5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

WillHung
post Jun 21 2008, 08:46 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

Egg has been known to be evil for randomly cancelling credit cards that are not bringing in profits for them. A-V-O-I-D.
WillHung
post Jun 27 2008, 10:59 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

why the hell is everyone going to sheffield? its like mini malaysia there biggrin.gif im getting a sense of dejavu as i've been to broadlane ....but a longggggggggg time ago.
WillHung
post Jun 28 2008, 01:48 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

i think rent is quite cheap in sheffield, you can look on the internet for rooms for £50/week quite easily.

normally the booklets sent by the university are intended for local students who tend to have more money.

try gumtree.com

here's an example £42/week.
http://www.homesforstudents.co.uk/housedet...eld+University|

£48/week
http://www.accommodationforstudents.com/no...e.asp?id=419879
£35/week
http://sheffield.gumtree.com/sheffield/91/25325891.html

if you contact malaysians in sheffield (azarimy for example) they can point you in the right direction.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jun 28 2008, 01:54 AM
WillHung
post Jul 6 2008, 11:48 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 5 2008, 11:28 AM)
Hi all UK students,

Just a quick question here.
Just want to know, how much for a sems normally, let said the first year of degree.
depends on the course. science courses at a uni outside london cost about £12000/year in tuition fees. medical courses cost about 18000/year, i think non-science courses cost about £7000/year.

WillHung
post Jul 6 2008, 07:04 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(budak_macho @ Jul 6 2008, 06:04 PM)
ouh ok.
But got work to cover half of the fees also ok.
As I got another half in my bank.
How to apply for scholarship?
And if I have LLB(Hons) after my graduate,what job suitable for me,coz I might work in UK for 1-2 years after graduate to cover my expenses or repay the MARA loan comparing to low salary in Malaysia.
Btw must go matriculation first ah ? biggrin.gif
And what d max value schollarship can cover ? biggrin.gif

Btw for the small room,is it spacy enough to bring 1-2 roommate?So can share the room fee tongue.gif
I doubt working part-time would even cover half the tuition fees. You might be able to cover some living expenses through part time work, but if you are too dependent on it, your studies might suffer.

London South Bank is not a good university. You might as well stay in Malaysia, seriously. The legal profession in the UK is very sensitive to the university you received your LLB from. So if you dream about being a barrister with a decent legal firm in the UK, it's best to stick to Russell Group universities.

Added on July 6, 2008, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(budak_macho @ Jul 6 2008, 06:04 PM)
ouh ok.
But got work to cover half of the fees also ok.
As I got another half in my bank.
How to apply for scholarship?
And if I have LLB(Hons) after my graduate,what job suitable for me,coz I might work in UK for 1-2 years after graduate to cover my expenses or repay the MARA loan comparing to low salary in Malaysia.
Btw must go matriculation first ah ? biggrin.gif
And what d max value schollarship can cover ? biggrin.gif

Btw for the small room,is it spacy enough to bring 1-2 roommate?So can share the room fee tongue.gif
I think its very rare to share a room in the UK, but I suppose you can squeeze in two people in a double room.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 6 2008, 07:10 PM
WillHung
post Jul 6 2008, 07:16 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 6 2008, 07:14 PM)
not pouring cold water on you. getting a job as a lawyer/start off as an apprentice after graduation in uk is very competitive/extremely difficult for foreigner.

a-level is the most acceptable pre-uni course.
apprentice?

Added on July 6, 2008, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 6 2008, 11:54 AM)
12000/Year means 2 Sems?
yes

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 6 2008, 07:17 PM
WillHung
post Jul 25 2008, 10:52 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jul 24 2008, 04:49 PM)
Is 96 pounds for halls fees per week expensive?
Is it en-suite? If yes, then its a normal rate. But if not, that's quite expensive. I don't know what the current student hall rates are but I'm speaking fom the point of view of a person who left university 2 years ago.
WillHung
post Jul 26 2008, 03:39 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 25 2008, 05:16 PM)
besides sheffield, malaysians are concentrated in manchester, liverpool, dublin and glasgow. there are lots in london as well, but since london is huge, u will hardly stumble upon malaysians there. even if u do, most are just visiting biggrin.gif.
If you walk down Oxford St in London, you are GUARANTEED to bump into Malaysian Malay makciks and pakciks.
WillHung
post Jul 26 2008, 12:59 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 26 2008, 11:54 AM)
one person per room. 'x' room per flat/house sharing a kitchen and 1-2 toilets (except ensuite). twin bed in a room is rare in uni accommodation unless in london, seen those in LSE.

