02:55 PM)
I think in KL can go lower than that... Good Luck! icon_idea.gif
Of course lo...plaza lowyat alone adi how many shops u tell me? sweat.gif

Me at JB no choice... sad.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 03:56 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 03:22 PM)
35mm 1.4 waiting for you~

Bad guy... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Dec 30 2013, 04:05 PM
coolkwc
post Dec 30 2013, 04:06 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 04:05 PM)
yeah 85mm.. how u noe?

85mm 1.2L
brows.gif  brows.gif
i love DOF... whistling.gif
coolkwc
post Dec 31 2013, 08:20 AM

3,112 posts

Bought. biggrin.gif

RM780...at the lower side of my expected range.
coolkwc
post Dec 31 2013, 09:13 AM

3,112 posts

Guys, if i want to remained same coverage for my 35mm prime same as 18mm, how much distance i need to move back? How to calculate? Any cheat sheet?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0240sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:19 AM