6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

liew_jls
post Feb 23 2008, 07:34 AM

558 posts

just to let those who has interest working in UK when you guys are graduate. Home office has change the system, they are combining IGS and HSMP. From 28 Feb 2008, there will have a new system will be introduce, 2008 Points Based Tier System.
Initially IGS only have 1 year visa but for the new system you will get 2 years visa. There's will others criteria you need to meet.
hmm.... i don't it's a good thing or not, just not feeling good about it...
liew_jls
post Apr 1 2008, 05:36 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Apr 1 2008, 01:05 AM)
I haven't booked any accomodation yet. I plan to to book a temporary one for around one month and try to get a suitable one when I'm in Sheffield. How can I book one (GBP450) from M'sia? Do we need an accomodation (address) for visa application?
it's possible to rent a room for one month++, it's called short-term renting. if you don't hv any relative or friend over here, i advice you book an accommodation before you come over here. otherwise where are you going to stay after you arrive sheffield?? if you like to know how is the renting in sheffield, you can try check this website gumtree. it's a pretty good website to search for accommodation..
beside, i think we need to fill-in your accommodation address when you try apply visa application. probably fill-in the address where you will stay once you arrive UK.

Added on April 1, 2008, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(nnasir @ Mar 31 2008, 06:23 PM)
listen to me they're not hiring foreigners anymore. only europeans.
yeah, i agree with youngkies.. as long as you don't hv any problem with visa.. then your chance working in UK is pretty high. especially medical, computing and engineering...

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Apr 1 2008, 05:40 PM
liew_jls
post Apr 3 2008, 05:49 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(tabbycat @ Apr 2 2008, 10:18 PM)
No, my friend is definitely not leading a non-student lifestyle. In fact, i believe that she is living like a normal student. The only reason that i can think of, why she can survive with 250 pounds a month is that, she doesn't eat out alot and she doesnt do much shopping compare to her other friends..

there is not really any supersaver stuffs in london.. there is no "tesco value" food in London Tescos. Tesco value food is the cheapest range of food available in Tesco stores.. Correct me if I am wrong, but so far as I have visited a few tesco stores there, i dont see any of "tesco value" food, in contrast to tesco stores that are located outside of london.. So there is no supersaver food that she can buy..

And she has a phone, she travels around during weekends, and all of her daily meals include meats i.e. chicken fish etc..

And to be honest, in my personal opinion, the main purpose of someone coming all the way from malaysia to uk is to study and not studying+shopping+having TOO MUCH fun. Well, of course u can shop around/travel around, get new experience in a foreign land and defintely have fun with your friends too, but i personally think that there has to be a limit to it... and it all depends on the individual definition of that "limit".

cheers!

p/s: all my figures/calculation excludes accommodation cost.
yeap, i do agree, not all tesco do have "tesco value".. if your area has "tesco extra", then you will hv more choice to choose and it's cheap also.. sometimes they will have "reduce price" for food which is going to expire... But if i'm not mistaken, in london, especially in Zone 1 and Zone 2, the most will have "Tesco express"... but you still able to get some cheap stuff, like buy 1 get 1 free or half price.
well, for student, you can travel with cheap ticket. so i believe your friend maybe get the coach card/rail card to travel, and book early ticket then she can save a lot.. and to get a phone, you also can save some money, you can get those 12-month contract 12-month free.. you get the phone and you get the free minutes.. but you need to take the risk that you won't able to claim your money back. haha.. just like me.. lol...

Added on April 3, 2008, 5:52 am
QUOTE(WillHung @ Apr 2 2008, 10:49 PM)
£250/month excluding rent/accom is plenty of money for a student.
yeah agree, i also not more than £150 excluding rent but like tabbycat said, she travel a lot.. so the living cost for a student who always travel around should be around the money.. haha..

