7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Career as an Insurance Agent, Let's Discuss

JohnL77
post Dec 2 2013, 01:19 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 2 2013, 01:11 PM)
Paiseh. Then no fun la liddat.
I mean, if got clients to pay premium, then got commissions.
But assisting on the claims, no commission?

But then, those two are also considered as work done, no ?
If u lazy just ask customer service to deal with it. Haha.

ExpZero
post Dec 2 2013, 01:24 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 1 2013, 09:14 PM)
Oh yeah, Azurika said the exam is only RM100, if he remembers correctly. So, if any agency ask you pay more than that, be careful. OTS ask for RM250 to join. They arrange the exam and give you some files for use during sales pitch. RM150 for files? Hmm...

Good luck.
For PCE(Pre-contract Examination) and CEILLI(Certificate Examination In Investment-linked Life Insurance) amounting to RM90+RM85=RM175. Normally OTS will only take PCE as they are not selling investment link medical card. That's the reason Azurika said less than RM100. But in normal agency, it will cost more than RM100 because of CEILLI exam.

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 2 2013, 01:11 PM)
Paiseh. Then no fun la liddat.
I mean, if got clients to pay premium, then got commissions.
But assisting on the claims, no commission?

But then, those two are also considered as work done, no ?
It's your responsibility to help the client for the claims as they entrusted you when they bought your service at first place. Agent's wealth are not accumulate from first year premium but more on renewal premium, when your client(policyholder) pay renewal premium from their credit card, you will get commission without effort, but you get commission, no?

Well, if you want to earn a living in insurance line, you cannot put commission as your priority. You have to put responsibility and client's priority at first place and then the commission will come eventually along. Else you can't even survive in this career as your prospect only see your eyes are full of dollar sign.

This post has been edited by ExpZero: Dec 2 2013, 03:25 PM
JohnL77
post Dec 2 2013, 02:03 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Dec 2 2013, 01:24 PM)
For PCE(Pre-contract Examination) and CEILLI(Certificate Examination In Investment-linked Life Insurance) amounting to RM90+RM85=RM175. Normally OTS will only take PCE as they are not selling investment link medical card. That's the reason Azurika said less than RM100. But in normal agency, it will cost more than RM100 because of CEILLI exam.
QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 1 2013, 10:40 PM)
Don't usually the agency will pay the fees, as part of the employee's benefit? After all, without the certificate, the person is not allowed to sell insurance, no?
This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 2 2013, 02:05 PM
Azurika
post Dec 2 2013, 02:20 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 1 2013, 10:40 PM)
Don't usually the agency will pay the fees, as part of the employee's benefit? After all, without the certificate, the person is not allowed to sell insurance, no?
Ask you simple logic.
Insurance agent take no basic, not tied to the agency. Why should I the boss, sponcer you to take an exam? You are not going to guarantee me any customer. Further more, you can take this license to another agency drool.gif You ensure me that you can close 2 huge deals (Anual >20k), come I sponcer you biggrin.gif Banks thou are different ya.

EXPzero has anwsered most of the questions in a profesional matter smile.gif

JohnL77
post Dec 2 2013, 02:27 PM

1,887 posts

nujikabane,

"you can take this license to another agency" is the keyword. Hahaha.

Just like how companies expect you to get your own degree. If we are talking about further enhancing your skills (CPD) after you have proven yourself, that can be considered, but sure got strings attached.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 2 2013, 02:31 PM
ExpZero
post Dec 2 2013, 03:24 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Dec 2 2013, 02:20 PM)
Ask you simple logic.
Insurance agent take no basic, not tied to the agency. Why should I the boss, sponcer you to take an exam? You are not going to guarantee me any customer. Further more, you can take this license to another agency  drool.gif  You ensure me that you can close 2 huge deals (Anual >20k), come I sponcer you biggrin.gif Banks thou are different ya.