btw what uni? nice student no. but if people know that no. belongs to you, you have nothing to hide on the result / notice board.
Imperial also had two-to-a-room halls. Don't know if they still do.
WillHung
post Jul 28 2008, 05:14 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(Syegg @ Jul 28 2008, 01:15 AM)
did u guys bring along the printer? i got 30kg for SQ..and now after packing all the stuffs...it is almost 24kgs...
now still wondering bring the printer there or not .....coz it is weight up to 4 or 5 kgs....

any idea?

P/s: sorry if this is out of topic..is there any laser printer come with weight 2 or 3kgs?

if you have spare room in the luggage then why not.
WillHung
post Jul 29 2008, 12:44 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jul 29 2008, 07:17 AM)
Now I'm opting for private accommodations and not uni accommodation. 96 per week is much too steep for me, so actively looking for someplace to stay on private property. Any tips? I'm browsing through gumtree now and sent emails to around 5 people. Need place to stay in Cheltenham. Now price range between 65 to 80 pounds per week.

Should I arrange for a short-term accommodation then look for a new one or should I just arrange for the whole year one-shot?
tell the university's accommodation services that you want something cheaper. They are bound to have a list of possible private properties going around the university.

If you are a first-timer, I would strongly suggest you go for the university-run accommodation. Finding lodging in the UK is tricky, even for people who are experienced.
WillHung
post Jul 29 2008, 01:11 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jul 29 2008, 12:54 PM)
advise noted.

"Finding lodging in the UK is tricky, even for people who are experienced."

Finding lodging is easy. What's the tricky part?
There are lots of unscrupulous landlords out there. I'm referring to mostly privately rented houses. The premises might not look like in the pictures, or are not actually located at the advertised distance from campus (eg 10 minutes from university or whatever).

Well its a matter of luck really. But I would say you can easily find a room for £65/week. If you're lucky you'd get one for £50/week.
WillHung
post Jul 30 2008, 03:40 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jul 30 2008, 03:04 PM)
Advises really appreciated. Uni accommodation it is smile.gif

I'm only there for less than a year anyway sad.gif My uni contract is for 38 weeks, then I'm graduating.

Usually how long do you have to wait from getting your final results to getting your diploma scroll?
Even more reason to not go for private accommodation. Private accommodation contract from my experience will usually require you to pay for 52 weeks regardless of the length of your stay in the UK unless you can find someone else to take your place.

Normally exams will end around early to mid June and graduation will take place in July or early August. Your degree will be shipped to your out-of-term address (I imagine this will be your Malaysian address). That'll take several weeks after the graduation ceremony.

If your uni hall contract is for 38 weeks (til end of June), when will you come back to Malaysia? If you wish to stay for the graduation ceremony, you might have to find alternative accommodation for a few weeks.
WillHung
post Aug 14 2008, 11:45 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2008, 01:32 PM)
how bout british council??confuse...

btw is northumbria uni reputable??
Northumbria is subpar at best in terms of reputation. Try another university if you can.
WillHung
post Aug 21 2008, 12:50 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 21 2008, 12:46 AM)
wanna ask here
is intake at UK only on september??1 year 1 intake only??
how bout february??
I think universities in the UK only have one intake every year and that's around September/October time.
WillHung
post Aug 21 2008, 03:43 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(kaisergan @ Aug 21 2008, 01:52 PM)
OK, so let have some real discussion, let see... ermm, ok, i follow TIMES ranking. now, im going to choose an university for MECHANICAL ENGINEERING. from the times ranking, cardiff, queen's belfast, and liverpool actually top 10 in mechanical engineering. how you think bout this??? why i chose UK is because it is fast, 3 years to get BEng... or 4 years for MEng.. so?
There is nothing wrong with Liverpool, Cardiff etc, but I think what he was saying is other universities like NUS HKU Toronto etc offer comparable education at a cheaper price, which I agree with.