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Apr 3 2008, 05:52 AM
liew_jls
post Apr 8 2008, 07:49 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Apr 8 2008, 12:41 PM)
hm..I think more and more people will opt for US instead of UK for their further education now, considering that RM:USD is quite low now. Not to mention that the pound is still at a crazy high price.
well, it's depends on which field you are going to study and what is your plan once you finish your studies. US and UK do has their own pro and con.. beside the money, there's others matters is count in.

pound is high le, it's so low now.. so now it's good time to study in uk..
liew_jls
post Apr 20 2008, 06:18 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Apr 19 2008, 10:29 PM)
hey guys...i have some question regarding abt UK's broadband...what are the charges for internet and tel phone line per month..and i heard that i can get broadband w/o using telephone line...is that true???
yes, there's a service provider, virgin, which you don't need a telephone line. But you need to pray hard, you don't hv any problem with your connection coz i heard the customer service is terrible.
I think there are some service provider did provide a package where you will have the telephone line and broadband. But your house need to have cable before you subscribe. details about the package, i not sure how it works. probably others LYN member can explain to you.. the price you need to go to their website check it out, such as, orange, sky and talktalk.
But if you are heavy user, my advise to you is don't try Tiscali.. it's a suck service provider and connection is terrible... but i heard O2 broadband's connection pretty good, if your mobile phone is using o2, then it's quite cheap but you need to get a telephone line.
or there's another option, if you are using laptop, you can get 3's wireless boardband, you can online any where you can...
liew_jls
post May 13 2008, 05:42 PM

558 posts

yeah, beside argos, tesco also is a good place to get these electronics stuff.
liew_jls
post May 14 2008, 04:30 PM

558 posts

yeah agree. Ikea is more to stylish and the price isn't that cheap either. IMO, argos stuff is alright for me.. well, what do you expect for a low price?

For electronics stuff, another good website is www.play.com

liew_jls
post May 15 2008, 03:11 AM

558 posts

lol... i can't imagine open bank account with free microwave.. But i heard open bank account, you will get £125 for that. this was 10 years ago.. sad.gif coz last time every student open bank account and take the money then run away with few hundred of overdraft .. So now the bank change the policy and make it's much more strict compare with last time..

well, actually tesco's microwave is not that bad for me.. as long it can heat up my food, i'm alright with it. at least it's better than my current microwave, which is my dumb ex-housemate throw whole pizza (with the box) into the microwave doh.gif Ended up, the whole thing blow up, the microwave berasap-asap but apparently it's still working after all cleaning work is done (of coz it side is a bit doggy)... lol... well, my landlady said she is going to buy a new microwave for us, but dah berbulan-bulan still tak nampak batang hidung pun.. alamak...
anyway we can't complain much isn't? lol....
liew_jls
post May 20 2008, 06:24 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 19 2008, 10:46 PM)
Heard my friend, who studied at Sheffield 10 years plus ago, said that there were many 2nd-hand shops. Is there true? Can we find 2nd-hand computer casing in those shops? Can we find 2nd-hand LCD monitor in those shops?
onemilimeter, true. There will have 2nd-hand shop but in my opinion, computer casing you can just get a new one. Also you can get 2nd-hand gadget like LCD monitor from those graduted student. they usually will post in your university's discussion room. you can hunt for those good stuff in discussion uni's intranet. coz sometimes, once those students graduate, they will sell those gadget with a cheap price even though they only use for 1 or 2 years.
or another option is get a laptop.
liew_jls
post May 21 2008, 05:15 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Smy @ May 21 2008, 03:09 AM)
I took a 17" via hand luggage before but had to unscrew the monitor stand so that it can fit. Its very troublesome but may well be worth the effort since LCD's are EXTREMELY expensive in the UK. As for casing, I buy and throw a cheap one everytime I go there. My next trip, I'm bringing mobo/hdd/gcard only... have to make space for more milo laugh.gif

Are any of you guys on mobile phone cashback deals ? I've had one with mobileshop.com and it was really difficult to claim. Wondering if e2save, dialaphone etc would be more realiable. Do share your experiences.
lol.. yeah milo.... and some Aik Cheong Kopi O... hahahah....

haha.. talk about mobile phone company, agree with youngkies. i'm having contract with e2save, they are quite realiable.. The 1st time, i made my claims, i sent earlier and they let me resent my 1st claims. So i managed to get all my claims from them until now.. hehe.. there's remain 2 claims for my contract.. hopefully there's no problem. Anyway beware, some of company will bankrupt and you can't claim any of your claims.
liew_jls
post May 23 2008, 10:12 PM

558 posts

nod.gif yeah yeah.. and some more it's very expensive.. milo, one small tin cost £3 (erm.. don't remember how much is really)... gosh..