EXPzero has anwsered most of the questions in a profesional matter smile.gif
QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 2 2013, 02:27 PM)
nujikabane,

"you can take this license to another agency" is the keyword. Hahaha.

Just like how companies expect you to get your own degree. If we are talking about further enhancing your skills (CPD) after you have proven yourself, that can be considered, but sure got strings attached.
+1 for both of you smile.gif
JohnL77
post Dec 2 2013, 04:05 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(xinken @ Dec 2 2013, 03:35 PM)
Actually for myself i really think a reputation of a person is more importand...
If u cheat others, u cannot guarantee next time i will not meet that person again...
Try to emulate roystevenung, he seems to be honest and he gives straightforward answers.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3037939

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 2 2013, 04:05 PM
Readable
post Dec 5 2013, 05:35 PM

44 posts

Really lost faith on insurance agent..
For my case, I switched my service agent bcoz the old 1 is 'resign' and so the same day i sign the transfer letter, my new agent propose me a better plan, I ask few times is that consider as upgrading and any change to my old policy but she just pusing me and didt really answer my question until I agree for the 'upgrading'

But after I got my new policy I only found out that actually it was a new policy and my old policy is still running by deducted my cash value (she cancelled my auto debit, so I didt realize at first) No wonder she told me after 1 year then I only can get back my cash for the surrender policy, to cover the new policy waiting period i guess.

In the same time, she asking me to join her agency. I actually have a very good impression on her for the 1st meet but now... I understand people are work for money.

Just sharing for me case.
JohnL77
post Dec 5 2013, 05:46 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Readable @ Dec 5 2013, 05:35 PM)
For my case, I switched my service agent bcoz the old 1 is 'resign' and so the same day i sign the transfer letter, my new agent propose me a better plan, I ask few times is that consider as upgrading and any change to my old policy but she just pusing me and didt really answer my question until I agree for the 'upgrading'

But after I got my new policy I only found out that actually it was a new policy and my old policy is still running by deducted my cash value (she cancelled my auto debit, so I didt realize at first) No wonder she told me after 1 year then I only can get back my cash for the surrender policy, to cover the new policy waiting period i guess.

In the same time, she asking me to join her agency. I actually have a very good impression on her for the 1st meet but now... I understand people are work for money.

You should take it up with Bank Negara or something.

So that's how they hit MDRT every year. They go back and ask their previous customer to "upgrade"?

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 5 2013, 06:08 PM
AcerDynamo2
post Dec 5 2013, 07:05 PM

18 posts

Hello nujikabane, I am an insurance agent and it all depends on how good you are with dealing with people. You are to be very discipline and plan your own schedule everyday. No basic and it's all commission based. It's very similar to MLM pyramid schemes as one needs to do personal sales as well as recruitment. Upon balancing both, you can enjoy both a commission and also overiding, meaning a percentage of your sub-ordinates.
Azurika
post Dec 5 2013, 11:40 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(Readable @ Dec 5 2013, 05:35 PM)

A good insurance agent will teach you how to cut cost, maximize your funds , and tell you what are the bad parts of the policy before juicing you up with all the new gizmos. If the first 5-10 mins they already ask you to upgrate or buy more, you know they are not listen, but selling smile.gif
Analyzer008
post Jan 31 2014, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Nov 29 2013, 04:43 PM)
Financial Planner shouldn't be like that. The problem is they misuse the title.

You want to make it big really fast, just kill your conscience and change your phone number every few years so your cheated customers cannot call you. Any problem let customer service department deal with it.
Ohh dear, those OTS people love to use financial planner. I was being approach a few times and all no "shui chun".

They love to hang out in mount kiara, damansara uptown and Danansara Perdana area. Regretted for wasting my time listening to them
Pain4UrsinZ
post Feb 4 2014, 09:03 PM

1,860 posts

how and where to become part time insurance agent ?
iseeman474
post Apr 11 2014, 05:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 21 2013, 12:16 PM)
Hi all.

