4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

Aura
post Nov 26 2013, 10:05 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

HAHAHA!!! Didn't expect to c my name on the top 10 "most wanted" list. LOL!

Btw, I've found something interesting about 5.1 sound on Alienware systems when outputing to external 5.1 speakers. Apparently the jacks must be connected to the port at the same time before performing sound test. If sound test is done before plugging all in, no matter how u test, it will not output the other channels eventhough all r plugged in. U have to unplug and plug everything back in again before performing sound test and selecting the proper sound config.

At first, I thought my laptop got some issue but after fiddling around for a while, then I realized this. I don't understand why it has this kind of behavior. Has anyone experienced this before?
Aura
post Nov 27 2013, 12:05 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(mythslasher @ Nov 26 2013, 07:42 PM)
Hi im new here, not an alienware owner but planning to!
Might get it in february next year, any advice for new owners?

should i get the brand new models or is old models perform better than the new ones such as the alienware 14? the laptop
Hi and welcome to future-owner.

If u compare the older models with the newer ones, then I can assure u that the newer ones are definitely better.

If u compare with 14 inch alone, the newer one has GTX 765M opposed to GT650M and also the newer one has a 1080p IPS display opposed to 900p display on the older one. This alone already states that the newer one is better.

Build quality wise, IMO, newer ones has a bit sturdier build than the older one. The only con for the newer one is the newer one is thicker than the older one in terms of size.
Aura
post Dec 5 2013, 09:58 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(ccl9n @ Dec 5 2013, 05:18 AM)
HI guys,

Need your help about this error.

After upgrade to Windows 8.1

Device Manager Under Sound, video and controllers
I getting Audio Bluetooth device error for Qualcomm Atheros Communications

Device status:
This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Object Path Component was not a directory object.

You guys update wat driver?
Have u tried using the windows stock driver? That might work cos not all of the components' drivers are updated by the manufacturer yet. Saw from Alienware forums that early next year around Jan only then Alienware will release all drivers which has Windows 8.1 compatibility.
Aura
post Dec 11 2013, 02:11 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 11 2013, 12:07 AM)
it's not hard hahal! but still it's best to just wanna push and take it out biggrin.gif

i think r4's internal design is much better than r5.
That's called lazy la... tongue.gif
Aura
post Dec 16 2013, 11:54 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

horns HOLY CRAP!!! New specs!!! This one has a review online on YouTube. But then, glossy screen only.... I want matte 120hz screen!!!

Well, speaking about GTX780M, last time I ordered mine, I have to wait for 1 month or so for them to replenish their stock.

Damn, that new spec is really sucking money... I'd rather spend a bit more for AW 18. Only downside is the warranty but then, how the hell would anyone carry an 18" running around? People already calling me insane when I carry my 17".
Aura
post Dec 17 2013, 09:44 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 17 2013, 12:31 AM)
well you can put a matte screen protector on the glossy screen if you want haha!

compared to the MYR8699 option, i think the price is ok. the cpu, gpu, and screen are what i want. i already have ssd's and 32gb ram's ready.

aw18 is really huge and heavy. a 17" looks small beside it. (by the way aw18's screen is 60hz, not 120hz)
LOL!!! Well, I didn't say the price is not ok for AW 17". Just feels that AW 18 is much better due to SLI. Yeah, I know that the AW 18 has a 60hz screen but it has SLI. SLI > 120hz anytime for me. thumbup.gif
Aura
post Dec 23 2013, 09:43 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

I'm playing on a 2560x1080 resolution and I didn't see any problems with it. Performance still as good as 1920x1080. biggrin.gif
Aura
post Dec 26 2013, 02:23 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(amin ali @ Dec 26 2013, 12:27 PM)
Hi guys, I need help, one of my friend is choosing between Alienware 17 and Razer Blade pro. So what do you all think? is it even fare to compare these two?
Obviously we'll say Alienware 17 hands down in an Alienware thread right? laugh.gif

But then, IMO, Alienware 17 > Razer Blade Pro. Specs win hands down. smile.gif
Aura
post Dec 29 2013, 02:07 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

EmperorScorpion For HDD upgrade, I suggest that u look into WD Black 2. That should be ur solution for having one drive bay.

horns And yes, I'm no fanboy also but then for price-performance ratio, Alienware 17 is the better choice.

Anyone here experiencing sluggish performance during playing games on the Alienware 17's matte display? I believed that the refresh rate on this is uber slow. Performing worse than my 29" monitor.

Solution, change to 3D screen. Problem, the price is IMBA. Any "lobang" for good price for 3D panel? Thanks.
Aura
post Dec 29 2013, 11:48 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Dec 29 2013, 01:47 PM)
Yo. Someone summoned me.
Normally i will suggest people buy 120hz only. As 120hz with 3D will throttle down the performance nearly 75%. Where the graphic card need to render twice graphic.
Somehow laptop graphic card isnt that strong after all. So 3d is a tough job for them
Yeah, actually I was wondering whether u have a better price for 120Hz 3D panel + IR emitter + specs as well? I contacted Dell about this and the price is quite unexpected. Dunno how good of a price u can give? biggrin.gif

EDIT: Got my answer already. Will call and decide later. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Aura: Dec 30 2013, 12:21 AM
Aura
post Jan 6 2014, 07:41 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(kaoru @ Jan 6 2014, 04:35 PM)
if we wait till warranty about to expire only extend warranty will it be much more expensive compared to extending the warranty now (8 months earlier)
Actually better get a warranty extension bundled together with a newly bought laptop. From there got discount. After that, there's none, doesn't matter whether u extend it now or not.
Aura
post Jan 16 2014, 10:36 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jan 13 2014, 12:35 PM)
What can you do with the Alienware Respawn without the premium purchase?
only create bootable usb/dvd?
AlienRespawn can be used to restore ur laptop to factory state, which means a full backup of your system based on factory settings. Very handy for those people who doesn't want to start from scratch.