This post has been edited by liew_jls: May 23 2008, 10:13 PM
liew_jls
post May 23 2008, 11:33 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ May 23 2008, 03:47 PM)
hi all,

i'm planning to further my study, i.e. master. so, is there such as part time study part time working in UK?
yes there is. But i afraid you can't get student visa. If i'm not mistaken, one of the requirement for student visa is, you need to study full-time in a university.

Student visa#
and you need to be following one of these:

* a recognised full-time degree course;
    * a course run during the week that involves at least 15 hours of organised daytime study a week; or
    * a full-time course of study at an independent fee paying school.
But you can always work part-time, which 20 hours per week and study full-time.. smile.gif
liew_jls
post May 23 2008, 11:37 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ May 23 2008, 04:33 PM)
£1.74 on tesco direct. £1.90 in my local tesco shop. More expensive and different taste but if you're desperate you're desperate lah

Yes there is. But during term time your working hours is restricted to 20 hours per week as a person having a student visa in the UK. I think there's no restriction during vacation time but master is all year round right?
it is? lol... it's expensive for me.

well, it's depends on which type of master you are taking, either research type or taught programme type.
Taught programme will be just like bachelor degree, usually step/oct intake while research type is any month you can enrol...
But working hours still remaining the same like undergraduate student...
liew_jls
post May 24 2008, 06:24 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 10:56 AM)
Where to buy blanket/pillow at Sheffield?

Where to buy cheap computer parts (e.g. casing+powersupply, mouse, etc) at Sheffield?

Blanket and pillow, Tesco and argos is the best place to get it. Anyway, if you are renting a room or hostel, they will provide for you...

cheap computer parts, Amazon and ebuyer
But you need a credit card or debit card to buy via online.
To get cheap computer parts is via online. There's some computer shop at the high street, but they are quite expensive thought.

mobile phone service, erm, O2 wil be cheaper than vodafone. O2 service pretty good.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: May 24 2008, 06:25 PM
liew_jls
post May 25 2008, 03:38 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 04:49 PM)
Ha Ha... no joke man... I felt really cold until shivering last night. Then, I put on 4 clothes, i.e. T-shirt, 2 sweater, and winter jacket, after that baru felt OK. I asked my housemate how to switch on the heater. But he said we're not allowed to switch on the heater except winter as he said this might make the electricity bill hikes. Oh my god when I heard about it as I was not sure if I could tahan until the next morning. I don't have 'thick blanket'. In M'sia, it's too hot. Here, it's too cold pula... alamak.

Added on May 24, 2008, 11:51 pm
Yup... just reached here on 23 May 2008. Still 'ding-dong-ding-dong' now, not really settle down yet... sure will minum2 with you later... Thanks.
ahh.. feeling cold? yes, it's normal. coz you still not used to the weather over here. true, these few days it's quite chill. There's some good suggestion, drink some hot stuff (like hot coffee, hot milk or hot soup, it's need to really hot, you can see asap-asap keluar hahaha....), then if possible, eat more (eat hot stuff, like maggie mee), coz this will help your body warm. And you can go to argos get one fan heater like lord said... last few months, i just bought one, coz around £12.

i think now argos or tesco still open, go and grab one duvet.. you still need that for these few days.

anyway, welcome to UK...smile.gif i'm sure you will alright.. don't worry too much..
liew_jls
post May 25 2008, 05:16 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Glyyde @ May 24 2008, 09:51 PM)
hm.... I'm already using my fan in my room now... haahaa... it feels hot already to me tongue.gif You will get use to the weather eventually.... get a good duvet. those 10.5+4.5 tog ones will be good so u can interchange through the 4 seasons....

heating fans are good.... But I think they are too noisy.... Electrical powered portable radiator type might be better... cost more of course, but give u nice quiet night smile.gif
well, bear in mind, don't turn on your heater fan all night.. otherwise you will pengsan while you are sleeping and your room will run out of oxygen.. and that's is very dangerous.. especially during winter...

feeling hot? open your window then.. outside is chill... smile.gif

Anyway, you can use google map to check your neighborhood... just type in your postcode and you get rough idea with your neighborhood.