Explore your options. Don't focus solely on the UK. Really, an extra year in education means little in the bigger scheme of things, and if it saves you money, then it is an option worth considering. Good luck.
WillHung
post Aug 21 2008, 10:57 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 21 2008, 10:49 PM)
IMO, USA is the better place for engineering. Top US universities are much harder to get into than top UK universities for engineering. That may tell you something.
I believe UK is perfectly fine for an engineering education, unless you can get into MIT Stanford Berkeley GATech etc

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 21 2008, 10:53 PM)
if i apply now n can i make it for this sept intake??need to wait for answer from uni,apply for visa,etc
I believe the deadline for application has passed. Even if it hasn't, it would be a mad scramble to get to the uni in time, with all the visa hassle. I certainly would advise you wait for the autumn 2009 intake.

WillHung
post Aug 21 2008, 11:17 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 21 2008, 11:04 PM)
Some universities might still have places because I reckon it's UCAS clearing time now. And some universities start end-Sept or early-Oct. So you might have 1 month to get everything done. The British are very understanding people and if you have an genuine explanation, they are able to rush things for you at lightning speed. If that's what you really wanted, so yes, it's possible.

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:06 pm

I know for a fact someone easily got into Imperial but got rejected from several of the top US universities he applied for engineering.
And you think that's new information for people here? American universities look for more well-rounded candidates whilst British ones merely look for the number of A's, which is much easier to achieve than an excellent all-around application profile. Who's to say those who go to Imperial are less able engineers compared to, say, Stanford?

I don't know what you're trying to prove. And I don't care enough to find out.
WillHung
post Aug 22 2008, 03:06 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 21 2008, 11:47 PM)
when is autumn intake?
Sept/October 2009

Added on August 22, 2008, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(2HK @ Aug 22 2008, 12:14 PM)
well 1st you prove it to me  that this true , the link is dead .

Added on August 22, 2008, 12:48 pm
He's not trying anything other than giving some facts , and I don't he will be too bothered  if you care enough to find out.

It's an opinion , just as you have yours ,leave it at that.

I would add of course it is possible for any half decent U to produce good engineers but which is more likely to produce top quality people ?

A place like Toronto with near state of the Art facilities , value for money AND in a thriving glamorous city.

Or

A state U under great $ pressure since it's own Gov is in financial crisis with increasingly out dated equipment , expensive and in a run down part of the country like say Cardiff [ I know I have been to Wales many time and Glamorous is the LAST word I wold use for it , it can't even beat Bristol or Southampton as a nice location never mind Toronto].

Location matters , wonder why ?

Added on August 22, 2008, 12:54 pm

Depends what you mean .

Wron and roight as in absolutely - No

But relatively - YES .

If it was me , it is a no brainer  NUS HKU Toronto over Liverpool, Cardiff etc any day of the week .

Cheaper , much more glamorous cities , better facilities and better professors.

these places are up and going to rise further whereas  Liverpool, Cardiff etc are down and going to drop further.

Sorry that's just the way it is , if the situation was reverse I would say the same thing but it is not.
Agreed , with Uk prices an extra year in HK/SG would come out to the same price maybe lower and you get much more prestige .

The Uk name alone does not command the same respect as it did 20-30 years ago.

Whereas HK and SG is up and coming .

It wasn't as much opinion-giving as it was trolling and flame-baiting. Imperial and other top UK unis are great producers of engineers in their own right, comparing the admission policies between the unis of the two countries is comparing apples to oranges.

Liverpool, Cardiff etc are good universities, but perhaps overpriced compared to options one might have say in HK or Sg.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Aug 22 2008, 03:13 PM
WillHung
post Aug 22 2008, 03:49 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(kaisergan @ Aug 22 2008, 03:23 PM)
thanks a lot, willhung and 2hk. hmm....tough. how about AUSTRALIA?

actually i heard you always talk about NUS or HKU.... i don like them because their background.... you get me... ?

Added on August 22, 2008, 3:29 pmone more thing you guys din reply...

york and durham or warwick have very good reputation and high ranking, but how if they din stand in the ranking for mechanical engineering?
Do not rely on the rankings TOO much. I know Warwick is very good for engineering. I don't know about York and Durham. They should be ok I think. Although I think York only does EE, not mech.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0513sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:18 AM