I ahave always wonder about this profession.

I smell the passion, the hunger, the always-wanting-to-meet-new-people field of work.

Question is,

How does one become an insurance agent?
Let's discuss biggrin.gif
Hi Nujikabane,

Do you want to be an insurance agent? I'm sure you like to meet a lot of people with different characters. This is quite challenging, but you can get experiences and high salary. You can manage your time and places because you can be your own boss. Have a look at this industry. Like this page by clicking the link below to know more. Don't be shy, talk to them! smile.gif Have a nice day!

https://www.facebook.com/serve.lead.empower...345689188796975

This post has been edited by iseeman474: Apr 11 2014, 05:18 PM
iseeman474
post Jul 4 2014, 04:03 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Nov 21 2013, 03:41 PM)
It is a commission-based job. The good thing with this job is that your working time will be very flexible.

If you're hardworking = successful.
Being an insurance agent is a hard work. Bill Cosby said, "In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure". Well no wonder success is not an easy work. For those who still looking for a job, I suggest you to look at this industry. They are recruitment company. You will get experiences and high salary. Like this page by clicking the link below to know more. Don't be shy, talk to them! smile.gif

lexiqa
post Jul 5 2014, 02:21 PM

525 posts

If you're very self motivated person, then you can succeed as an insurance/unit trust/real estate/MLM sales person.

l these jobs don't have basic salary and you need to be very persistent in doing your work everyday even though a lot of people will reject you. If you're easily depressed or easily discouraged, don't even try it because it can be very demotivating to face rejections daily.

Being hardworking alone won't take you far in this career. You need to know what's your motivation to do it and be strong. Remember also that when people rejected your sales pitch, don't take it personally. Sometimes it is only because they are not ready /scared to commit to another long-term payment. (esply insurance)
iseeman474
post Jul 16 2014, 03:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 21 2013, 12:16 PM)
Hi all.

I ahave always wonder about this profession.

I smell the passion, the hunger, the always-wanting-to-meet-new-people field of work.

Question is,

How does one become an insurance agent?
Let's discuss biggrin.gif
Hi Nujikabane,

I believe that people who work as an insurance agent got high salary. They can be their own boss since most of the time they work individually, so its all depends on their performance. I have a friend who work in insurance. Hope this may help you. Like this page by clicking the link below to know more. Don't be shy, talk to them! smile.gif

Cutieweiyi
post Aug 25 2014, 09:16 PM

39 posts

i wonder can join as part- time insurance agent ? usually what will be the sales target ? if don't hit will get expel and commission for subsequence year gone ?

This post has been edited by Cutieweiyi: Aug 25 2014, 09:17 PM
TSnujikabane
post Aug 31 2014, 11:36 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(Cutieweiyi @ Aug 25 2014, 09:16 PM)
i wonder can join as part- time insurance agent ? usually what will be the sales target ? if don't hit will get expel and commission for subsequence year gone ?
You can, but you have to go solo, i work on your own. Usually if you join agency, you have to commit to work full-time, for a foreseeable future.
Just my 2 cents.
JIUHWEI
post Sep 2 2014, 07:57 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Feb 4 2014, 09:03 PM)
how and where to become part time insurance agent ?
I am recruiting! biggrin.gif
And I welcome part-time agents too!

Part time agents are also required to take the same exams though.
nod.gif

Would you be free on September 24? I would like to invite you to come and get to know the company better and then decide if AIA has the right corporate culture that you would like to be part of it!
In fact, everyone here who understands Mandarin is welcomed!

For those who prefer Bahasa Malaysia, please mark the date September 17!

Sept 17 & 24 @ Menara AIA
7pm - registration & refreshment
7:45 - opening & company profile
8:15 - speaker session
9pm - end

You can book your seats through me!
No worries, it is free but seats are limited though!

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Sep 2 2014, 08:04 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0306sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:03 PM