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 14 2014, 11:12 AM)
wow.. thanks man i just realized that we do have those. sorry i didn't pay attention to the contents in the box. i just took the laptop, power adapter, and cable out and left the rest untouched.

maybe with respawn it can restore all oem branding stuff. sorry i am not that sure.
There's a recovery disc included together with the laptop other than manuals and the above mentioned.

But to all Windows 8 Alienware users, u only can use AlienRespawn for another drive as long as it has a bigger or equivalent sized capacity. Lower capacity drives will fail during the process. For example, if ur laptop comes with 750GB HDD and u want to use AlienRespawn for a 120GB/256GB/512GB SSD, the respawn process will fail. The software will inform u that ur drive must be 750GB or more in order to proceed. The only way to move over to lower sized SSD is to use cloning software which breaks ur AlienRespawn.

For Windows 7 users, it might still be possible. I was unable to try this because my system arrived with Windows 8. According to forums, it works but need someone to test it out.

The other alternative is to call Dell to send u a copy of the AlienRespawn image based on ur requirements but this might incur some costs. Not sure about the price.
Aura
post Jan 21 2014, 11:08 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

Wanted to upgrade to Windows 8.1 but has Killer updated their drivers for that or not? The only common complain I heard from AW owners is only that.
Aura
post Jan 21 2014, 04:22 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 21 2014, 12:56 PM)
killer ethernet? i don't have issues with that (with clean install).

hm.. looks like there is a version of aw17 with amd card. the driver has been posted at dell support site.

edit: yeah.. Radeon™ R9 m290x.
Yeah, Killer Ethernet. Last time I heard, need to use stock windows drivers for that.
Aura
post Jan 22 2014, 09:29 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 21 2014, 04:32 PM)
i had no issue installing and running the one provided by dell on w8.1. i got all drivers from dell; didn't use the ones in the cd.

.. and i did one more thing to all the network and bt adapters: i disable the power management (allow computer to turn them off) by the system at the device manager. (it's because this one is always one of the most common causes of problems in networking)
Ic ic.... How about the Alienware programs like CC? Any problems with Windows 8.1?
Aura
post Jan 23 2014, 10:05 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 22 2014, 04:24 PM)
there were updates released at dell support site, including the gpu drivers.
Yeah, I've checked the site that they've added Windows 8.1 drivers already. I might be able to update to Windows 8.1 without any problems (I hope).

This post has been edited by Aura: Jan 23 2014, 10:05 AM
Aura
post Jan 23 2014, 01:39 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Fortunatus @ Jan 23 2014, 10:32 AM)
Hi guys, need some advice.

I bought m14x R1 3 years ago, and now thinking of upgrading my system..

Should i consider the new m14x or just desktop x51...?

i would like to play witcher 3 & dragon age 3  in the future with high setting and full hd....
is m14x sufficient? my r1 cant even run witcher 2 properly...
The obvious answer is no. It won't be sufficient at all. What u probably need is a laptop which has GTX 770M or 780M just to get it running at that level of detail and resolution. That's only ensuring that it can run. Smooth or not, that's another question. The best is getting a SLI capable desktop which will be able to run a lot of games smoothly. That way, u don't need to worry much. If u don't have that budget, then u can go for high end single GPU desktop PC. That works as well. Mobile gaming is still a bit underpower IMO.
Aura
post Jan 24 2014, 12:59 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 23 2014, 10:20 AM)
w8.1 drivers were there for some time already. i'm just not sure about in-store updates.
Ic ic.... Well, I'm just waiting for that moment when they release Windows 8.1 drivers then I'll upgrade to Windows 8.1. I think now it's the time to do so.

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:29 AM)
update and inform us biggrin.gif
Finished updating to Windows 8.1. No unexpected events fortunately. Everything is smooth. Now to try out some games. biggrin.gif
Aura
post Jan 24 2014, 11:50 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

I think I have good news for users who cannot restore factory settings for AlienRespawn in Windows 8.

After Windows 8.1 update, AlienRespawn recommends you to update. If you update on Windows 8, AlienRespawn will break and will have error since your original drive's capacity is bigger when it's updating PE environment but in Windows 8.1, AlienRespawn treats this current environment as new environment, therefore, it can be updated successfully. After the Windows 8.1 update, AlienRespawn also recommends you to recreate your recovery media, which is factory image. My hunch is if I do so, I would have a lower capacity factory image which will be useful later which has Windows 8.1 in it.

I'll need to do more testing on this but that's my initial impression after updating my system to Windows 8.1. If this works as stated, then this is awesome.

EDIT: After assessing the situation, I'm short of a few disk drives. If anyone who is willing to help me in this testing, please let me know so that I can borrow some drives and I'm willing to do it on the spot during that period. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Aura: Jan 24 2014, 12:13 PM
Aura
post Jan 24 2014, 11:51 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jan 24 2014, 10:27 AM)
Right-click on the battery icon and you'll have that option. If I'm not mistaken is the first option after your right-click
horns Yes, it is the first option. It's called "Desktop mode battery change".

This post has been edited by Aura: Jan 24 2014, 11:52 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

1.1011sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:48 AM