Added on May 25, 2008, 5:55 am
QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 09:39 PM)
I'm afraid if I get a fan heater and use it, my housemate will not be happy. Argos or Tesco usually opens until what time? I live around Sheffield Hallam Univ, is Argos or Tesco far from my place? Still not familiar... This evening I tried to walk farther but gave up due to chilling wind... smile.gif
your housemate not happy? hmm, you have pay for all bills right? so it's alright, if you use fan heater. but turn on for 1 or 2 hours and make the room warm, it's not going to cost much.. don't worry.. well, the reason most ppl don't want to turn on the central heating is because it's going to turn on every room and place in the house. and this is going to waste if there's no ppl around. But if you are using fan heater, i think it's not that expensive compare with central heating.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: May 25 2008, 05:55 AM
liew_jls
post May 25 2008, 04:27 PM

558 posts

hey, don't you guys heard about email or msn? don't hv simcard, then PM or email la... or borrow your housemate's mobile phone and send a text to azarimy.. haiz.. anyway azarimy said going to get one right??

liew_jls
post May 25 2008, 05:28 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ May 25 2008, 10:00 AM)
Hey guys, just wanted to know, my birthday is october 6th, so I"ll be turning 18 only on this october. But some  Unis start their term before that and I heard I needed to do some guardianship letter or something...can anyone explain more? Thanks.
I remember you asked same stuff in previous thread, lejoant has some infor about your question. probably pm him?? here is his post

QUOTE(lejoant @ May 14 2008, 01:04 AM)
hello there! imperial college first year student here smile.gif
what course are u applying to?
im pretty sure u wont need a guardian as i have pts friends who is still 17 when they came over, but u wont get to apply for double rooms for your accomodation, thats the only thing, and depending on ur hall, hall seniors will be asked to take extra care of u

is imperial ur fimed choice in ucas?
PM me if u need any help, exams is next week!!!11111111
liew_jls
post Jun 2 2008, 03:13 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 1 2008, 09:37 AM)
2. by default no. you will need to get an employment under work permit or training scheme.
if you are doing sandwich year, which going for placement (training in a company for 1 year).. you don't need a work permit. you will be declare as a student.

Added on June 2, 2008, 3:15 amof coz a placement student's pay must be less than £18k per annual

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Jun 2 2008, 03:15 AM
liew_jls
post Jun 2 2008, 08:59 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(cherub @ Jun 2 2008, 10:47 AM)
Thanks for all the replies. Just a few more questions

1. I'm planning to do the MEng sandwich course and use the earnings in that one year to finance my final year of study and i just want to know the feasability of it. How much to the students usually get paid when undergoing the industrial placement?

2.I'm gaining a direct second year entry to both leicester and sheffield. Are we allowed to switch between BEng and MEng or between MEng and MEng with industrial placement?

Thanks in advance.
well, it's depends on the company, some company offer £10k-18k per annual but some doesn't pay but they do give some benefits. But if you manage to join big company, your pay maybe higher compare with small company. And placement student need to pay 22% of tax from your pay. yeah, it's a little bit unfair and it's quite a lot.. I would say, if you plan to use your pay for next year tuition fees, i don't really think it going to be enough, as after deduct rent, and tax.. you pay only going to left around 45% (if you are lucky, probably 55%) of your pay. But the bright side for industrial placement, you will get one year working experience.. you will work same like graduates (probably assignment/project will be different).. And you will have chance to bring company's project to do as your final year project. This will be a very good for your CV.
Beside, i don't really sure how is University of Sheffield run sandwich year. I believe azimary can explain more for you tongue.gif. As there's not all university do have industrial placement for Master course. But usually most of undergraduate courses do have industrial placement.
However, i heard University of Sheffield hallam does have placement for Master course.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Jun 3 2008, 02:24 AM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0544sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:14 AM